Exa card review: spending your own crypto, with two catches

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Exa is not a bank and not an exchange. It is a self-custody app and a virtual Visa card that spends against crypto you already hold, either directly from your balance or as a credit line against your collateral. That distinction matters more than anything else on this page, and it is the reason the card is interesting to a narrow group of people and irrelevant to everyone else. If you keep your crypto in your own wallet, dislike handing a custodian the keys, and want to pay for a coffee or a subscription without touching an exchange account, the idea is genuinely good. If you want a plastic card in the post, a fee-free everyday debit card, or a card that works for a Russian resident, Exa will disappoint you on at least one of those counts and possibly all three.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Exa works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I checked the card’s own help centre, product site and documentation, and I compared them against what independent trackers say. Below is what I found, what the card’s public pages leave unsaid, and where I would draw the line before you decide.

The conditions described on this page are current as of 21 October 2026 (verified against official help centre and documentation).

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict: 6.2 out of 10, and a card for one specific person
  2. Will they give you the card?
  3. How to get it
  4. Fees: what it really costs
  5. Top up: how money gets into the account
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict: 6.2 out of 10, and a card for one specific person

My score for the Exa card is 6.2 out of 10. That is not a dismissal. It is the number a card gets when it does one unusual thing well and leaves three ordinary things undone.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Issued in 45 countries (Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa, UAE among them) and 31 US states; 18 countries closed, including Russia
Cost 7 / 10 Officially a 1.5% fee on payments not in USD, with loan origination included in the percentage; independently reported as $0 issuance and annual fee
Top-up options 6 / 10 Collateral in USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC, OP; networks not named, and no crypto top-up fee stated
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Exa Labs SAS, issuer not named, issued in the US via Rain; Google Play 2.7 from 58 ratings; a $7.3M protocol exploit occurred in August 2023
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only, Apple Pay and Google Wallet supported; no physical card exists

Who it suits: someone who already holds crypto in self-custody, already has a working on-chain setup, lives in one of the 45 eligible countries or an eligible US state, and wants to convert a small amount to fiat at the moment of purchase rather than sitting on an exchange balance. The self-custody design is the genuine appeal. Your keys stay with you, the account is secured with passkeys, and you can add a second account owner if you want a joint arrangement. Spending and borrowing run on non-custodial smart contracts.

Who it does not suit: anyone who wants a physical card, anyone who wants a card for everyday spending abroad without a 1.5% penalty on every non-dollar purchase, anyone in Russia or Belarus, and anyone who needs a predictable monthly fee and ATM terms stated up front rather than inferred. Three of those four are hard no’s; the fourth is just a fit question.

My one-line verdict: this is a tool for a self-custody user who spends crypto, not a replacement for a bank card.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, in a wide list of countries, and the rule is by residence, not citizenship.

The card is issued in 45 countries — the named examples include Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, with Nigeria conditional — and in 31 US states. Eighteen countries are ineligible, and the list includes Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia.

What this means in practice, and I want to be precise because people get this wrong constantly:

One more thing worth knowing about the BIN: a card number starts with an issuer identification number of six or eight digits, and merchants can look that up to see which institution and country issued it. A card issued in one country and used in another can therefore attract extra scrutiny simply because the issuer country does not match your billing address. That is a general fact about card numbering, not an Exa quirk, but it is the background reason that foreign-issued crypto cards sometimes get declined at terminals that have never seen them.

How to get it

The short version: download the app, add funds, and the KYC check takes no more than 3 minutes. The card itself arrives as a virtual Visa you add to your phone, not as anything in the post.

Here is the sequence the card describes:

  1. Download the Exa app. There is a web version at web.exactly.app as well, and the documentation covers both iOS and Android.
  2. Add funds to the account. You need a balance before the card will work — the help centre states you must have funds in your account to enable it.
  3. Complete the KYC check. This is described as taking no more than 3 minutes.
  4. Request the card. Validation is a single step, described as taking no more than three minutes.
  5. Add the virtual Visa to Apple Pay or Google Wallet and start spending.

What the public pages do not say, and you should ask about before you rely on any of this:

What is documented is a purchase limit of $10,000 per week for credit card purchases. Above that, an automated source-of-funds check begins: you get a form and you supply supporting documents. Raising your limits requires proof of address and proof of funds.

The card is a Visa Signature Exa Credit Card, virtual, accepted at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries. Its currency is USD. There are no tiers, no paid plans and no premium versions — one card, one product.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is the part where the marketing and the help centre diverge, and you should read both.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What an Exa payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The product page markets the card as free and shows no amounts. The help centre has an article on associated fees and costs, and the fee that matters is named clearly: the currency of the Exa Card is USD, and every purchase in a currency other than USD is charged a 1.5% FX fee, which is included in the exchange rate you see. That is the fee you will actually meet most often, unless you never leave dollar countries.

Fee or limit Value Where it comes from
Issuance $0 Independent tracker, page updated August 2026; official page markets the card as free without amounts
Annual fee $0 Independent tracker, August 2026; official page markets the card as free without amounts
Non-USD purchase fee 1.5%, included in the rate Official help centre
Loan origination fee May be charged; included in the installment interest percentage Official help centre
ATM withdrawal $1 plus 0.65% per withdrawal (unofficial), $250 per withdrawal (unofficial), four withdrawals per day Independent tracker, August 2026; needs a contactless NFC ATM and a PIN from the app, and the ATM operator may add its own fee
Weekly purchase limit $10,000 Official help centre
Daily, monthly and other ATM limits Not stated —

Three everyday payments, and which fees bite:

Two honest caveats. First, the issuance and annual fee of $0 come from a third-party tracker, not from Exa; the official page says “free” without numbers. Second, there is a whole class of costs the public pages simply do not publish: monthly fees, daily and monthly spending limits, ATM fees, deposit fees, minimum top-ups and the crypto conversion fee. If a number matters to your decision, ask support and get the answer in writing before you commit funds.

Top up: how money gets into the account

The model is different from most crypto cards, and this is the bit that trips people up. You do not buy a prepaid card balance with dollars. You deposit crypto into your own self-custody account, and that crypto becomes collateral and spendable balance.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Exa starts with a transfer to the right network

The supported assets, per the documentation, are USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP, as collateral in the protocol markets. The networks are not named on the pages I read. That single omission can cost you real money, and I will come back to it below.

From there you have two ways to spend:

What you can also do with the funds: the site says money can be sent to a bank account or a digital wallet, and withdrawn from ATMs. Fees, limits and timelines for those are not given. What happens to a remaining balance when you close the account is not stated either.

On the practical question of getting money in:

Now the warning, because this is where I would lose money if I were doing this for the first time. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send a deposit on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be lost entirely, or recovered only by manual support work with no guarantee. Exa names five assets but not the chains, so before your first transfer, confirm the network in the app or with support. Separately, if you hold USDC you should know that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option and sending TRC20 USDC to a service expecting another network is precisely the mistake that costs real money. If the token you hold sits on Ethereum, remember that gas is paid in ETH only: a wallet with USDT and no ETH cannot send at all.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card is thinnest, and I want to set expectations before you read the rest.

There is no physical card. The help centre says so directly: no physical cards are available at the moment. The card is stored in Apple Pay or Google Wallet, and both are supported — the help centre has articles for adding the card to each. Delivery and replacement therefore do not apply to you; there is nothing being shipped.

That single fact shapes the whole experience. You can pay at a contactless terminal with your phone, and you can pay online with the card number. You cannot hand a card to a waiter, hand one to a shop assistant who wants to swipe the terminal, hand one to a car rental desk, or hand one to a person who needs to photograph it for a reimbursement claim. Budget accordingly.

The other everyday mechanics:

The settlement detail that will confuse you at first: a purchase is placed on hold at authorisation and completes, usually one to three days later. The final amount can differ from the initial one — tips, hotel holds and exchange-rate moves all cause this. Your bank’s feed will show a pending amount and then a different settled amount, and that is normal rather than a duplicate charge. Declined authorisations can also leave a hold on funds for several days, up to about a week.

Disputes, refunds and chargebacks: not stated on the public pages. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. So treat “I can dispute this purchase” as unverified for this card until support tells you otherwise.

What can go wrong

Five risks, in descending order of how likely they are to affect you.

1. Network mismatch on your first deposit. The most likely way to lose money, because the supported assets are named and the networks are not. Transfers are irreversible. Confirm before you send.

2. Support that may not answer. A third-party aggregator rates the card 5.7 out of 10 and cites KYC failures for users in African markets, particularly Nigeria, no documented support response-time commitments, and exclusion of 24 US states. The card’s own help centre lists a Help Center at help.exactly.app and an X account at @Exa_App, but email, chat, Telegram, support hours and Russian-language support are all not stated. If you are in a market where a support failure means your money is stuck, weigh this heavily.

3. Who you are actually dealing with. The footer says Exa Labs SAS. The cards are issued by licensed third parties and Exa Labs does not issue payment instruments. The issuing bank is not named. The help centre says the card is issued in the United States, with a US legal address in San Juan, Puerto Rico, provided by Rain. That structure is normal for this category — the network licenses issuers, the crypto brand is often only a programme manager and front-end — but it means the entity that would owe you money in a dispute is not the app you downloaded. Ask for the issuer’s name before you load funds.

4. The protocol exploit. A third-party site reports a $7.3M protocol exploit occurred in August 2023. This is the protocol behind the collateral markets the card uses. I did not find official confirmation of the details, and I am not going to characterise losses you did not have. What I will say is that the same protocol failure is a reason to size your collateral carefully, not to load everything at once.

5. Complaints, or rather the absence of them. No Trustpilot page for exactly.app could be found. No Reddit reviews were found. Independent trackers rate the card 7.7, and store ratings are split as discussed in the App reviews section. A young card with a small sample is neither proven nor condemned — but you cannot lean on a track record here, because there is not one.

There is a background worth holding in your head while you weigh all this. Custodial platforms have a real failure history — Mt. Gox at around $350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck at around $400 million in 2018, Ronin Network at $625 million in 2022. Self-custody removes that counterparty risk, and in exchange hands you sole responsibility for key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses. On top of that, card programmes themselves get wound down: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and Visa suspended WaveCrest’s crypto card programmes in Europe in 2018. A closure typically means a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. The card is secured with passkeys, which is good; audits and insurance are not mentioned on the page.

One more layer, if you are in Europe: the EU’s Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation took legal effect in June 2023, its stablecoin and asset-referenced-token rules applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules applied from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and a card itself is regulated separately under e-money and payments law — so a crypto card often depends on two licences. Providers operating under national law had a transitional window that ran until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation, whichever came first. ESMA maintains a register you can check a provider against.

What to take instead

Four cards came up when I compared. None of them is universally better; they are better at different things, and the honest answer is that Exa is not the strongest of the four.

Card Score Access Virtual / physical Standout cost point
Exa 6.2 / 10 45 countries, 31 US states; 18 countries closed Virtual only 1.5% on non-USD purchases, inside the rate
Xplace 7.7 / 10 Country list not stated; Visa acceptance in 160+ countries Virtual instant; physical Silver live, Gold/Platinum coming, delivery 7–14 business days 0% FX on Platinum; annual fee Basic free, Silver $99, Gold $249, Platinum $999
ether.fi 6.7 / 10 Named jurisdiction list, plus 31 US states; unlisted jurisdictions cannot apply Virtual and physical FX 0.5% Core, 0.25% Luxe, none on Pinnacle and VIP
Nexo 6.3 / 10 Residents and citizens of selected European countries including the EEA and the UK Virtual and physical FX 0.2% weekdays in EEA/UK/CH, 2% weekends; no monthly, annual or inactivity fee

Xplace is the one to look at if FX cost is your main worry — 0% FX on its top tier — and it has real cashback in credit mode: Basic 0.5%, Silver 1%, Gold 1.5%, Platinum 2%, paid in USDC to the wallet at settlement. Against that, its paid tiers cost real money annually, and it deposits on the Solana network only, with BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks supported.

ether.fi is the one to look at if you want a physical card in the same product as cashback. It supports virtual and physical, its cashback in ETHFI runs 3% up to $2,000 a month on Core (then steps down), with ATM, cash advances, peer-to-peer and gambling categories excluded, and it lists Belgium and Ireland as eligible without physical delivery. Cost point: the first virtual card costs $10 in regional-pricing countries for core members.

Nexo is the one to look at if you want a physical card with no annual fee, but it has the strictest access of the four: residents and citizens of selected European countries including the EEA and the UK, with no country list published and excluded jurisdictions unnamed. Its virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate, and the physical card requires a balance above $5,000 in digital assets plus at least Gold tier. Its cashback applies only to Credit Mode purchases and only with more than $5,000 held — Platinum 2% in NEXO tokens or 0.5% in Bitcoin, Gold 1%/0.3%, Silver 0.7%/0.2%, Base 0.5%/0.1%. One note of caution, reported by Cointelegraph and not by Nexo itself: a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML violations.

If you are a Russian speaker: Nexo is the only one of the four whose published eligibility wording could plausibly reach residents of some CIS states, and only by the accident of “selected European countries”. Russia and Belarus are not stated either way, and the Sofia raid story is a reminder to think carefully. Exa, ether.fi and Xplace all come out the same or worse for you, and Exa is the one that explicitly excludes Russian residents. If you live outside the region and hold citizenship elsewhere, none of this is a workaround and none of it should be attempted as one — these cards verify identity, and the KYC regimes behind them require it.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Exa to exactly three kinds of person.

The self-custody user who already has the infrastructure. You keep your keys, you understand what a network is, you have gas in the right coin, and you would rather pay at the till from your own wallet than maintain an exchange balance for the privilege. You accept a 1.5% cost on non-dollar spending because you value never handing over custody more than you value two currency points, and you understand that when you spend, you are effectively disposing of crypto and may owe tax on the gain — in the US, digital assets are treated as property and each payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal measured at fair market value on that date. I am not giving tax advice and you should check your own position; I am flagging that the conversion is a taxable event in many jurisdictions.

The person in a market where a mainstream card is awkward. If you are in one of the 45 eligible countries and banking access is imperfect, or you want a card that does not require a salary account, Exa is a legitimate second instrument. Here the virtual-only design is a smaller cost than it sounds, because phone payments cover most terminals.

The person testing the model cheaply. You want to see what self-custody-backed spending feels like before committing size. Load a small amount, spend a little, learn the failure modes on your own balance rather than on a large one.

I would not recommend it to anyone who: needs a physical card; spends mostly outside the US and cannot stomach 1.5% on every purchase; lives in Russia or Belarus; is in one of the 18 ineligible countries; wants ATM terms, monthly fees and daily limits in writing before committing; or is looking for cashback.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Exa card?

The Exa card is a virtual Visa Signature credit card linked to a self-custody crypto account, not a bank account and not an exchange balance. You deposit crypto into your own wallet, and the card spends it either directly or as a credit line against that collateral. It is accepted at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries, its currency is USD, and it exists only in your phone — there is no physical card.

Is Exa a bank?

No. The footer names Exa Labs SAS, and the site’s own wording is that the cards are issued by licensed third parties, that Exa Labs does not issue payment instruments, and that the issuing bank is not named. The help centre says the card is issued in the United States, with a US legal address in San Juan, Puerto Rico, provided by Rain. In this category the crypto brand is usually a programme manager sitting on top of a licensed issuer.

Who can get an Exa card?

It is issued in 45 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, and in 31 US states. Eighteen countries are ineligible, among them Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia. The rule is by residence: Russian residents cannot be issued a card, and spending is also blocked in Russia.

Can Russian citizens get the Exa card?

The published rule is based on residence, not citizenship, so a Russian citizen living in one of the 45 eligible countries is not excluded on citizenship grounds by the card’s own wording. That is not a guarantee of approval: identity screening also runs on citizenship and country of birth in normal practice. If you live in Russia, the answer is a clear no, and the card would not spend there even if issued elsewhere.

How do I get the Exa card?

Download the app, add funds, complete the KYC check, and request the card. The KYC check is described as taking no more than 3 minutes and card validation as a single step of no more than 3 minutes. You then add the virtual Visa to Apple Pay or Google Wallet. The required documents and the age requirement are not stated on the public pages.

Does the Exa card require KYC?

Yes. Requesting the card starts a validation process, and the documents needed, the proof-of-address rules and the verification tiers are not stated. What is documented: weekly credit card purchases are capped at $10,000, and above that an automated source-of-funds check starts with a form and supporting documents. Raising limits requires proof of address and of funds.

What does the Exa card cost?

The card is marketed as free with no amounts shown. The documented fee is 1.5% on every purchase not in USD, included in the exchange rate, and a loan origination fee that may be included in the installment interest. Independent trackers report $0 issuance and $0 annual fee, and $1 plus 0.65% per ATM withdrawal (unofficial) with a $250 cap (unofficial) and four withdrawals a day.

How do I top up the Exa card?

You deposit crypto, not dollars. The supported assets per the documentation are USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP as collateral in the protocol markets, and the networks are not named. There is no stated deposit fee. Because transfers are irreversible, confirm the network before sending anything — and note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024.

Is the Exa card safe?

It is self-custodial, which removes the custodian risk that has burned platforms before, and the account is secured with passkeys. But there are real unknowns: audits and insurance are not mentioned, the issuer is not named, no Trustpilot or Reddit reviews could be found, Google Play shows 2.7 out of 5 from 58 ratings independently reported in August 2026, and a third-party site reports a $7.3M protocol exploit occurred in August 2023.

Is there a physical Exa card?

No. The help centre states directly that no physical cards are available at the moment, and that the card is stored in Apple Pay or Google Wallet. Delivery and replacement therefore do not apply. If a shop needs to swipe, stamp or photograph a card, this product cannot help you — check the physical alternatives, such as ether.fi, Nexo or Xplace Silver, before you commit.

Created by the ”Crypto Card Rating” editorial team.

Nexo card review: features, fees and who it suits
Nexo card review: features, fees and who it suits

An independent review of the Nexo crypto Mastercard — who can get it, what it…

Gemini credit card review: US-only Mastercard with crypto rewards
Gemini credit card review: US-only Mastercard with crypto rewards

A independent look at the Gemini credit card: who can get it, what it really…

Decard card review: a SGD credit line you repay in USDT or USDC
Decard card review: a SGD credit line you repay in USDT or USDC

An independent Decard card review of DeCard Luminaries: US$388 annual fee, 0% FX claim, USDT/USDC…

Trastra Card Review: What It Costs and Who It Fits
Trastra Card Review: What It Costs and Who It Fits

Independent review of the Trastra prepaid card: 4.1/10, 31 European countries, EUR 9 to order…

Shakepay Card Review: Who Actually Qualifies and What It Really Costs
Shakepay Card Review: Who Actually Qualifies and What It Really Costs

A Canadian prepaid Visa with bitcoin cashback and a CAD balance. The Shakepay card only…