Bitpanda Card Review: the Free-to-Open Euro Card From a Crypto Exchange

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Bitpanda card is a physical Visa debit card that spends whatever you already hold on a Bitpanda account: cryptocurrencies, precious metals, or plain euros. Opening it, holding it and the first delivery cost nothing. What you pay is the conversion when your chosen asset is sold into euros at the moment of payment, and a fee when you pull cash out of an ATM.

The conditions described here are current as of 21 October 2026, verified against the MFSA register (reg. C 91879) for Transact Payments Malta Limited.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Bitpanda works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I gave it 6.5 out of 10. That is not a bad score. It is a card that does one narrow thing very cheaply and asks you to live inside a European banking perimeter to use it. If you live in the euro area, hold euros or stablecoins, and want to spend crypto without opening a second exchange account, the value is real. If you live outside the euro area, or you want a card that holds several currencies, or you want to know exactly what each payment costs before it happens, the picture is weaker.

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict: 6.5 out of 10, and it suits a specific person
  2. Will they give you the card?
  3. How to get it
  4. Fees: what it really costs
  5. How to Top it up
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict: 6.5 out of 10, and it suits a specific person

Before anything else, here is how the score breaks down across the five things I judge a card on. Each mark is out of 10.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitpanda starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 4 / 10 Needs a verified Bitpanda account plus residence in a euro-area country; verification through Bankident does not qualify
Cost 7 / 10 Opening, monthly and first delivery are free; reissue EUR 5.90; FX EUR 0 but a Visa mark-up applies; ATM 2% or EUR 2 minimum; conversion spread not disclosed
Top-up options 6 / 10 Main asset can be chosen: listed cryptocurrencies, precious metals or EUR, converted on payment; Crypto Indices excluded
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Issuer is Transact Payments Malta Limited under MFSA supervision (reg. C 91879); no card-specific complaints found; Trustpilot 4.1/5 from 15,896 reviews; complaints about blocked withdrawals
Everyday use 8 / 10 Physical Visa; virtual card not disclosed; Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM daily limit EUR 500
Total 6.5 / 10 Free to hold, narrow eligibility, costs concentrated in conversion

The low mark is not for the card’s quality but for its eligibility rule. That single line, residence in a euro-area country, removes most of the world’s potential users, including anyone in Russia, Belarus or any non-euro European state, and it removes most non-European residents too. What is left is a well-built card for a well-defined person: someone living in the euro area who already keeps euros or crypto on Bitpanda and wants that balance to be spendable at an ordinary shop.

Two more things shape who it suits. First, the card is euros only. Not a euro card, not a dollar card — an euros-only card. If you travel outside the euro area, every payment goes through a currency conversion and the page’s promise of EUR 0 foreign exchange fee comes with the rider that Visa mark-up fees apply. Second, the value proposition is not “spend crypto for free”. It is “hold your balance on an exchange that already sells it to you, and pay no monthly fee to move it around”.

There is a wider reason so much of this category points at Europe. Under EU markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, which took legal effect in June 2023 and whose remaining provisions, including the crypto-asset service provider rules, applied from 30 December 2024, stablecoins may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. Providers who were already operating under national law had a transitional window running only until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation was granted or refused, whichever came first. That regulatory tightening is the backdrop for cards like this one: the surviving programmes are European e-money issuers operating under licence, which is precisely why the eligibility line is drawn around the euro area rather than around the customer.

And it explains why Bitpanda is not the company on your bank statement even though it is the brand on your card. The card network routes messages and sets the rules, the licensed issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often just the front end and programme manager that markets it to you. When something goes wrong — a block, a refund, a limit — you may end up dealing with the issuer rather than the exchange, which is worth remembering before you need it.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, but only to people who already have what Bitpanda calls a verified account and who live in a euro-area country. That is the whole eligibility rule as published, and it is a rule about residence, not citizenship.

If you are a Russian speaker reading this, the short version is that residence, not citizenship, is the deciding fact. Russian citizens living in Germany, France, Spain, Italy, the Netherlands, Austria or Ireland are inside the rule in the same way anyone else in those countries is. Russian citizens and residents in Russia or Belarus are outside the euro area, and the card’s own pages say nothing about either country. Russian citizens living in Georgia, Armenia or Kazakhstan are also outside the rule, and again the pages are silent. Your nationality does not appear in the eligibility test as published. Check with Bitpanda support before you assume, and check before you move money in, not after.

How to get it

The process is short, and that is partly because most of the work happens before it: getting a Bitpanda account verified. The card order itself is an in-app action.

You will not find an activation ritual here beyond what a normal Visa debit card does. What you should do instead is spend the first few weeks with small amounts and check, in the app, that a payment in your chosen asset converts the way you expect. The card works immediately once it arrives; the surprise, if there is one, will be the conversion cost, not the setup.

One more ordering detail worth planning around: because only one card can be active at a time, a replacement is not something you can stack up. If your card is stolen while you are abroad, you are making one support request and waiting on a EUR 5.90 or EUR 9.90 reissue rather than choosing between two options. And since the delivery window is three to seven working days, order it when you can absorb a week without it rather than when you land.

Fees: what it really costs

The honest headline: the card has no monthly fee, no FX fee of its own, and a cheap ATM fee, but the number that actually moves is the rate at which your asset gets sold into euros. Bitpanda does not publish that spread on the card page, so you cannot price a payment in advance from the card’s own material. You have to look at the rate in the app at the moment of payment.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitpanda payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Account opening Free
Monthly fee Free
First shipment Free
Reissue EUR 5.90 (EUR 9.90 in the FAQ for damage, loss or theft)
Additional physical card EUR 10
Crypto conversion fee / spread Not stated on the card page
Platform trading fee on selling the payment asset Debited from the account on each card payment; rate not stated on the card page
Foreign exchange fee EUR 0, but Visa mark-up fees apply
ATM fee 2% or EUR 2 minimum, whichever is higher
ATM daily limit EUR 500
Daily spend limit EUR 10,000
Weekly spend limit EUR 70,000
Monthly spend limit EUR 280,000
Minimum payment EUR 1
Cashback Fixed 1% on qualifying crypto transactions, credited to the EToken wallet
Free ATM allowance Not stated; free withdrawals were a VIP-level perk
Card validity 5 years from issue

Three everyday payments, with what actually applies.

A small coffee purchase in euros in Berlin. You hold bitcoin as your main asset. The card sells enough bitcoin to cover the purchase price, at the platform’s rate, plus the platform trading fee for that sale, credited from your account. On top of that you get the 1% cashback in the EToken wallet, because this is a qualifying crypto transaction. No FX fee, because the payment is in euros. So the cost of your coffee is not zero: it is the trading fee plus whatever spread sits between Bitpanda’s rate and the market rate at that second. How wide that gap is, the card page does not say.

A 90-euro train ticket booked in euros while you are in Italy. Same shape: conversion of your main asset at the rate of the moment, trading fee on the sale, 1% cashback. This is the use case the card is actually good at, because the currency matches the card and no Visa conversion sits in the way.

A dinner paid in a US dollar city, or a week of spending in the United States. Here the “EUR 0” FX fee stops being the whole story, because Bitpanda’s own words are that Visa mark-up fees apply. You are paying the Visa rate on top of Bitpanda’s conversion of your asset into euros, and then the dinner itself is converted from dollars to euros at that Visa rate. This is the case where a multi-currency account or a different card is simply better. The card page does not say what the mark-up is, so I cannot tell you how bad it gets.

There is one more structural point worth internalising, because it is the thing most likely to surprise you. The limits are large — EUR 10,000 a day, EUR 70,000 a week, EUR 280,000 a month — and it is a Visa debit card against a crypto exchange balance. It does not overdraw, because it spends only what is there. But the flip side of a generous limit is that a mistake, or a compromised account, moves quickly.

How to Top it up

There is no top-up step, and that is the concept you have to unlearn. You do not load the card. The card spends a main asset you choose in advance, and an optional fallback asset if the main one cannot cover a payment.

One practical warning about what topping up does not cover. If Bitpanda asks you for “Proof of funds”, all payouts are disabled until it approves, and the card is a payout route. So the money you would use at a shop is frozen by the same request that freezes withdrawals. This is not a card quirk; it is an account-level switch, and it is worth knowing about before you need it.

And to close the loop on where money goes: there is no balance sitting on the card itself. Deactivating the card permanently means contacting customer support, and the funds remain as assets or euros in the Bitpanda account, where they can be sold or withdrawn through normal Bitpanda payouts.

Paying with it every day

The everyday experience is good, and this is where the card scores best. A physical Visa debit card, euros only, Apple Pay supported, Google Pay available through support. Spend limits are generous. Block and unblock the card in the app.

What is missing or unclear is worth listing, because “not stated” is not the same as “not available” and I would rather you knew which one you are looking at.

Two soft warnings. Declined authorisations can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7, so a failed hotel deposit can tie up money for a week. And address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines at some foreign merchants — a general property of cards issued in one country and used in another, not something Bitpanda controls.

What can go wrong

Bitpanda is a custodial platform. Your crypto is held by a company, not by you, and the card is one of the ways you hand that company money. Everything in this section follows from that.

On the app, an unofficial rating aggregator shows a Google Play average of 3.60 from roughly 55 thousand ratings, on an undated page I saw in October 2026 and which may be stale. Treat it as a rough signal about Android reviews, not as a current score.

What to take instead

If the Bitpanda card fails you, it fails on one of three things: eligibility, currency breadth, or published fee clarity. Here is who handles each.

Alternative Score Where it wins Where it doesn’t
Bitpanda 6.5 / 10 Free to hold and to open; no own FX fee; spends crypto, metals or EUR; 1% cashback Euro-area residence only; EUR only; conversion spread not published; reissue price quoted two ways
RedotPay 6.9 / 10 Virtual and physical; USD and HKD card currencies; long published fee table; a paid tier exists Issuance fees are real money — 10 USD virtual, 100 USD physical, non-refundable; long eligibility lists
Wirex 6.7 / 10 Virtual and physical; metal Visa Signature option; cryptoback up to 8% on higher tiers; free issuance in several regions Official country list could not be read; FX fee not quantified; cashback has a long exclusion list
COCA 6.4 / 10 Up to 8% stablecoin cashback, up to 50% on subscriptions; physical and virtual Visa Fees are not stated anywhere public; routing goes through a third-party smart contract wallet

A few specifics, because the summary lines above hide the decisions.

RedotPay publishes far more than Bitpanda does, which is its real advantage. A 1.00% transaction fee described as the crypto conversion fee, 1.20% for non-default currency, small authorisations at 1.00 USD or less waived five times a month then 0.20 USD, declined transactions waived three times then 0.50 USD. Some merchants carry their own 1.5% fee with a 0.50 USD minimum. But the front door costs more: a 10 USD virtual card application and 100 USD for a physical one, described as non-cancellable and non-refundable once paid. A 5 USD welcome reward cannot be used toward that issuance fee. Eligibility is narrower than its marketing suggests — its card-issuance list, dated 28 August 2026, names 47 places including India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey as ineligible for both card types, and its KYC list runs to about 45 countries and territories including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and Serbia. Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE are on neither list, which is a different kind of uncertainty: not “no” and not “yes”.

Wirex is the one to look at if the metal card or the cryptoback scale matters to you — Standard 0.5%, Premium 3%, Elite up to 8% back in WXT. But I could not read its official supported-countries article, so I cannot tell you whether your country is on it, and its fees page does not quantify the exchange rate. Its cashback also excludes ATM withdrawals, cash advances, crypto purchases, gambling and refunds, plus a long list of merchant category codes. Card issuance is free in the UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other”; the metal card has a 45 GBP order fee on the UK page.

COCA has the most attractive rewards headline — up to 8% in stablecoins on card spend and up to 50% on subscriptions like Netflix and Spotify — with higher tiers requiring you to hold $COCA in the wallet. What stops me recommending it here is that its costs are not stated: the terms say fees are disclosed when you access the service, and its terms route asset transfers through a third-party linked smart contract wallet. For a card, I want the fee table in public before I put money through it.

If your problem is that you live outside the euro area and Bitpanda will not have you, none of these three solves it cleanly either, because all three have their own country lists and their own exclusions. The honest position is that a euro-area address is the currency most of this category is priced in, and if you do not have one, you are choosing the least-bad list rather than finding an open door.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Bitpanda card to someone in this specific situation: you live in a euro-area country other than Cyprus or Liechtenstein, you have a verified Bitpanda account that was not set up through Bankident, and you want to spend euros in the euro area without paying a monthly fee or a subscription for the privilege. You hold one main asset — euros, a stablecoin, or a major cryptocurrency — and you are comfortable that Bitpanda’s selling rate is the price you pay, because there is no better alternative inside their platform anyway. You use Apple Pay or Google Pay. You do not need a second currency and you are not planning to hold a large idle balance.

I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true. You live outside the euro area and want a card that works broadly without conversion. You need to know the exact cost of a payment before you make it, because the conversion spread is not published. You plan to hold a large sum on the exchange, because custodial risk and Proof-of-funds interruptions both scale with balance. You want cashback worth planning around, because 1% on qualifying crypto transactions with a long exclusion list is not a rewards programme. Or you want a card in dollars, pounds or anything but euros.

The one-line version: this is a good, cheap, single-currency euro card attached to a European exchange, and it is worth having if that is exactly the card you wanted and slightly annoying if it is not.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bitpanda card?

It is a physical Visa debit card that spends your Bitpanda balance directly. You pick a main asset — a listed cryptocurrency, precious metals, or euros — and the card sells enough of it to cover each payment, in euros, at the moment you pay. It is issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited under MFSA supervision, registration C 91879. There is no balance loaded onto the card itself; the money stays in your Bitpanda account.

How does the Bitpanda card work?

At checkout the card converts your chosen main asset into euros at that second’s rate, debits the platform trading fee for the sale, and pays the merchant in euros. If your main holding cannot cover the amount, an optional fallback asset can cover it. Spending in a currency other than euros adds Visa mark-up fees on top, and non-euro ATM withdrawals carry EUR 0 in fee from Bitpanda but still attract the Visa mark-up. Cashback of 1% applies to qualifying crypto transactions.

Is Bitpanda a bank?

No. Bitpanda is a crypto exchange and platform operator, and the card is issued by a separate licensed institution, Transact Payments Malta Limited, an electronic money issuer in Malta. Bitpanda GmbH in Vienna is the company you contract with under the product terms, and Bitpanda Payments GmbH provides the payment services. Two older Bitpanda pages still name Contis, a Lithuanian-licensed issuer, which conflicts with the current terms.

Who owns Bitpanda?

Bitpanda is a privately held Austrian company, and I did not find ownership details on the card pages, so I will not speculate about its shareholders or investors. What the pages do establish is the corporate chain: Bitpanda GmbH in Vienna contracts with you, Bitpanda Payments GmbH provides the payment services, and a Malta-licensed e-money institution issues the card under a Visa Europe licence. Check the current product terms, not the older card-account page, when you want the exact contracting entity.

Can I get the Bitpanda card in my country?

Only if you live in a euro-area country, other than Cyprus or Liechtenstein, and you already have a verified Bitpanda account that was not verified through Bankident. Residence is the test as published; citizenship does not appear in it. Russian citizens resident in euro-area countries qualify on the same terms as anyone else there. Russian citizens and residents in Russia or Belarus, and residents of Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and other non-euro states, fall outside the rule, and Bitpanda’s card pages say nothing specific about any of those countries.

Can I use the Bitpanda card in another country?

Yes, in principle, since it is a Visa card, but every non-euro payment goes through a currency conversion and Bitpanda states only that its own FX fee is EUR 0 while Visa mark-up fees apply, without quantifying them. The page also does not state which countries it ships to outside the euro area. If you spend most of your time outside the euro area, expect the card to cost more and behave worse than a multi-currency account.

How do I get and activate the Bitpanda card?

Get a verified Bitpanda account first, then order the card from inside the app. Delivery takes 3–7 working days depending on destination, and the first shipment is free. The card works for payments as soon as it arrives; you can block and unblock it in the app at any time, and it is protected by Visa anti-fraud monitoring and 3-D Secure. It stays valid for 5 years, with an automatic replacement.

Does the Bitpanda card require KYC?

Yes, because it depends on a verified Bitpanda account, and European rules require customer due diligence covering identity documents, address, date of birth, nationality, sanctions screening and politically-exposed-person status. The card page does not list which specific documents it requires, and it does not state verification tiers or processing times, so work that out from your own account. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to decline the relationship, which is why accounts get frozen pending documents.

Is the Bitpanda card free?

Free to open, free to hold, and the first delivery is free. The charges come later: a platform trading fee on every sale of your payment asset plus a spread the card page does not publish, EUR 5.90 to reissue or EUR 9.90 for damage, loss or theft as the FAQ puts it, EUR 10 for an extra physical card, and ATM withdrawals at 2% or EUR 2 minimum, whichever is higher. Free ATM withdrawals used to be a VIP perk and that scheme has changed.

Is the Bitpanda card safe?

Within ordinary limits: it is issued by an MFSA-regulated institution, funds sit in safeguarded accounts rather than bank deposits, and you have app-based blocking, 3-D Secure and mobile wallet tokenisation. Beyond that, it is custodial — the exchange holds the assets, past exchanges have failed, and crypto transfers cannot be reversed. Proof-of-funds requests disable all payouts including the card, which is the disruption most likely to affect you in practice. I can make no promise of anonymity or of funds being unrecoverable by anyone.

Written by the editors at Crypto Card Rating.

BitPay Card Review: The Card Is Gone — What Holders Should Do
BitPay Card Review: The Card Is Gone — What Holders Should Do

BitPay closed its card programme in June 2023. I score it 1.7/10, explain what happened…

Littio card review: a Colombian crypto card worth knowing about
Littio card review: a Colombian crypto card worth knowing about

An independent Littio card review covering eligibility, fees, top-ups, daily use, risks and the alternatives…

Kite Card Review: Free Visa, Asia-Only, No Cash Yet
Kite Card Review: Free Visa, Asia-Only, No Cash Yet

An honest look at Kite's free virtual Visa card: who can get it, what it…

Busha card review: a $2 virtual Visa, and the gaps around it
Busha card review: a $2 virtual Visa, and the gaps around it

A review of the Busha virtual USD Visa card: who can get it, the $2…

Utorg card review: a USDC-only Visa with no monthly fee, but who can get one?
Utorg card review: a USDC-only Visa with no monthly fee, but who can get one?

Hands-on review of the Utorg crypto card. We cover eligibility, KYC, fees, top-up networks, Apple…