Tonhub card review: a virtual Visa Debit drawn on a crypto balance

Tonhub is a small crypto card aimed at a narrow audience: people who already live in the European Union, already hold TON or USDC, and want a plain Visa Debit number that spends that balance without going near a bank. That is the whole proposition. It is not a bank, it does not lend, it does not pay you to spend, and on the public evidence I could find it does not publish its prices. I scored it 5.3 out of 10, and the reason is not that the card is badly built — the smart contracts have been audited by Trail of Bits and the money stays in your own wallet. The reason is that the card’s own pages leave too much blank for me to hand it to anyone who needs a card to work tomorrow.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Tonhub works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of 21 October 2026, checked against the Tonhub official site and help centre.

Table of Contents
  1. The score: 5.3 out of 10, and who it fits
  2. Who they will give the card to
  3. How to get it
  4. What it really costs: Fees
  5. How to top it up
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

The score: 5.3 out of 10, and who it fits

Tonhub suits a specific person: an EU resident who is comfortable with crypto, wants a card number for subscriptions and online spending, and holds a balance they do not mind having converted at the moment of purchase. It does not suit anyone who needs a card they can open on Monday with money already on it, who needs a physical card in the post, or who wants to see a fee table before committing.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Tonhub starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Age 18+ and EU residence required; “25+” countries cited as a usage statistic
Cost 7 / 10 Not disclosed on the card’s pages; unofficial reports put the transaction fee at 1.5%
Top-up options 5 / 10 TON and USDC shown, USDT mentioned by a user; SEPA and SWIFT bank transfers offered
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Operator and issuer not named; contracts audited by Trail of Bits; one 1-star Trustpilot report of disputes lasting two months
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa Debit only, after verification; Apple Pay and Google Pay reported by a third party; ATM not disclosed
Total 5.3 / 10 A working product with too much missing information

The three marks worth pausing on are Cost, Reliability and Everyday use. Cost scored well only because there is not much evidence of anything outrageous; a 1.5% transaction fee reported outside the company would be a heavy price for everyday spending, and I could not confirm it from Tonhub itself. Reliability scored worst because the single most important fact about any card — who is the legal entity that issued it — is not on the page, and because the one public complaint describes money that was won back in a dispute but not returned. Everyday use scored in the middle because a virtual card is genuinely enough for many people and genuinely not enough for others.

Who they will give the card to

Two conditions are stated, and they are the whole gate: you must be 18 or older, and you must reside in the European Union. Everything else is not stated. The page carries a “25+” figure for countries, but that is presented as a usage statistic rather than an eligibility list, so I would not read it as “I can sign up from 25 countries.”

What is not stated is worth naming plainly, because it is the first thing you would look for if you were outside the EU:

That last point matters more than it sounds. Identity checks here are not a formality bolted onto a signup form. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, plus a sanctions check, and the institution is expected to work out whether you are a politically exposed person. If that work cannot be completed, the rule is to refuse the transaction or the relationship — which is why accounts get frozen pending documents at this kind of provider. In the US the equivalents are name, date of birth, address and an identification number, with electronic systems checking proof-of-address records too.

And this is the part to sit with if you are a Russian speaker reading a card that requires EU residence:

I am not going to write about workarounds, because the honest position is that there is nothing to work around here: the gate is stated plainly, it is residence-based, and it is enforced by a licensed process you cannot and should not try to shape. There is no legitimate way for someone living in Moscow or Bishkek to make this card work, and any page promising otherwise is either wrong or selling something else.

One more piece of background that explains why cards like this get searched for at all. After Visa and Mastercard suspended operations in Russia in March 2022, cards issued by Russian banks stopped working abroad. That is the single largest reason people who left look for foreign-issued cards — and it is also why EU-residence rules are the norm in this category rather than an accident of marketing.

How to get it

The process Tonhub describes is short. You sign up, you pass an identity verification step labelled “Verify Your identity,” and then a virtual card is issued. The app is where the setup happens: you add your wallet and then open the Tonhub Card banner in it.

Two details are worth pulling out. First, the card is virtual. Tonhub’s pages describe virtual cards issued after verification and do not mention a physical card at all — no delivery countries, no delivery time, no delivery cost, no plastic. If you were picturing something in the post, stop. Second, the verification comes before the card, not after, so there is no useful “try it and see” version of this product.

What is not stated: which documents you need, whether address proof is required, how many tiers of verification exist, how long each takes, and why an application might be rejected. You should expect to supply identity documents and, quite possibly, to be asked for more later. The one public complaint I read describes extra video-call identity checks even after earlier verification had been completed, which tells you both that checks are possible and that repeating them is not unusual there.

What it really costs: Fees

Here is the honest answer: Tonhub’s public pages contain a “Fees & Conditions” section, and the numbers are not something I could read. Issuance, monthly fee, conversion fee, foreign-exchange fee, ATM withdrawal — none stated. There is no published schedule, and there are no tiers either; the page implies a single card.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Tonhub payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

That matters, so let me be blunt about the consequence. A card with unstated fees cannot be costed, and therefore cannot be recommended to anyone who has to justify the spend. If a fee exists at 1.5% per transaction, a year of daily spending adds up quickly. From the public page I cannot tell you what you are signing up for, and I am not going to invent a figure to fill the gap.

Fee or limit What the card’s pages say
Issuance fee Not stated
Monthly or maintenance fee Not stated
Per-transaction fee Not stated; a 1.5% figure is reported outside the company and not confirmed by it
Currency conversion fee Not stated
Foreign-exchange fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated
Card currency Not stated; TON and USDC are the assets shown
Tiers None listed; a single card is implied
Daily spending cap Not stated as a fixed figure; users set custom spending limits directly on-chain

The one limit that does exist is a good one. Tonhub lets you set custom spending limits directly on-chain, which means the cap is enforced by the contract rather than by a support agent’s mood. That is a genuinely better mechanism than a bank’s internal setting, and it is the kind of feature that shows the team understands the medium.

Now, three everyday payments, and which fees would apply to each if they exist. I cannot tell you the rates, but I can tell you exactly what to look for.

One thing to keep separate in your head: the cost of moving money in, which is the blockchain’s fee, not Tonhub’s. On-chain network fees — gas on Ethereum, bandwidth on Tron — are charged by the network and are the price of using the rail. That is true of every card in this category and is not a mark against this one.

How to top it up

Tonhub spends from a crypto balance linked to your own wallet, and the sequence is the part to understand, because it is different from a normal debit card. Tonhub pre-funds the payment first, and debits your balance after the network and the merchant confirm. If the balance is short, the payment is declined. That is a materially better design than most cards in this category, because a failed or pending purchase does not leave you with a hole.

What can go in, per the card’s own page: TON and USDC are shown. A user review on the page mentions paying with USDT as well — treat that as a user report, not a guarantee, and check before you rely on it. What can go in via fiat: SEPA and SWIFT bank transfers are offered, so you can move ordinary money in. Whether a bank transfer to SEPA is instant for you, and what it costs, is not stated, and neither is a minimum.

What this means practically, before you ever swipe the card:

Worth saying plainly about custody, since this is the strongest thing about the card. The design is non-custodial: funds stay in your own wallet, the keys are yours, and a Ledger hardware wallet is supported. That removes the classic custodial risk — Mt. Gox at roughly 350 million US dollars, Coincheck at roughly 400 million in 2018, Ronin at 625 million in 2022 are all names people remember for a reason. It does not remove risk; it moves it. With self-custody, key loss, phishing, and malware that silently swaps a copied address are all your problem and nobody’s compensation scheme. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words and anyone who holds it can restore and spend your wallet, and the network has no freeze button.

Paying with it every day

The honest picture: you get a Visa Debit number, virtual, that spends a crypto balance. That is enough for online payments, recurring subscriptions, and anything where a card number is the only requirement. It is not enough for the shop that wants a physical card, and it may not be enough for the terminal that declines foreign-issued cards.

Apple Pay appears only in a user review quoted on the page, not in the card’s own feature list. Google Pay is supported according to a third-party report from November 2024, which is not a confirmation by Tonhub. Treat both wallets as likely but unconfirmed, and test before you depend on them. This is the ordinary shape of mobile payment: Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a fresh one-time code — good for security, and also a reason the card has to be added to the wallet first.

Two categories of friction to expect on any card of this type, from how the network works rather than from Tonhub specifically:

Rewards are not stated. No cashback, no points, no staking yield — I found nothing on the page. If you are comparing cards on incentives, that is a straight zero for Tonhub and you should factor it in rather than assume a promo exists.

On refunds and failed payments, the mechanism is clear and good: refunds are issued only for legitimate, verified transactions, and a failed or declined payment leaves your funds untouched because the debit happens only after confirmation. What is not stated is how long a dispute takes or what the time frames are — and that is precisely where the one public complaint found trouble.

What can go wrong

Let me separate what I can check from what I cannot.

The company behind the card is not identified on the page. The brand is Tonhub, and the site also references “Holders,” with a help centre at a holders.io address. The legal operating entity and the card issuer are not named. That is not a small gap. In this category the usual architecture is a card network that sets the rules, a licensed bank or e-money institution that holds the programme and issues the card, and a crypto brand that is often just the front end and the marketing. Knowing which of those three is answerable to you, and in which country, is what tells you who to complain to. Here I cannot tell you from the page.

There is a real regulator’s register you can use. ESMA maintains an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and entities it considers non-compliant, and under EU rules only a credit institution or an e-money institution may issue e-money tokens. Providers that were already operating under national law had a transitional window running to 1 July 2026 or until authorisation was granted or refused. If you want to check anyone, check that register rather than the marketing page.

The one public complaint is bad, and it is one complaint. Tonhub’s Trustpilot score is 3.2 out of 5 from a single review, dated 18 February 2026. In it, a user says disputes over card charges took two months to file — submitted in early December 2025, won in January 2026 — and that the money had still not been returned by mid-February. The same review mentions slow, copy-paste support replies and extra anti-money-laundering video-call checks despite prior verification. One review is not a pattern, and I would not present it as one. But with a sample size of one, it is the only evidence available, and it is evidence about the thing you would most want to be reliable: getting your money back when something goes wrong.

The category has a history here, and it is not a secret. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued programme. Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. So the sensible assumption is not that this card will vanish, but that any card of this kind can, and you should not treat it as your only route to spending money.

There is a genuine dispute-resolution gap. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer, with codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. Under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift — critics say sometimes to the cardholder. And prepaid-card coverage varies by jurisdiction and should never be assumed. For a card like this, read the terms before you need them.

Anti-fraud monitoring cuts both ways. Tonhub monitors every transaction with anti-fraud and AML systems and blocks suspicious activity automatically, and users can freeze the card in-app. Those are good features. They also mean a purchase can stop without a human deciding it was fraud, and the one complaint I read is precisely about an extra check after earlier verification. There is no stated in-app freeze guarantee for anything beyond that, and no stated insurance.

Not stated, and I would want to know before committing: the operator and issuer, fees of every kind, ATM support, whether a physical card exists or ever will, blocked merchant categories, dispute time frames, support hours and languages, and what happens to your balance and your card if the service closes.

What to take instead

If the gap is EU residence, none of these help you directly — but you should know what a more documented card looks like, because the contrast is the lesson. All three below are things you could hold if you were in the right country, and I am comparing them on published terms rather than hype.

Card Score Card type Stated cost Who can get it
MetaMask 7.1 / 10 Mastercard, virtual instantly; Metal pre-ordered after approval Virtual free, no annual or maintenance fee; Metal 199 US dollars a year 45 listed countries/territories; proof of residency; other regions on a waitlist
KAST 6.1 / 10 Visa Platinum, Infinite metal, Infinite gold; up to 10 cards Standard 0; Premium 1,000 US dollars a year; Private 10,000 US dollars a year Residence-based list shown at KYC; citizenship and ID document also matter
Zeal 6.1 / 10 Visa, virtual, addable to Apple Pay Fee schedule not published; no additional FX fee, Visa wholesale rate Spend in 150+ countries; issuance depends on eligibility and regional availability
Tonhub 5.3 / 10 Visa Debit, virtual only Not stated 18+ and EU residence

MetaMask is the most fully documented of the three, and it shows what transparency looks like. It spends directly from your connected wallet across Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT named. It pays 1% cashback in mUSD on the Virtual card, and the Metal card’s headline 3% is footnoted down to 1% after the first 10,000 US dollars spent. Its restrictions are stated plainly too: 45 listed countries, proof of residency, ineligible regions limit spending rather than sign-ups, and US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed per its own FAQ. Issuer Monovate, card provider Crypto Life — named in public, which alone puts it ahead.

KAST is the one to look at if you want a physical card and a generous reward rate. It offers virtual and physical Visa cards in three tiers with up to 10 cards per user, a USD account balance converted 1:1 from stablecoin deposits at 0% spread, and cashback of 1.5%, 2% or 3% depending on tier. Its fee page is the most complete of any card here: 0% stablecoin top-up, 0% card spend, 0% Apple and Google Pay, a 0.10 US dollar fee on non-USD transactions under 25 US dollars, 0.50 US dollars for a declined payment, and a 0.5%–1.75% FX fee that varies by country and programme. What gives me pause is its eligibility rule, which is stricter than it first appears: if you live in a supported country but hold an ID from a restricted region, you may still fail KYC, and a VPN does not help. That is a citizenship-based gate inside a residence-based one — exactly the situation of a Russian citizen in the EU.

Zeal is the simplest of the three and the least specified. It spends in 150+ countries, converts at the Visa wholesale rate with no added FX fee, and offers up to 4% cashback in GNO, paid only if you hold GNO in the card Safe. The Gnosis Pay documentation behind it lists the programme live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. But no fee schedule is published at all, and no physical card is stated — so it shares Tonhub’s main weakness, which is telling you less than you need.

The pattern across all three, and the reason I would not simply swap you to another card: every one of these is residence-gated, every one runs on a licence you have to verify yourself in a public register, and none of them is a bank. What separates them is paperwork, not plumbing.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Tonhub to exactly one kind of reader: someone who already lives in the EU, already holds TON or USDC in a self-custody wallet, is comfortable with on-chain mechanics including network choice and gas, wants a virtual card number for online spending, and has checked the actual fee schedule in the app or the help centre rather than relying on a review. For that person, the design is sound — funds stay in your own wallet, spending limits are enforced by the contract, and a failed payment leaves your balance untouched.

I would not recommend it to anyone who:

If you are in the first group, my one piece of advice is to test it with a small balance before you move anything you care about: fund it, make one small payment, try the refund path on something you can afford to lose, and read the fee numbers yourself. If you are outside the EU, read this as a closed door rather than a puzzle.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Tonhub card?

Tonhub is a crypto payment card spending a balance linked to your own wallet, converted to fiat at the till. It issues a virtual Visa Debit after identity verification, drawing on TON and USDC. It is not a bank: it holds no deposits, lends nothing, and names neither its operating entity nor the card issuer.

How does the Tonhub card work?

Tonhub pre-funds your payment, then debits your balance once the network and merchant confirm, so money moves only after the purchase completes. An insufficient balance means the payment is declined before anything is taken. You set it up in the app by adding your wallet and opening the card banner.

Is Tonhub a bank?

No. Nothing on Tonhub’s public pages identifies it as a bank or names a licensed bank or e-money institution behind it. That matters practically, not just semantically: it decides who you complain to and which protections apply. Resolve it in a public regulator register before adding meaningful balance.

Is Tonhub card safe?

The custody design is the strongest part: funds stay in your own wallet, keys are yours, and a Ledger hardware wallet is supported. Contracts were audited by Trail of Bits, transactions are monitored by anti-fraud and AML systems, and you can freeze the card and set spending limits on-chain. Self-custody moves risk to you rather than removing it: key loss, phishing and address-swapping malware are yours alone.

Does Tonhub card require KYC?

Yes. Verification comes before the card, labelled “Verify Your identity,” and applicants must be 18 or older and resident in the EU. The pages do not state which documents count, whether proof of address is required, review times, or grounds for refusal. One user reports extra video-call checks after earlier verification.

Is Tonhub card free?

I cannot tell you, and that is the answer rather than a dodge. A “Fees & Conditions” section exists but the amounts are not stated, and there are no tiers. A 1.5% transaction fee is reported by third parties and unconfirmed by Tonhub. Check the real figures yourself before funding anything you would miss.

How to top up Tonhub card?

You send crypto to the card, and the balance must exist before you spend. TON and USDC are shown, one user mentions USDT, and SEPA and SWIFT bank transfers are offered. Network choice is what bites: transfers are irreversible, so sending on an unsupported network can lose the money outright.

Can I use Tonhub card in my country?

Using the card where you live differs from getting it, and the pages are clearer on the second. Eligibility requires EU residence and age 18+. The “25+” figure is a usage statistic, not an eligibility list, and Russia and Belarus are not mentioned either way. Outside the EU, including the CIS, the stated conditions rule you out.

How do I add Tonhub card to Apple Wallet?

Apple Pay appears only in a user review quoted on the page, not in the card’s feature list, and Google Pay is supported per a third-party report rather than a company confirmation. Both are plausible but unverified, so test before relying on either. Adding it is otherwise standard: once the virtual Visa Debit exists, add it as a card.

Why does Tonhub refuse a refund or block my payment?

Two things produce that feeling. A declined payment leaves your balance untouched, since the debit happens only after confirmation, so a refusal means an insufficient balance, a merchant decline, or a failed address check. Refunds cover legitimate verified transactions only, and suspicious activity is blocked automatically, so holds can happen with no human judgement involved.

Prepared by the Crypto Card Rating editorial staff.

Rebind Card Review: A Free Visa on a Euro Balance
Rebind Card Review: A Free Visa on a Euro Balance

Rebind review: free Visa, no FX fees, up to 5% on euros. Who gets the…

Kolo Card Review: What It Is, What It Costs, Who It Fits
Kolo Card Review: What It Is, What It Costs, Who It Fits

An independent look at the Kolo card: who can get it, real fees, top-up options,…

Avalanche Card review: what it costs, who can get it, and what to use instead
Avalanche Card review: what it costs, who can get it, and what to use instead

Avalanche Card review for 2026: who can get it, what it costs day-to-day, how top-up…

Solayer Card Review: Fees, Limits and Who Can Actually Sign Up
Solayer Card Review: Fees, Limits and Who Can Actually Sign Up

A plain-English review of the Solayer Pay card: who can get it, what it costs,…

1inch Card Review: Programme Closed, Cardholders Advised
1inch Card Review: Programme Closed, Cardholders Advised

The 1inch Card programme is being discontinued. Here is what happened, what holders should do…