Solflare card review
The Solflare card was a self-custody Mastercard that deducted USDC straight from a Solana wallet at checkout. In late July 2026 the programme went into an unplanned pause. As of 20 October 2026, no relaunch date has been confirmed and the card cannot be ordered. This review looks at what happened, what current holders should do with their money, and which cards do similar things today.

If you came here to apply for a Solflare card, that option is not available right now. If you already hold one, your funds never left your wallet in the first place — that is the one part of this story that ended well. Most of the rest is about timing, an issuer winding down, and a programme whose marketing page still says “Get Solflare Card” while the help center says cards are paused.
Conditions are current as of 21 October 2026.
Verdict
Solflare card scores 3.2 out of 10 in the current state of the programme. The headline number is dragged down by two hard facts: no one can get the card right now, and the issuer that made it work has shut down. The score also reflects thin official information about costs, no named replacement partner, and a community already trained to expect crypto-native products — which is exactly the audience this card no longer serves.
| Criterion | Score | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | Cards paused during the move to a new issuer; relaunch not confirmed |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Officially undisclosed; unofficial: no annual fee, 1% service, FX around 0.55%–0.70%, ATM 2% (sources differ) |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Card draws USDC directly from the Solana wallet; no other coins or networks supported |
| Reliability and complaints | 2 / 10 | Cards paused 28 July 2026 after issuer Kulipa wound down; no new partner named |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Not being issued; Google Pay works, Apple Pay “coming soon”; unofficial: virtual instant, physical optional, ATM 2% |
In plain language: if you are a Solflare wallet holder waiting for the card relaunch, the card itself is fine in concept and works as advertised on days when it is operating. Today is not one of those days. If you need a card now, the alternatives section below lists options that are live, although each comes with its own country list. The pause has not damaged the wallet — staking, swaps and open Borrow positions stay accessible, and the underlying funds never left your self-custody.
The breakdown above is the score table promised for this section. Marked lines are not promotions; they are my notes from reading the official page, the help centre and the coverage from 2026-10-20.
What happened to the programme
On 28 July 2026 Solflare paused both the virtual and physical card. The reason given in public coverage was that the card’s issuer, Kulipa, wound down. A Solflare co-founder described the cause as solvency issues at Kulipa. From the same communications: a replacement card was promised “in August” 2026 with Apple Pay and Google Pay, higher spending limits and a return of cashback. The August roadmap still lists the relaunch as a future item, and as of the date of this review no relaunch has been published and no new issuer has been named.
That sequence of events matters because it explains almost everything readers are asking now. Here are the facts in plain terms, each tied to the original source so you can check them yourself.
The card was a Mastercard. The site still describes a card that deducts USDC from the user’s wallet at the moment of purchase, accepted at “100M+ merchants”, with the corporate entity in the footer being Solrise Finance Ltd (Tortola, British Virgin Islands). The name of the card issuer is not on the official pages; third-party reporting names Kulipa, the wound-down issuer, and no replacement. Existing cards do not carry over to whatever replaces them — when the new programme launches, holders will likely go through a fresh KYC round with the new partner.
Where the card was meant to be sold was kept deliberately loose. The official card page says the card was offered in the EEA, the UK and “other countries”, decided case by case. There is no published country list. Eligibility is checked by tapping a “Request card” button in the app, and the residency-versus-citizenship rule is not stated. The page does not mention Russia or Belarus and does not say whether age, proof of address or specific documents are needed. KYC was run inside the wallet app and was described as instant on the official page; the help article does not give more detail on the document set required.
Costs were never published in full. The site’s own cost and fee labels say “not stated”. Third-party articles collected different numbers: a 1% service fee, FX from 0.40%–0.70% in body text and 0.7% in the same article’s table, and an ATM fee of 2%; a separate third-party site lists FX at 0.55%, and the Solflare help article for some users describes a fixed 1% FX fee. The annual fee is reported as free, the card price as “TBD, confirm in app”. These are unofficial numbers and they disagree with each other, so I treat them as a range rather than a single value.
Mobile-wallet support sits in two states at once. Google Pay was live before the pause and continues to work; Apple Pay is described as “coming soon” and tied to the card relaunch. No merchant blocks, including gambling, are documented.
Cashback was a feature of the original programme. The pause notice says cashback returns with the relaunched card, but the rate and the payout currency are not stated. There were no tiered products: a single card with virtual and physical options.
Top-ups in the usual sense do not exist with this product. The card draws USDC directly from the connected Solana wallet at the moment of purchase, so there is no balance to top up, no card load step and no card to “withdraw” from. Funding routes through normal wallet activity: deposit USDC into the Solflare wallet, and the card pulls it at the checkout line.
Delivery and shipping time were never published. Once issued, the unofficial picture is that virtual cards appeared instantly in the app, physical cards were optional and requested later, with no shipping time or fee on the record.
That is roughly everything a reader can rely on without going hunting through third-party reviews. The single most important takeaway is that the marketing pages and the operational reality do not yet match — the official card page still markets the card as if it were available, while the help article about the pause is the right page to trust right now.
If you already have the card
If you held a Solflare card before 28 July 2026, three things matter for you specifically.
First, your funds are not on the card. There is no card balance to drain and no withdrawal to file. USDC remained in your self-custody wallet throughout, and the help article says so directly: “There is nothing you need to do.” Open Borrow positions taken out through the Cards tab stay accessible. Staking, swaps and wallet activity are unaffected.
Second, the card stopped working. Both virtual and physical cards stopped processing transactions on 28 July 2026. Subscriptions tied to the card for auto-renewal will fail on the next billing date. The help article says those recurring payments stop automatically; it does not say merchants will retry on a different card. The practical move is to update any subscription billing to a different card before the next charge.
Third, the path forward is a fresh start. When the replacement card launches, existing cards will not carry across. The help article hints that a new KYC round is likely with whatever issuer takes over. If your documents have changed — new address, new residency, expired ID — that is the moment to refresh them.
Support during the pause is described by Solflare as a “24/7 human support team” reachable by message inside the app. There is no mention of a Russian-language support channel, and the help centre’s only card-specific entry is the pause notice. There is no dispute pathway described for the moment, because there is no card to dispute charges on right now.
On everyday limits: nothing was published. The official pause notice says higher limits will return with the new card, and the unofficial reading is that limits were effectively unlimited on the original programme, but neither Solflare nor the third party is a source of truth on the formal cap. If you need card spend you can rely on, look at one of the alternatives below — they publish limits.
You can check whether you have an open Borrow position or an auto-renewal still pointing at the old card by opening the Cards tab in your wallet. That same tab is where the relaunch announcement will appear when it lands.
What can go wrong
Three risk lines run through this product right now. They are not equally important, and they are not equally likely; they are worth reading in order.
The first risk is the paused programme itself. Solflare paused cards on 28 July 2026 because its issuer wound down. A new partner was promised but not named. Until a partner is announced and the relaunch date passes, signing up for the card is impossible and the existing cards do not process. Anyone making financial plans around the card — recurring bill payments, travel spending, business cards — should treat the relaunch as uncertain and find a backup in the meantime. The marketing page still shows “Get Solflare Card” with no inline notice of the pause, which makes the official site misleading until you click through to the help centre.
The second risk is “third-party facts”. The numbers behind this card come mostly from sites other than Solflare. SpendNode, cryptocards.so and SpendNode’s blog give slightly different versions of the service fee, the FX margin and the ATM fee, and they disagree with each other. The Solflare help article, in one reading, describes a flat 1% FX fee; SpendNode’s table shows 0.7%; cryptocards.so shows 0.55%. SpendNode’s review says ATM withdrawals cost 2%, cryptocards.so says they are free, and SpendNode itself adds “confirm in app”. None of these disputes is fatal, but together they mean a reader cannot tell from public sources what the card will actually cost them; they need to look inside the app at the moment of payment. The official pages themselves list costs and fees as “not stated”. If a precise price matters to you — and for many people it does — that is a real gap.
The third risk is the standard set of self-custody hazards. Funds sit in the user’s wallet, controlled by a seed phrase the user holds. With self-custody, no one can freeze the account and no one can return a mistaken transfer, but no one can help recover lost keys either. Anybody who gets the seed phrase can move the funds. Clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied wallet addresses has been a recurring cause of losses in the Solana ecosystem and is one reason experienced users prefer to verify addresses character-by-character on hardware wallets. Solflare’s security page points at biometric protection inside the app, 3-D Secure for online purchases, the issuer’s anti-fraud systems and instant spending notifications; it does not mention insurance. Trustpilot coverage of the wallet (not specifically the card) shows a 3.9 out of 5 average from about 66 reviews, with around 45% of those negative and citing lost funds, failed transactions and suspicious token approvals. None of the reports I read described a card-specific complaint pattern.
The category-level lesson is that crypto-card programmes can end abruptly. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the issuer wound the FTX US debit card down; WaveCrest, a Visa-licensed issuer that powered several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and every programme on its licence ended in one move. Most closures follow a pattern — a notice period, then new loads end, then spending stops, then balances are returned — but a cardholder’s exposure depends on the issuer, the country and the programme. For any crypto card, the question to ask is: if the issuer wound down tomorrow, would my funds still be mine and would I know who to call?
The risk of regulatory friction is worth one line. The company behind the wallet is Solrise Finance Ltd in the British Virgin Islands; the site footer also lists affiliate Blockadopt d.o.o., based in Zagreb, as a marketing arm. The card issuer was Kulipa, named only in third-party coverage. No card licences are published on the official site. If you are weighing this product on regulatory grounds, the public statements are not detailed enough to lean on.
What to take instead
Three alternatives are worth a close look if you want a card that does similar work to what Solflare was doing, or that is at least live today. None is a perfect Solflare substitute; each is its own product with its own rule set.
RedotPay is the closest in spirit to a general-purpose crypto card. Score 6.9 out of 10. Two official pages describe the country rules and they are not the same rule. The KYC “Unsupported Countries/Regions” list excludes anyone whose citizenship is in places such as Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Mainland China, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Venezuela and the United States, with restrictions framed as “based on local regulations and sanction policies — not on individuals”. A separate 47-place “Card-issuance restrictions” page, dated 28 August 2026, blocks new card issuance to residents of India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey, with the same restriction applying to billing addresses. Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and Serbia appear on both lists; Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE appear on neither. The product is a Visa debit in two flavours: a USD card on a USD BIN and an HKD card on an HKD BIN, available as virtual or physical. Issuing the virtual card costs 10 USD; issuing the physical card costs 100 USD, non-refundable; virtual replacement is 5 USD on the first card and 10 USD after that. There is no monthly or annual fee. A 1% transaction fee applies to crypto-funded spending; default-currency transactions are waived; non-default currency 1.20%. A 5 USD welcome reward is usable only on spending, valid for 30 days. The application deposit goes through on-chain crypto, or you buy crypto with a credit card inside the app; the deposit fee to the card balance is free. Cashback rate is not stated.
Bybit Card is the option that publishes the most detail, which is a mixed blessing. Score 6.0 out of 10. It is sold in regional programmes: Argentina, the AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and an Asia Pacific block. The cards page states bluntly, “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” Bybit’s fiat-services restricted list — separate from the card — includes Belarus, Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States, and notes “Russian users can only make RUB transaction in Fiat”. The card does not have its own citizenship rule on the public pages. The card has no balance of its own: it draws on the Funding Account and a Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first, and only sells crypto when fiat is insufficient. Crypto conversion fee is 0.9% on top of the One-Click Sell rate for the main regions, 0.5% for Argentina; Peru does not support crypto-funded spending. FX fee is 2% for most regions, 7% for Argentina, 1.5% for Brazil, 1% for Peru. The card supports cashback, but from 5 October 2026 only crypto-funded spending earns it, with tiers from 2% at Base to 10% at Infinite and caps from 5 USD monthly to 600 USD monthly.
MetaMask Card, the third alternative, takes the same self-custody route the Solflare card used. Score 7.1 out of 10. Sign-ups are open in 45 listed jurisdictions (Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain and Uruguay among them); other regions join a waitlist. US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ. Proof of residency is required. Russia and Belarus are not specifically addressed in the extract I read. The card is a Mastercard issued by Monovate and provided by Crypto Life, virtual first (issued instantly), with a Metal physical card pre-orderable after virtual approval at 199 USD a year; the virtual card has no annual or maintenance fee. The “minimal fee for each transaction” is pointed at without naming a number on the public pages. Cashback is paid in mUSD into the Money Account: 1% on Virtual, headline 3% on Metal with a footnote limiting 3% to the first 10,000 USD spent and then 1%. Funding routes through the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana, with named tokens including mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT; a Solana-only wallet cannot withdraw credit.
These three are not the only live options; they are the ones with the most published detail. Each one applies its own country list, so the rule for staying safe is the same as for the Solflare card: read the issuer’s page, not a reviewer’s summary. Where the Solflare model gave you one specific thing — a self-custody wallet deducting USDC at the moment of payment — MetaMask Card is the closest on the architecture, RedotPay is the closest on the spending model, and Bybit is the most detailed on rewards.
Who I would recommend it to
Right now, to no one. The card is paused, no relaunch date has been published and the underlying issuer relationship has changed. Anyone who can wait should wait for the relaunch announcement, and anyone who needs a card should choose from the alternatives above.
If a relaunch is confirmed with a named issuer, a published cost table and a working Apple Pay, the picture changes. The original card had real strengths: it sat on top of a self-custody wallet, so funds never sit on a custodial balance belonging to the issuer; it spent USDC directly at checkout, removing the top-up step most crypto cards require; and it targeted a community that already understands Solana wallets, seed phrases and self-custody. For that audience the model was the right shape. The execution in mid-2026 fell short, and the relaunch will determine whether it earns a higher score.
A few people might still find this card useful today despite the pause. Existing holders need to update subscriptions to a backup card and to keep their seed phrase secure; people who already use Solflare as their main Solana wallet can keep their USDC where it is and watch the Cards tab for a relaunch; readers interested in the underlying tech can look at the help centre to understand the pause and at MetaMask Card for a working example of the same architecture. Anyone signing up today, on the other hand, cannot do so. That is the part the score table reflects.
The honest reading is this: the programme is in a holding pattern, not a wind-down. The wallet is fine, the funds are fine, and the card itself was a real product. Whether it returns in a recognisable form is the only question that matters, and it does not have an answer on the public pages yet.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Solflare card?
The Solflare card was a Mastercard payment card connected to a Solflare self-custodial wallet on Solana. At checkout it deducted USDC straight from the wallet, so there was no card balance to top up. The card programme is paused as of late July 2026.
How does the Solflare card work?
The card linked to your Solflare wallet and converted USDC held in that wallet into the local currency at the moment of purchase. Because the funds stayed in your self-custody wallet, the card had no balance of its own and could not be overdrawn. Funds remain in the wallet during the current pause.
Is the Solflare card still available?
No. Solflare paused virtual and physical cards on 28 July 2026 after the issuer Kulipa wound down. The site still markets the card in places, but the help article confirms the pause, and no relaunch date or new partner has been announced as of 20 October 2026.
Can I get a replacement card if I already had one?
Existing cards do not carry over to a replacement. When a new issuer is named, holders will likely go through a new KYC verification round. Open Borrow positions taken through the Cards tab remain accessible in the meantime.
What should I do with subscriptions tied to the old card?
Update any recurring billing that used the Solflare card to a different card before the next charge. The help article says subscriptions auto-renewing on the card stop, but it does not promise retries. Using a backup card avoids gaps in service.
Are my funds safe during the pause?
Yes, the funds are in your self-custody wallet, not on the card, and the pause notice confirms it. There is no balance to withdraw and no action required from you. The pause affects card spending only.
How much did the Solflare card cost?
Officially, the card’s costs and fees are not stated on Solflare’s pages. Third-party reviews give unofficial numbers — no annual fee, a 1% service fee, FX in the 0.55%–0.70% range, and an ATM fee of 2%, with sources disagreeing. None of these is confirmed by Solflare.
Can I use the Solflare card with Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Google Pay was supported before the pause. Apple Pay is described as “coming soon” and tied to the card relaunch, which has not happened. Until the relaunch, Apple Pay support is not available.
Is Solflare a bank?
No. The wallet is built by Solrise Finance Ltd, registered in Tortola, British Virgin Islands. The card was issued by Kulipa during the original programme; the company is an e-money-style service, not a bank, and the funds are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.
What are the best alternatives to the Solflare card?
Three are covered in detail in the alternatives section: RedotPay for a Visa debit with on-chain deposits, Bybit Card for the most detailed rewards schedule, and MetaMask Card for a self-custody model close to what Solflare offered. Each has its own country list and its own rules — read the issuer’s pages before you apply.
Written by the editors at Crypto Card Rating.
