Bitrefill card review: who it suits, what it costs and where it actually works

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Bitrefill Visa card lives at the seam between a crypto wallet and a euro payment card. You load it with Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDC, Lightning or a SEPA transfer, and the balance you spend sits in euros. That makes it behave more like a prepaid card than a debit card linked to a bank account, which is why people who already keep some of their money in crypto like it — and why it also reads as “foreign” to the kind of merchants who dig into card numbers. After spending real money with a card like this across multiple European countries, I’d describe it as a niche tool that does a small number of things well and a few annoying things not so well. The score below reflects that mix.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Bitrefill works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of 21 October 2026. Bitrefill; licensed issuer Wallester AS (Estonia) and operator Airfill Prepaid AB (Sweden).

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict
  2. Who they will issue the card to
  3. Signing up
  4. What it really costs — fees and the day-to-day math
  5. Top-up options and funding the card
  6. Paying with it day to day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict

Bitrefill scores 6.8 out of 10. It is a polite, fairly priced euro card for people who already hold crypto or want to send value through Lightning, and it is held back mainly by a narrow eligibility list and a fee or two that only surfaces when you actually use it.

Criterion Score Why it scored there
Who can get it 5 / 10 Open to residents of 29 EU and EEA countries, 18+; US and Russian citizens excluded regardless of where they live
Cost 6 / 10 Free card through the app; a fixed 1.99% deposit fee and no FX margin; unofficial sources cite an inactivity fee and ATM charge
Top-up options 7 / 10 Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon and SEPA; USDT funding ended March 2025; minimum deposit EUR 15
Reliability and complaints 9 / 10 Issued by a licensed Estonian issuer, operated by a Swedish company; strong Trustpilot profile with most complaints aimed at the gift-card shop rather than the card
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa; Google Pay supported; ATM withdrawals possible on the Visa network

This card makes the most sense if you live in the EU or EEA, you already hold crypto (especially Bitcoin plus Lightning), and your main use case is paying in euros or sending value across borders without touching a bank. It makes less sense if you live in a country outside the eligibility list, your transactions tend to be in currencies other than euros, or you need a debit card tied to a current account. If you are a Russian citizen or live in Russia, the card is closed to you — that part is not subtle, and I’ll spell it out below. If you are an EU resident who spends crypto, this is one of the smoother card experiences on the market in 2026.

Who they will issue the card to

Bitrefill’s card is a euro Visa. The single biggest gate is geography, and it shows up before you sign up at all.

The card is open to residents aged 18 or over in Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Norway and Iceland. That is the list kept by the card partner, not by Bitrefill itself, and it lines up with the EU plus Iceland and Norway from the EEA.

Citizenship is screened separately from residence, and this is where several readers will fall off. Citizens of the United States and Russia are excluded regardless of where they live. A Russian citizen who also holds EU or EEA citizenship can still apply, because the EU/EEA citizenship becomes the relevant one for the KYC checks. Ukrainian, Belarusian, Emirati and Japanese citizens are mentioned in the help-centre blocklist for verification and deposits (the public list is truncated, but those are the ones named), so any of those passports is a problem regardless of whether you live in Paris. A few national mobile numbers — including Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan — are also rejected at sign-up, which catches some CIS residents who live and work legally in the EU.

The intended audience is therefore an EU/EEA resident, including a Russian-born person who has acquired an EU passport, who wants to spend crypto and Lightning in euros. Everyone else is either politely turned away or quietly blocked.

For Russian speakers specifically, the geography rule bites hard. People living in Russia are not served. Russian citizens living abroad are not served unless they hold an EU/EEA passport as well. Russian citizens living in CIS countries other than the EU/EEA are not served either, regardless of the local rules. The card is not built for the Russian-speaking market at all, and nothing in the public material suggests that is changing.

There is one more wrinkle specific to 2026: the card’s help centre notes a temporary suspension of new applications from Hungarian residents. If you are in Hungary, check the help centre before starting the sign-up flow — the situation may move before the year is out.

Signing up

The sign-up journey is unremarkable, in a good way. You download the Bitrefill app, go through identity verification with the card partner before you can order the card, and from there you can use a virtual card immediately and request a physical one.

Identity checks. Bitrefill does not describe KYC in detail on the card page, but the terms confirm that the card is restricted to customers aged 18 and over. The verification itself is run by the card partner, with two tiers.

Outside the EU, activation needs a proof-of-address document. Processing time and the exact rejection reasons are not stated publicly, but Bitrefill warns that the partner sets the rule and runs the check.

The cards themselves. You get two forms: a virtual Visa and a physical Visa. The virtual one is usable as soon as you order it, the physical one has to be activated once it arrives. The card balance is always in euros, regardless of which cryptocurrency you topped up with.

Delivery. The physical card is sent free of charge to the address you provide; how long that takes is not stated, so don’t pin a trip to the airport on a specific dispatch date. When it expires, you order a new one from the Cards page; the cost of a replacement (for example, a lost or stolen card) is also not stated. Plan accordingly: if you’ve changed address, update it before requesting the card.

What it really costs — fees and the day-to-day math

The headline on the card page is that the card is free through the app. That is true, but it covers the issuance and monthly subscription — the costs that actually hit your balance are the ones you meet when you load it, when you spend in a non-euro currency, and when you withdraw cash. Here is what is published.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitrefill payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What it is What it costs
Card issuance Ordered through the app Free
Monthly fee Subscription Not stated (page says the card is free)
Inactivity fee After 12 months without spending or cash-out Not stated officially; unofficial sources report EUR 10/month
Top-up fee (crypto) Fixed Bitrefill fee plus partner conversion at the live rate Fixed 1.99%
SEPA pay-in Bank transfer to the card 1.99%
FX fee Paying in a currency other than EUR None on Bitrefill’s side; Visa’s exchange rate applies
ATM withdrawal Cash at a Visa-accepting ATM Not stated officially; unofficial sources report 2.49% for both tiers plus the ATM operator’s own charge
Replacement physical card Lost, stolen, or second card Not stated officially; unofficial sources report EUR 10
Minimum deposit Smallest amount that will actually be added EUR 15
Daily spend limit Max card spending per day EUR 10,000
Monthly spend limit Max card spending per month EUR 10,000 (Starter); EUR 15,000 (Plus)
Contactless limit Max per single contactless transaction EUR 200
Lifetime crypto deposit cap (Starter) Total crypto ever deposited at Starter tier EUR 15,000
Lifetime crypto deposit cap (Plus) Total crypto ever deposited at Plus tier No limit

A few of the rows above come from unofficial sources and are not confirmed by Bitrefill in its public pages. I’ll single them out where it matters: the EUR 10 monthly inactivity fee, the EUR 10 replacement-card charge and the 2.49% ATM fee are reported by independent card-comparison sites that read Bitrefill’s pricing page in 2026. Those figures are not on Bitrefill’s own terms, so treat them as unofficial and check the in-app disclosure for the number that will actually be charged. The Bitrefill Terms defer a lot of these to “partner terms”, so the published card page quietly hands you over to the issuer for the exact numbers; that is also why official confirmation is thin.

Three everyday payments, with the fees worked out

A flat table does not tell you whether the card is cheap or expensive in the cases you’ll actually use it for. Let me walk through three.

Buying coffee. You paid 1.99% to load the card, so the cost includes that loading fee. The card has no per-transaction fee, and the merchant’s acquirer treats the transaction as a domestic Visa sale because your card is a euro card and the merchant prices in euros. Total extra cost: the 1.99% loading fee, and zero on the actual swiped transaction.

Booking a flight from a US-airline website. Same loading fee, same per-transaction cost. What changes is that the merchant sees a euro card in euros, so there is no FX rate applied on top — Bitrefill does not levy an FX fee, and Visa’s wholesale rate is what’s used if a conversion is needed at all. If your balance is in euros, the airline is paid in euros, and you are done. The thing that can bite is address verification at check-out: some US merchants compare the billing ZIP you typed with what their fraud system has on file, and a European-issued prepaid card often returns “unavailable” for the AVS check, which can produce a decline. That isn’t a fee — it’s a friction.

Withdrawing cash from a non-bank ATM. This is where the card starts to feel ordinary. Unofficial sources put Bitrefill’s cut at 2.49% on the amount withdrawn, and the ATM operator will charge its own fee on top. Treat the ATM line as the most expensive part of the card.

The pattern you’ll notice after a month: loading the card is where Bitrefill earns its margin, spending the card is where it does not, and cash is the most expensive in any case. That is a coherent shape for a product aimed at paying in shops, not at pulling money out of the wall.

Top-up options and funding the card

Topping the card up is where the cost is, so the choice of method matters. Two things to know up front: the card is euro-denominated, so every method below is converted to euros before the balance updates; and the minimum deposit is EUR 15, so anything smaller than that is not added at all.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitrefill starts with a transfer to the right network

The current methods I could confirm, and a few that are not.

A few caveats I want to set down plainly. Store credit in your Bitrefill account cannot be moved to the card: the gift-card side of Bitrefill and the card side of Bitrefill are two separate balances. Choosing the wrong network is irreversible: stablecoin transfers are not recoverable once sent on the wrong chain, and the support team can sometimes help but does not guarantee it. EU rules changed in July 2026: deposits from a wallet that is not your own, or from a wallet belonging to a non-EU-licensed VASP, above EUR 1,000 will be declined. If you usually load from an exchange, double-check that the exchange is licensed in the EU before 2026 — that part is not Bitrefill’s choice, it’s the EU Transfer of Funds Regulation.

Withdrawing or cashing out

You can pull money out of the card in two directions. Withdrawing to a SEPA bank account is free (within the same kind of limits that apply to the card itself), though one unofficial source notes that Swedish residents are excluded from the free SEPA cash-out. Cashing out at a Visa ATM uses the Visa-acceptance logo and the ATM fee noted above. If your inactivity fees ever run the balance down to EUR 0, the card deactivates, and Bitrefill’s terms do not describe how to recover a balance on a voluntarily closed card. Withdraw in good time.

Paying with it day to day

Once the card has a euro balance, it behaves like any other prepaid Visa: tap to pay, insert and PIN, or use it online with 3-D Secure.

Mobile wallets. Google Pay works today and is officially supported. Apple Pay is “not supported yet” on the card, with Bitrefill saying it will land “soon” — which it has been saying for some time. If your phone is an iPhone and Apple Pay is your default way to pay, that’s the single biggest practical gap. Other wallets (Garmin Pay, etc.) are not mentioned either way.

In shops. Anywhere Visa is accepted. Card numbers start with a Visa issuer identification number tied to Wallester AS in Estonia, so the card is unambiguously identified as a foreign-issued prepaid card at the merchant’s end. That means two real frictions worth knowing:

Cashback. The card pays 2% cashback without a cap, split as 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase. The cashback is paid in euros. At EUR 10,000 of monthly spending, that’s EUR 200 a month back, paid in the same currency the card already holds — useful enough for a heavy user, marginal for a light one.

Disputes. Bitrefill’s documented advice is to contact the merchant first; most refunds are resolved there. If you chargeback, any rewards earned on the disputed transaction can be debited along with the refund. Bitrefill also says it is not liable for merchants who refuse to accept the card, which is true for any card network, but worth keeping in mind for unusual merchants.

The app. The Bitrefill app is where you spend from, freeze the card, hide the balance and change limits. Unofficial app-store ratings put it at 4.7 on iOS (372 ratings) and 4.5 on Google Play (2,468 ratings). I haven’t separately verified those numbers, and a reviewer’s experience of an app is partly a function of which phone you’re on and which region you’re in, but the shape is “well-regarded, not beloved”.

What can go wrong

Every prepaid card carries a few specific kinds of risk, and the Bitrefill one is no exception.

Program-level risk. The card sits on a Visa programme managed by Wallester AS in Estonia, an electronic-money institution licensed by Finantsinspektsioon (the Estonian FSA), with crypto and virtual-IBAN services from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, also in Estonia and licensed by the Estonian FIU. The site itself is owned and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB in Stockholm. Visa has ended issuer programmes before — most famously the FTX debit card in November 2022 — and an e-money licence is the kind of thing a regulator can pull if compliance slips. This is the structural risk of every Visa-branded prepaid programme in the EU, and Bitrefill is not especially exposed compared to peers.

Sanctions and country drift. Two real risks for some readers.

Operational complaints. The card itself enjoys a quiet reputation. Bitrefill as a brand carries a Trustpilot score of roughly 4.5/5 from around 2,943 reviews as of October 2026, with about 89% five-star and 5% one-star. The card-related complaints are thin; one recurring user note is that the Visa card is sometimes declined at merchants that shouldn’t be unusual, and the rest of the negative volume points at the gift-card shop rather than the card: Apple gift cards disabled by Apple after purchase with a refund declined (“Apple must resolve it”), wrong-network or wrong-token crypto deposits that end in support disputes, and products that do not work in the buyer’s region without warning. Bitrefill replies to almost every low-star review, which is a good sign for a payments company. No Reddit threads surfaced for the card specifically, and no major incidents have been recorded in 2026.

Security. The standard suite is in place: freeze the card with one tap, hide the balance behind a separate action, 3-D Secure on online payments. Custody is with the issuer and the crypto partner — your crypto is held by partners, not by you, which means you are trusting Wallester and Lightspark with the funds between top-up and spend. Bitrefill does not publish safeguarding or insurance language in the terms, so assume the default for licensed EU e-money institutions: customer funds are segregated, but they are not deposit-guaranteed in the way a bank current account is.

Customer support. Email at [email protected] and a Help centre. Hours, languages and Russian-language support are not stated. If your issue is time-sensitive — a card stuck at a hotel checkout, a stablecoin deposit on the wrong chain — the email channel will be the slow part of the experience.

Things specifically worth checking before you put real money on it:

  1. Whether your country of residence is in the published list, and your citizenship in particular.
  2. Whether your typical spending currency is the euro, because other currencies go through Visa’s exchange rate without an additional FX margin on Bitrefill’s side but are still exposed to AVS and merchant friction.
  3. Whether Apple Pay on iPhone matters to you; until that ships, your wallet choice is Google Pay or the physical card.
  4. What the inactivity fee really is, since the official page leaves the amount unstated. Don’t expect the figure to be nothing.
  5. Where the EUR 15 minimum deposit leaves you if you only wanted to test the card with EUR 5.

What to take instead

If Bitrefill isn’t the right fit, three other names come up around this score and use case. None of them is strictly comparable, but each answers a different “instead of” question.

Alternative Score What it is and who it suits
UPay 6.1 / 10 A multi-currency crypto card claiming coverage in 180+ countries; useful if you want USD, EUR and AED balances rather than euro-only
Kemy 6.0 / 10 Unlimited virtual Visa cards plus one physical Mastercard; pricing starts at $15 issuance for a 3-year virtual card; stronger outside the EU
Tevau 6.0 / 10 A four-tier card (Virtual, Plastic, Metal, 24K Gold) on Visa; broadly positioned for cross-border crypto spending outside Europe

UPay is the most international of the three. It claims support in 180+ countries and ships personal and business cards whose balances sit in USD, EUR, AED and others; the catch is that “supported in 180+ countries” is paired with “a list may change with regulatory and issuer policies” — the precise eligibility is not published. KYC is run through a partner that only accepts an ID document issued by the same country as the user’s address, which is a meaningful constraint for expats. Top-up includes BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC; cashback isn’t published on the card page. If you need non-euro balances and don’t live in the EU, UPay is the natural comparison.

Kemy is closer to a tool than a lifestyle card: an unlimited number of virtual Visa cards (each $15 issuance fee, valid for three years), one physical Mastercard ($250 issuance, DHL Express included), topped up in USDT or USDC on “the main networks”, plus BTC, ETH, and SOL through an on-ramp. Transaction fees are 3.5% plus $1, and monthly fees are $2 for the virtual card and $10 for the physical. The pricing page has at least one internal inconsistency on the main-account deposit fee (8% in the summary, 5% in the section). It’s priced aggressively for a single-virtual-card use case, less so for a primary card.

Tevau is positioned as a Visa with four tiers — Virtual (USD 20), Plastic (USD 100), Metal (USD 199) and 24K Gold (USD 499). The pricing comes from an independent information site that explicitly says it is not Tevau itself, so treat the figures as unofficial. USDT funding is supported, and the app shows the network to use, with the usual warning that wrong-network funds are not recoverable. Cashback isn’t mentioned, and there’s no published list of supported or excluded countries.

A note on what I haven’t compared: this is not a buyer’s guide to crypto cards in general, and if you want a fully self-custodial card, a US-issued card, or a card tied to a non-euro bank account, none of these three is going to do that for you either. They each share the same custodial model: you hold crypto on a licensed platform that converts it for you at spend time, which is the category trade-off that matters before any of these individual differences.

Who I would recommend it to

The Bitrefill card is a good card for a fairly specific kind of reader. If you live in the EU or EEA, hold crypto, want to spend in euros, and are happy to use Google Pay on Android or a physical Visa, this is one of the smoother products in its category in 2026. If you live in a country outside that list, hold mainly USDT (no longer supported), depend on Apple Pay, want to keep the balance in something other than euros, or want a card that is tied to a real bank account, this card is not for you.

A few concrete use cases where it fits well, and a few where it does not.

Good fits:

Poor fits:

If you are on the right side of the country list and the wallet list, the Bitrefill card does what it says on the tin. If you are not, the geographic and currency rules will block you faster than the fees ever could.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bitrefill card?

The Bitrefill card is a prepaid euro Visa, available as a virtual card and a physical card. It is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB in Sweden. You load it with cryptocurrency or a SEPA bank transfer, and the balance you spend sits in euros. It is funded through the Bitrefill app and is intended for residents of 29 EU and EEA countries.

How does the Bitrefill card work?

You load a euro balance onto the card with Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon or a SEPA transfer. Each load carries a 1.99% Bitrefill fee plus a variable conversion at the card partner’s live rate. Once the balance is in euros you spend it anywhere Visa is accepted, with a 2% cashback (split 1% on the deposit and 1% on each purchase) and no separate FX fee on Bitrefill’s side. The card acts like a prepaid Visa, not like a debit card tied to a current account.

Is Bitrefill a bank?

No. Bitrefill is a Swedish fintech company, Airfill Prepaid AB, that operates the card programme. The card itself is issued by Wallester AS, an electronic-money institution licensed by the Estonian financial supervisor, Finantsinspektsioon. Crypto and virtual-IBAN services come from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, also in Estonia. Funds are safeguarded under EMI rules but are not covered by deposit-guarantee schemes in the way a bank account would be.

Who owns Bitrefill?

Bitrefill (owned by Airfill Prepaid AB) is a euro Visa card… The card is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia, and crypto services are provided by Lightspark Payments Europe AS, also in Estonia. Bitrefill does not publicly disclose investor or ownership details beyond this.

Is the Bitrefill card available in my country?

It depends on whether you are a resident of one of the 29 EU and EEA countries on the published list, which includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Norway and Iceland. Citizenship is screened separately, and citizens of the United States and Russia are excluded regardless of where they live. A temporary suspension of new applications from Hungarian residents is also in force.

Does the Bitrefill card require KYC?

Yes. Identity verification is run by the card partner before you can order the card. At the default Starter tier you complete a photo-ID and selfie liveness check, with proof of address added if the partner asks for it. Once you approach the EUR 15,000 lifetime deposit cap, an invitation unlocks the Plus tier, which adds proof of address and proof of source of funds. Outside the EU, activation also requires a proof-of-address document.

How do I add the Bitrefill card to Apple Wallet?

You cannot right now. Google Pay is supported and works on Android. Apple Pay is listed by Bitrefill as “coming soon”, with no public launch date, so iPhone users either need to wait, use the physical card, or pay with the card number online. Treat any third-party guide that says otherwise as out of date.

How do I top up the Bitrefill card?

Open the Bitrefill app, choose Top Up, and pick a method. Crypto options include Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base and Polygon, each with its own gas or network fee. SEPA bank transfer is also supported. Every load costs a fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee on top of any variable conversion at the card partner’s rate, with a minimum deposit of EUR 15. USDT is no longer a funding method as of 17 March 2025.

How do I withdraw money from the Bitrefill card?

Two routes. You can withdraw to a SEPA bank account for free, within the published limits (Swedish residents excluded per an unofficial source). You can also withdraw cash at any Visa-accepting ATM, paying Bitrefill’s cut (reported unofficially at 2.49%) plus the ATM operator’s own fee. If inactivity fees ever bring the balance to EUR 0 the card deactivates, and the public terms do not describe how a voluntarily closed account would recover a remaining balance.

Is the Bitrefill card safe?

Reasonably so, within the usual limits of an EU e-money programme. The card is issued by an Estonian EMI, supports 3-D Secure on online payments, has a one-tap freeze and balance-hide option in the app, and the brand carries a strong Trustpilot profile of roughly 4.5 stars from 2,943 reviews as of October 2026. The trade-off is that your crypto is held by the partners, not by you, and your funds are safeguarded rather than deposit-guaranteed. Don’t load more than you plan to spend in the next few months.

Published by the Crypto Card Rating team.

Tegro card review: no-KYC Visa, but read this first
Tegro card review: no-KYC Visa, but read this first

Tegro review by a user who checked the terms: no-KYC virtual Visa, USDT TRC-20 only,…

Worldwide Card Review: Fees, Top Ups and the Big Gaps
Worldwide Card Review: Fees, Top Ups and the Big Gaps

A close look at the Worldwide card: what it costs, how you top it up,…

HexaCard Card Review: 4.6/10 for an Unclear Card
HexaCard Card Review: 4.6/10 for an Unclear Card

HexaCard review for readers who need a crypto-spending card fast: who qualifies, what it costs,…

Belo card review: cheap, but Argentina-only
Belo card review: cheap, but Argentina-only

An independent review of the Belo Mastercard: who qualifies, what it costs, how you top…

Karta card review: what a crypto Visa really costs you
Karta card review: what a crypto Visa really costs you

A hands-on look at Karta's Visa cards — fees, top-ups, limits, who gets one, and…