Fuse card review: a USDC-only virtual Visa priced in dollars

I went through Fuse’s own pages and the cardholder agreement before writing this, because a card that does almost nothing else interesting still needs to be judged by who can actually get it, what it costs, and what happens when something goes wrong. Fuse is a virtual Visa debit that lives inside a Solana wallet app, costs nothing to issue and nothing a month, and only spends USDC. That short description explains both why some readers will want it and why others will move on quickly. This review walks through each of those points with you, so you can decide which side you are on.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Fuse works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions are current as of 21 October 2026 based on the Lead Bank and Bridge Ventures LLC card agreements.

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict
  2. Who will they give you the card
  3. How to get it
  4. Fees: what it really costs
  5. Top up: how it works
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend this to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict

Fuse scores 6.3 / 10 in my evaluation. That sounds middling until you look at where the marks sit: cost is excellent, reliability and the issuing setup look solid, but eligibility is narrow, the only top-up token is USDC, there is no physical card and ATMs are not supported. The card fits a specific kind of person — an adult resident of a listed Americas country (or Ghana or Nigeria) who already holds USDC and wants a clean way to spend it from a phone. It does not fit someone who needs cash, a metal card, multi-token spending or wide geographic reach.

Criterion Mark Why it scored that way
Who can get it 5 / 10 Issued in 18 jurisdictions: the US (excluding New York and Alaska), much of Latin America, plus Ghana and Nigeria. Russia and Belarus are not on the list.
Cost 9 / 10 Card issuance $0, monthly fee $0.00, no inactivity fee; international transactions 0%; crypto conversion fee not disclosed.
Top-up options 4 / 10 USDC only, transferred from a Main Account to a Card Account inside the same wallet; on-chain networks not stated.
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Card issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. licence, Bridge Ventures LLC runs the programme; one user report of a closed account with roughly $600 inaccessible, no Trustpilot page.
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual Visa only, Apple Pay works, Google Pay is not mentioned, no ATM access.

Who I think it suits, in plain words: residents of the United States (excluding New York and Alaska), Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ghana, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Nigeria, Paraguay, Peru or Uruguay who already hold USDC and want a no-monthly-fee card to spend it. Who I do not think it suits: anyone outside that list, anyone who needs a physical card, anyone who needs cash, and anyone who wants to spend BTC, ETH or anything other than USDC.

Who will they give you the card

Fuse lists who can have it as a residence question, not a citizenship question. The published residence-based list runs to 18 jurisdictions: the United States (excluding New York and Alaska), Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ghana, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Nigeria, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay. Citizenship rules are not stated on the cards page, so I cannot tell you whether a Russian citizen living in Brazil, for example, would be refused on citizenship grounds or only on residence grounds. You would need to ask Fuse support directly. Russia and Belarus are simply not on the list, which is the part that matters most for Russian-speaking readers.

You must be at least 18 years old. KYC is mandatory and is run by Bridge — the program manager, not Fuse directly — and Fuse’s own FAQ says the cards cannot be issued without passing it. The cards agreement sets out the information required: name, address, date of birth and a government ID number, and it warns that extra documents such as a driver’s licence may be requested at any time. What is not stated is which exact documents count as proof of address, how long verification takes, and the rejection reasons. That last gap matters if you are choosing between cards for an applicant with a thin paper trail.

For comparison, MetaMask Card lists sign-ups as open in 45 countries and territories and says ineligible regions limit sign-ups rather than spending, while KAST shows the country list only at the KYC step and refuses unsupported regions outright. Fuse sits closer to KAST on transparency of the list, but unlike either it leaves citizenship policy unstated.

How to get it

The signup path is short and stays inside one app. You verify yourself in the Fuse app, then create the virtual card and move USDC from your Main Account into the Card Account. There is no waiting for a card to arrive in the post, because Fuse is virtual-only — no plastic is mentioned anywhere on the support pages or in the agreement. The cards FAQ is explicit on that.

Two practical consequences. First, you cannot lose the card in the mail or skip a delivery step; if your phone is lost, you freeze the card in settings. Second, you cannot hand a physical card to a cashier who insists on chip-and-PIN if Apple Pay is not accepted at the terminal, so the in-person experience leans entirely on mobile wallets.

A second thing to know: the card is described on Fuse’s marketing pages as a “Visa debit” card, and the disclaimer characterises it as a “prepaid debit card”. The agreement treats it as a prepaid card on a stored balance. That is the standard structure for crypto-to-fiat cards and it shapes how disputes and reversals work, which I cover later.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline fees are unusual for a crypto card: free to issue, no monthly fee, no inactivity fee, no per-purchase fee, and a 0% international transaction (FX) fee. The agreement also lists card transaction fees as zero, and the support page adds that there are no top-up fees and no cash reload fee. Minimum top-up amounts are not listed.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Fuse payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What is not stated is the crypto conversion fee. Funding works by a stablecoin sale at the moment of purchase, and the Platform Provider or Program Manager may charge separate fees for that conversion, but the percentage is not published on either Fuse or Bridge’s cards pages. The agreement uses the general phrase “fees may apply”. For everyday comparisons, that means I cannot tell you what percentage of $100 in USDC you lose at the till — only that the card-level fees on top of that conversion are zero.

Fee or limit Amount
Card issuance $0
Monthly fee $0.00
Inactivity fee $0
International transaction (FX) fee 0%
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal / balance inquiry Not available
Default daily spending limit $2,000 (adjustable up to $2,000)
Per-transaction limit $2,000
Monthly limit Not stated

Three everyday payments worth thinking through:

On the limit side, the daily spending cap starts at $2,000 and can be raised up to $2,000 in settings — that is the published ceiling, and the FAQ says it “may increase after usage” without giving numbers. The per-transaction ceiling matches the daily one. A monthly limit is not stated, which is unusual: it means either Fuse deliberately leaves the monthly ceiling to the daily cap, or the agreement does not publish it. Ask before relying on this card for large recurring bills.

For comparison, MetaMask Card publishes a Virtual and a Metal tier (Metal at $199 a year) with a minimal transaction fee whose exact amount is held inside a linked fee table, and KAST publishes a much more detailed fee ladder that varies by tier and even by country of residence — non-USD FX on KAST runs 0.5%–1.75%, and small non-USD transactions under $25 incur a flat $0.10 fee. Zeal publishes no fee schedule at all. Fuse is the cheapest of these on card-level fees, but it is also the one that hides the conversion fee the most.

Top up: how it works

Top-up is internal, not on-chain. Inside the Fuse app you have a Main Account and a Card Account, and you top up the card by moving USDC from the Main Account into the Card Account. The support page says funds are ready immediately. The agreement adds that no top-up fees apply, no cash reload fee applies, and no minimum is listed.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Fuse starts with a transfer to the right network

What is not stated is which on-chain network the USDC travels on when it arrives from outside the Fuse wallet. The product positioning associates Fuse with Solana, but Fuse’s own cards and support pages I read do not confirm that explicitly, and the agreement does not name a network. If you are sending USDC in from an external wallet, you should confirm the receiving network with support before sending — sending USDC on the wrong network is one of the most common ways stablecoins get lost, because blockchain transfers are irreversible.

You can also withdraw unspent USDC from the Card Account back to the Main Account, but there is a five-minute security time lock on the way back. On card closure, the agreement says the remaining balance is returned to the Platform Provider wallet as stablecoin, with no fee — although the bank can refuse to return balances under $1.00, and closure can be blocked by a pending transaction, an open dispute, an amount owed or an active hold.

Cash top-up — the kind you do with a debit card by walking into a shop — is not listed, and bank transfers are not listed. Top-up is stablecoin-to-stablecoin inside the app.

Top-up path Available
USDC from Main Account to Card Account Yes, no fee, ready immediately
Cash reload at a retailer Not listed
Bank transfer Not stated
Other stablecoins (USDT, DAI, etc.) Not listed — USDC only
Withdraw back to Main Account Yes, after a 5-minute security lock
Networks supported for external deposits Not stated on the cards pages

For comparison, MetaMask Card spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana and accepts mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT (and the page names nine tokens overall). KAST accepts USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD across several chains and adds no bank account as a requirement. Fuse is the narrowest of these by token and the least explicit on network.

Paying with it every day

In person, the Fuse card is added to Apple Pay for contactless payments, and Google Pay is not mentioned on either the support page or the agreement. There is no physical card and therefore no chip-and-PIN fallback, so a terminal that does not accept mobile wallets is a terminal you cannot use. Blocked merchant categories are not listed; the agreement prohibits illegal transactions and cashback at point of sale, but it does not name gambling MCC 7995 or anything similar. If gambling or adult spending matters to you, ask.

No cashback is stated anywhere, so do not expect a rewards percentage on the card. The “Fuse – Solana Smart Wallet” iPhone app on the App Store requires iOS 16.4 or later and, as of 2026-10-20, did not have enough ratings to show a public score; the Paraguay storefront is the one I read. An aggregator says Fuse has somewhere around 4.5–4.6 from about 35 ratings, but I am treating that as unofficial because it has no date and no methodology. Google Play was not checked.

Online, the card behaves like any other Visa. It can be entered manually at checkout, and 3-D Secure (Visa Secure) is the issuer’s fraud screen, so you may be asked for a one-time code on suspicious payments. AVS (Address Verification Service) is mainly a US, Canada and UK tool and is generally unavailable for cards issued outside the buyer’s country, which can occasionally cause online declines — worth knowing if you see one.

The dispute flow is laid out clearly in the agreement. Report unauthorised use within two business days and your liability is capped at $50; report it later and the cap rises to $500. Report errors within 60 days. The bank aims to decide in 10 business days, with up to 45 days allowed (credit issued within 10 business days if the investigation is extended), and point-of-sale, foreign or new-card errors can run up to 90 days. The outcome is communicated within three business days of the investigation ending. Stop-payments are not allowed on card purchases, merchant disputes go to the merchant first, and refunds are credited to the wallet as stablecoin — so a refund from a merchant comes back as USDC, not USD. There is no provisional credit for goods or services disputes. Pending amounts clear in about 24 hours.

Action What Fuse and the agreement say
Apple Pay Supported for in-person payments
Google Pay Not mentioned
Cashback Not stated
Blocked merchant categories Not listed; illegal transactions and cashback at POS prohibited
App rating “Not enough ratings” in the App Store as of 2026-10-20
Disputes — unauthorised use, reported in 2 business days Liability capped at $50
Disputes — unauthorised use, reported later Up to $500
Errors — reporting window 60 days
Investigation — typical 10 business days
Investigation — maximum 45 days, up to 90 days for POS / foreign / new-card errors
Refunds Credited to wallet as stablecoin

What can go wrong

The shape of the company matters here, because a card is only as good as the issuer and the program manager behind it. Fuse’s card is issued by Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered bank, under a Visa U.S.A. licence. Bridge Ventures LLC is the Program Manager. Squads Labs Inc. is the Platform Provider and is explicitly not a bank. That is a standard three-layer setup for a US crypto card, but you should know who holds what role before you put meaningful funds onto it.

The complaint picture is thin but not empty. One user on the App Store reports an account being closed with roughly $600 stuck and no clear route back. An X user reported unanswered support emails, again reported by an aggregator. No Trustpilot page for Fuse was found, and Fuse has no Reddit thread worth pointing at. There were no dated official incidents on Fuse’s own pages. So: the issuer structure looks legitimate, but the user-visible support experience is light, and there is at least one report of funds being stuck behind a closed account.

Two contractual points stand out:

Security controls in the app include freezing and unfreezing the card in settings, setting and resetting the PIN, a daily spending limit of up to $2,000 and what Fuse calls “smart account enforced spending limits”. Two-factor authentication is not mentioned on the cards pages I read. The bank can block or cancel the card for suspected fraud. There is no overdraft — it is a prepaid card on a stored balance, so it cannot be overdrawn, but it also cannot tide you over by a few dollars when a payment is borderline.

Support channels are email at [email protected] and phone 833-237-8104. Operating hours are not stated, and the agreement refers only to “business days Monday-Friday excluding holidays”. Languages are not stated, and Russian is not listed. If Russian-language help matters to you, this card will not provide it.

What to take instead

Fuse is not the right card for everyone, and the alternatives worth weighing fall into three buckets.

If you live in the United States or a listed Americas country and want to keep spending USDC for almost no fee. Fuse is strong here, mainly because the card-level cost is essentially zero. The compromises you accept are no ATM, no physical card, no multi-token spending and an unstated conversion fee. If any of those matter, look at MetaMask Card: it lists sign-ups in 45 countries and territories, accepts USDC plus USDT and several other tokens, and offers a Virtual tier with no annual fee plus a Metal tier at $199 a year with up to 3% cashback on the first $10,000 spent (1% after). MetaMask’s published fee is a “minimal fee for each transaction” and the exact amount sits inside a linked fee table, so before you commit, read that table.

If you want cash access, multi-token support or a wider country reach. KAST publishes the most detailed fee schedule of the three alternatives I considered. It accepts USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD across several networks, has a physical card option, supports both Apple Pay and Google Pay and supports 10 cards per user. The Standard tier is free but KAST charges $40 delivery on the included physical card and $2 for extra virtual cards in some regions; the Premium tier is $1,000 a year and the Private tier is $10,000 a year, billed annually upfront. Non-USD FX on KAST runs 0.5%–1.75%, with a $0.10 floor for transactions under $25. That sounds more expensive than Fuse on a small USDC bill, but you get what Fuse does not give you: real cash access, multi-token spending and a higher cashback ceiling. Country eligibility for KAST is checked at KYC, and the list is not published.

If you want to spend stablecoins outside the Americas and do not mind a smaller brand. Zeal (which runs on Gnosis Pay rails) advertises spending in 150+ countries, Visa cards in EUR, USD and GBP, no extra FX fee (it uses the Visa wholesale rate), and up to 4% cashback paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain. The published fee schedule, however, is essentially empty, which is the opposite of Fuse’s “all costs shown except the conversion fee”. If you want clarity on line items rather than maximum coverage, Zeal is the harder sell.

A short summary table before we move on:

Card Who can get it Top-up tokens Card-level fee Cash access Cashback
Fuse 18 residence jurisdictions, USDC funders USDC only $0 issuance, $0 monthly, 0% FX, ATM not available No Not stated
MetaMask Card 45 listed countries/territories, others waitlist mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, USDT and more Virtual free, Metal $199/year Mastercard, ATM details not captured here Up to 1% Virtual, 3% Metal on first $10,000
KAST Country list at KYC, not published USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD Standard free, Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year Yes, card-network dependent Up to 1.5% / 2% / 3% USD by tier
Zeal Spend in 150+ countries, issuance per eligibility EUR/USD/GBP stablecoin balances Not stated Not stated Up to 4% in GNO

You came to this review probably because Fuse was suggested somewhere or you hold USDC on Solana and want a clean way to spend it. If that is exactly your situation and you live in a listed country, Fuse is genuinely good at the thing it tries to do. If your situation is anything more general — you need cash, you hold tokens other than USDC, you live outside the listed 18 jurisdictions — one of the alternatives above will serve you better.

Who I would recommend this to

I would recommend the Fuse card to a US resident outside New York and Alaska, or to a resident of Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Colombia, Peru, Chile or any of the other listed Americas countries, who already holds USDC, is comfortable with a phone-only experience and does not need to withdraw cash. The card-level cost is hard to argue with. The risk surface is small in normal use and meaningful if your account is closed for any reason, because arbitration is binding and FDIC insurance does not apply. If you sit in that description, this is a clean, well-priced tool.

I would not recommend it to anyone outside the listed residence jurisdictions, because the cards page simply does not invite them. I would also not recommend it to anyone who relies on ATM withdrawals, anyone who needs a physical card, or anyone whose crypto portfolio is not already in USDC and who does not want to convert to USDC first to use this card. The mobile-wallet-only experience is also a real downside for users who carry their card for in-person shopping in places where NFC terminals are rare.

One sentence summary: Fuse is a low-cost USDC-to-dollar spending tool for residents of 18 countries who are happy paying with their phone, and not a general-purpose card for everyone else.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Fuse card?

The Fuse card is a virtual Visa debit card that lives inside the Fuse wallet app on iPhone and spends a USDC balance held in a Card Account. It is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. licence, with Bridge Ventures LLC as Program Manager and Squads Labs Inc. as Platform Provider.

How does the Fuse card work?

You verify yourself in the Fuse app, create the virtual card and move USDC from your Main Account into the Card Account. Funds are ready immediately. At the till the conversion from USDC to USD happens at purchase, and a 0% international transaction fee applies on top. There is no physical card and no ATM access.

Is Fuse a bank?

No. Fuse is not a bank. The card is issued by Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered bank, under a Visa U.S.A. licence. Bridge Ventures LLC runs the programme, and Squads Labs Inc. is the Platform Provider. Funds on the Card Account are not FDIC insured.

Who owns Fuse?

Fuse is published as a product of Squads Labs Inc. (the Platform Provider), with the card issued by Lead Bank and the programme run by Bridge Ventures LLC. The marketing is done under the Fuse brand; the operational ownership sits with those three companies.

Is Fuse card available in my country?

The cards page lists 18 residence jurisdictions: the United States (excluding New York and Alaska), Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ghana, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Nigeria, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay. Russia and Belarus are not on the list. Citizenship rules are not stated, so check with support if your citizenship and residence differ.

How do I apply for the Fuse card?

You apply inside the Fuse app. You verify your identity with Bridge (KYC), then create the virtual card and move USDC from your Main Account into the Card Account. The card itself does not need to be delivered because it is virtual.

Does the Fuse card require KYC?

Yes. KYC is mandatory and is run through Bridge. Required information is your name, address, date of birth and a government ID number, with extra documents such as a driver’s licence possible at any time. Processing time and rejection reasons are not stated on the cards pages.

How do I top up the Fuse card?

You move USDC from your Main Account to your Card Account inside the Fuse app. No top-up fee applies and no minimum is listed. Cash reload and bank transfer are not listed, and the on-chain network for incoming USDC is not stated on the cards pages.

How do I add Fuse card to Apple Wallet?

On iPhone, you add the Fuse card to Apple Pay from inside the Fuse app the same way you add any other card, then verify it with the issuer. Google Pay is not mentioned on the cards pages I read, so I cannot confirm whether it is supported.

Is the Fuse card safe?

The card uses standard prepaid-card safeguards — instant freeze in settings, PIN control, a daily spending limit of up to $2,000 and a binding arbitration agreement. Funds are not FDIC insured, and there is at least one user report of an account being closed with about $600 stuck. Two-factor authentication is not mentioned on the cards pages I read.

Created by the ”Crypto Card Rating” editorial team.

AQUA card review: programme suspended, what holders should do
AQUA card review: programme suspended, what holders should do

The AQUA Dolphin Card was suspended globally on 4 December 2025. We cover who can…

Solflare card review (2026): paused, what it was and what to use instead
Solflare card review (2026): paused, what it was and what to use instead

The Solflare card programme is currently paused after issuer Kulipa wound down in July 2026.…

Bleap card review 2026 — fees, limits, eligibility, alternatives
Bleap card review 2026 — fees, limits, eligibility, alternatives

Honest Bleap card review covering fees, who can get one, how to top up, daily…

Tria card review: a tiered crypto Visa with a few missing numbers
Tria card review: a tiered crypto Visa with a few missing numbers

Tria card review covering eligibility, KYC, fees, top-ups, daily use, real risks and the best…

Tonhub card review: a virtual Visa Debit on a TON balance
Tonhub card review: a virtual Visa Debit on a TON balance

Tonhub review for readers outside easy banking: who gets the virtual Visa Debit, what the…