KAST card review: a Visa for your USD stablecoin balance, with strings attached
KAST is a payment card that spends directly from a USD balance you fund with stablecoins. On paper that combination is exactly what a lot of readers want: deposit USDT or USDC, get a Visa, spend in dollars, optionally top up via Apple Pay or Google Pay, and earn cashback. The reality, as I found while reading through KAST’s own pricing pages, concierge help center, Terms and Conditions and public Trustpilot reviews, is more nuanced. The card itself is generous on fees. The package around it — the issuer, the regulator status, the country rules and the user complaint patterns — is where a prospective user needs to slow down and check.
Conditions in this review are current as of 21 October 2026, based on official fee and concierge documentation.

The conditions in this review are current as of 2026-10-20.
Verdict: 6.1 out of 10
KAST earns a middling score because the card experience is strong on the things you can measure day to day (fees, networks, wallets, top-up coins), and weak on the things that determine whether a card programme is here in two years (issuer identity, licensing, customer trust). I laid the scoring out across five criteria so you can see how the number is built.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Country list isn’t published and only appears during KYC; Visa is reportedly accepted in 170+ countries but that is the network, not KAST |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Standard tier is free; physical card adds 40 USD delivery; FX 0.5%–1.75%; ATM 3 USD + 2% |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD across Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum and TRON at 0% |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | No named card issuer, no licence numbers, entity in Anjouan; Trustpilot 2.5–2.7 with frozen accounts and repeated document requests cited |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay support, ATM access on the Visa network |
The user KAST targets is someone who already holds USD-pegged stablecoins across several networks and wants a clean way to spend the USD balance in the real world. If that is you and you live in a jurisdiction where KAST is permitted, the product looks attractive: free Standard tier, no spread on stablecoin deposits, no transaction fee, very wide network coverage and decent cashback for the higher tiers.
If you cannot confirm during the application’s KYC that your country and your ID are both accepted, or if you want a regulated bank or e-money licence behind your card, this is not the card for you. I will go through how those trade-offs play out, section by section.
Will they give you the card
KAST checks two things before it issues you a card: where you actually live, and which country’s ID you hold. Both have to clear.
The country KAST can serve you is decided by a residence-based list. That list is not published on the main site. It only shows up while you are inside the application going through KYC: KAST explains in its help center that “if your country isn’t listed, it means KAST is not available there”. A “Restricted Locations” list is referenced in the same article, but no specific country names are given in the public pages. KAST also distinguishes carefully between residence and citizenship: a help center note says “if you currently live in a supported country but only hold an ID from a restricted region, you may still be ineligible to pass KYC”. The flip side is also acknowledged — dual citizens who hold an ID from a supported country may pass. Only the account holder’s own ID is accepted (a family member’s won’t do), and using a VPN to disguise your location does not bypass the checks. Russia and Belarus are not mentioned by name in the published text.
You can still create a KAST account from an unsupported country — the app loads and you can register a phone number and email — but the moment you reach the identity verification step, the country gate stops you cold. No ID, no card. That is the same shape as a lot of stablecoin apps do for US sanctions reasons, and worth keeping in mind if you travel frequently.
The practical advice here is simple: don’t assume. Open the app and look at the country selector before you start thinking about tiers and cashback. If your country of residence is on the list and your ID document’s issuing country is also accepted, you have a clear path. If either one of those two fails, KAST stops there.
How to get it
KYC works in three escalating tiers, and your card only unlocks once you complete the second one.
- Level 1 is account creation: phone number, OTP code, PIN, email and country of residence. You get app access but nothing else. You can’t send funds, can’t receive funds, can’t order a card.
- Level 2 requires a valid government photo ID — a passport, national ID card or driver’s licence that is not expired — plus a selfie and a liveness check. Once that passes, sending and receiving funds becomes available, and you can order a virtual or physical card.
- Level 3 is the deepest tier: proof of address, enhanced checks, and on request, citizenship details. This unlocks USD and EUR accounts and global payouts. KAST may also ask for source-of-funds documents at any time if something on the account raises a flag. US residents must also hand over a Social Security Number at this stage.
The age rule is the legal adult age in your country — typically 18. There is no separate student or minor tier.
The realistic path is: download the app, complete Level 1, scan your government ID and a selfie, pass Level 2, then choose your card. The whole flow is on phone. KAST does not publish processing times or the official list of reasons an application can be rejected, except that an expired ID is rejected and an unsupported or restricted country blocks you outright. If Level 3 is required for what you want to do with the card (specifically USD and EUR accounts), plan for an extra round of address verification on top.
Once verified, you can hold up to 10 cards on one KAST account. The default is a Visa Platinum (Standard tier). Premium and Private tiers upgrade to a Visa Infinite metal card and a gold-plated Visa Infinite respectively, and you can pick alternative designs (Pengu, Solana, Bitcoin themes) at the Standard level. Spending always pulls from a USD balance, and stablecoin deposits are converted into that USD balance at a stated 1:1 ratio with 0% spread. A physical card arrives in 7–10 business days; Standard tier pays 40 USD for delivery. The full list of countries the card ships to and any replacement-card costs are not stated.
What it really costs — KAST fees
The headline number is honest: the Standard tier costs 0 USD per year. The detail matters more.

Here is the cost breakdown as published in KAST’s fee schedule and membership page, current to 2026-10-20:
| Fee or limit type | Standard tier | Premium tier | Private tier |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual membership | 0 USD | 1,000 USD/year | 10,000 USD/year |
| First virtual card | free | free | free |
| Extra virtual card | 2 USD | 2 USD | 2 USD |
| Physical card | 0 USD card fee + 40 USD delivery | included | included |
| Inactivity fee | 1 USD/month | 1 USD/month | 1 USD/month |
| Cashback (USD) | 1.5% on first 2,000 USD/month | 2% on first 10,000 USD/month | 3% on first 40,000 USD/month |
| Card transaction | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Spend in USD | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| FX (non-USD) | 0.5%–1.75% | 0.5%–1.75% | 0.5%–1.75% |
| Small non-USD tx (<25 USD) | 0.10 USD | 0.10 USD | 0.10 USD |
| Declined (insufficient balance) | 0.50 USD | 0.50 USD | 0.50 USD |
| Apple Pay / Google Pay | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| ATM withdrawal | 3 USD flat + 2% | 3 USD flat + 2% | 3 USD flat + 2% |
Renewal and reactivation fees exist, but the actual amounts are not stated — if you let your card lapse or get closed, expect something to show up in the app.
Let me walk you through three everyday payments so you can see what lands on your account.
Buying a coffee with Apple Pay on the Standard tier. The transaction is in USD, so the conversion fee of 0.5%–1.75% does not apply. There is no transaction fee and no Apple Pay fee. You earn 1.5% cashback on the first 2,000 USD of monthly spend on eligible transactions. Out of pocket, the transaction amount stands, plus whatever your bank’s FX markup would have been on a regular card, but here there is none.
Booking a hotel from a US-based account. The merchant charges in a non-USD currency, so the FX fee applies. The fee page gives a range of 0.5%–1.75% depending on your residence, the transaction country and your card programme. The transaction itself may be subject to the 0.10 USD micro-charge if it falls below the 25 USD threshold. Standard tier cashback on this transaction is 1.5% of the equivalent USD value, paid in USD as soon as the transaction is authorised.
Taking out cash from an ATM while travelling. The fee page describes a 3 USD flat fee plus 2% of the amount, so the cost is 3 USD plus the percentage fee on top of whatever Visa charges the operator. If the local ATM dispenses in a non-USD currency, you also pay the FX fee. KAST’s published limits disagree internally: the concierge fee page says “up to 500 USD per withdrawal and up to 3 withdrawals or 1,500 USD per 24-hour period”, while the marketing card page says “250 USD per withdrawal, including fees, and three withdrawals per rolling 24 hours (750 USD/day)”. Before you rely on that 500 USD ceiling at a foreign ATM, check the in-app limit, because the two pages don’t match.
A small but real cost you should also know about: insufficient-balance declines are charged at 0.50 USD each, and there’s a stream of public Trustpilot complaints about repeated declines pushing small balances negative (more on that in the risks section).
How to top up KAST
Top-up is the part of KAST that earns the strongest marks in my scoring. Four stablecoins are accepted for direct deposit: USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD. USDT and USDC — the two with the deepest liquidity — are accepted across the networks that matter most:

- Ethereum
- Solana
- Polygon
- Arbitrum
- TRON
The fee for a stablecoin deposit is 0%, and the published deposit limit is “unlimited” — although large transfers can be flagged for compliance review. Network fees (gas) charged by the blockchain itself are not covered by KAST and have to come out of your sending wallet. There is no bank account involved on the user’s side: you send the stablecoins to the address KAST shows in the app for the network you choose, and they land on your USD balance 1:1.
If you would rather use traditional banking rails, KAST also supports those, with a different fee shape:
| Rail | Fee |
|---|---|
| ACH (USD) | 2 USD |
| FedWire (USD) | 15 USD |
| SWIFT | 30 USD |
| SEPA (EUR) | 0.5% of amount |
There is no published minimum top-up. The Terms of Service say acceptable tokens are “currently USDT and USDC”, which is narrower than the marketing pages (PYUSD, RLUSD). The take-away here is that the in-app token list is what really counts, not what the Terms say on paper. If you intend to fund the card with a non-stablecoin token, KAST says it may auto-convert at a fee shown in the app at the time of conversion — useful, but worth checking the rate before you tap confirm.
A subtle point that matters for anyone moving large amounts: stablecoin transfers are irreversible at the protocol level. Send USDT on Ethereum to an address meant for Polygon and the funds are typically lost unless KAST’s support can recover them manually, which is not guaranteed. The minimum stablecoin withdrawal is 5 USD; the fee structure on the way out is below so you know what it costs to empty the account later.
| Network (token) | Withdrawal fee |
|---|---|
| Solana (USDT, USDC) | 1 USD + 0.1% |
| Arbitrum (USDC) | 0.20 USD + 0.1% |
| Ethereum (USDT, USDC) | 6 USD + 0.1% |
| TRON (USDT) | 5 USD + 0.1% |
KAST-to-KAST “Tag” transfers are free, capped at 10,000 USD per day and 5 transfers per day. Balance owed on closure of the account is not stated.
Paying with it every day
In normal use the card behaves like a prepaid Visa. You spend, the amount drops off your USD balance, the transaction settles. It is not a credit product and the card does not lend — every transaction spends funds you have already loaded. The Visa branding gives it wide acceptance: KAST claims 150M+ merchants and 170+ countries via the network, which is in line with Visa’s published acceptance footprint.
For mobile wallets, both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported for virtual and physical cards, at 0% additional fee. Samsung Pay support is not stated on the public pages I read. The tokenisation works the way Visa tokenisation normally does: the wallet holds a device-specific account number, not the card number itself, and each transaction uses a one-time dynamic security code. Cards can be frozen and unfrozen from the app, and you can also set your own lower spending limits inside the app.
Cashback comes in two layers on the higher tiers. On every dollar spent in USD, KAST pays a percentage straight back into the USD balance as soon as the transaction is authorised: 1.5% (Standard, capped at 2,000 USD monthly spend), 2% (Premium, capped at 10,000 USD monthly spend), or 3% (Private, capped at 40,000 USD monthly spend). On top of that, Premium and Private tiers earn an additional 1% and 2% respectively as KAST Points on eligible spend. Standard gets no Points. If you stake SOL through the app, Points accrue at roughly 0.25 per 1 SOL every two days on Standard and 0.5 per 1 SOL on Premium or Private.
KAST also positions Reserve — a rewards program on balances — which has a published end date of 1 July 2027. Premium and Private get the Visa Infinite benefit package (travel perks, purchase protection, lounge access, eSIM), but these benefits need to be activated on the Visa Benefits portal; they are not automatic.
A few everyday-use caveats from the Terms of Service. KAST explicitly prohibits using the card for weapons, controlled substances, Ponzi / pyramid / MLM schemes, counterfeit goods, Darknet or Tor purchases, adult content and pseudo-pharmaceuticals. Gambling transactions (MCC 7995) are not mentioned in either direction, so the safe assumption is “test with a small amount first”. Pre-authorisation holds are possible at hotels and car-rental merchants — a common cause of “where is my money” complaints on prepaid cards in general.
The iOS app is published as “KAST: Global USD Account” by developer Troia Limited. As of 2026-10-08 the app version on the App Store was dated for that release; the rating at the time of writing sat at 3.97 from 276 ratings. Google Play ratings were not captured in the materials I read.
If you have a dispute, KAST’s Terms say you must contact them within 90 days of the transaction, and KAST’s liability in such cases is capped at 500 USD. The exact chargeback process, the dispute forms and the codes KAST uses are not published, so for any large purchase I would keep your own records and screenshots.
What can go wrong
The product reads cleanly until you get to the trust layer. Three areas stand out: who actually issues the card, what licence they hold, and what existing users are saying.
Issuer and licensing. KAST describes itself as “a financial technology company, not a bank”. The Terms of Service name the entity “KAST Tech” (registration number 16223), incorporated in Anjouan in the Comoros. The governing law is Seychelles; arbitration sits with the Singapore International Arbitration Centre. The App Store developer is listed as Troia Limited. The card issuer — the BIN sponsor — is not named in any of the published material I read. KAST’s own words are “provided by licensed partners”. Two partners are named in the Terms: Tazapay and BitGo. The homepage shows logos for Stripe, Privy, Fireblocks, Visa, Sardine and Elliptic. No licence numbers appear on any of the pages I read. For a non-US/non-EU card programme that is operating across dozens of countries, the absence of an issuer name is a meaningful gap for any user who wants to verify who is on the other end of the transaction.
Regulation. No regulator is named and no licence numbers are published. KAST states that availability is “subject to regulatory approval”. I did not find any specific regulatory action against KAST in the materials I read, but a “not found” result is not the same as a clean record.
User complaint patterns. On Trustpilot, KAST’s main page shows a rating between 2.5 and 2.7 depending on regional sub-domain, with roughly 170 reviews captured at the time of writing. The dominant complaints fall into a few clear patterns: accounts frozen or restricted soon after deposit, money placed on hold, repeated 0.50 USD declined-transaction fees that push a small balance into the negative (a specific cluster from April 2026), failed ATM dispensing where the ATM did not hand out cash but the balance was debited, and repeated document requests on transfers that look like self-transfers between owned accounts. KAST replies to most negative reviews on the platform with the same general line: accounts can be restricted by automated security and compliance systems, and customers should write to support. The positive reviews concentrate on low fees and the convenience of spending stablecoin balances directly.
Limits and protections. Limits are described in the Terms as “set by the Company and shown on the Platform” — there is no published table of maximum card, account or deposit numbers beyond what appears on the fee page. Two-factor authentication is standard for the app; insurance on custodial balances is not stated in the pages I read. Card freeze and user-set spend limits are available.
The combined picture is this: the card mechanics and the cost structure are unusually clean for a stablecoin card, but the institutional plumbing — issuer, regulator, dispute handling — is light on disclosure. If you intend to keep large amounts on the platform for a long time, weigh that gap carefully.
What to take instead
KAST is not the only stablecoin-spending card on the market. Three reasonable alternatives, each with a different trade-off, are worth comparing against.
MetaMask Card (score 7.1 / 10). Issued by Monovate, with Crypto Life as card provider, on the Mastercard network. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories (Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay and others); other regions join a waitlist. Proof of residency is required. Sign-ups in the US and UK were temporarily closed per MetaMask’s FAQ at the time of reading. You get a virtual card issued instantly and can pre-order a Metal card after approval (199 USD/year). Spends are pulled directly from your connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana, with mUSD, USDC, USDT and other tokens accepted. Cashback is paid in mUSD: 1% on the Virtual tier, headline 3% on Metal capped at the first 10,000 USD and 1% beyond that. Compared with KAST, MetaMask is cheaper to start (no annual fee on Virtual) and its country list is published, but the fee levels on transactions are not spelled out as clearly as KAST’s.
Zeal (score 6.1 / 10). Built on Gnosis Pay infrastructure. Cards are said to spend in 150+ countries; the live card programme is documented in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. Zeal charges no additional FX fee; conversion happens at the Visa wholesale rate and any Gnosis Pay-side ATM fees still apply. There is no published fee schedule for Zeal itself, which makes direct cost comparison hard. Accounts in EUR, USD and GBP are held in a Gnosis Pay “Safe”. Cashback is advertised up to 4%, paid in GNO token on Gnosis Chain, and you must hold GNO in the card Safe to qualify — a meaningful constraint if you don’t already hold GNO.
Rizon (score 6.7 / 10). Aimed at users who “live in and are domiciled in” the US or Latin America; the marketing site also claims 122+ countries supported. Cards are Visa Platinum, available as virtual, physical or (soon) metal. The Emerald subscription starts from 5.59 USD/month and unlocks lower FX (the page text is partially garbled in places and the FX rate reads as 1.02% for Emerald, so verify in app). Cashback is 2.5% on eligible purchases plus RizPoints. The full token and network list for funding was not captured in the materials I read; card pricing is described as “check app for the price”.
If you want the widest published country list and minimal fees, MetaMask Card is the cleaner trade-off against KAST. If you want a Gnosis Pay / Safe-based setup and are comfortable with GNO rewards, Zeal is the closer fit but with an opaque fee structure. If you are US- or LATAM-based, Rizon is the more obvious local choice. KAST’s advantage against all three remains its top-up breadth — five networks for USDT and USDC plus PYUSD and RLUSD — at 0% deposit fee on a free Standard tier.
Who I would recommend it to
Working through everything in this review, I’d narrow the recommendation down to four user types and warn off three.
KAST is a good fit if:
- You hold significant USDT or USDC balances across multiple networks (Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, TRON) and want to spend that balance directly in USD without intermediate conversions or wire costs.
- You live in a country you can confirm during KYC is on the KAST list, and your ID document is from an accepted issuing country.
- You mostly spend in USD, or you accept the published 0.5%–1.75% non-USD FX fee and want clear math at the till.
- You value Apple Pay and Google Pay support and a fast virtual card issuance at the free Standard tier.
KAST is a poor fit if:
- You cannot confirm that your country of residence and country of ID issuance are both accepted by KAST before you sign up — if either is on the restricted list, KYC fails.
- You need a named, regulated card issuer for compliance, audit or procurement reasons. KAST does not publish a BIN sponsor or a licence number in its Terms.
- You plan to load and hold large fiat-style balances for months; the Trustpilot pattern of frozen-and-held accounts, especially soon after deposit, is a real consideration.
- You rely on gambling, adult content or other restricted MCCs — the Terms explicitly exclude these.
A sensible onboarding posture looks like this: deposit a small test amount first, complete one full purchase cycle (deposit, card payment, ATM if relevant, withdraw back to your self-custody wallet), confirm support is responsive at your normal spend levels, then scale up. The fees are competitive enough that KAST is worth piloting at small scale — but the institutional disclosure gap argues against treating it like a primary bank card until you’ve verified it for yourself.
Frequently asked questions
What is the KAST card?
KAST is a Visa payment card issued through licensed partners that spends from a USD balance you fund with stablecoins. It comes as a virtual or physical card on Standard (free), Premium (1,000 USD/year) or Private (10,000 USD/year) tiers, and you can hold up to 10 cards on one account.
How does the KAST card work?
You create an account, complete identity verification to Level 2 by uploading a government ID and a selfie, send USDT, USDC, PYUSD or RLUSD from your own wallet to the address KAST shows in the app on the network you choose, and the deposited stablecoin lands in your USD balance 1:1. From that moment every card payment is deducted straight from that USD balance; there is no credit line.
Is KAST a bank?
No. KAST describes itself as a financial technology company, not a bank. The Terms of Service name the entity “KAST Tech”, incorporated in Anjouan, Comoros, with cards, custody and on/off-ramp services described as “provided by licensed partners”. The card issuer / BIN sponsor is not named on the public pages.
Who owns KAST?
The published Terms name KAST Tech as the contracting entity (registration number 16223). The App Store developer is listed as Troia Limited. Ownership beyond those two entities is not disclosed in the materials I reviewed.
Is KAST card available in my country?
The country list KAST serves is not published. It appears only inside the application during KYC: KAST’s help center says that if your country is not listed, KAST is not available there. Restrictions also apply to the issuing country of the ID document — living in a supported country but holding an ID from a restricted region can still disqualify you.
Does KAST card require KYC?
Yes. Without KYC you can only create an account (Level 1). Cards and any sending or receiving of funds require Level 2 (government photo ID plus selfie / liveness). USD and EUR accounts plus global payouts require Level 3 (proof of address, enhanced checks).
How much does the KAST card cost?
The Standard tier is 0 USD per year, with a 40 USD physical-card delivery charge. Premium is 1,000 USD/year and Private is 10,000 USD/year, both billed annually upfront. Card transactions in USD are 0%, FX on non-USD transactions is 0.5%–1.75%, and ATM withdrawals cost 3 USD + 2%. Insufficient-balance declines are charged at 0.50 USD each.
How do I top up my KAST card?
Send USDT or USDC from your own wallet to the deposit address shown inside the KAST app, on the network you select (Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum or TRON). PYUSD and RLUSD are also supported. The deposit fee is 0%; you only pay the underlying blockchain network fee from your sending wallet.
How do I add KAST card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Add the card inside the KAST app and follow the tokenisation flow — Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on both virtual and physical cards at 0% additional fee. The actual card number is replaced with a device-specific token stored on the phone.
Is the KAST card safe to use?
The card uses standard mobile-wallet tokenisation and supports app-level card freeze and user-set limits. The materials I read do not list a fund-insurance scheme, do not name a card issuer, and do not publish a licence number. Trustpilot reviews at the time of reading (rating 2.5–2.7) flag frozen accounts, repeated document requests, and repeated declined-transaction fees, which I would take into account before parking large balances on the platform.
Written by the editors at Crypto Card Rating.
