Plasma One: what this card is, and whether it is worth your attention

Plasma One is a Visa card that spends a stablecoin balance through something most people recognise as an ordinary bank card, with the difference that the money behind it is a crypto balance rather than a current account. You add local currency and receive dollars, you load the card, and you spend it — online, in shops, through Apple Pay and Google Pay, at least in the regions where those are enabled. The card comes in virtual and physical form, it is issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, and the account services are powered by Bridge. Plasma itself describes itself as a financial technology company and says plainly that it is not a bank and not a regulated financial institution.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Plasma One works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That framing matters more than it might seem. Plasma One is not a bank account with a card attached. It is a card programme sitting on top of crypto rails, with the usual consequences: your balance is not a bank deposit, it is not covered by any deposit guarantee scheme, and it sits against collateral that can be liquidated if you do not pay what you owe. Those are the trade-offs behind a genuinely low-cost card with cashback that most banks would struggle to match.

I scored it 7.1 out of 10. That is a good score for a young crypto card with a free entry tier, not a score for a finished product. The card’s weak points are not the fees — they are the quiet ones: a country list that is deliberately vague, tiers you cannot buy your way out of cheaply without locking your own tokens, a physical card whose availability is unclear, and terms that one reviewer says changed under them. If you want a free virtual card with predictable cashback and you live in a supported country, this is worth an hour of your time. If you need a metal card in your hand next week, or you want a card that comes with an unambiguous published fee schedule, look elsewhere.

The conditions described below are current as of 21 October 2026.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Residence decides everything, and the restricted list is long — Belarus, China, India, Israel, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam are named, plus Cuba, Iran, North Korea. The list is explicitly not exhaustive.
Cost 8 / 10 Lite with a card costs nothing and “does not charge any additional fees”; FX outside USD is up to 1%, cross-border 0%. Core and Platinum are paid, or unlocked by locking XPL.
Top-up options 7 / 10 Local currency in, dollars out, withdrawals to a bank or wallet. Unofficially: USDT, USDC and USDG on listed networks, and local accounts in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL, COP.
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Rain issues, Bridge services, Plasma is not a bank, and collateral can be liquidated after non-payment. Trustpilot shows roughly 3.4–3.5 out of 5 from just 2 reviews, one of them about changed terms.
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay. Unofficially the physical card may be Platinum-only, and ATM terms are not disclosed.
Total 7.1 / 10 A cheap, well-designed card for dollar-account users who like being paid back in XPL, inside a still-settling regulatory and operational frame.

So who is this for, and who should keep away? It suits someone who already holds dollars or stablecoins, mostly spends in dollar-linked contexts, wants cashback paid in a token rather than a statement credit, and is comfortable reading the risk section of a terms document before topping up. It does not suit someone who needs a physical card guaranteed at signup, who wants a bank deposit behind the balance, who lives in one of the named restricted jurisdictions, or who plans to hold a large balance on the platform for a long period. More on the alternatives at the end.

Table of Contents
  1. Will they give you the card?
  2. How to get it
  3. Fees: what it really costs
  4. Top up: how the balance gets there
  5. Paying with it every day
  6. What can go wrong
  7. What to take instead
  8. Who I would recommend it to
  9. Frequently asked questions

Will they give you the card?

Mostly it is your place of residence that decides, not your nationality — and the official list of where you may not open one is longer than you would expect.

Plasma’s own personal page does not publish a country list. What it says is that “geographic, regulatory, and other eligibility limits apply, and are subject to change”, and that account services are provided according to residence: US residents, EEA residents and all other residents are served by different Bridge entities. There is nothing on that page about Russian or Belarusian citizens as such.

The Terms of Service do get specific. Appendix I lists restricted jurisdictions, and the wording is careful — a user “located in or ordinarily resident in” one of these may be restricted. The list runs: Afghanistan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Central African Republic, China (Mainland), DR Congo, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, India, Iraq, Israel, Libya, Mali, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine (outside the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson and Zaporizhzhia carve-out), Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen and Zimbabwe — plus Cuba, Iran and North Korea. The document itself says the list is not exhaustive. The International Card Terms add one more attestation: you confirm you are not a US citizen.

Now the part where I have to warn you about noise. Third-party comparison sites claim the card is available in 188 countries, or in 150+ excluding the US, or only in the United States; one says access is invite-only, another says 31 US states. They also say Belarus, China, India, Turkey, Vietnam and Nigeria may still qualify with proof of residence in a supported country. I would not rely on any of that. It is unofficial, the sources contradict each other, and they contradict the official Terms, which name Russia, Belarus and Turkey as restricted. Where official terms and a marketing aggregator disagree, the terms win.

For readers in the Russian-speaking world specifically: living in Russia, in another CIS country, or elsewhere with Russian citizenship are three different situations and the card treats them differently.

I want to be plain about the limits of what I can tell you. The card does not publish its supported-country list, so “will they give me the card” cannot be answered with certainty from the outside for any specific address. The honest answer is: apply and find out, or write to [email protected] before you move any money. What you can decide with certainty is which places are already closed off, and that list is long.

How to get it

The sign-up is described in three words on the personal page — get a card you can add to your wallet in minutes — and the practical steps are not set out in detail there.

What is stated: you complete identity verification, you must be 18 or over, you may hold one Card Account per person, and the account must not be subject to US, UK or EU sanctions. The verification levels, how long they take and the grounds for refusal are not stated on the pages I read.

Unofficially — and you should treat this as a reasonable expectation rather than a promise — the checks are the usual ones: legal name, date of birth, government ID, residence and address, and a liveness video. In some countries a separate proof of address is asked for. Automated checks are said to be fast, with human review on request.

The card itself comes in two forms. There is a virtual card and a physical card, both Visa, issued by Rain and accepted in 180+ countries, on a USD account. Here is the thing I would flag hardest, because it is where people get disappointed: the official pages describe both a virtual and a physical card, but third-party reporting says the physical card is available on the Platinum tier only, and that the Core physical card’s status is unconfirmed. One Trustpilot reviewer from July 2026 praised the virtual card and noted there was no physical card for them yet, and access via a private beta key. Delivery countries, order cost, delivery time and replacement fees are not published.

There is also a promotions wrinkle worth knowing. An Android promo giving six free months of Core ended on 21 July 2026, so if you read a blog promising that, it is out of date.

Before you start, check three things against your own situation: whether your country is supported at all, which tier you are actually signing up for, and whether a virtual card alone is enough for how you spend. If your everyday spending is contactless in shops, the virtual-only route means paying your way through Apple Pay or Google Pay, and that works but it is not the same as having the plastic.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the strongest part of the card. Plasma One “does not charge any additional fees” in the company’s own words, the Lite tier’s card costs nothing, and any partner fees that apply are shown in the app before you confirm.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Plasma One payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The catch is that “no additional fees” does not mean every number on the screen stays at zero. The cost table below collects what is actually stated, and where a figure comes from a third party I have marked it as unconfirmed.

Fee or limit What is stated
Card cost, Lite 0 dollars
Tier pricing, Core and Platinum Not stated on the public pages
Top-up fees and minimums Not stated; partner fees for some FX and bank withdrawal transactions are shown in the app before confirming
Cash Out “May carry processing fees and minimums”, amounts not specified
FX outside USD Up to 1%; cross-border 0%; 0% APR on purchases; Platinum covers the Visa FX fee
ATM Not stated — no fee, allowance or tier difference published
Daily and monthly spending limits Not stated; set by Plasma based on collateral, changeable or reducible to 0 at any time, no dollar maximums published
Rewards at ATMs ATM withdrawals earn no Rewards, and Spending Credit cannot be applied to them
Unofficial tier prices Core 199 dollars a year, or a lock of 20,000 XPL for 12 months; Platinum a lock of 100,000 XPL for 12 months, with the Help Center launch rate said to rise to 150,000 XPL. Sources differ on the Core price.
Unofficial FX markup Lite 1%, Core 0.5%, Platinum 0%, with a Visa network FX of about 1% possibly applying
Unofficial on/off-ramp costs USDT and USDG deposits free, USDC free up to 30,000 dollars per transaction; USD ACH on-ramp 1.00 / 0.50 / 0.50 dollars; wire 15 / 15 / 10 dollars; USD ACH off-ramp 0.75% / 0.35% / 0.10% plus the ACH fee

Now let me walk three ordinary payments through that table, because a headline “no fees” tells you much less than a receipt does.

A 40-dollar lunch in a country that isn’t the US. The card converts at a non-USD rate, so the International Card Terms say FX of up to 1% and cross-border 0%. Unofficially, expect the tier markup — 1% on Lite, 0.5% on Core, 0% on Platinum — and possibly the Visa network’s own roughly 1%. If your account is funded in dollars and the lunch is charged in euros, that is a conversion with a real cost attached, and on Lite it is the single largest line on the receipt.

A 12-dollar subscription billed in dollars. No FX at all if everything is dollar-denominated, no cross-border fee, 0% APR on purchases. The only thing that moves the number is the tier: Lite pays 2% base cashback, Core 3% base with 5% on AI spend, Platinum 4% base with 10% on AI and up to 600 dollars a year of flight cashback. Note the word “up to” and remember these rates are said to vary by tier and to change.

Withdrawing cash at an ATM. Here the silence is the point. No ATM fee, no allowance, no withdrawal limit is published for any tier, and the card’s own reward terms say ATM withdrawals earn no cashback and cannot use Spending Credit. Unofficially, a virtual-only Lite card cannot be used at ATMs at all. If cash matters to you, treat this as an open question and ask before you rely on it.

Two more things sit behind the fee table and will cost you money if you miss them. Cash Out may carry processing fees and minimums that are not specified anywhere public. And the tiers are not simply bought: Core is unlocked by an annual USD subscription or a 12-month XPL lock, Platinum only by an XPL lock — and locked XPL cannot be unlocked early, and the account cannot be closed while a lock is active. That last clause is the one that deserves a pause before you lock anything.

Top up: how the balance gets there

You add local currency and receive dollars, and you can withdraw to a bank or a wallet “anytime” through in-app off-ramps where available. The networks are not named on the official pages, and top-up fees and minimums are not stated.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Plasma One starts with a transfer to the right network

Unofficially, the picture is more concrete: deposits in USDT, USDC and USDG on listed networks, usually landing quickly, and local currency accounts in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL and COP that convert to USDT. New York residents are said not to be able to use the fiat rails. Treat that as a report, not a promise, and check what your own app shows before you move a sum that matters.

There are three practical warnings about topping up.

Withdrawal rails depend on your region, which is why the off-ramp options differ so much between a US resident, an EEA resident and everyone else.

Paying with it every day

It behaves like a normal card, mostly. Apple Pay on iPhone and Google Pay on Android are supported, subject to availability in your region. The app is on the App Store and Google Play — the site publishes no store ratings, and I found none on 20 October 2026, so there is no public score to look at here.

What works well:

What you should expect friction from:

Two things worth doing on day one: turn on spending limits you can live with, since Plasma sets them based on collateral and can reduce them to zero at any time; and test the card in a small online transaction before you depend on it in a shop where being declined would be awkward.

What can go wrong

The honest risks, in the order I would think about them.

Plasma is not a bank. It says so itself: a financial technology company, not a regulated financial institution and not a bank. Your balance is a collateral-backed account, stablecoin balances are not bank deposits, and they are not covered by FSCS or FDIC. There is no deposit guarantee behind this.

Your collateral can be liquidated. The card is backed by collateral, and if you do not pay, that collateral can be liquidated. This is the sharpest edge in the whole design: unlike a bank balance where a missed payment is a fee and a phone call, here a missed payment can mean losing the assets that back the card.

Self-custody cuts both ways. Plasma’s FAQ says you custody the assets and it does not. That means key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address are your problem, not theirs — and crypto transfers have no built-in reversal. On the other side, you are not exposed to a custodian being hacked, which is a real risk: Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin all went down for hundreds of millions.

The terms can move. The Terms took effect on 26 February 2026. One Trustpilot reviewer complains that the terms and the arbitration body changed to the LCIA after they raised issues, and that advertised Platinum benefits are not in the currently published tier. Two reviews is not a track record, but the complaint is about the kind of change that matters.

Third-party signals are thin, not negative. Trustpilot shows about 3.4–3.5 out of 5 from only 2 reviews, and the company has not invited reviews. One review is critical about changed terms; the other, from July 2026, praises the cashback and low fees but notes no physical card and access via a private beta key. I found no official incident reports and no Reddit threads. Read that as “not enough data”, not “clean record”.

A restricted country is a locked door. The list in the Terms is explicitly non-exhaustive. If you are in one of the named jurisdictions, or your circumstances edge toward one, do not plan around opening the account.

Visa can close a programme. Visa and Mastercard do not issue these cards themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. FTX’s card was wound down after Visa terminated its agreements in November 2022, and WaveCrest’s European programmes were shut down by Visa in 2018. Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw. Hold modest balances here.

Support is thin in practice. Support is advertised as available 24/7, with tier levels of standard, priority and VIP. The site’s language selector shows English only, and Russian is not mentioned anywhere.

What to take instead

The honest comparison is with other cards in the same category, on the same terms I applied to Plasma One.

Plasma One MetaMask KAST Zeal
Score 7.1 / 10 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10 6.1 / 10
Who can get it Residence-based, restricted list not exhaustive 45 listed countries, waitlist elsewhere; US/UK sign-ups temporarily closed Residence shown at KYC; citizenship or ID from a restricted region can still fail 150+ countries; issuance depends on regional availability
Card Visa, virtual and physical Mastercard; virtual instantly, Metal pre-order Visa, virtual and physical, up to 10 cards Visa; virtual card, physical not stated
Card cost Lite free; Core and Platinum paid or token-locked Virtual free; Metal 199 dollars a year Standard 0; Premium 1,000 dollars a year; Private 10,000 dollars a year Not stated
FX Up to 1% non-USD, 0% cross-border No FX fee, Mastercard rate 0.5%–1.75% on non-USD No additional FX fee, Visa wholesale rate
Top-up Local currency to dollars; stablecoins unofficially From the connected wallet, Linea, Base, Monad, Solana USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD Balances in EUR, USD, GBP stablecoin accounts
Rewards 2% / 3% / 4% base in XPL 1% Virtual, up to 3% Metal in mUSD 1.5% / 2% / 3% USD by tier Up to 4% cashback in GNO

Each of these has a case:

My reading: if your objection to Plasma One is that you cannot see what you are paying, KAST is the answer. If your objection is geography, MetaMask publishes more. If your objection is that you want wholesale FX, Zeal is the one to look at. Plasma One’s pitch is not any of those — it is a free virtual card with the best headline cashback in its tier and a token you actually hold afterwards.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Plasma One to a person who already sits in dollars or stablecoins, lives in a country the Bridge entity behind your region serves, spends mostly in dollar-linked contexts, and is comfortable that the balance is a token balance rather than a bank deposit. If cashback paid in XPL appeals to you more than cashback paid in dollars, that is the tie-breaker.

I would not recommend it to someone who needs a physical card in hand immediately, who plans to keep a large balance on the platform for months, who wants to withdraw cash regularly, who lives in a restricted jurisdiction, or who is looking for a regulated bank deposit. Nor to anyone who does not want to read a terms appendix before their first top-up — for this card, that is not optional.

The realistic version of the decision: open it, run it as a secondary card with a modest balance, test the payments you actually care about, and only then decide whether to move more. That is not timidity; given that the Terms themselves say the restricted list is not exhaustive, and that one reviewer reports the terms changing under them, it is just proportionate.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Plasma One card?

Plasma One is a Visa card that spends a crypto balance instead of a bank current account. You add local currency and receive dollars, load the card, and pay with it in shops, online and through Apple Pay or Google Pay. It comes as a virtual or physical card, is issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, and the account services are powered by Bridge. Plasma describes itself as a financial technology company, not a bank and not a regulated financial institution.

Is Plasma One a bank?

No. Plasma says in its own materials that it is not a regulated financial institution and not a bank. The account is a collateral-backed card account rather than a deposit account, so your balance is not a bank deposit and is not covered by FSCS or FDIC. If the idea of a guarantee scheme behind your money matters to you, this is the wrong product.

How do I get a Plasma One card?

You complete identity verification in the app, must be 18 or over, and can hold one Card Account per person, provided you are not subject to US, UK or EU sanctions. The card itself is described as available within minutes. Unofficially, expect a government ID, address details and a liveness video, with proof of address in some countries and human review sometimes instead of the fast automated check.

Does Plasma One require KYC?

Yes, identity verification is required, and it is the step that decides whether you get an account. The card’s public pages do not state the verification levels, the processing time or the reasons a check can be refused. Third-party reporting suggests automated checks are said to be fast, with human review on request, but that is unofficial and not confirmed by the card.

Which countries can use Plasma One?

Your residence is what decides, and the card does not publish its supported-country list. Its Terms name restricted jurisdictions including Belarus, China, India, Israel, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine and Vietnam, plus Cuba, Iran and North Korea, and say the list is not exhaustive. Claims on third-party sites about 188 countries or 150-plus countries contradict the official Terms, so treat them as unofficial.

What does it cost to hold and use Plasma One?

The Lite tier’s card costs nothing, and Plasma says it “does not charge any additional fees”. Foreign exchange outside USD is up to 1%, cross-border is 0%, and Platinum covers the Visa FX fee. Core and Platinum are paid or unlocked by locking XPL for twelve months, and unofficially Core is around 199 dollars a year or a 20,000 XPL lock. ATM fees are not published at all.

Is the cashback on Plasma One real?

The card pays cashback in XPL: 2% base on Lite, 3% base and 5% on AI on Core, and 4% base, 10% on AI and up to 600 dollars a year of flight cashback on Platinum. The rates are said to vary by tier and may change. Keep in mind that ATM withdrawals earn no Rewards and Spending Credit cannot be applied to them, so the cashback applies to card spending, not cash.

How do I top up and get my money out?

You add local currency and receive dollars, and you can withdraw to a bank or a wallet through in-app off-ramps where available, with rails depending on your region. Unofficially, deposits in USDT, USDC and USDG on listed networks land quickly, and local accounts exist in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL and COP. Top-up fees and minimums are not stated, and Cash Out may carry processing fees and minimums.

What are the risks of a Plasma One card?

The main ones are that your balance is not a bank deposit, that the collateral behind the card can be liquidated if you do not pay, and that a missed payment is not a fee but an asset loss. Beyond that: crypto transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on the wrong network can be lost; terms can change, and one reviewer reports exactly that; the restricted-country list is explicitly not exhaustive; and Visa can suspend a card programme, as happened with FTX in 2022 and WaveCrest in 2018.

Is Plasma One safe to use day to day?

The practical security tools are there: instant card freeze and account lock in the app, spending limits you can adjust, 3-D Secure confirmation and tokenised mobile wallets. Self-custody means you hold the keys and carry the risk of key loss and phishing yourself. What I could not verify is the customer record — Trustpilot shows roughly 3.4–3.5 out of 5 from only two reviews, and I found no store ratings and no substantial body of independent user feedback.

Published by the Crypto Card Rating team.

Kolo Card Review: What It Is, What It Costs, Who It Fits
Kolo Card Review: What It Is, What It Costs, Who It Fits

An independent look at the Kolo card: who can get it, real fees, top-up options,…

xPortal card review: fees, limits and who can actually get one
xPortal card review: fees, limits and who can actually get one

Honest xPortal card review covering fees, country limits, top-up options, cashback and the gaps the…

Ledger Cl Card Review: What It Costs, Where It Works, Who It’s For
Ledger Cl Card Review: What It Costs, Where It Works, Who It’s For

Ledger Cl card reviewed for everyday spending, top-ups, fees and reliability. We look at who…

Bitget Card Review: Fees, Limits and Who Can Actually Use It
Bitget Card Review: Fees, Limits and Who Can Actually Use It

An independent look at the Bitget card: who gets one, what it really costs, how…

THORWallet card review — fees, limits, who can actually get one
THORWallet card review — fees, limits, who can actually get one

An honest THORWallet card review covering fees, limits, KYC, USDC top-ups, Mastercard coverage across 170+…