Oppi card review: a self-custody Mastercard for spending your own crypto

Oppi is a mobile crypto wallet that ships with a Mastercard tied to its balance. The wallet itself is self-custody, so your private keys stay on your phone, and the card is an option you turn on once you pass a short KYC check. I went through the public materials for this review and want to give you a clear picture of what the product does today, what it costs, where the gaps in the documentation are, and who I think it actually fits.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Oppi works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions are current as of 21 October 2026 (authority: Oppi wallet internal policy).

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict
  2. Will they give you the card
  3. How to get it
  4. What it really costs
  5. How to top up Oppi
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict

Oppi earns 7.2 out of 10 in my scoring. It is a credit-card-style way to spend a balance you already self-custody, with no monthly fee on the virtual side and a useful set of networks for topping up. The catch is that the public card page leaves several practical questions unanswered (spending limits, ATM fee, card issuer, dispute process, delivery times for the physical card), and the only third-party review that does try to fill those gaps contradicts the official page on a few points.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Oppi payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Below is how I arrived at the score, criterion by criterion.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Card claimed in 210+ countries; not officially published country list; Cuba/Iran/North Korea/Syria excluded
Cost 4 / 10 Virtual activation $10 with $5 credited back; physical $100 with delivery; 2%-2.5% FX on non-USD
Top-up options 9 / 10 BTC, BCH, BNB, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDT, TRX, USDC on Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, Tron, Solana
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Self-custody, key on your device; issuer unnamed; no complaints found; App Store 4.6 of 5 from 50 ratings
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual Mastercard and an optional physical card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals claimed
Total 7.2 / 10

Who the card suits: someone who already keeps crypto in a self-custody wallet and wants to spend it through a familiar Mastercard without moving funds to an exchange, in a country where Oppi will onboard them. Who it does not suit: a traveller who needs predictable FX, someone in a country Oppi will not onboard, or anyone who needs a publicly named card issuer and BIN sponsor before they sign up.

Will they give you the card

Oppi markets the card as available in “210+ countries”. The exact list is not on the public card page, and the FAQ that would normally hold it had no readable answers on the page I checked. A third-party write-up from August 2026, which I treat as unofficial and not confirmed by Oppi, lists 221 countries and names Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria as excluded under the AML policy, adding that Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk are also blocked.

The card page does not name Russia or Belarus. If you are in Russia, in another CIS country, or a Russian citizen living elsewhere, the right question is what happens at sign-up, because eligibility is checked when you try to enable the card, not by a country picker up front. Russian citizens living in a country Oppi does support should still expect extra scrutiny, because sanctions screening is run on citizenship and country of birth as well as on the address you give.

Two things to clear up before you start:

How to get it

The flow the card page describes is: download the app, set up the self-custody wallet, complete KYC, pay the virtual activation fee, receive a virtual Mastercard instantly. A physical card is optional. The App Store listing calls the card virtual Mastercard and lists physical as VISA; a separate Oppi page refers to both Visa and Mastercard. The currency is implied to be USD, because every non-USD purchase carries an FX charge.

A few details that are not in the public materials:

If you cannot find your country on a published list before applying, the practical move is to register, attempt the card enablement step, and walk away if KYC is rejected. You do not need to deposit anything to reach that step.

What it really costs

This is where Oppi looks cheap at first glance and then less cheap when you spend in a currency other than USD. There is no monthly or annual fee, which is genuinely unusual for a crypto card, but FX adds up quickly.

Fee or limit Amount
Virtual card activation (one-time) $10, with $5 credited back
Physical card (one-time) $100 including shipping
Monthly fee None
Annual fee None
Crypto top-up conversion Real-time rate; swap fees described as “low” but not quantified
FX on non-USD purchases 2%–2.5%
ATM withdrawals Supported per main site; fee and allowance not stated
Daily / monthly limits Not stated on the card page

A unofficial source in August 2026 quotes card loading of “1%-2%” and reports virtual free / physical $10 from a Google Play entry and a February comparison, which contradicts the official $10 / $100 figures. I am leaving both versions in the costs table above and treating the official ones as authoritative.

Three everyday situations to picture, with the fee that actually hits you:

The App Store listing also says travel bookings have “no currency exchange fees”, which conflicts with the 2%–2.5% figure on the card page. Until Oppi reconciles the two, assume the higher number when budgeting.

How to top up Oppi

Topping up starts with a transfer to the right network. Pre-funded means the balance is loaded before you spend it, and the virtual and physical cards share that balance.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Oppi starts with a transfer to the right network

Assets named on the public pages: BTC, BCH, BNB, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDT, TRX, USDC. Chains the card page names: Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, Tron, Solana. The App Store listing mentions 40+ assets in the wider wallet. Card loading fees are not itemised on Oppi’s pages; an unofficial August 2026 source quotes “1%-2%” from a guide, which I would treat as approximate until Oppi publishes a schedule.

Fiat top-up, minimum top-up and an explicit list of accepted networks per token are not stated on the card page. Sending USDT over a chain Oppi does not support, or to an address on another network, can lose the funds, because blockchain transfers are not reversible.

Withdrawals from the card balance back out to your own wallet are not stated either. If you need to cash out, plan to test a small amount and confirm the direction in the app before you move anything large.

Paying with it every day

In day-to-day terms the card behaves like a prepaid Mastercard loaded from your crypto balance. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, so most point-of-sale use is a tap of the phone. Multiple virtual cards on one balance lets you keep a card for subscriptions separate from the one you tap in shops.

Spending earns Oppi Points on eligible transactions, redeemable for top-ups. The rate, caps and what counts as eligible are not stated. Merchant category blocks (gambling, for instance) are not stated either, so assume the card will decline in MCC-coded categories that other crypto issuers often block, and check before assuming a particular subscription will work.

App quality is the easiest thing to verify. iPhone (iOS 15.6+, also listed for M-series Mac and Vision), English only. App Store rating was 4.6 out of 5 from 50 ratings when I read it. Google Play figures come from the same unofficial August 2026 source as the rest and disagree with the App Store read (the third party lists Apple 4.6/5 from 16 ratings and Google Play 4.3/5 in one place, 4.8/5 from 11 and 4.5/5 from 386 in another). Treat the App Store 4.6/5 from 50 as the cleanest read.

Disputes, chargebacks and the formal complaints process are not stated. The support centre FAQ page shows question headings only, with no readable answers attached. If disputing a transaction matters to you, treat Oppi as a card to use where you can absorb an unresolved dispute, rather than a card to lean on. Disclaimers: no deposit guarantee and no payout guarantee exist; supervise your account via the app-based spending controls.

What can go wrong

A search of Trustpilot and Reddit turned up nothing that could be confirmed as a complaint about Oppi. The App Store’s visible 2025 reviews, four of them, are all positive. The August 2026 third-party write-up mentions one Trustpilot review in which a single reviewer says a physical card was never delivered, which is one anecdote, not a pattern.

The structural risks to weigh:

What to take instead

Three self-custody-leaning or broadly comparable alternatives, scored on the same scale.

MetaMask Card (7.1 / 10). Mastercard, virtual card issued first (free, no annual fee) with a Metal tier at $199/year. Spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with tokens including mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT. Open in 45 listed countries and territories at sign-up, with the rest on a waitlist; proof of residency required; US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed per FAQ. Russia and Belarus are not named in the extract. Cashback in mUSD: 1% on Virtual, up to 3% on Metal (footnote limits 3% to the first $10,000 spent then 1%), plus Blackbird $FLY multipliers through the dining app. Issuer Monovate, card provider Crypto Life.

KAST (6.1 / 10). Three card tiers: Standard (Visa Platinum, $0/year), Premium (Visa Infinite metal, $1,000/year) and Private (Visa Infinite gold plated, $10,000/year). Up to 10 cards per user. Stablecoin top-up in USDT/USDC across Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum and Tron. Card spend in USD is 0%; non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75% by residence and card programme. Cashback 1.5% / 2% / 3% in USD plus optional KAST Points. Country list is residence-based and not published; the help centre makes plain that holding an ID from a restricted region disqualifies you, and that VPN does not bypass the check. Russia and Belarus are not mentioned in the materials.

Zeal (6.1 / 10). Visa card issued by Gnosis Pay in EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand; spend in 150+ countries via Visa acceptance. Virtual card addable to Apple Pay; physical availability not stated. Spends from card-Safe balances in EUR, USD and GBP on Gnosis Chain and Celo. Cashback up to 4% in GNO on Gnosis Chain, paid only on GNO held in the card Safe. Card fees are not published on zeal.app; an additional APY on EUR/USD balances is advertised in the App Store listing. Russia and Belarus are not stated.

Card Score Best for Watch out for
Oppi 7.2 / 10 Self-custody users who already hold the listed assets and want no monthly fee Card issuer not named; several practical numbers not stated
MetaMask Card 7.1 / 10 MetaMask users in the 45 listed countries who want direct wallet spend US/UK sign-ups temporarily closed; long waitlist elsewhere
KAST 6.1 / 10 Higher cashback and a free Standard tier; willing to fund a Premium or Private card $1,000–$10,000/year membership fees for top tiers
Zeal 6.1 / 10 EUR/USD/GBP spend and GNO rewards via Gnosis Pay rails Programmed live in a defined country list only

Who I would recommend it to

If you already keep BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT or USDC in a self-custody wallet, in one of the 210+ (or, per the unofficial read, 221) supported countries, and you want a Mastercard for everyday spending without paying a monthly fee, Oppi is a reasonable fit. The self-custody story is honest, the supported assets and chains cover the most-used networks, and the absence of a monthly charge keeps the cost low for light spenders.

I would not recommend Oppi if any of the following apply to you:

For everyone in that second group, the alternatives table is a better starting point.

Frequently asked questions

What is Oppi card?

Oppi is a self-custody crypto wallet paired with an optional Mastercard. The wallet holds your keys on your device; the card spends a USD balance that you top up from crypto. You can have one virtual card plus, optionally, a physical card, on a single balance.

Is Oppi a bank?

No. Oppi describes the operator as Oppi wallet, calls the company “VASP-certified”, and the App Store lists the developer as Encoin Limited. The card issuer and BIN sponsor are not named on the public materials I reviewed, so no claims should be made about deposit insurance or banking licences.

How does Oppi card work?

You install the app, set up the wallet (self-custody), complete KYC, pay a one-time $10 for the virtual card ($5 of which is credited back), and receive the card instantly. You transfer BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT, USDC and a few other assets on Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, Tron or Solana to top up. Each tap or online payment converts from your crypto at the time of spending.

Does Oppi card require KYC?

Yes, to enable the card you need a government ID and a selfie, per the card page. The wallet itself works without KYC. An unofficial August 2026 source adds that proof of address can be required, and that high-value withdrawals trigger proof of funds, a source-of-wealth questionnaire and a video call; that is not confirmed by Oppi.

How do I top up Oppi card?

Send one of the supported assets (BTC, BCH, BNB, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDT, TRX, USDC) to the address the app gives you, on the chain the app specifies. Use the chain the app shows; sending USDT on a chain Oppi does not support can lose the funds. Fiat top-up, minimums and per-token fees are not stated on the card page.

How do I add Oppi to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The card page states Apple Pay and Google Pay support. In practice this means tokenising the virtual Mastercard the way you would any other card: add it through the Wallet or Google Pay app, verify with the issuer, then tap to pay. The card issuer’s identity is not published, so a tokenisation failure should be raised with support.

Where can I use Oppi card?

Anywhere Mastercard is accepted, plus Apple Pay and Google Pay terminals. The card is “claimed in 210+ countries” per Oppi; the official published list is not on the card page. ATM withdrawals are stated as supported; ATM fee and limits are not stated.

Is Oppi card safe?

The wallet is self-custody, which means your keys and your seed phrase are your responsibility and not Oppi’s, and Oppi states it does not hold your funds. Spend controls, freeze, insurance on stored value, dispute process and the identity of the card issuer are not stated on the public materials, so the honest answer is that the card side of the product is incompletely documented.

How much does Oppi card cost?

Virtual activation is $10 with $5 credited back; the physical card is $100 including shipping. There is no monthly or annual fee. Non-USD purchases carry a 2%–2.5% FX charge. ATM fee and any free-withdrawal allowance are not stated. Unofficial August 2026 reads report different numbers, which I treat as unconfirmed.

Is Oppi card worth it?

It depends on what you already use. If you self-custody the supported assets, live in a country Oppi will onboard you in, and you mainly spend in USD, the lack of a monthly fee and the breadth of supported chains make it a credible everyday card. If you travel frequently in non-USD currencies, or you need predictable dispute and limits documentation, the gaps in the public materials push you toward an alternative such as MetaMask Card or KAST.

Created by the ”Crypto Card Rating” editorial team.

Phantom Cash Card Review: What It Is and Who Can Get One
Phantom Cash Card Review: What It Is and Who Can Get One

A plain-language review of the Phantom Cash card: US-only eligibility, undisclosed fees, how top-ups work,…

1inch Card Review: Programme Closed, Cardholders Advised
1inch Card Review: Programme Closed, Cardholders Advised

The 1inch Card programme is being discontinued. Here is what happened, what holders should do…

Jupiter Global Card Review: Fees, Limits and Who Can Sign Up
Jupiter Global Card Review: Fees, Limits and Who Can Sign Up

An independent look at the Jupiter Global card — who can get it, what it…

Kolo Card Review: What It Is, What It Costs, Who It Fits
Kolo Card Review: What It Is, What It Costs, Who It Fits

An independent look at the Kolo card: who can get it, real fees, top-up options,…

Gnosis Pay Card Review: What Happened After Closure
Gnosis Pay Card Review: What Happened After Closure

Gnosis Pay is shutting down its consumer card and web app. What happened, what holders…