SafePal card review: the crypto wallet that hands you a Swiss IBAN
SafePal is best known as a self-custody crypto wallet, but since March 2024 it has also offered a banking gateway: a Swiss IBAN opened through Fiat24 and a virtual Mastercard that spends from it. That combination is unusual. Most cards in this category either give you a card and nothing else, or an account and no card. SafePal gives both — and takes on the burden of explaining which regulator actually stands behind each half.

I gave it 6.2 out of 10. That is not a bad score for a product that is genuinely cheap to hold and remarkably easy to fund from crypto. It is a middling score because the parts that would make it a great everyday card are either unconfirmed, unrevealed or contradicted by third parties, and because the company behind it has a security incident and a mediocre review history hanging over it this year.
The conditions described here are current as of 21 October 2026 (verified against SafePal Banking Gateway and Fiat24 regulatory records).
Who should read on. If you already keep your crypto in SafePal, and you want a euro IBAN that can receive a salary or an invoice, and you are comfortable with a virtual-only card and a KYC process run by a Swiss partner, this product does something no mainstream bank will do for you. If you want a physical card in the post, a broad published country list, or an ATM you can rely on, stop reading — the evidence does not support any of those today.
Verdict: 6.2 out of 10, built for a specific person
Here is the score broken down the way I work through any card: who can actually get it, what it costs to keep, how easily you can load it, how reliable the operation looks, and whether it survives contact with an ordinary shop.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Open to “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas”, but the region list on the site was empty when I fetched it, and nothing is said about Russia or Belarus |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No account creation or management fee, standard top-up at 0%, but 1% when the Mastercard settles outside USD, and a refund fee of 1 USD/EUR/CHF or 7 CNH; 1% and 0.4% top-up figures also appear in the tiers material |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | Crypto from more than 40 blockchains, converted to USDC by default, with the Mastercard activated by a 10 USDC deposit on Arbitrum |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Swiss IBAN via Fiat24 with no issuer named, a 2026 data breach, Trustpilot at 3.1 out of 5 from 394 reviews, and complaints about withdrawals that never arrived |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard plus Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal; no physical card named, and unofficial ATM data conflicts |
| Total | 6.2 / 10 | Cheap and easy to fund, thin on transparency and everyday convenience |
The strengths are specific. Funding is genuinely strong: 40+ blockchains, USDC by default, Arbitrum for the activation deposit. Holding costs are close to zero. And the IBAN is the reason to stay — a SafePal owner who needs a euro account with a European-style identifier gets something that would normally require a traditional onboarding process with a bank.
The weaknesses are equally specific. The country list is the single biggest problem, and I want to be blunt about it: a card you cannot verify you qualify for is not a card you should plan around. The issuer behind the Mastercard is not named on the pages I read. The physical card question is answered only by unofficial sources, and those sources also contradict each other about ATMs. And the complaint pattern in 2026 — swaps and withdrawals shown as completed but never arriving, phishing calls with accurate order details — lands directly on the kind of product that holds your money.
One more thing for anyone weighing this: read the review as a description of a wallet with a card attached, not a bank with a crypto tab. Fiat24 runs the KYC and the account. SafePal’s own replies on Trustpilot describe the wallet side as non-custodial. Both things can be true, but it means you are dealing with two entities, and if something breaks you may end up ping-ponging between them — which is exactly what one reviewer reported about a refund.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, but only to “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas” — and that is where the trouble starts. When I fetched the regions page, the headline “Supported regions for SafePal Fiat gateway” listed no names at all. The same page did carry two numbers: a monthly limit of $100,000 with Mastercard and $1,000 without. So the page was clearly supposed to name countries and did not.
That matters more than it might look. Eligibility here is two-sided: your citizenship has to be in a supported region and your actual residence has to be in a supported area. The card’s public pages do not name Russia or Belarus in either direction — not included, not excluded. I am not going to guess, and neither should you: if your nationality or your address is the deciding factor, you need an answer from Fiat24 directly before you move any funds.
What the pages do tell us:
- Verification is run by Fiat24, with email and phone checks, a passport scan in the ReadID Ready app, and an address check.
- That address check is strict in a specific way: your residential address has to sit within 2 km of your current location, and the app needs location access to run it. If you have just moved, or you are using a hotel or a relative’s address, expect trouble.
- A passport is the only document named. Nothing is said about the minimum age, how long processing takes, or what reasons get a registration refused.
- You need SafePal app version 4.5.0 or newer, plus 0.0001 ETH on Arbitrum in the wallet.
There are no credit checks and no staking requirement — that is a point in the card’s favour and rare enough to name. The limits are tiered by region: $100,000 a month with the Mastercard, $1,000 a month without it.
What the card is, physically and on paper: a virtual Mastercard debit. SafePal’s own pages describe only a virtual card and give spending limits in euro against the Swiss Fiat24 account. The Banking Gateway help section has no physical-card article either. Two unofficial trackers — an unofficial review site in August 2026 and the card form on the DefiLlama portal, verified in late September 2026 — also say virtual only. Treat that as unofficial but as consistent with the official pages rather than as contradicting them: the fair reading is that no physical card exists today, and I would not order anything expecting one.
How to get it
The path runs through Fiat24 rather than through SafePal alone, and knowing that in advance saves confusion later. You register the Fiat24 IBAN account, complete the verification, open the Swiss account, then activate the Mastercard with a deposit. Points arrive for opening the IBAN account — 1,500 of them — and your tier is recalculated on the first of each month from the points of the previous three months.
The activation step is the part people miss. Activating the Mastercard requires a deposit of 10 USDC on the Arbitrum network, plus ETH to pay the network fee, in an article dated 25 July 2026. The sender pays the blockchain gas — you do. If your balance sits in a token on a network you would not have chosen yourself, you now have a reason to care about networks.
Once it is active, the day-to-day controls are ordinary and decent: freeze and unfreeze the card in the app, view transactions there, set your own spending limit, and reach support through a dedicated channel specifically to combat impersonation — a concession to the phishing problem described later.
What the public pages do not cover: the age requirement, how long approval takes, why a registration might be refused, whether the card is delivered anywhere physical, and the chargeback process. I would not consider those “minor gaps”; the age floor in particular is the sort of thing you discover at the last step.
Fees and what a payment actually costs
There is no account creation fee and no account management fee. The card issuance fee is not stated. That is a genuinely cheap card to hold. What you pay depends almost entirely on what you are doing, and three of the numbers are easy to misread.

Standard top-up is 0% in the fees article. The bank page separately says fiat deposits start from 0.6% and crypto top-ups from 0.4% on the top tier, and the tier article quotes a standard 1% deposit rate as the baseline that higher tiers rebate against. In other words, the headline free top-up applies to the standard rate; other figures exist for tiers and for other funding routes. Read the tier table, not just the fees article.
| Item | Figure | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Account creation and management | No fee | Stated in the fees article |
| Card issuance | Not stated | No figure published |
| Standard top-up | 0% | Per the fees article; other pages cite 0.4% crypto on top tier and a standard 1% deposit rate |
| Mastercard settlement outside USD | 1% | FX fee on non-USD settlement |
| Refund processing | 1 USD / 1 EUR / 1 CHF / 7 CNH | Charged per refund |
| Swaps | Spread included, not quantified | No published number |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated | Unofficial tracker says ATMs are supported, with no fee or limit given |
| Contactless daily limit | 1,600 EUR | Per the bank page |
| Other payment methods, daily | 5,000 EUR | Per the bank page |
| Monthly limits | Equal to the transaction limit; $100,000 with Mastercard, $1,000 without | The $ figures come from the regions page |
Now let me follow three ordinary payments through that table, because a fee list on its own tells you nothing about the amount you will actually pay.
A coffee in a euro country, paid contactless with the card as it stands. If you have enabled euro in the account, there is no exchange fee on the payment itself. The card is virtual, so this means your phone and a tap. If you have not enabled euro, the default currency is used instead — and if the default is not the currency of the shop, that is where the 1% Mastercard settlement fee comes in. Zero FX fees are listed for EUR, CHF, USD and CNY on payments in an enabled currency; everything outside those four is where the cost concentrates.
An online subscription billed in dollars while your balance sits in euro. The 1% non-USD settlement fee applies to the Mastercard, plus whatever spread sits inside the swap if the purchase is funded from crypto. A swap spread is explicitly included but never quantified anywhere I could read, so treat this payment as “1% plus an unknown” and size your expectations accordingly.
A transfer out to another bank. Transfers between accounts inside the IBAN are free. Transfers to outside banks carry no SafePal or Fiat24 fee, though other banks may charge their own. What happens to money you withdraw back to crypto, and what balance you get if the account is closed, is not stated — a real gap for anyone treating this as a two-way bridge rather than a one-way spend.
The currencies are yours to enable, and that setting is the single most useful thing on this page for cost control. Enable exactly what you spend in. Everything else quietly costs you the 1%.
How to top it up
This is the best part of the product, and it is why I scored it 9 out of 10. You can send crypto from more than 40 blockchains; it is converted to USDC by default, or to fiat, and the transactions run on Arbitrum. No bank account is needed on the crypto side, and no waiting for a card to arrive in the post because there is no post.
What you need to know before your first transfer:
- You can activate the Mastercard with a 10 USDC deposit on Arbitrum, plus ETH for the network fee.
- The sender pays blockchain gas, so keep a little native token on the sending network.
- The standard top-up is 0%, but the bank page also lists fiat deposits from 0.6% and crypto top-ups from 0.4% at the top tier, and the tier article references a standard 1% deposit rate.
- There was a zero-fee waiver on on-ramps and deposits while SafePal’s programme was running. The terms of that waiver can change, and SafePal’s blog noted in March 2026 that the fiat on-ramp was disabled until further notice — though the crypto on-ramp through third parties such as MoonPay still worked. Treat “free” as a campaign, not a property.
The tier system is worth understanding because it is where the fee differences come from. Tiers are assigned by points, recalculated on the first of each month from the previous three months’ points. Opening the IBAN account gives 1,500 points. Higher tiers get a rebate on top-up fees — the published example is Silver paying the standard 1% deposit and getting 0.1% back — and reduced fees when buying USDC with the Mastercard. Staking $SFP raises your level too, with a 90-day lock and no early redemption. Referral commission depends on your tier.
One honest caveat about reading that scheme: Silver is the only tier name that appears in the text. The other names and the points thresholds live in images inside the tier article, so they are not readable. If your decision depends on reaching a particular tier, ask.
And a warning that costs nothing to heed: pick the network deliberately. A transfer to an address on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual recovery, with no guarantee. Read the network name twice before you send.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is where the 5 out of 10 comes from. The good news is the wallet side: Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal are all supported, which covers most contactless spending without you handling a card number at all. Blocked merchants are not listed, so you cannot tell whether gambling or adult categories are switched off by policy.
The thinner news is the card itself. It is virtual. The everyday reality is therefore: phone in hand, merchant terminal accepting contactless, and everything else failing softly in ways that are hard to debug. A decline at a shop with a queue behind you is a bad moment, and a virtual card gives you no plastic fallback to pull out.
Online payments carry the usual friction. 3-D Secure, Mastercard’s Identity Check version, may step in and ask for a one-time code or a biometric. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of a billing address against issuer records, is mostly a US, Canada and UK system and is generally unavailable on foreign-issued cards — so a decline on an online checkout is a realistic outcome rather than a sign you did something wrong. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold that lasts several days, typically up to seven.
Refunds are not free: 1 USD, 1 EUR, 1 CHF or 7 CNH per refund. What happens on a genuine dispute — whether chargebacks are offered — is not stated.
On rewards, there is no cashback. There are referral commissions of up to 40% of referred top-up fees, and tier privileges tied to deposits, referrals and $SFP staking. That is a scheme for people building a network, not a rebate on your groceries.
The app is good, though these ratings describe the wallet rather than the card. On iPhone and iPad it needs iOS 15.0 or later, version v4.11.12 was current on 12 October, and the App Store shows 4.7 out of 5 from 17K ratings. The Google Play rating I did not read. The interface includes Russian among English and 13 more languages, which is worth noting for anyone who would rather read instructions in Russian, though Russian-language support is a separate question and is not stated.
What can go wrong
Start with the thing that is documented rather than alleged, because it is the most concrete risk on this page. In 2026 SafePal disclosed a data breach exposing order information of about 39,798 customers. According to SafePal, no seed phrases, keys, card numbers or identity documents were exposed. Users separately reported phishing with accurate personal data in early July 2026, weeks before the disclosure — which is the part that should make you sit up, because accurate data arriving early suggests it may have circulated before the official notice.
Then the reviews. Trustpilot shows the SafePal site at 3.1 out of 5 from 394 reviews — 57% five-star, 37% one-star — with the company answering 93% of negative reviews. The pattern in the 2026 reviews is consistent and specific: between February and September, swaps and withdrawals shown as completed that never arrived; a May refund from Fiat24 that arrived about 20% short, with the reviewer told to contact Fiat24; phishing and scam calls in July to September using order details; and email-only support with copy-paste replies in June and July. No review mentions the card or the IBAN directly. That last point cuts both ways — it means the card itself is not a known pain point, but it also means the card is not what people are reviewing.
I am reading two Trustpilot figures across the sources I checked — 3.5 from 374 in one place, 3.1 from 394 in another, both wallet-level. The direction is the same either way; treat the exact numbers as approximate.
Two structural risks sit underneath all of this. The first is that the issuer is not named. The Swiss IBAN and the fiat gateway come through Fiat24, which handles compliance and licensing, but the Mastercard’s issuing institution is not identified on the pages I read. When you cannot name the entity that stands behind your card, recourse is harder to construct.
The second is regulatory drift. This is a MiCA world, and the transition period for providers already operating under national law ran only until 1 July 2026, or until a MiCA authorisation was granted or refused, whichever came first. A card is regulated separately from the crypto side — MiCA covers custody, exchange and transfer, while the card is a payment service under e-money and payments law — so a product like this depends on two licences at once. You can check a provider against ESMA’s interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers. I am not a lawyer and none of this is legal advice; it is a reason to know which entity you are actually dealing with before you rely on the card.
Support is the last practical risk. There is email support and a request form in the Zendesk help centre, plus a Telegram bot at t.me/fiat24bot for Fiat24 account problems. Hours are not stated. Russian-language support is not stated either, and given the phishing activity, that dedicated anti-impersonation channel exists for a reason — use only the channels inside the app and the official help centre, and treat any inbound call claiming to be SafePal as false.
What to take instead
If the Swiss IBAN is what you want, Zeal is the closest comparison. It runs on Gnosis Pay, a Visa card with a virtual option you can add to Apple Pay, accounts denominated in EUR, USD and GBP, and spending across 150+ countries. Zeal charges no additional FX fee of its own and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM charges may still apply. Rewards run to up to 4% cashback paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain if you hold GNO in the card Safe, with rates subject to change, and the App Store also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR/USD balances. It scored 6.1 out of 10 on my scale. What is not stated: issuance eligibility by country in detail, citizenship rules, whether a physical card exists, and any published fee schedule.
| SafePal | MetaMask | KAST | Zeal | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.2 | 7.1 | 6.1 | 6.1 |
| Network | Mastercard | Mastercard | Visa | Visa |
| Card form | Virtual | Virtual, Metal optional | Virtual and physical | Virtual |
| Holding cost | No creation or management fee | Virtual free; Metal $199/year | Standard $0, Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year | Not stated |
| FX | 1% when Mastercard settles outside USD | No additional MetaMask fee; Mastercard rate used | 0.5%–1.75% depending on residence, transaction country and programme | No additional FX fee; Visa wholesale rate |
| Cashback | None | mUSD: Virtual 1%, Metal 3% capped at first $10,000 spent | USD: Standard 1.5% up to $2,000/month, Premium 2% up to $10,000/month, Private 3% up to $40,000/month | Up to 4% in GNO, held in the card Safe |
| Funded from | Crypto on 40+ blockchains, USDC by default | Connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, Solana | Stablecoins incl. USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD | Balances in the card Safe on Gnosis Chain and Celo |
| Catch | Empty region list; no named issuer; 2026 breach | 45 listed countries, others waitlisted; US/UK sign-ups closed | Paid tiers; eligibility shown only at KYC; 0.10 USD under 25 USD, 0.50 USD decline fee | No published fee schedule; eligibility by region |
MetaMask is the strongest card here at 7.1, and worth a look if you are in a listed country. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories — Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain and Uruguay among the examples — with other regions on a waitlist, proof of residency required, and US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed per its FAQ. Note the framing: ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending, and the citizenship rule is not stated. The card is a Mastercard, virtual first and instantly issued, with a Metal card pre-orderable in the app after approval and one card per user. The virtual is free with no annual or maintenance fee; Metal is $199 a year. Spending comes straight from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with tokens named as mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT, and Solana-only wallets cannot withdraw credit. Cashback is mUSD into the Money Account at 1% on Virtual and 3% on Metal — capped at the first $10,000 spent, then 1% — plus a $FLY bonus through the Blackbird dining app at 5X on Virtual and 7X on Metal.
KAST at 6.1 is the one with physical cards and the most aggressive cashback. Eligibility is decided at KYC with a residence-based list shown in the flow; the country list itself is not published, and citizenship matters independently of residence — holding an ID from a restricted region can make you ineligible even while living in a supported country, dual citizens with a supported ID may pass, only the account holder’s own ID counts, and a VPN does not help. You can create an account in an unsupported country but KYC stays locked. Cards are Visa: Platinum Standard, Infinite metal on Premium, Infinite gold-plated on Private, plus Pengu, Solana and Bitcoin designs, up to 10 per user, with the balance in USD and stablecoin deposits converted 1:1 at a 0% spread. Membership is $0, $1,000 a year or $10,000 a year, billed annually upfront, with extra virtual cards at $2, a $40 delivery fee on the Standard physical card, and a $1 monthly inactivity fee after 12 months. Top-ups are 0% and USD card spend is 0%, but non-USD transactions run 0.5%–1.75%, under-25-USD non-USD transactions cost 0.10 USD, and a decline for insufficient balance costs 0.50 USD. Funding accepts USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD — though the terms say acceptable tokens are “currently USDT and USDC”, which conflicts.
If you only need a card and not an IBAN, the comparison above matters more than SafePal’s specifics. If you specifically need a Swiss IBAN, Zeal and SafePal are the two worth reading side by side, and the deciding question is not fees — Zeal publishes no fee schedule at all — but whether you can get an answer about your country from either.
Who I would recommend it to
SafePal suits a narrow and specific person: someone already holding crypto in SafePal who wants a euro-denominated IBAN and a virtual Mastercard, is comfortable with identity verification run by a Swiss partner, lives and holds citizenship in a supported region once that region is confirmed to them, and plans to pay mostly in the currencies they enable on the account. For that person this is good work at a low price, and the 9 out of 10 for funding is deserved.
I would steer everyone else elsewhere. If you live in Russia or Belarus, the card’s public pages say nothing about either country in either direction, so you have no basis to plan around this — and the wider KYC backdrop makes nationality and country of birth screened separately from residence, which is why a vague answer matters. If you are a Russian-speaking reader in another CIS country, or a Russian citizen living elsewhere in the world, the same problem appears in a different shape: what decides you may be your citizenship, your residence, or both, and the only honest move is to ask Fiat24 what applies to your documents before you commit funds. Nobody can tell you from these pages, and I am not going to invent it.
Beyond geography: skip this card if you need plastic, if you need an ATM, if you are planning to live on the 1% outside-USD settlement, or if a 2026 data breach plus a 37% one-star review share disqualifies you on principle. In each of those cases, MetaMask or KAST serve the same need with clearer published terms — and in KAST’s case, an actual physical card.
I keep coming back to one thing. A card is a promise that someone will honour a payment when a shop asks. With SafePal that promise is made by an issuer the pages do not name, an account run by Fiat24, a wallet run by SafePal, and a network that cannot reverse a transaction if something goes wrong. Read it that way and the 6.2 makes sense: not a warning, just an accurate description of how many parties stand between your money and the till.
Frequently asked questions
What is the SafePal card?
It is a virtual Mastercard debit card that spends from a Swiss IBAN account opened through Fiat24, plus SafePal’s own crypto wallet. You fund the account from crypto on more than 40 blockchains, converted to USDC by default, and then pay with the card or through Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal. It is not a bank account in the ordinary sense: SafePal does not itself hold the money.
Is SafePal a bank?
No. SafePal is a crypto wallet company that operates a banking gateway in partnership with Fiat24, which handles the Swiss IBAN, compliance and licensing, and runs the identity verification. The card’s issuing institution is not named on the pages I read. So you are dealing with at least two companies, and that is worth holding in mind before you rely on the card for anything urgent.
Who can get the SafePal card?
The stated rule is citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas, and the account limits are $100,000 a month with the Mastercard or $1,000 without. The catch is that the supported-regions page listed no names when I fetched it, and Russia and Belarus are not mentioned either way. If your nationality or address is the deciding factor, ask Fiat24 directly.
Does the SafePal card require KYC?
Yes, and it is not the light kind. Fiat24 runs email and phone verification, a passport scan in the ReadID Ready app, and an address check that requires your registered address to be within 2 km of your current location with location access enabled. You also need SafePal app 4.5.0 or newer and 0.0001 ETH on Arbitrum. No credit checks and no staking are required.
How do I activate the SafePal Mastercard?
You deposit 10 USDC on the Arbitrum network, plus ETH to cover the network fee, from an article dated 25 July 2026. The sender pays the blockchain gas. Make sure the network matches what the article specifies, because transfers to an unsupported network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee of success.
How do I top up the SafePal card?
Send crypto from any of more than 40 blockchains and it converts to USDC by default, or to fiat. No bank account is needed for the crypto route. The standard top-up is listed at 0%, while the bank page also quotes fiat deposits from 0.6% and crypto top-ups from 0.4% at the top tier, and a zero-fee waiver that was running as a campaign.
What are the SafePal card fees?
There is no account creation or management fee, and the card issuance fee is not stated. You pay 1% when the Mastercard settles outside USD, plus an unquantified spread inside any swap. Refunds cost 1 USD, 1 EUR, 1 CHF or 7 CNH each. Payments in an enabled currency carry no exchange fee for EUR, CHF, USD and CNY — so enable exactly the currencies you spend in.
Can I use the SafePal card at ATMs?
The card’s own pages do not say. The card form on the DefiLlama portal, verified in late September 2026, says ATM withdrawals are supported, with no fee or limit given, while another unofficial source says there is no physical card at all and the sources conflict. Given the card is virtual, I would treat cash withdrawal as unproven and plan around it.
Is the SafePal card safe?
The wallet side is non-custodial by SafePal’s own account, and the card can be frozen and given a custom spending limit in the app. Against that, SafePal disclosed a 2026 data breach covering order information of about 39,798 customers, users reported phishing with accurate personal data in early July, and Trustpilot shows 3.1 out of 5 from 394 reviews with complaints about withdrawals that never arrived.
Is the SafePal card worth it?
Worth it if you want a Swiss IBAN linked to a crypto wallet you already use and you pay mostly in the currencies you have enabled. Not worth it if you need a physical card, reliable ATM access, or a clearly named card issuer. At a 0% standard top-up and no monthly fee, the cost argument is easy; the transparency argument is not.
Prepared by the Crypto Card Rating editorial staff.
