Zebec Card Review: What This Crypto Card Actually Does
Zebec sells three Mastercard prepaid cards — Silver, Carbon and Black — that you fund from a Zebec wallet holding “180+ tokens across 21+ blockchains”. On paper that is an unusually good deal: the first two tiers carry no sign-up fee and no transaction fee, and the third exists for high spenders. The gap between the paper and the fine print is where this review lives. Zebec’s public pages do not name the card issuer or the BIN sponsor, do not publish a full fee schedule for two of the three tiers, do not say whether the card arrives as plastic or as a number in an app, and do not publish a dispute or refund process. There is also no Trustpilot page and no Reddit thread I could find about the cards. Silence is not proof of anything bad, but it is the opposite of proof of anything good.
Conditions are current as of 21 October 2026 based on the Zebec website and program disclosures.

My score for the Zebec card is 7.1 out of 10. That is a genuinely competitive price point with real gaps in disclosure, not a warning.
Conditions are current as of 2026-10-20.
Verdict: 7.1 out of 10
The card suits you if you already hold crypto on several chains, you are comfortable topping up from a self-custody wallet rather than from a bank account, you mostly spend in the currency your card is denominated in, and you can tolerate a support team reached by email. It suits you especially well if you fund the card from a wide spread of tokens rather than two stablecoins.
It does not suit you if you need a physical card in the post, a published dispute process, a named bank behind the card, a long public track record, or certainty about what a payment will cost before you make it. On the last point specifically: Zebec says variable FX fees may apply and that conversion rates vary by token, and it publishes no percentages. You cannot price a purchase from Zebec’s own pages. That alone keeps this below the cards that publish a full fee table.
The audience note that shapes my view: the people this card is genuinely built for are those funding it from 180+ tokens. If your holdings are a handful of major stablecoins on one chain, you are paying for flexibility you will not use, and one of the alternatives below will be cheaper and more transparent.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Silver covers the US, Canada, the UK and the EU except Malta; Carbon USD International reaches 90+ countries outside the US and Canada; Black is worldwide subject to sanctions |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Silver and Carbon have no sign-up fee and no transaction fee; Carbon’s is a promo subject to change; variable FX fees may apply; Black charges activation, top-up and monthly fees |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | Funded from the Zebec wallet, “180+ tokens across 21+ blockchains”; the specific coins are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Issuer and BIN sponsor not named, legal entity not disclosed; no complaints or reviews found, CryptoCardHub gives 3.3; the Black page shows “offline for upgrades” |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | All tiers are Mastercard prepaid with Apple Pay and Google Pay; physical card and ATM not addressed |
| Total | 7.1 / 10 | Cheap and broad on paper, thin on published detail |
Will they give you the card?
Eligibility is decided by country of residence, not citizenship. Zebec calls this the “issue location”, defined as the country where you declare your home address and apply. Citizenship is not mentioned anywhere in the availability rules.
That distinction matters more than it first appears. Sanctions screening in this industry is very often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to address, so a card that accepts your address is not automatically a card that accepts your passport. Zebec’s own pages say something adjacent to this without spelling it out: Zebec and its card partners check the device IP address and the declared address in order to enforce their restrictions. So there are at least three signals in play — your declared address, your device’s IP location, and whatever your identity document says when you go through verification.
Tier by tier, the country lists run like this:
- Silver USD — United States, Canada, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands.
- Silver and Carbon GBP — United Kingdom, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey.
- Silver and Carbon EUR — EU member states except Malta.
- Carbon USD International — 90+ approved countries outside the US and Canada, with Japan, Singapore, Brazil, Kenya and Uruguay given as examples.
- Black — worldwide, subject to sanctions.
One inconsistency worth flagging before you read further. The Carbon product page advertises USD International in “over 70 countries” while the availability page says “90+”. Zebec’s own two pages disagree with each other, so the count you see quoted elsewhere may be either number.
The Russia, Belarus and Russian-citizen question
The card cannot be used in a compliance-restricted list that includes the Russian Federation and Belarus, alongside Iran, Cuba, Syria and North Korea. Read this carefully, because it is the single most misread line on the whole product: the restriction is on where you use the card, not on where you live or what passport you hold.
So, for the three groups I care about here:
- People living in Russia. Russia is not in any of the eligible residence lists for Silver or Carbon, and it is not among the examples given for Carbon USD International. On top of that, the card cannot be used in Russia at all. There is no reading of the published rules under which a Russia-based resident is in scope.
- People living in other CIS countries. Several CIS states are plausibly inside the “90+ approved countries” for Carbon USD International — Belarus is explicitly excluded by the compliance list, and the other CIS states are simply not enumerated either way in what Zebec publishes. If you live there, the only way to find out is to apply, and the check runs on your IP address as well as your address, so a mismatch between where you live and where your device connects will not help you.
- Russian citizens living elsewhere. If you reside in an eligible country, residence is the stated criterion, so your citizenship is not what disqualifies you. But I want to be plain about the limit of that: Zebec does not state its position on Russian citizens, does not publish a citizenship policy, and does not publish rejection reasons. A residence rule is not a citizenship guarantee.
I am not going to help anyone work around any of this. If your situation involves a mismatch between where you live, where you are connecting from, and what your document says, the honest answer is to ask Zebec directly and to accept the answer. The rest of this review assumes you are eligible and are being straight with the application.
How to get it
There is no elaborate application flow to describe, because Zebec’s public pages do not describe one in detail. What is stated: you order through the Zebec Web SuperApp or the Zebec Mobile SuperApp, and the card is funded from your Zebec wallet.
On verification, the pages say the following and stop there:
- Documents required, proof of address, and the age threshold are not stated.
- Zebec and its card partners check your device IP address and your declared address to enforce the country restrictions.
- Silver needs a local phone number in the region, used for SMS tokens.
- Carbon USD International uses email tokens instead.
- The Silver blog describes a limited KYC based on address, with activation “in seconds” once email confirmation arrives.
- Black requires KYC information to be submitted before the card activates, and its page claims activation in under a minute after KYC, citing 30 seconds.
Tiers of KYC, the reasons a Silver or Carbon application can be rejected, and an official processing time are all not stated. What I can tell you is that a declined online card payment can leave a hold on your balance for several days, typically up to seven, so a failed verification is not always a clean “no”.
The physical card question
This is the gap that most annoys me about Zebec, and it is worth deciding before you start. Whether the cards are virtual or physical is not stated. The docs and the Black page describe digital activation only. A third-party directory, CryptoCardHub, describes the cards as virtual with a physical card planned and not widely distributed — but that source is unofficial, undated, and not confirmed by Zebec.
If you need plastic in your hand, do not assume it. If you are happy with a number in a wallet, Zebec’s silence may mean the answer is simply yes and they never got round to writing it down.
What it really costs: fees and limits
Here is the honest state of the pricing. Some of it is specific and published. Much of it is a gap.

- Silver — no sign-up fee, no transaction fee.
- Carbon — no sign-up fee, no transaction fee. Zebec’s docs describe this as a no-fee promo and say it is subject to change, which is the language you should expect to see disappear at some point.
- Black — activation fee, top-up fee and monthly fee all apply. For Black the amounts are stated: approximately 2% on top-up, $0.30 per transaction, $1 activation, $1 monthly, with gas, crypto conversion and exchange fees variable and additional on top.
- Silver and Carbon top-up fees — not stated.
- Variable FX fees may apply. No percentage is given.
- Crypto conversion rates vary by token. No rate is given.
- ATM fees — not stated, anywhere, for any tier.
| Fee or limit | Silver | Carbon | Black |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sign-up fee | None | None (promo, subject to change) | Not stated |
| Transaction fee | None | None (promo, subject to change) | $0.30 per transaction |
| Activation fee | Not stated | Not stated | $1 |
| Monthly fee | Not stated | Not stated | $1 |
| Top-up fee | Not stated | Not stated | Approximately 2% |
| Conversion / FX fee | Variable, amount not stated | Variable, amount not stated | Variable, plus crypto conversion and exchange fees |
| ATM fee | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Minimum load | $10 | $10 | Not stated |
| Load limit | $10–$1,000 | $1,000 / £1,000 / €1,000 (Carbon page: $10,000 USD per load) | Up to $10,000 |
| Maximum balance | $1,000 | $10,000 / £5,000 / €5,000 | $50,000 |
| Daily spend | Not stated | $10,000 (USD) | Not stated |
Two numbers deserve their own paragraph. First, the load limits: the cards page says $1,000/£1,000/€1,000 per load for Carbon while the Carbon page says $10,000 USD per load. That is a tenfold discrepancy inside the same documentation. Second, Silver’s ceiling: $1,000 maximum balance is small. Silver is a card for coffee and a taxi, not for a month of life.
Three everyday payments, and which fees bite
Take a person in Berlin with a Carbon EUR card.
Coffee, about €4. This is the clean case. The card is denominated in euro, the merchant charges in euro, there is no currency conversion, and Carbon carries no transaction fee. On the published terms this is a free payment. The only cost that could appear is the crypto conversion when the card converts your balance — and since Carbon’s conversion rate varies by token, you still cannot predict it from the site.
A flight booked in dollars. Now you are spending a euro card in dollars and the variable FX fee applies, at a percentage Zebec does not publish. This is the single largest uncertainty in the product. Zebec’s own Silver blog offers the workaround: match your card’s denomination to the currency you spend in, and you can avoid the FX fee entirely. That advice is sound and it is also an admission that the fee is real.
A cash withdrawal. Here the card goes quiet completely. ATM fees are not stated for any tier, and neither is whether these Mastercard prepaid cards can withdraw cash at all. If cash is part of your plan, you must ask Zebec before you rely on it.
And the recurring costs at the top of the Black column are worth internalising: Black is $1 to activate, $1 a month, $0.30 a transaction, and roughly 2% on top-ups. Black’s economics make sense only if you are moving large sums. On a monthly spend, the fees dominate the card’s value.
How to top up
Top-up is where Zebec is strongest, and it is the reason this card scores what it does. Funding comes from the Zebec wallet, and Zebec puts the figure as “180+ tokens across 21+ blockchains”. The specific coins are not listed.

That number is the headline, and I want to be careful about how much weight it can bear. It tells you the wallet is wide. It does not tell you which tokens, whether they are stablecoins or volatile assets, what the conversion rate is on any of them, or which network each one arrives on. If you hold a long tail of assets, this is your card. If you hold USDC and USDT only, it is a feature you will ignore.
The practical mechanic of a top-up is a blockchain transfer, which means the network matters enormously. Transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or sent to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery through support with no guarantee. Before you send anything, confirm the network on the receiving side matches the network you are sending from. This is not clever advice, it is the most common way people lose money with cards of this kind.
One more technical trap worth knowing, because it is not Zebec-specific but it will bite you on Ethereum-family transfers: on ERC-20 networks the gas fee is paid only in ETH. A wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send it. The equivalent on Tron is that fees are paid through bandwidth and energy and often burn TRX. Check you have the native token for gas before you assume a transfer will go through.
- Fiat top-up — not stated. Funding is from crypto in the wallet.
- Withdrawal from Zebec — not stated.
- Silver and Carbon top-up fees — not stated; only the variable FX fee and the varying conversion rates.
- Black top-up fees — approximately 2%, plus the $0.30 per-transaction fee.
Paying with it every day
All three tiers are Mastercard prepaid cards, and all three support Apple Pay and Google Pay. That is the core of the everyday proposition and it is genuinely useful: tokenising into a phone wallet means you are not typing card numbers into websites, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code rather than your actual card number.
Beyond that, the picture is thin.
- Physical form — not stated (see the signup section above).
- ATM withdrawal — not stated.
- Blocked merchant categories — not stated. This is worth chasing, because many issuers block gambling merchant category codes by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. If gambling matters to you, ask.
- Cashback — no cashback stated.
- Staking — staking $ZBCN earns “extra rewards”, rate not stated. This is a rewards rate on Zebec’s own token, which means it moves with the token and with Zebec’s own terms. I would not count it when you work out whether the card is worth having.
- Currency — Silver and Carbon run in USD, EUR or GBP depending on your region of residence; Black is USD in the docs, though the Black page mentions EUR and USD cards with other fiat planned. Multi-currency balances are not stated.
- Disputes and chargebacks — not stated. There is no dispute, refund or chargeback process on the cards pages, the Black page or the payees pages. The only contact offered is a support email.
That last bullet deserves emphasis. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. In the US, reversal rights for debit cards come from Regulation E and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. With Zebec, the public pages give you no process at all. I cannot tell you that chargebacks are unavailable — I can tell you that if something goes wrong, you will be starting from zero information, which is worse than a known-bad process because at least a known-bad process can be planned around.
What can go wrong
I have grouped this by how much it should worry you.
The big structural unknown: who stands behind the card
Zebec does not name the card issuer or the BIN sponsor, and does not disclose its legal entity. Mastercard appears only as a partner logo. This is the single most consequential gap on this page, so let me explain why.
Every card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit BIN that identifies the issuing institution. Merchants look up that BIN, see which institution and country issued the card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the customer’s billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs precisely because the lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of a billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. So the identity of the issuer is not a footnote; it is the thing that determines how your card behaves at a checkout.
The wider context: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves. They license issuers — banks or e-money institutions — and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, but the shape is representative.
None of that is a prediction about Zebec. It is a reminder that the licence-holder’s identity is the load-bearing wall in this industry, and Zebec does not tell you whose wall you are leaning on.
The record: thin rather than bad
I found no official incidents and no user reports — but I also found no Trustpilot page and no Reddit threads on Zebec cards at all. Absence of complaints from a product nobody writes about is not reassurance. The one rating that exists is from the third-party directory CryptoCardHub, which gives Zebec Card 3.3 and ranks it 23rd of 86 cards. Unofficial, undated, single source — treat it as a signal to keep looking, not as a verdict.
On the company itself: Zebec says it has been building decentralized infrastructure since 2021, with 250+ enterprise clients and 50K+ monthly users. Its legal entity, card issuer, BIN sponsor and licences are not stated. Those numbers are the company’s own.
Product and roadmap instability
Silver is a relaunch of an earlier Zebec Instant Card. Carbon launched with Mastercard on March 27. The Black page shows the site temporarily offline for upgrades and remodeling, with resumption expected Spring 2026 — and I could not confirm the status after that. The page also carries wording about the UK being restricted pending regulatory review. I found no 2026 issuer change, which is mildly reassuring, but the Black situation is the kind of thing that makes me want the physical-versus-digital answer in writing before I commit.
Self-custody and the token trap
Zebec says the wallet is separate from the app, with a non-custodial connection, and that the card balance is held with the card programme — though custody of card funds is not stated. The distinction between those two halves is the one to hold on to. Your crypto, if your keys never leave, is yours: nobody can move it. Your card balance is a claim on a programme, and a claim is worth what the issuer’s arrangements are worth. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust the provider completely, and a seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 unencrypted words that anyone who obtains can use to restore the wallet and spend its funds. Transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return the funds. The historical record of custodial platforms includes Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022).
There is also a plain operational risk with wide multi-chain funding. Stablecoins can depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. If you load a balance of something that slips 10% in an hour, the value on your card moves with it, whatever the card promises.
Everyday security on Zebec
- Two-factor tokens — SMS for Silver and Carbon USD Regional; email for Carbon USD International.
- Card freeze — Black can be frozen immediately in the Mobilum app, and Mobilum is the backend processing partner.
- Spending controls, insurance, dispute process — not stated.
SMS tokens are a real weak point compared to an authenticator app, and email tokens are weaker still. If you are choosing on security, that is a mark against Zebec.
A note on taxes
I am not giving tax advice and you should not treat this as advice. What is generally true: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. That last clause is why a card funded from crypto can produce a separate taxable event on each individual payment. Your jurisdiction will do its own thing; check it with a professional before you spend meaningfully.
What to take instead
I want to be fair to Zebec first: it scores 7.1, which is not a weak number, and the reasons are real — no sign-up or transaction fee on two tiers, and funding from a very wide token and chain range. But three alternatives score the same or close, and two of them publish a full fee table and name their issuer. If any of the gaps above would bother you, one of these will serve you better.
At a glance
| Card | Score | Network | Issuer named | Fee table published | Card currency | Headline cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zebec | 7.1 / 10 | Mastercard | No | Partial | USD, EUR or GBP | Free on Silver and Carbon; Black $1 activation, $1 monthly, $0.30 per transaction, ~2% top-up |
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | Mastercard | Yes — Monovate (card provider Crypto Life) | Yes, linked from the site | Not stated | Virtual free; Metal $199/year |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Visa | Not stated | Yes | USD balance | Standard 0 USD/year; Premium $1,000/year; Private $10,000/year |
| Zeal | 6.1 / 10 | Visa | Not stated | No | EUR, USD, GBP | Not published; no additional FX fee, Visa wholesale rate |
MetaMask — same score, far more published
MetaMask Card is a Mastercard, issued by Monovate with Crypto Life as card provider, and that naming alone puts it ahead of Zebec on the single biggest issue above. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories — Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay among the examples — with other regions on a waitlist. Proof of residency is required, and ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending.
Cost: the Virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee; Metal is $199 a year. Fees are described as a “minimal fee for each transaction” with the amount on a linked table, no additional MetaMask fees, and no foreign transaction fee because the Mastercard rate is used.
Funding is direct from the connected wallet across Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT named (the page says nine tokens). Note one restriction: a Solana-only wallet cannot withdraw credit.
Rewards are the real differentiator here: cashback paid in mUSD into the Money Account at 1% on Virtual and a headline 3% on Metal, with a footnote limiting 3% to the first $10,000 spent and 1% after that, plus a $FLY bonus at 5X on Virtual and 7X on Metal through the Blackbird dining app.
Pick MetaMask over Zebec if you want a named issuer, a fee table, and cashback.
KAST — the fee table, and physical cards
KAST runs Visa rather than Mastercard, with virtual and physical cards and up to 10 cards per user: Visa Platinum Standard, Visa Infinite metal for Premium, Visa Infinite gold plated for Private, plus Pengu, Solana and Bitcoin designs. The account balance is in USD, with stablecoin deposits converted 1:1 at a 0% spread.
Eligibility is shown at KYC. If your country is not listed, KAST is not available there. Citizenship and ID matter separately: if you live in a supported country but hold only an ID from a restricted region, you may still be ineligible to pass KYC; dual citizens with an ID from a supported country may pass; only the account holder’s own ID is accepted and a VPN does not bypass it.
Costs are the most transparent in this comparison. Annual membership is 0 USD for Standard, 1,000 USD for Premium, 10,000 USD for Private, billed annually upfront with no monthly option. An extra virtual card is 2 USD, a Standard physical card has a 0 USD card fee plus 40 USD delivery, Premium and Private physical cards are included, and there is a 1 USD per month inactivity fee after 12 months. Fees: stablecoin top-up 0%, card spend in USD 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%, non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75% depending on your residence country, transaction country and card programme, non-USD transactions under 25 USD 0.10 USD, and a declined transaction for insufficient balance 0.50 USD. Non-stablecoin tokens may be auto-converted at a fee shown in the app.
Funding is stablecoins — USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD — on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum and TRON, with no bank account needed. One inconsistency: KAST’s terms say acceptable tokens are “currently USDT and USDC”, which conflicts with PYUSD and RLUSD. Spending comes from your own balance, deducted straight away, not credit.
Rewards are USD cashback: 1.5% on the first 2,000 USD a month for Standard, 2% on the first 10,000 for Premium, 3% on the first 40,000 for Private, plus KAST Points at none, +1% and +2% of eligible spend.
Pick KAST if you want published fees, real cashback, and physical cards.
Zeal — simplest, Visa wholesale rate, cashback in GNO
Zeal is a Visa card with a virtual card for online use, addable to Apple Pay, and accounts in EUR, USD and GBP through Gnosis Pay. Spending is from balances in the card Safe, with Gnosis Chain and Celo per the docs; the exact coins are not stated for Zeal. You can spend in 150+ countries, though issuance depends on eligibility and regional availability, and the live card programme covers the EU, the UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand.
On fees Zeal says it charges no additional FX fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM may still apply. No fee schedule is published on zeal.app or the App Store.
Rewards: up to 4% cashback paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, with GNO needing to be held in the card Safe to qualify and rates subject to change. The App Store also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR and USD balances.
Pick Zeal if you value a stated no-additional-FX-fee policy and GNO-denominated cashback over published percentages.
The wider regulatory picture, in brief
You may be in the EU, the US, the UK, or elsewhere, and the rules differ. In the EU, MiCA (Regulation (EU) 2023/1114) took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. Under Article 48, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional grandfathering period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they are authorised or refused authorisation, whichever comes first — and ESMA maintains an interim register of authorised providers that you can check. A CASP authorised in one member state can serve the whole EU.
A card itself is a payment service regulated separately, so a crypto card often depends on two licences: one for the crypto side and one for the card. EMIs must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, but those funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people merely buying goods or services are not.
All of which makes Zebec’s missing legal entity, missing licences and unnamed issuer more than a documentation gap. It is the thing you would most want to check before funding a card with money you care about.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Zebec card to someone in this position: you live in an eligible country, you hold crypto across many chains rather than two stablecoins on one, you mostly spend in your card’s own currency, you do not need cash from ATMs, and you are the kind of person who reads fee schedules before committing rather than after. That person gets a no-fee Mastercard on two tiers, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a funding range wider than anything else in this comparison, for a card whose headline price is genuinely competitive.
I would not recommend it to someone whose priority is the reverse: a named issuer, a complete fee table, a dispute process, a physical card in the post, or a product with a public history of complaints that proves people have actually used it. Zebec cannot give you any of those today, and its own pages are the reason.
The fair summary is this: Zebec has built the cheap, broad, flexible end of the market and has not yet built the transparent end. If your wallet is wide and your patience is good, that trade is worth making. If your wallet is small and your patience is short, pay the extra and buy the disclosure — MetaMask at the same score with a named issuer, or KAST with the most complete fee schedule in this group.
Three things I would want answered before funding it with real money: who is the issuer and BIN sponsor, what does a payment actually cost in your currency, and what happens when you dispute one. Zebec does not currently answer any of the three on its public pages. Ask.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Zebec card?
Zebec is a crypto platform that sells three Mastercard prepaid cards — Silver, Carbon and Black — funded from a Zebec wallet. You convert or load crypto into a fiat balance and the card spends that balance, so it behaves like a stored-value card rather than a bank debit card. Silver and Carbon carry no sign-up or transaction fee. Black is a premium tier aimed at high spenders and enterprises.
How does the Zebec card work?
You order the card in the Zebec Web or Mobile SuperApp, fund it from your Zebec wallet, and then pay with it as you would any Mastercard — in a shop, online, or through Apple Pay or Google Pay. Because the card is prepaid, it spends only the balance you have loaded and cannot overdraw. Conversion from your crypto to the card balance happens at rates Zebec says vary by token.
Is Zebec a bank?
No — Zebec presents itself as a crypto infrastructure company that has been building decentralized infrastructure since 2021, citing 250+ enterprise clients and 50K+ monthly users. It does not disclose its legal entity, licences, or the card issuer and BIN sponsor on its public pages. Mastercard appears as a partner, and Mastercard licenses issuers rather than issuing crypto cards itself.
Who owns Zebec, and is my money protected?
Zebec does not name a legal entity or owning company on the pages I checked, so I cannot tell you who owns it. On protection: Zebec says the wallet is separate from the app with a non-custodial connection, but the card balance is held with the card programme and custody of those funds is not stated. Where a licensed e-money institution holds funds, they must be safeguarded, but such funds are not bank deposits.
Can I get the Zebec card in my country?
Eligibility is by country of residence, not citizenship. Silver covers the US, Canada, the UK and the EU except Malta, and Carbon USD International reaches 90+ approved countries outside the US and Canada. Zebec checks both your device IP address and your declared address, so both need to line up with an eligible country. If you are unsure, ask Zebec before applying.
Can I use the Zebec card in Russia or Belarus?
No. The card cannot be used in a compliance list that includes the Russian Federation and Belarus, along with Iran, Cuba, Syria and North Korea. Note that this restriction is on where you use the card. Living in an eligible country is what matters for issuance, so a Russian citizen residing in, say, Germany or Japan is applying under the residence rule — but Zebec publishes no citizenship policy, so do not read that as a guarantee.
Does the Zebec card require KYC?
Partly, and Zebec does not describe it fully. It says Zebec and its card partners check your device IP and declared address, Silver needs a local phone number for SMS tokens, and Carbon USD International uses email tokens. The Silver blog describes a limited KYC based on address with activation in seconds after email confirmation. Documents required, age threshold and rejection reasons are not stated.
How do I top up the Zebec card?
You fund it from the Zebec wallet, which Zebec says supports “180+ tokens across 21+ blockchains” — though the specific coins are not listed. The minimum load is $10. Check the network on both sides before sending, because blockchain transfers are irreversible and a deposit on an unsupported network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
Is the Zebec card free?
Silver and Carbon have no sign-up fee and no transaction fee, though Carbon’s is described as a promo subject to change. Black charges $1 activation, $1 a month, $0.30 per transaction and approximately 2% on top-ups, plus variable gas, conversion and exchange fees. Variable FX fees may apply on every tier and no percentage is published, so the real cost of a payment cannot be calculated from Zebec’s pages.
Is the Zebec card safe to use?
I would not call it unsafe, but I would call it unproven. Zebec says the wallet is non-custodial and separate from the app, and Black can be frozen instantly in the Mobilum app. Against that: the issuer and BIN sponsor are not named, two-factor tokens are by SMS or email, spending controls and insurance are not stated, and there is no dispute or chargeback process published anywhere. Support is by email, 24/7 per the Silver blog.
How do I add the Zebec card to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay is supported on all three tiers, according to Zebec’s card pages, so the card can be tokenised into Apple Wallet the usual way once it is issued and funded. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element and each payment uses a one-time code. Google Pay is supported too. Neither Zebec nor Apple publishes a Zebec-specific walkthrough.
Published by the Crypto Card Rating team.
