Kolo Card Review: What It Costs, What It Promises, What It Doesn’t Say
The Kolo card is one of those crypto cards that arrives with a persuasive pitch: fund it with any coin you hold, then spend from a balance that behaves like an ordinary prepaid card in Apple Pay or Google Pay. That pitch is largely real. Where it gets thin is in the places that matter when something goes wrong — who stands behind the card, what the limits are, and whether you can get your money out on the day you need it.

I gave it 6.4 out of 10. That is not a rejection; it is a card that works well for one specific job and carries enough unanswered questions around fees, limits and account handling that I would not build a routine around it without testing it first.
The conditions described below are current as of 21 October 2026.
Verdict: 6.4 out of 10, strong at funding, weak at assurance
Kolo’s genuine strength is the funding side. It accepts any crypto, it names BTC, ETH, LTC, USDT and USDC, it shows seven network logos on the site including Tron, Solana and Base, and it swaps inside the app. On the narrow question “can I pay for things with crypto I already own, from whatever network it happens to sit on”, it scores an excellent 9/10.
The weak side is trust infrastructure. The operator behind the service changed hands three times in about a year, the card issuer is not named in the public terms, and the user-review record is thin and souring. Reliability and complaints took the lowest mark of the six criteria, at 4/10.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Service offered in 170+ countries, card said to work in 60+; exclusions are only sanctioned and embargoed countries |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Officially a 1% exchange fee plus network costs; unconfirmed figures show free virtual issuance, $0 monthly, 1% conversion on card payments, and ATM at $1 + 0.65% |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | Any crypto, BTC/ETH/LTC/USDT/USDC and more, seven networks on the site logos, in-app swap |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Operator changed three times in a year, issuer unnamed, repeated reports of blocked withdrawals and closed accounts |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Apple Pay and Google Pay supported; unconfirmed sources say virtual-only, physical card announced without a schedule, no ATM on the virtual card |
| Total | 6.4 / 10 | A good funding rail attached to a thin layer of published detail |
So who does this suit? Someone who already holds stablecoins or a small crypto balance, who lives in a country the service covers, who is comfortable with a virtual card in a phone wallet, and who treats the balance as spend money rather than as savings. Who does it not suit? Anyone whose income depends on this card, anyone who needs a physical card in hand, and anyone who cannot tolerate an unanswered support email when funds are stuck — because that is exactly the pattern the reviews describe.
Will they give you the card?
Yes for most of the world, with one structural rule you should read twice: the restriction follows both your nationality and where you live.
The official terms bar anyone who is in, controlled from, or a national or resident of Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, or any other country under US, UN, EU or HM Treasury sanctions, and they bar listed sanctioned persons. The same rule covers residence and citizenship, which means moving countries does not necessarily reset your eligibility.
Beyond that, the service is offered in 170+ countries and the card is said to work in 60+; the country list lives on the site’s own countries page. Russia and Belarus are not named in the terms, and I want to be precise about that: the card’s public pages do not state their status. I did not find them in the list excerpt I read, but absence from one excerpt is not a guarantee.
Two practical points for readers who have run into card problems before. First, an earlier third-party restriction on US users is not in the terms text I read, so treat US eligibility as something to confirm with support rather than assume. Second, if your documents are in a language the verification flow does not handle, that is a separate failure mode from the country rule, and the reviews show it happening.
If you are a Russian speaker reading this in English: the practical question is not only “is my country listed” but “does my nationality pass screening”. Somebody living in Kazakhstan with a Russian passport, and somebody living in Germany with the same passport, are in different positions. The terms screen on both axes, and only the second one is invisible from the country list.
How to get it
The application is short, and that is the good news. Full identity verification runs through Sumsub and takes roughly a minute according to the site, with two-factor authentication on top. Higher limits may require extra documents. Whether proof of address and age documents are required is not stated on the public pages.
What the official terms do say is that limits depend on the “verification steps you have completed”. Enhanced due diligence — extra information or records — may be required to raise them, and the provider may refuse or later lower limits. Suspicion of fraud can itself trigger enhanced verification. Named tiers, per-tier limits, processing times and official rejection reasons: not stated.
One third-party source, writing in October 2026, reports that the EUR card may require additional verification including proof of address. Treat that as unofficial; the card’s own materials do not confirm it.
The card itself: forms, network and currency are not stated on official pages. What the site FAQ does say is that it works wherever Google Pay or Apple Pay, or Visa and Mastercard, are accepted. The official terms state that Card Services are provided in collaboration with Signify Holdings Inc, of Wilmington, Delaware, associated with Rain cards.
Sign-up runs on iOS, Android and a Telegram Mini App, with downloads through the company’s own link. Store ratings and rating counts were not readable when I checked.
Fees and what a payment really costs
This is where you have to do the work yourself, because the official fee picture is thinner than the marketing. The costs below mix what the terms state and what third-party sources report. Where a figure is unofficial, I say so; where the card’s pages are silent, I say that too.

| Fee or limit | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Exchange fee (buy, sell, swap) | 1% of the order plus network and bank costs, shown before confirming | Official terms |
| Mark-up on USDT, USDC, EURC | 0% | Site |
| Crypto top-up conversion | No extra fee | Site |
| Card issuance (virtual) | Free | Unofficial |
| Monthly fee | $0 | Unofficial |
| Annual fee | $0 | Unofficial |
| Activation | $10 / EUR 10, returned to the card balance | Unofficial |
| Conversion fee on card payments | 1% | Unofficial |
| USD card, non-USD purchase | Visa rate + 1% | Unofficial |
| USD card at a non-US merchant | Extra 1% issuer fee | Unofficial |
| EUR card, non-EUR purchase | Visa rate + 0.55% / 0.65% / 1.35% by currency | Unofficial |
| ATM withdrawal | $1 + 0.65%, limit $500 per withdrawal, 3 per rolling 24 hours | Unofficial |
| ATM balance inquiry or declined attempt | $0.60 | Unofficial |
| Tiers or metal card | None offered | Not stated |
| Card currency, FX spread, multi-currency balances | Not stated | Not stated |
| Daily and monthly volume limits | Exist, vary by payment method and verification level, visible after login, raisable on request; no numbers published | Official terms |
Two everyday examples, using only the unofficial card-payment figures above.
A $40 lunch paid with a USD card at a European restaurant: the Visa rate applies, plus the 1% conversion fee, plus possibly the extra issuer fee if the merchant is treated as non-US. One source measured all-in foreign exchange cost at roughly 1.40% against the mid-market — this is an unofficial figure not confirmed by the card — while another repeats 0% mark-up on USDT, USDC and EURC. Those two do not fully agree on the stablecoin-funded case, and I would rather leave the disagreement visible than pick a flattering number.
A $250 cash withdrawal: $1 plus 0.65%, three times in any rolling 24 hours, up to $500 per withdrawal on one account of these figures. Another review puts the per-withdrawal cap at $250 (this is an unofficial figure not confirmed by the card) and also notes that the ATM does not work on the virtual card and is planned for the physical one. So: if your cash plan depends on ATMs, the version of this card you can actually get today may not support it at all.
The gap to keep in mind: the site says crypto is converted during payment for no extra fee and that mark-ups are 0% on the big stablecoins, while the unofficial sources describe a 1% conversion fee on all card payments including stablecoin-funded ones. The site and the terms do not reconcile this. Before you rely on it, run one small payment and read your own statement.
Top up options
The funding story is the reason to look at this card. The site says “any crypto”, names BTC, ETH, LTC, USDT and USDC, offers a swap inside the app, and displays seven network logos — among them BNB Chain, Ethereum, Sui, Tron, Base and Solana, with one unlabelled. There is also a cashback programme: 2% in BTC for the first 30 days and then 1%, capped at $2 then $1 per purchase and $100 a month.

Getting money back out is the part that has gone wrong for other people. The site says crypto can be sent to Revolut, Wise, N26 or any SEPA bank account, with no fees or limits given. The terms, from 1 July 2026, describe the wallet as non-custodial: Kolo says it cannot unilaterally transfer, seize or recall your assets, and that on suspension or closure your own key share remains recoverable. You stay liable for amounts due before a closure.
Minimum top-up, who pays the on-chain network fee, and bank-transfer or card top-up fees are not stated. A third-party source says the only published floor is the $10 / EUR 10 activation balance, with no top-up fee listed and gas possibly applying.
One warning that belongs here, not in the fine print: send on the network the provider supports, to an address on that network. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit to an unsupported network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Gas on your deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by the card company.
Paying with it every day
Daily use is where the five-out-of-ten comes from. What works: Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, so you can add the virtual card to your phone wallet and pay by face or fingerprint the same way you would with any bank card. The app runs on iOS, Android and a Telegram Mini App.
What I could not establish from official sources: the card’s network and form factors, blocked merchant categories, whether there is an in-app card freeze, spending controls or insurance. Not stated, in other words.
The terms add a few things worth knowing before you rely on cashback or refunds. The Cashback Program is voluntary and discretionary, paid in digital assets, and may be changed or ended at any time without notice. If a card transaction is disputed or charged back, the related cashback is cancelled or deducted. Kolo may pursue losses from a chargeback with your bank, including acquirer and card-scheme administration fees and the value of the assets. Orders for digital assets are final, non-cancellable and non-refundable. There is a 14-calendar-day right of withdrawal from the agreement after account acceptance, by email to the support address. The card-payment dispute process and its time frames are not stated.
For context on why this feels different from an ordinary bank card: a card number begins with a six or eight digit issuer identification number, and any shop can look it up to see which institution and country issued it. If that country differs from your billing address, extra scrutiny is possible, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. That is a property of the card system, not of Kolo — but it will shape how your payments are treated.
What can go wrong
Start with the operator, because it is the single most useful fact on this page. Since 1 July 2026, all services are provided by Hardline Holding Limited, Kazakhstan, company number 221240900259. Before that it was BURVIX SP. Z O.O. from January to June 2026, and earlier still Cryppo UAB up to 2025. Card Services run in collaboration with Signify Holdings Inc of Wilmington, Delaware, associated with Rain cards. The card issuer, BIN sponsor and licences are not named. Licences and fines are not stated.
Then the reviews. Read on 20 October 2026, the Trustpilot page showed 3.7 out of 5 from 54 reviews, 16 of them in the last 12 months, with 79% five-star and 17% one-star, and no replies from Kolo to negative reviews. Recurring themes: withdrawals blocked or never completed with support silent, across November and December 2025 and February, May and September 2026; accounts or wallets closed without explanation in January, May and June 2026, including one report from Zimbabwe; verification problems, including a process lasting weeks, repeated verification, and an Indonesian ID not accepted in September 2026; and a card that could not be added to a phone wallet in December 2025. On the positive side, some reviewers mention fast Telegram support. Some allege that positive reviews are fake — that is unverified. An earlier third-party summary of the same page showed 3.9 from 52 reviews, so the picture is drifting downwards.
On security, the claims are decent and partly verifiable from the terms. From 1 July 2026 the wallet is described as non-custodial and secured by multi-party computation key shares: you hold one share required for every transaction, Kolo holds another and may decline to co-sign for legal or risk reasons, and a recovery process is preserved. Kolo says it charges no storage fees. The site adds two-factor authentication for login and withdrawals, real-time fraud and AML screening, Sumsub verification, and alignment with MiCA and the Travel Rule. Whether the provider can freeze a tokenised card number inside your mobile wallet is not stated.
Support is email at the address given in the terms, plus a Telegram channel and Mini App. Opening hours and Russian-language support are not stated; a greeting banner on the site shows several languages including Russian and Ukrainian text, which is not the same thing as a support-language commitment.
For Russian speakers specifically: the country and citizenship rule described earlier is the part that bites. And note the wider context — after Visa and Mastercard suspended operations in Russia in March 2022, cards issued by Russian banks stopped working abroad, which is why foreign-issued cards are in demand at all. A provider can change its operator, its terms or its mind about a region without any court being involved. That is the risk to price in.
What to take instead
| Card | Score | Cost | Fees | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | Virtual free, no annual or maintenance fee; Metal $199/year | “Minimal fee for each transaction”, amount not stated on the pages read; no additional MetaMask fees; no foreign transaction fee, Mastercard rate | Spent directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, Solana; mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, USDT |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Standard $0/year; Premium $1,000/year; Private $10,000/year; extra virtual card $2; Standard physical card $0 plus $40 delivery; inactivity $1/month after 12 months | Stablecoin top-up 0%; USD spend 0%; transaction fee 0%; Apple/Google Pay 0%; non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75%; non-USD under $25: $0.10; declined transaction: $0.50 | USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, TRON; no bank account needed |
| Zeal | 6.1 / 10 | Not stated; no fee schedule published | No additional FX fee, conversion at the Visa wholesale rate; Gnosis Pay fees may still apply | Balances in EUR, USD, GBP stablecoin accounts in the card Safe; chains Gnosis Chain, Celo |
| Kolo | 6.4 / 10 | Free virtual issuance and $0 monthly, unofficial; $10 / EUR 10 activation balance | 1% exchange fee plus network costs officially; 1% conversion on card payments unofficial | Any crypto, seven networks, in-app swap |
Who should look where.
If you already live in a wallet ecosystem and want the card to spend straight from it, MetaMask scores higher and publishes its structure more clearly — its eligibility rule is explicit, with ineligible regions limiting sign-ups rather than spending, and US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed per its FAQ. If you want predictable fees above all, KAST publishes them: 0% top-up, 0% USD spend, 0% transaction fee, and a stated non-USD range of 0.5% to 1.75% — but its paid tiers start at $1,000 a year, and its country eligibility is shown only inside the verification flow rather than published. If you want a Visa card with EUR, USD and GBP balances and a stated no-extra-FX policy, Zeal is the quiet option, though it publishes no fee schedule and its programme countries are listed for the card scheme rather than for issuance.
None of these is a bypass for anything. Each one runs identity verification, and each one applies its own country and sanction rules.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Kolo to a person who already holds crypto, mostly stablecoins, who wants to spend it without first converting it through an exchange, and who is comfortable managing the balance in an app. The multi-network funding is genuinely better than most of the field, and running a virtual card through Apple Pay or Google Pay makes it usable without a piece of plastic.
I would not recommend it as your primary or only card, and I would not recommend it to anyone who needs a physical card, a published ATM, or a fee table they can read before signing up.
The four questions I would ask support before depositing anything meaningful: what is the card issuer and which licence covers the card programme; what are my current daily and monthly limits at my verification level; what exactly happens to a card payment if the token I spend is not USDT or USDC; and what is the process and expected time for a withdrawal to a SEPA account when support does not answer. Write the answers down. If they are vague, treat the balance as money you are willing to experiment with.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kolo card?
Kolo is a crypto-funded payment card: you load it with crypto, it converts what you spend, and you pay as with an ordinary card through Apple Pay or Google Pay. The site says any crypto works, naming BTC, ETH, LTC, USDT and USDC, with seven networks shown. Since 1 July 2026 the wallet has been described as non-custodial, with key shares held by you and by Kolo.
Is Kolo a bank?
No, and it matters what replaces that word. The card is provided in collaboration with Signify Holdings Inc of Wilmington, Delaware, associated with Rain cards, and the issuer, BIN sponsor and licences are not named in the public terms. The company providing services since 1 July 2026 is Hardline Holding Limited in Kazakhstan. Treat it as a card programme manager, not a bank.
Who can get the Kolo card?
The service is offered in 170+ countries and the card is said to work in 60+. Exclusions cover Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, Syria and anything under US, UN, EU or HM Treasury sanctions, plus listed sanctioned persons. The rule applies to both nationality and residence. Russia and Belarus are not named in the terms, and I did not see them in the country list excerpt I read.
Is the Kolo card free?
Unofficial sources say virtual issuance is free with no monthly or annual fee, but a $10 or EUR 10 activation balance is required and stays on the card balance. Officially, the one firm figure is a 1% fee on exchange orders plus network and bank costs. Card-payment fees are not published officially.
How do I top up the Kolo card?
Send crypto to the address in the app, or swap inside it. The site names BTC, ETH, LTC and USDT and shows seven network logos including Tron, Solana and Base. Crypto is converted during payment for no extra fee per the site, with 0% mark-ups claimed on USDT, USDC and EURC. Always send on a supported network: transfers are irreversible.
Can I use the Kolo card in my country?
Probably, if your country is on the service’s 170-plus list and outside the sanctioned set, but the card’s public pages leave gaps. The country list sits on the company’s own countries page and Russia and Belarus are not named in the terms. A third-party restriction on US users is not in the terms text I read, so ask support rather than assume.
Does the Kolo card require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification runs through Sumsub in roughly a minute, with two-factor authentication. Higher limits may require additional documents, and enhanced due diligence can be triggered at any time, including on fraud suspicion. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated officially; one third-party source says the EUR card may require proof of address.
Is the Kolo card safe to use?
The design is sound on paper: non-custodial multi-party computation key shares, two-factor authentication, real-time fraud screening, and a recovery process preserved on closure. The record is the problem — the operator changed three times in about a year, and reviews on Trustpilot run at 3.7 out of 5 with repeated reports of blocked withdrawals and accounts closed without explanation. Use it with a small balance.
How do I withdraw money from Kolo?
The site says crypto can be sent to Revolut, Wise, N26 or any SEPA account, with no fees or limits stated. Under the terms in force from 1 July 2026 the wallet is non-custodial, so Kolo says it cannot unilaterally transfer or recall your assets, and your key share stays recoverable. Withdrawal fees are not published, and blocked withdrawals are the most common complaint.
Is the Kolo card worth it?
For its core use, yes: funding a virtual card with any crypto across many networks is the best part of the product, and the 6.4 overall score reflects that alongside thin published detail on limits, ATM access and card fees. If you need a physical card, a stated fee table or an ATM today, it is not worth the uncertainty.
Prepared by the Crypto Card Rating editorial staff.
