Bipa card review: who it’s really for and what it costs (21 October 2026 – verified against official terms and support articles)
I went through Bipa’s own pages, its help centre and the public Terms of Card Use, then checked what comes up elsewhere about the company. The card is real, it works, and it pays Bitcoin back on what you spend — but the whole package is built for a Brazilian customer, with plans priced in reais, support in Portuguese and an issuer that is itself Brazilian. The headline finding up front, so you can decide whether to keep reading: if you don’t live in Brazil, this card is almost certainly not for you.

The conditions described here are current as of 2026-10-20.
Verdict
Bipa scores 5.9 out of 10 on my rubric. It is a working product with a clear Bitcoin-back proposition and a healthy set of top-up options, but the geographic fit is narrow and a number of everyday costs are simply not published.
How I scored it
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Built for Brazil: Brazilian company, reais pricing, no published eligibility outside Brazil |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Four tiers from free to R$99.90/month, with fee waivers on spending; FX and ATM fees not published |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | Pix, Bitcoin (on-chain and Lightning), USDT on Ethereum and Polygon, plus USDC, SOL, XRP, ETH; Solana is not accepted for USDT |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | Issuer Stark Bank is named; no Reclame Aqui or Trustpilot pages were found; company claims a 4.8 marketing rating |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Mastercard prepaid and credit, virtual and physical; ATM limits exist; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not named |
That puts the card in the same conversation as other regional crypto cards I’ve reviewed, but a step behind the ones open to a wider audience.
If you live in Brazil and you spend mostly in reais, Bipa is genuinely worth a look: there is a free tier, the Bitcoin-back rewards are real, and the top-up options cover Pix and Lightning, which is unusual. If you are a Russian speaker reading from Russia, another CIS country, or from abroad, Bipa is not built for you — the application is Brazilian, the support is Portuguese, and the cardholder rules have not been published in English. The alternatives section below is the part most of you will want.
Will they give you the card
The honest answer is: Bipa’s own pages do not say, in any language they publish. The card rules refer to “the Card Terms” as the binding document, and those terms are available only in Portuguese; I did not see an English eligibility checklist, a country list, or any citizenship-versus-residence rule spelled out anywhere.
What is stated is the shape of the product. Bipa is a Brazilian company, the issuer is Stark Bank S.A. Instituição de Pagamento, and the four pricing tiers are listed in Brazilian reais. The credit side (“Bipa Crédito”) is described as based on Brazilian risk criteria. None of this is published as “available to non-Brazilian residents”, and none of it is published as “available only to Brazilians”. I have to take it at face value: the application is Brazilian, the plans are reais, and the help centre is Portuguese.
For Russian-speaking readers, this matters more than for most other readers. Cards issued under Visa and Mastercard that are tied to Russian banks stopped working abroad after March 2022, which is why many of you keep reading reviews like this. Bipa is not a workaround — it does not advertise any way to apply from outside Brazil, and the rules I read mention a Brazilian address. If you are in Russia, in another CIS country, or a Russian citizen living elsewhere, treat this card as one you would have to take up residence in Brazil to use, and check that interpretation with Bipa support before you spend any time on the form.
A few other things I did not find: which documents Bipa accepts, which country IDs it will take, what the KYC “levels” are, or how long verification takes. The support article about KYC says selfie plus document at sign-up, and that Stark Bank and Bipa “may verify data at any time”, with false information leading to suspension. That is the entire published picture.
How to get it
Sign-up is in the Bipa app. The published steps are: install the app, create an account, complete KYC, request the card. Beyond that, the help centre does not publish the documents list, the timing, or the approval logic.
The card itself is a Mastercard in four flavours. Free and Plus tier cards are Gold; Pro is Platinum; Max is Black. There is a prepaid card and a credit card. Bipa Crédito, the credit variant, lets you buy Bitcoin on credit in up to three instalments, which is a different idea from a standard cashback credit card. There is also a virtual card on the prepaid side, and the prepaid limit can be enabled in crypto — meaning you fund it from your crypto balance rather than from a reais top-up.
For physical delivery, the rules are simple and I can give them to you. The physical card is free on Pro and Max. On Free and Plus there is a fee for issuing and shipping the physical card, but the amount is not stated on the pages I read. Delivery time is described as “per the periods informed by support channels”, which is not a number. Brazil is the implied delivery address.
The credit line has its own logic. Credit-limit increases require an extra deposit and the enablement of guarantee (Bipa calls this a collateral deposit, paid in reais, that earns a yield — more on that in the rewards section). Approval for credit follows Bipa’s risk criteria and the Card Terms; the actual ceiling is not published.
One more practical detail: cancelling the card does not cancel your plan, and on cancellation Bipa may deduct amounts owed from your available balance. Plan and card cancellation fees are listed as zero.
What it really costs — Fees
This is the section where Bipa’s published numbers run out sooner than I would like. The monthly fees and the rewards ladder are clear; a lot of the everyday costs are not published on the card pages.

Costs at a glance
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Free plan, monthly | R$0 |
| Plus plan, monthly | R$14.90 (50% off from R$750 spend/month, free from R$1,500) |
| Pro plan, monthly | R$49.90 (50% off from R$2,500, free from R$5,000 of card spend + BTC/USDT volume in 30 days) |
| Max plan, monthly | R$99.90 (50% off from R$5,000, free from R$10,000) |
| Physical card issue/shipping | Free on Pro and Max; fee on Free/Plus (amount not stated) |
| Foreign-exchange (FX) rate | “May be higher or lower than the BCB average” — no published percentage |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated |
| Card cancellation | R$0 |
| Plan cancellation | R$0 |
| IOF (Brazilian financial transaction tax) | Rate not named on the cards pages |
The Bipa tiers are interesting for active users. The more you spend in reais (and, on the top two tiers, the more BTC/USDT volume you do), the more of the monthly fee you get back. On the Max tier, R$10,000 of qualifying monthly activity takes the R$99.90 fee to zero. For everyday Brazilian spenders, that is a meaningful discount path.
The mystery costs sit in the table. The Card Terms say FX “may be higher or lower than the BCB average rate” without giving a percentage, and say ATM fees follow the Tabela de Tarifas (a publicly published fee table that Bipa’s card pages link to) and the user’s plan, but the actual amounts are not in the text I read. The IOF — a tax that applies in some form to most Brazilian card transactions — is referenced as the cardholder’s responsibility, but the rate is not named on the cards pages. If you decide to go ahead, the move I’d make is open the Tabela de Tarifas linked from the card-terms page and check your own plan against it.
Three everyday payments
To make this less abstract: a coffee in São Paulo on the Free tier, a weekend online subscription billed in dollars on the Plus tier, and a cash withdrawal abroad on the Pro tier — these are the three cases I’d want numbers for, and they show clearly where Bipa is transparent and where it isn’t.
A coffee in reais is the cheapest case to think about. No FX, no conversion, no ATM fee. What you pay is whatever your merchant charges, plus whatever the card network charges, which Brazilian merchants typically absorb in the displayed price. On Free you get 0% Bitcoin-back; on Plus 0.5%; on Pro 1%; on Max 1.5%. There is no published fee for the act of paying, so the only real cost of an everyday Brazilian purchase on Free is that you earn no cashback.
A dollar subscription — streaming, software, anything billed in USD — is where the FX line matters, and that line is not quantified. The terms say the FX rate “may be higher or lower than the BCB average rate” without saying how much. On the credit card, foreign use is “limited to travel and personal expenses, in credit mode only”. Taxes on remittance abroad are the cardholder’s problem. For a small monthly streaming charge, the spread could amount to a few reais; over a year, that adds up, but I can’t tell you the rate to plug into your spreadsheet.
A cash withdrawal abroad is the most expensive case I can describe without inventing numbers. Bipa’s card terms say daily, weekly or monthly ATM limits may be imposed, and the fee follows the Tabela de Tarifas and your plan. The IOF for ATM cash abroad in Brazil is non-trivial and historical, but Bipa’s card pages do not restate the rate. I won’t guess a percentage; what I’ll say is that, if withdrawals abroad matter to you, the only responsible move is to ask Bipa support for the all-in cost on your plan before you travel.
How to top it up — Top up
Top-up is where Bipa shows up well. The published rails are unusually broad for a card priced in Brazilian reais.

The domestic rail is Pix — Brazil’s instant payments system, native to the app, no conversion step. That alone makes the card usable as a regular Brazilian prepaid card.
The crypto rails are where Bipa is more interesting than most of its peers. Bitcoin is supported both on-chain and over Lightning. USDT (Tether) is accepted on two networks only: Ethereum (ERC-20) and Polygon. Solana is explicitly listed as not accepted for USDT — a small but important detail that has burned people on other cards when they picked the wrong network. USDC, SOL, XRP, ETH (the coin, on Ethereum) are also listed as accepted. There is a Cofrinho feature (a goal-based savings bucket) with a R$50 minimum. Deposit fees are not stated, so the only published cost on a top-up is the on-chain network fee paid to the blockchain.
A small warning worth keeping in mind: blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send USDT on a network Bipa does not support, or to an address of a different network, the funds can be lost or stuck in manual recovery with no guarantee. The fact that USDT is accepted on Ethereum and Polygon but not Solana is not a guess at Bipa’s whim — it is a hard rule, and you should treat it the same as if the wrong-network address were an unsendable email.
For international transfers, the support centre lists a guide titled “How to withdraw or transfer Dollar (USDT)” and a US$100,000 limit on international crypto transfers. Cancellation of your service or card has no fee, and on cancellation Bipa may deduct amounts owed from your available balance — useful to know if you are planning a clean exit.
The prepaid side specifically lets you “enable in crypto”: the prepaid limit can be funded from your crypto balance, with settlement per clause 5.9 of the Card Terms. The credit side is backed by reais kept as collateral, which is a different model from the prepaid funding and is what unlocks the cashback-on-credit flow.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, you get a Mastercard that merchants worldwide should accept, plus a virtual card for online use and a physical card if you pay for one (or qualify for a free one on Pro and Max).
Wallets are the practical question for anyone used to paying with a phone, and Bipa’s answer is careful. The card terms say the card “may be enabled in digital wallets according to eligibility”; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not named. I read this as: tokenisation is technically possible, but it is not a marketed feature and not a guaranteed one. If you specifically need tap-to-pay with your phone, check that your device and Bipa’s eligibility cover each other before you commit to a tier.
Card-level features
| Feature | What Bipa publishes |
|---|---|
| Networks | Mastercard (prepaid and credit) |
| Tiers | Gold (Free, Plus), Platinum (Pro), Black (Max) |
| Card currency | BRL |
| Virtual card | Yes; prepaid limit can be enabled in crypto |
| Physical card | Free on Pro and Max, fee on Free/Plus |
| Digital wallet support | “May be enabled according to eligibility”; Apple Pay/Google Pay not named |
| Rewards | Bitcoin-back (Satsback) on card purchases; crypto purchases with the card excluded |
| Collateral yield | BTC yield on reais held as guarantee: 75% / 100% / 110% / 115% of CDI by tier |
Rewards are paid in Bitcoin and scale up the tier table. Free gets 0%, Plus gets 0.5%, Pro gets 1%, Max gets 1.5%. Crypto bought with the card is excluded from the rewards — sensible, otherwise you’d be earning satoshis on the same satoshis you spent. On the credit card, rewards post after invoice payment; on the prepaid, after settlement. Chargebacks reverse Satsback, which means a disputed transaction also reverses the reward.
There is a second rewards line that I should flag, because it is unusual. Keep reais as a guarantee deposit with Bipa, and that deposit earns a BTC yield tied to the Brazilian CDI rate: Free 75% of CDI, Plus 100% up to R$3,000 (90% above), Pro 110% up to R$5,000 (100% above), Max 115% up to R$5,000 (100% above). This requires an active card. It is closer to a treasury product than a card perk, but it sits on the same platform.
The app’s published metrics — App Store 4.8 from about 9,500 ratings, Google Play 4.7 from 20,000+ ratings, 300,000+ downloads — are company-reported, so treat them as a marketing claim rather than an independent benchmark. They are not a reason to trust the product on their own, but they sit alongside the apps’ actual presence in the stores.
Disputes have a published structure, which is more than many crypto cards offer. Unrecognised transactions must be reported within 5 days. Stark Bank runs a preliminary analysis, then a final analysis “within the period defined by Stark Bank” — that period is not stated as a number of days. Online purchases carry a 7-day right of withdrawal. Bipa does not guarantee the outcome of the dispute, and chargebacks reverse the Satsback reward. For a Brazilian customer, this is closer to a normal card dispute flow than the ambiguous wording some smaller issuers use; for everyone else, it’s a reminder that the dispute process is run by Stark Bank, not Bipa.
What can go wrong
Three buckets of risk matter for this card: the issuer and the company behind it, the security of your funds, and the everyday moments where the card can let you down.
Company and standing
Bipa Intermediação de Ativos Digitais LTDA (CNPJ 37.008.710/0001-78) was founded in 2020 in Brazil. The company describes itself as both a payment institution and a VASP (virtual asset service provider), regulated by the Central Bank of Brazil. The card programme itself is operated with Stark Bank S.A. Instituição de Pagamento, which is named in the Card Terms as the entity responsible for issuing the cards, and a related entity, BIPA Instituição de Pagamento Ltda (CNPJ 40.910.463/0001-05), is named as a partner. Funding reported on the company page: R$17 million from Ego Death Capital (undated).
I looked for independent complaint records on Reclame Aqui and Trustpilot and found no dedicated pages for Bipa. The company itself claims a 4.8 rating from 26,000+ reviews, but that’s marketing copy, not a third-party benchmark. For a Brazilian-focused card, the absence of a Reclame Aqui page is unusual — I’d expect at least some noise on a card at this scale — and I’d treat it as either too new or too small for a fair comparison, rather than as a clean bill of health.
Security of the card
Stark Bank is the issuer, which means many of the card’s safety features sit with it. The card PIN blocks after three wrong attempts and can be unlocked in the app. Loss or theft is reported to support, who block the card. The Terms say “Bipa and Stark Bank never ask for your password” — a useful line that you should hold onto if anyone claiming to be from Bipa or Stark Bank asks you for one. Bipa and Stark Bank answer for third-party misuse of the card only after the block has been requested; before the block, the responsibility sits with you. Custody insurance on any funds held in the Bipa platform is not stated, which I would want to clarify with support if I were keeping a non-trivial balance.
Everyday failure modes
A few patterns to be aware of, drawn from what the Card Terms and support pages actually say:
| Failure mode | What Bipa says |
|---|---|
| Declined online purchase | Some transactions classified as MoneySend by the processor may be blocked. No specific blocked-MCC list is published. |
| Foreign merchant declines | BIN-based risk: foreign-issued Mastercard BINs may receive extra scrutiny from merchants, especially for AVS checks in the US, Canada and UK. |
| FX surprise | The published FX rate “may be higher or lower than the BCB average”; the spread is not quantified. |
| Wrong-network deposit | USDT accepted on Ethereum and Polygon only; Solana USDT deposits are not accepted. Off-network transfers can be lost. |
| Tied rules | Foreign use of the credit card is “limited to travel and personal expenses, in credit mode only”; charging personal items abroad may not be straightforward. |
Support
Support is the operational fallback when something goes wrong, and it is the one part of this card that is most clearly Brazilian. The published channels are app chat (profile > “Ajuda e suporte”), Help Centre chat or form (reply up to 24 business hours), social media and the email [email protected]. Hours are Mon–Fri 09h–21h and Sat–Sun 09h–15h; the time zone is not stated. Portuguese only.
What to take instead
Bipa is a Brazilian card, and the alternatives I’ve reviewed earlier are mostly broader. The three I’d point readers to, in this order, are Nexo, Xplace and ether.fi. None is a perfect stand-in — they each have different geographic restrictions — but each is the kind of card Bipa is trying to be, for an audience Bipa does not serve.
| Card | Score | Geographic fit | Top-up and rewards in one line |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | Selected European countries, EEA and UK; residents and citizens; full country list not on the page | Spends from a Nexo account of 100+ assets; cashback in NEXO or BTC up to 2% on Credit Mode |
| Xplace | 7.7 / 10 | Country list not stated; Visa accepted in 160+ countries | Deposits on Solana (cbBTC, wETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT, xStocks); cashback 0.5%–2% by tier in USDC |
| ether.fi | 6.7 / 10 | A listed-jurisdiction list (Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, UAE, UK, plus 31 US states; Belgium and Ireland eligible without physical card); Russia and Belarus not on the list | Deposits “any supported token” to the user’s Safe; cashback in ETHFI up to 3% on the first $2,000 monthly |
A few reasons I include Nexo in the comparison even though its score is below Xplace’s: it has been around longer, it accepts more than 100 assets, and its weekly FX spread (0.2% in the EEA/UK/Switzerland, 2% elsewhere) is published, which is more than Bipa does. A 2025-era police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office, reported by Cointelegraph over alleged Russia-sanctions/AML violations, is not confirmed by Nexo and is not a reason to disqualify it — but it is a reason to keep your own documentation ready if you use it.
Xplace is the one I would look at first if you’re starting from a Visa BIN rather than a Mastercard one. Its country list is not published beyond “not available in all jurisdictions”, so the eligibility check is part of the application. With a published annual-fee ladder (Basic free, Silver US$99/yr, Gold US$249/yr, Platinum US$999/yr) and zero FX on Platinum, it is more expensive at the top tier than Bipa’s Max — and most of the value sits in the borrowing and credit modes, not in everyday spending.
ether.fi has the broadest published country list of the three, which makes it the most useful benchmark for a non-Brazilian reader. Russia and Belarus are not on the list and not mentioned; citizenship rules are not stated. The first virtual card costs US$10 in a set of regional-pricing countries (Argentina, Angola, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Peru, Philippines, South Africa, Thailand); outside that list the first virtual card is free to Core members. The yield ladder on its native ETHFI token is more involved than Bipa’s Bitcoin-back, and the cashback caps reset monthly.
If you are a Brazilian resident reading this, Bipa is a more obviously local choice than any of the three above: Pix is native, the yield on collateral is Brazilian CDI-based, and the support desk is in your time zone in your language. If you are anywhere else, Xplace or ether.fi is the more honest starting point.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Bipa to a Brazilian resident whose everyday spending is in reais, who is comfortable with Pix and with at least one of Bitcoin or USDT, and who wants a free or low-cost tier with real Bitcoin-back rewards. Specifically: anyone at the Plus tier who can credibly put R$1,500 a month through the card will pay zero in plan fees and earn 0.5% back in Bitcoin, which is a reasonable everyday baseline. Anyone on Pro who can put R$5,000 of qualifying volume through will pay zero in plan fees and earn 1% back.
I would not recommend Bipa to a Russian-speaking reader outside Brazil. The card’s published geography does not extend to Russia, the other CIS countries, or to Russian citizens living elsewhere; the help centre is Portuguese only; and several everyday costs that matter for a non-resident — ATM withdrawal, FX spread, foreign-use rules — are not quantified. None of the alternative reading I did changed that picture.
There is a wider reading suggestion that goes with this verdict. Cards in this category tend to fall out as often as they launch. Visa wound down its FTX partnership in November 2022, and a single mid-2018 suspension of WaveCrest took several European crypto card programmes with it. The lesson I’d hold over from those cases is to assume the card you pick might not be the card you still have in eighteen months, and to keep any balance you can’t afford to lose in a place you own the keys to. Bipa has no public incident I can point to, but the pattern matters for anyone planning to park money on the platform for the long-term yield.
A short list of practical “should I?” questions to ask yourself before applying:
- Do you live in Brazil with a Brazilian address for card delivery? If no, the rest of the questions probably don’t matter.
- Will you actually reach a fee-waiver spending threshold? If yes, the effective cost is zero; if no, include the monthly fee in your year-one maths.
- Are you comfortable funding from Bitcoin or USDT, and double-checking the network before you send? If yes, Bipa’s top-up is genuinely broad; if no, Pix is still there.
- Do you need a tap-to-pay phone wallet? The published rules say “may be enabled”, not “is enabled”. Plan around that.
- Are you willing to read a Portuguese fee table (the Tabela de Tarifas) to find the ATM and FX numbers Bipa’s card pages don’t print? If no, you’ll be paying blind on some of your spending.
A closing thought on category context. Bipa, Nexo, Xplace and ether.fi all sit in a market that changed a lot between 2022 and 2026. FTX’s collapse took out a high-profile card programme in days; a stablecoin (TerraUSD) depegged in May 2022 and took others with it; USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023. None of those events touches Bipa directly, but the lesson travels: the card you carry is also a relationship with an issuer, a custodian, and a chain. Bipa’s published picture shows a Brazilian issuer (Stark Bank) backed by a regulated entity (Bipa), with a Mastercard BIN and on-chain top-up — that is a sturdier combination than many of the programmes that fell out of the market in 2022–2023, but it is not immune to the same stresses. Treat the prepaid balance like any other custodial product, and don’t load more than you can wait to recover through a support ticket if something changes.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bipa card?
The Bipa card is a Mastercard issued by Stark Bank S.A. Instituição de Pagamento on behalf of Bipa, a Brazilian crypto platform. It comes in prepaid and credit variants, on four plan tiers (Free, Plus, Pro, Max), and pays Bitcoin-back (“Satsback”) on card purchases.
How does the Bipa card work?
You fund a prepaid balance from Pix, Bitcoin, USDT, USDC, SOL, XRP or ETH; or you use the credit card backed by a reais collateral deposit. When you pay, the network settles in reais (the card’s currency is BRL), and rewards are paid in Bitcoin after the invoice is paid (credit) or after settlement (prepaid).
Is Bipa a bank?
No. Bipa describes itself as a payment institution and a virtual asset service provider, regulated by the Central Bank of Brazil. The card itself is issued by Stark Bank S.A. Instituição de Pagamento.
Who owns Bipa?
Bipa Intermediação de Ativos Digitais LTDA (CNPJ 37.008.710/0001-78), founded in 2020, is the operating company. A second entity, BIPA Instituição de Pagamento Ltda (CNPJ 40.910.463/0001-05), is named as a partner for the card programme.
Is the Bipa card available outside Brazil?
The published pages do not state this. The plans are priced in Brazilian reais, support is Portuguese only, and the application is Brazilian; I did not find any country list, citizenship rule, or non-Brazilian eligibility path in the materials I read.
How do I apply for a Bipa card?
You install the Bipa app, create an account, complete KYC (selfie and document), and request the card. The documents accepted, the timing and the approval logic are not published beyond the basic selfie-plus-document step.
Does the Bipa card require KYC?
Yes. Sign-up requires a selfie and an identity document, and Bipa and Stark Bank “may verify data at any time”. False information can lead to suspension and card cancellation. The full document list and any tier-based KYC levels are not published.
How do I top up the Bipa card?
Pix, Bitcoin on-chain, Bitcoin over Lightning, USDT on Ethereum (ERC-20), USDT on Polygon, and the published list of USDC, SOL, XRP, ETH. USDT is not accepted on Solana, and on-chain transfers to the wrong network can be lost. Deposit fees are not stated; the only network cost is the on-chain fee paid to the blockchain.
Is the Bipa card free?
The Free plan has a R$0 monthly fee. The Plus, Pro and Max plans have monthly fees that are partially waived on spending and can be fully waived on higher volume. The physical card is free on Pro and Max and subject to a fee on Free and Plus (the amount is not stated); FX, conversion and ATM fees are not published.
Is the Bipa card safe?
The issuer (Stark Bank) is named, the PIN locks after three wrong attempts, and the Terms say “Bipa and Stark Bank never ask for your password”. Custody insurance on platform balances is not stated. Independent complaint records on Reclame Aqui and Trustpilot were not found in my search.
Where can I use the Bipa card?
The card runs on Mastercard, which means it is accepted at any merchant on the Mastercard network — supermarkets, restaurants, online retailers, fuel stations, hotels. The card currency is BRL, and the Card Terms limit foreign use of the credit card to “travel and personal expenses, in credit mode only”, which is narrower than a typical travel-card allowance. ATMs are subject to Bipa’s own daily, weekly or monthly limits (amounts not published); some transactions classified as MoneySend by the processor may be blocked, and a specific blocked-MCC list is not published. For a Brazilian resident spending mostly in reais, this is a normal restriction set; for anyone travelling or buying from non-Brazilian merchants, the foreign-use cap is the line to clear with support first.
How does Bipa’s Bitcoin-back work in practice?
You pay with the card at a non-crypto merchant — a grocery shop, an online store — and Bipa pays you back a percentage of the purchase in Bitcoin. The rate depends on your plan: 0% on Free, 0.5% on Plus, 1% on Pro, 1.5% on Max. Crypto bought with the card is excluded (otherwise you’d earn satoshis on the same satoshis you spent). On the credit card, rewards post after invoice payment; on the prepaid card, after settlement. If you later dispute a transaction and win a chargeback, the Satsback reward on that transaction is reversed, so a successful dispute is not a free lunch on top of the refund. Outside Brazil, every foreign-currency purchase is also subject to the FX spread and any IOF that applies under Brazilian tax rules.
Written by the editors at Crypto Card Rating.
