Oobit card review: spending crypto without the paperwork

Oobit is a crypto card that turns a crypto balance into an ordinary Visa Platinum payment card you can use in shops, online and at ATMs, with a virtual card you add to Apple Pay or Google Wallet. The idea is simple and, for the right person, genuinely useful: you keep control of your crypto, and you spend it like money instead of selling it on an exchange and waiting for a bank to open an account. But this review is going to spend as much time on what Oobit does not publish as on what it does. The card’s own pages are clear on some numbers and conspicuously quiet on others, and the customer-review record is mixed in a specific, useful way.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Oobit works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of 21 October 2026.

Table of Contents
  1. The verdict: a solid 6.8 out of 10, with two big asterisks
  2. Will they give you the card?
  3. How to get it
  4. Fees and what they add up to
  5. Top up: you do not have to, and that is the point
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

The verdict: a solid 6.8 out of 10, with two big asterisks

Oobit scores 6.8 / 10 in my assessment. That is a genuinely usable card with a wide geographic reach and no monthly fee, held back by an unnamed card issuer, an unresolved pattern of complaints about held funds and support that does not reply, and a fee schedule that leaves important gaps.

Who it suits: people who already hold stablecoins, already use a self-custody wallet, and want a Visa that spends directly from it without a bank in the middle. If you are in one of the 75-plus supported countries, have a passport or driving licence to hand, and treat the card as a convenience rather than as your salary account, the proposition is sound.

Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical plastic card (Oobit’s public pages describe a virtual card; the physical version is not stated), anyone in Russia or Belarus, anyone in Turkey or Armenia, and anyone whose main anxiety is what happens to their money when something goes wrong — because on that specific question the reviews are the weakest part of the picture.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 75+ countries: Europe 43, Asia and Middle East 10, Americas 17, Africa 3, Oceania 2
Cost 7 / 10 Issuance and holding free; 1% purchase fee (minimum $0.25), 2.5% ATM (minimum $0.25), 0.95% swap
Top-up options 7 / 10 USDT, Bitcoin, Ethereum and other stablecoins; connect MetaMask, Phantom, Trust Wallet or Base
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Issuer not named; Trustpilot 3.8/5 from 495 reviews: held funds, card blocks, slow support
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual Visa, Apple Pay and Google Wallet, ATMs up to $250 per withdrawal; physical card not stated
Total 6.8 / 10

The everyday-use mark is the highest of the five and it is deserved. The geography mark is capped by the fact that a very long country list is not the same as a friendly policy for everyone on it, and the reliability mark is the one to sit with before you move real money.

Will they give you the card?

Oobit says it is available in more than 75 countries, and the full list sits on its support site. The breakdown I found: 43 countries in Europe (including the UK, Germany and Spain), 10 across Asia and the Middle East, 17 in the Americas, 3 in Africa (Kenya, South Africa, Tanzania) and 2 in Oceania. Georgia, Serbia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and the UAE are on that list.

Two absences matter more than the headline number. Turkey is not listed and Armenia is not listed. If you are in either, there is no Oobit route as things stand. And Russia and Belarus sit on the “Not supported in” list — not on the available list, on the exclusion list. That is a positive statement of refusal rather than an oversight, and no amount of clever setup changes it.

The other thing the card’s pages do not say is the difference between where you live and what citizenship you hold. Whether eligibility follows residence, citizenship, or both, is not stated. That omission has real consequences for a specific reader: if you are a Russian citizen living in Georgia, Serbia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan or the UAE, you are in a supported country, but the card does not publish whether your passport will pass. Ask support in writing before you fund anything. Similarly, if you are a citizen of a restricted country who lives in Europe, the same question applies in reverse. Do not assume that living in a supported place settles it.

What the card does publish is straightforward: you verify with a passport or a driving licence, and sometimes proof of address. That verification is mandatory, and there is no way around it. I am not going to explain how to get around identity checks, and neither should anyone who offers to.

How to get it

The path is short. You create an account, complete identity verification, and request the card in the app. Once verification is approved, the card moves from Pending to Active, and you add it to Apple Pay or Google Wallet, or to a supported smartwatch.

What you need:

Most accounts are verified in minutes; some take up to 24 hours. Rejections are mostly for documents that are expired, unclear, or do not match, and you resubmit inside the app. That is a normal, unremarkable failure mode — the one worth bracing for is a document that is technically valid but slightly cropped or photographed at an angle, which is exactly the kind of thing that turns into a two-day loop.

The card itself is a Visa Platinum. Transactions run over the Visa network and settle in local currency. Oobit’s pages describe it as a virtual Visa card you request after verification; whether a physical card is issued, what it costs, and how it is delivered is not stated. One operational detail does appear: a card unused for 90 days is cancelled, and you can request a new one. Set a reminder, because a cancelled virtual card that you have been relying on for subscriptions is an unpleasant surprise.

Fees and what they add up to

Oobit’s card page states no issuance fee and no monthly fee, and the FAQ confirms that account creation, card issuance and holding are free. There is one card and no paid tiers — no metal upgrade, no annual membership, no second tier to climb into. That simplicity is genuinely refreshing compared with some competitors.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Oobit payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What you do pay is a percentage on the things you actually do. Here is the schedule as published:

Fee or limit Value
Issuance Free
Monthly fee None; no monthly fee stated
Card purchase 1% (minimum $0.25)
Swap (exchange within Oobit) 0.95% (3% when receiving OOB)
ATM withdrawal 2.5% (minimum $0.25), plus the ATM operator’s own fee
Foreign exchange fee Not separately stated
Card purchase limit $1 to $2,000 per purchase; up to $25,000 per rolling 24 hours (the FAQ says up to $10,000 per day — the two official pages differ)
ATM limit Up to $250 per withdrawal including operator charges; 3 attempts per 24 hours
Swap limit $5 to $10,000

Now, three everyday payments, walked through. I want to show you where the fee actually bites rather than hand you a percentage.

A $40 lunch in your own currency. You pay 1% (minimum $0.25). If Visa settles the transaction in the local currency of the country you are in and your balance is denominated elsewhere, there may be an additional cost that Oobit does not separately state. In Brazil the terms are clearer: 1% with no minimum, plus IOF and FX charges — which is where a second, local card option makes sense rather than a single global one. A Trustpilot reviewer reported roughly 7% on a non-USD payment on 24 August 2026; that is a user report, not something Oobit has confirmed, but it is exactly the gap an unstated FX fee leaves open.

A $25 subscription. You pay $0.25 in fee, which is the minimum and exactly where the minimum bites — a 1% fee that floors at $0.25 means small purchases are proportionally expensive. This is one reason the 90-day unused-card cancellation rule hurts: keep a token subscription or expect to re-request the card.

A $200 ATM withdrawal. 2.5% is $5.00, plus whatever the ATM operator charges on top. The $250 ceiling includes those operator charges, so in practice you may get less in your hand than $250. And note the 1% card fee does not apply here; the 2.5% does, but nothing suggests they stack on ATM withdrawals — the pages do not say, so I would not build a budget on the assumption either way.

Free allowance at ATMs: not stated. If you expected a monthly free withdrawal quota, the public pages do not promise one.

There is one rewards scheme, and it is worth understanding because it is the only thing that materially offsets the 1%. Reward levels are set by cumulative spend over a 90-day cycle: Level 1 at $0 gives 1x points, Level 2 at $250 gives 2x, Level 3 at $500 gives 3x, Level 4 at $1,000 gives 4x and Level 5 at $1,500 gives 5x, with 1,000 points worth $1. Stablecoin rewards are 5% of eligible payments up to a $200 spend cap, rising to 10% with OOB tokens up to a $5,000 spend cap. The marketing headline is “10% Cashback Anywhere”, and the FAQ describes cashback plus 5x Rewards points on card purchases starting from level 1. Which asset the rewards are paid in, and the exact caps, are not stated on the card page — so treat the headline as an upper bound, not a promise.

Top up: you do not have to, and that is the point

Oobit’s unusual feature is that preloading is not required. The card pays either from a connected self-custody wallet through the DePay integration, or from your Oobit account balance. If you already keep your funds in MetaMask, Phantom, Trust Wallet or on Base, you can spend them directly rather than moving them to an exchange account first.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Oobit starts with a transfer to the right network

The supported assets are USDT, Bitcoin, Ethereum and other stablecoins. Which networks are supported is not stated, and this is the single most important operational detail the card leaves out, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. Sending USDT on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can mean lost funds that only support might recover. Check the deposit screen in the app before you ever press send, and check it every time — networks get added and removed.

Other top-up mechanics:

Getting money back out is straightforward on paper. What happens to a remaining balance when you close your account is not stated — the account can be deleted in the app or via Support, and the pages are silent on the balance. Withdraw it before you delete anything.

Paying with it every day

This is where Oobit is strongest. The virtual Visa card works in shops and online, settles in local currency, and can be added to Apple Pay and Google Wallet as well as smartwatches. Mobile wallet tokenisation is the smoothest route for day-to-day spending: the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored in your phone’s secure hardware, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code, so a screenshot of your card number is useless to a thief.

What to expect in practice:

One failure mode is worth internalising: if a merchant charges more than the amount first approved, you can be left with a negative balance and a paused card. A hotel deposit, a car hire authorisation, or a restaurant that runs a tab will do this. Check your balance before you assume the card is broken.

The apps. Oobit is on iOS and Android. The site shows an App Store rating of 4.8 with 22K+ ratings and a Google Play rating of 4.7–4.8 with 25K+ ratings. The US App Store listing itself showed 4.5 from 134 ratings, iPhone only, iOS 15.4+, when I read it on 20 October 2026. Those are different populations of reviews, and the honest read is that ratings differ by region.

What can go wrong

Let me separate three different risks: the structural ones inherent to this kind of card, the company’s own record, and the things nobody will tell you.

The structural risk is that a crypto card is not a bank account. A card number identifies its issuing institution, and behind any crypto card sit at least three parties: the network that routes payments and sets the rules, the licensed issuer that actually holds the card programme, and the crypto brand that markets it. Oobit says it is Oobit Technologies, operating “through multiple entities globally”, with US crypto services “in partnership with Bakkt Financial Solutions I, LLC”. The card issuer is not named — the pages say only “licensed partners depending on your location”. In December 2025 there was a US launch via Bakkt reported across all 50 states, and in November 2025 an expansion to South Africa. No 2026 licence news surfaced. When the issuer is unnamed, you cannot research the entity that would be responsible for a chargeback, which is a real, structural handicap.

The custody question. Oobit offers both models. With DePay, your crypto stays in your own wallet until you authorise a payment. There is also a built-in wallet, where a provider holds it. That difference is everything: whoever holds your private key controls the money, and a seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted key that anyone who obtains it can use to spend your funds. Crypto transfers are also irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery path. Custodial platforms have a real history of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Oobit claims bank-grade encryption, real-time blockchain monitoring and a card you can lock instantly in the app; two-factor authentication, insurance and safeguarding arrangements are not stated.

The record is the part you cannot argue with. I found no official incidents — no regulator action, no reported outage. But Oobit’s Trustpilot page shows 3.8 out of 5 from 495 reviews, read on 20 October 2026, with no recent history of asking for reviews. The one-star reviews cluster into specific themes:

Theme When it appeared in reviews
Funds held or missing Jul–Sep 2026
Unresolved refund (an Amazon refund) 8 Oct 2026
Unresponsive support Jul–Oct 2026
Card suspension or account block Jul, Sep 2026
Opaque fees Aug 2026

Individual accounts describe a deposit from another wallet that never arrived and support not responding (April 2026); high fees converting USDC and EURC to euros and on withdrawals (March 2026); a delayed USDC-to-BTC conversion (March 2025); and an LTC transaction not accepted within two hours (February 2025), to which Oobit replied that delays can come from network conditions. Oobit answers 100% of negative reviews, often with a template — which is a good sign for policy and a poor sign for resolution. No Reddit threads surfaced.

Two smaller things. Oobit’s own pages contradict themselves on merchant reach (175M on one page, 150M on another), which is a small but telling signal about editorial care. And the limit page and the FAQ give different daily purchase ceilings — $25,000 per rolling 24 hours on one, up to $10,000 per day on the other. Check in the app rather than relying on either.

The category risks nobody advertises. Visa and Mastercard can switch off a programme: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the card was wound down; Visa suspended WaveCrest’s European programmes in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued cards. Closures follow a pattern — a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw. Plan for that by not leaving an idle balance on the card. And in the US, FinCEN treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people merely buying things are not; regulation of this sector moves in fits and starts.

On anonymity. This card does not provide it. Verification is mandatory, transactions run on a network whose rules are set by regulated institutions, and issuers screen both residence and citizenship — nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence because sanctions policy and issuer risk policy apply to citizenship and country of birth too. Anyone marketing you anonymity alongside a Visa is not describing this product.

What to take instead

Three alternatives came up repeatedly in the same category. None is a clean win; they trade against Oobit on different axes.

MetaMask Card — 7.1 / 10. A Mastercard, which is itself a differentiator. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories (Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay among them); other regions join a waitlist, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ. Proof of residency is required. The virtual card is issued instantly and free with no annual or maintenance fee; the Metal card is $199/year. Fees are described as a “minimal fee for each transaction” with no amount published on the pages I read, no additional MetaMask fees, and no foreign transaction fee — the Mastercard rate applies. It spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana, with tokens including mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT. Cashback is 1% on Virtual; Metal’s headline is 3%, with a footnote capping it at the first $10,000 spent and 1% thereafter. One card per user.

KAST — 6.1 / 10. Virtual and physical, up to ten cards per user: Visa Platinum (Standard), Visa Infinite metal (Premium) and Visa Infinite gold-plated (Private), with other designs including Pengu, Solana and Bitcoin. The account balance is in USD, stablecoin deposits convert 1:1 at a 0% spread. Fees are the aggressive part: 0% stablecoin top-up, 0% card spend in USD, 0% transaction fee, 0% Apple and Google Pay — but a non-USD FX fee of 0.5%–1.75% depending on residence country, transaction country and card programme, $0.10 on non-USD transactions under $25, and $0.50 for a declined transaction. Membership is the catch: Standard $0, Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year, billed annually upfront with no monthly option; Standard’s physical card is free plus $40 delivery; an inactivity fee of $1/month starts after 12 months. Cashback runs 1.5% to $2,000/month on Standard, 2% to $10,000 on Premium, 3% to $40,000 on Private. Eligibility is shown at KYC and its country list is not published; a supported residence with an ID from a restricted region may still fail verification, and VPN does not bypass it. An account can be created in an unsupported country but KYC stays locked.

Zeal — 6.1 / 10. A Visa card spendable in 150+ countries, with a virtual card for online use that you can add to Apple Pay, and accounts in EUR, USD and GBP. Zeal charges no additional FX fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM charges may still apply. Cashback is up to 4%, paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, and you must hold GNO in the card Safe to qualify — rates can change. The app store also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR and USD balances. What I could not find: any published fee schedule at all, and no stated costs on the site or the app listing. The live card programme, per the Gnosis Pay documentation, runs in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand.

Oobit MetaMask KAST Zeal
Score 6.8 / 10 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10 6.1 / 10
Network Visa Platinum Mastercard Visa (Platinum / Infinite) Visa
Annual fee None Virtual free; Metal $199 $0 / $1,000 / $10,000 by tier Not stated
Spend fee 1% (min $0.25) “Minimal”, amount not stated 0% in USD No additional FX fee
Non-USD FX Not separately stated None; Mastercard rate 0.5%–1.75% Visa wholesale rate
Cashback Up to 10% headline, caps not stated 1% Virtual, up to 3% Metal Up to 3% by tier Up to 4% in GNO
Key catch Issuer not named; support complaints Availability limited to 45 countries Very high tier prices No fee schedule published

My read: if you are wallet-first and in a covered country, Oobit and MetaMask are the two worth the time. Oobit wins on geography and on the breadth of supported assets; MetaMask wins on a named fee story and Mastercard acceptance. KAST is for people who spend heavily and value a zero USD fee more than they value a low tier price. Zeal is attractive on paper but I would not move money until it publishes a fee schedule.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Oobit to someone who already holds stablecoins in a self-custody wallet, lives in one of the 75-plus supported countries, is comfortable with a 1% fee and a 0.95% swap, and wants a Visa that spends from their wallet without ever touching an exchange. The Apple Pay and Google Wallet support makes it a quiet daily tool rather than an occasional one, and the free holding fee means there is no reason to leave a balance parked.

I would not recommend it as your only card. The unnamed issuer, the absent dispute process, the contradictory limits and the cluster of reviews about held funds and unanswered support are enough reason to keep a second card elsewhere — one with a bank behind it, whose chargeback rights you actually know.

Before you commit, I would do three things. Confirm in writing that your country and your passport are both accepted, since only the country is published. Check the app’s deposit screen for the exact networks supported before transferring anything, because a wrong-network transfer is usually gone. And withdraw a small test amount end to end — crypto in, card spend out, cash back to your own wallet — before you park a serious balance.

Frequently asked questions

What is Oobit?

Oobit is a crypto card that turns crypto into ordinary card spending. It gives you a virtual Visa Platinum that draws either on your Oobit account balance or directly on a connected self-custody wallet through the DePay integration. Transactions run over the Visa network and settle in local currency. The card can be added to Apple Pay and Google Wallet. Oobit is a card programme, not a bank.

Is Oobit a bank?

No. Oobit is Oobit Technologies, operating through multiple entities globally, with US crypto services run in partnership with Bakkt Financial Solutions I, LLC. The card issuer itself is not named — Oobit describes it as “licensed partners depending on your location”. That matters practically: the entity that would handle a chargeback is one you cannot look up, and no formal card dispute process is described in the help centre.

Which countries support the Oobit card?

Oobit says it is available in 75+ countries: 43 in Europe including the UK, Germany and Spain, 10 across Asia and the Middle East, 17 in the Americas, 3 in Africa (Kenya, South Africa, Tanzania) and 2 in Oceania. Georgia, Serbia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and the UAE are listed. Turkey and Armenia are not listed at all, and Russia and Belarus appear on the “Not supported in” list.

Does Oobit require KYC?

Yes, verification is mandatory. You need a passport or a driving licence, and sometimes proof of address. Bank transfers need a one-time proof of address before the first payout. Most accounts verify in minutes and some take up to 24 hours. Rejections are usually for expired, unclear or mismatched documents, and you resubmit in the app. There is no legitimate route around this.

How much does the Oobit card cost to use?

Card purchases cost 1% with a $0.25 minimum. Swaps cost 0.95%, or 3% when receiving OOB. ATM withdrawals cost 2.5% with a $0.25 minimum, plus the ATM operator’s own fee. Account creation, card issuance and holding are free, and there is no monthly fee. No separate foreign exchange fee is stated.

What are the Oobit card limits?

Card purchases run $1 to $2,000 each, with a rolling 24-hour ceiling the card’s own pages give inconsistently: up to $25,000 in one place and up to $10,000 per day in the FAQ. ATM withdrawals are capped at $250 including operator charges, with three attempts per 24 hours. Swaps run $5 to $10,000. Crypto withdrawals run $1 to $50,000, with a $5 minimum for US residents.

How do I top up the Oobit card?

You do not have to pre-load it. The card spends directly from a connected self-custody wallet through DePay, or from your Oobit balance. Supported assets are USDT, Bitcoin, Ethereum and other stablecoins, and you can connect MetaMask, Phantom, Trust Wallet or Base. The supported networks are not stated on the public pages, so check the deposit screen in the app before every transfer.

Is the Oobit card safe?

The card itself uses the same Visa infrastructure as any payment card, and Oobit offers a non-custodial option where crypto stays in your wallet until you authorise a payment. But Visa and Mastercard can suspend entire programmes, as they did with FTX and WaveCrest, and Oobit does not publish what safeguarding, insurance or two-factor arrangements apply. Treat it as a convenience card, not a place to hold your savings.

Why was my Oobit payment declined?

Check the in-app notification first and retry, because a decline is often just an authorisation that did not go through. Address verification systems are largely unavailable for foreign-issued cards, and some merchants refuse foreign or prepaid BINs. Note also that if a merchant charges more than the amount first approved, you can end up with a negative balance and a paused card. Blocked merchant categories are not stated.

Is the Oobit card worth it?

It depends on what you would otherwise pay. If you already hold stablecoins and want to spend them without an exchange, a 1% fee and a 0.95% swap are reasonable. The rewards scheme can offset some of it — up to 10% on eligible stablecoin payments with OOB tokens — but the caps and payout asset are not stated, so treat the headline as a ceiling. If you need a physical card, a published dispute process or a named issuer, this is not the product.

Published by the Crypto Card Rating team.

HPX Card Review: What You Actually Pay and What You Risk
HPX Card Review: What You Actually Pay and What You Risk

An honest HPX card review: who gets the card, what it really costs, how topping…

Zeal card review: honest look at fees, limits and risk
Zeal card review: honest look at fees, limits and risk

A plain-English review of the Zeal Visa crypto card: costs, limits, top-ups, everyday use, complaints…

Solayer Card Review: Fees, Limits and Who Can Actually Sign Up
Solayer Card Review: Fees, Limits and Who Can Actually Sign Up

A plain-English review of the Solayer Pay card: who can get it, what it costs,…

Monolith card review: closed programme and what to do instead
Monolith card review: closed programme and what to do instead

Monolith closed on 8 October 2024. Here is what happened, how to redeem leftover balances…

SafePal card review: a Swiss IBAN with a crypto balance
SafePal card review: a Swiss IBAN with a crypto balance

SafePal's Mastercard is a virtual card with a Swiss IBAN, funded from 40+ blockchains. Read…