Slash Card review: a stablecoin card with one very narrow front door
Slash is a Visa card that spends a stablecoin balance — USDC — in ordinary shops. That idea is not new, and the card is not the interesting part. What makes Slash worth writing about is where its front door is: it is open to residents of Japan only, aged 18 and over, and the physical card ships inside Japan. There is no waitlist, no deposit in a foreign bank, no second residency. If you live in Japan, that restriction is the product’s entire market. If you do not, nothing else on this page will change that.

So read this as a review of a Japan-only card, not of crypto cards in general. The score I give it is 4.6 out of 10, and the shape of that number matters more than the number itself: the card does what it claims, competently, for a small audience — and it is not yet a finished product with published fees, published limits, or a track record of independent reviews. The good marks are for reliability and for everyday use; the poor marks are for cost, because a card whose fees for conversion and foreign spending are not published is a card you cannot honestly budget.
Who it suits: people living in Japan who already hold USDC, pay in yen, and want the card to sit in their phone for everyday spending without thinking about the chain. Who it does not suit: almost everyone else, and specifically anyone who needs the card outside Japan, anyone who wants to know what a foreign-currency purchase will cost before they make it, and anyone who plans to load it from a fiat bank transfer.
The conditions described below are current as of 21 October 2026.
Score: 4.6 / 10
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Residents of Japan aged 18+ only; physical cards ship within Japan |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | Free to open the account; physical card 70 USDC (35 USDC in the launch promotion), virtual 20 USDC, annual fee free in the first year then 20 USDC; conversion fee not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USDC in the app on Solana and Ethereum; Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM marked as coming |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issuer Iquitous, programme run by Slash Vision Pte. Ltd. (Singapore), Orico sponsors the BIN; no independent complaints found; the launch slipped from 2025 to 20 April 2026 |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual card issued instantly, a physical card exists too, contactless payment in stores; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM details not disclosed |
Total: 4.6 / 10.

Two things I want to be upfront about, because they shape everything below. First, this is a young product: the partnership behind it was announced on 13 February 2025, pre-application came in June 2025, issuance began on 20 April 2026, and the general public opening was planned for around August 2026. Second, most of what has been written about the card comes from its own press release. When I went looking for independent reviews and complaints, I did not find any — which is reassuring about the first few months and uninformative about the next five years.
Will they give you the card?
They will give it to you if you are a resident of Japan aged 18 or over. That is the whole eligibility rule. Physical cards are delivered nationwide within Japan; the virtual card does not care about geography at all, but you still need to pass the Japanese residency check to get it.
This is residence-based, not citizenship-based. The card’s pages say nothing about your nationality, and there is no rule that turns on a passport. For the large majority of readers this distinction decides the outcome before anything else:
- If you live in Japan, whether you are a Japanese citizen, a Russian speaker working in Tokyo or Osaka, or a resident on a long-term visa, the residency condition is the same test. You are in the intended market.
- If you live in Russia, Belarus, or another CIS country, Slash is not available to you. There is no residency you hold that satisfies it, and the physical card does not cross the border. The card’s pages say nothing about your nationality either way, but the residence rule already closes the door — there is no version of this product for you.
- If you are a Russian citizen living elsewhere in the world — the EU, the UK, the US, Türkiye, the Gulf — residence is what matters, and Japan residence is the only kind that counts. A Russian passport held by someone resident in Tokyo does not block them; a Russian passport held by someone in Warsaw does not help them.
I want to be careful here about one thing that readers often ask: nothing here is a workaround. I am not going to describe ways to appear resident in Japan, or how to pass verification with someone else’s address, or how to have a card shipped to a different country. The rule is a plain rule, and the honest answer to “is Slash available in my country” is yes if and only if that country is Japan and you actually live there.
The card is a Visa, available as a physical card and as a virtual card, and the site allows multiple cards of each kind. The site calls it Japan’s first credit card usable with stablecoins. It does not state the currency the card is set in, or whether there are separate foreign-spend terms. News coverage of the launch describes merchants being paid in yen, which points to a yen card in practice, but I would not plan a foreign purchase around that assumption.
There is also no tier structure yet. Member tiers are described as “coming soon”, ranked by service usage, with the perks unspecified. Today you are looking at a single product with two forms of card, and nothing that improves with volume.
How to get it
The route is short: download the app, create an account, complete identity verification, then receive a virtual card instantly or a physical card in the post.
The verification step is described as honnin kakunin — personal identification — inside the Slash App, on iOS and Android. News coverage of the launch mentions a driver’s licence and biometric authentication being accepted as identity documents. Proof of address is not stated, and some Japanese financial onboarding flows do ask for a residence document while others do not; I cannot tell from the public pages whether Slash will ask you for one.
What is also not stated: whether there are verification levels or tiers of any kind. There is one identity-verification step, and no published structure above it.
Delivery: the physical card is delivered nationwide within Japan, the virtual card is issued instantly. How long delivery takes, what it costs, and what happens if you need a replacement — none of that is published. Treat replacement as a question to ask support before you rely on the card for anything time-critical, rather than an assumption.
There is also no published answer to how a first virtual card is used before the plastic arrives. If you get the virtual card first, you can start spending from it; that is the practical advantage of the virtual-first route, and the reason I would tell anyone in Japan who is undecided to start virtual.
Fees: what it really costs
The costs table: what Slash publishes, and the several things it does not.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Account opening | Free |
| Physical card | 70 USDC; 35 USDC under the launch campaign |
| Virtual card | 20 USDC |
| Annual fee | Free in year 1; 20 USDC from year 2 |
| Conversion fee | Not stated |
| Foreign-exchange fee | Not stated |
| ATM / cash withdrawal | Not stated |
| Daily limit | Not stated |
| Monthly limit | Not stated |
I want to be plain about the two “not stated” rows that matter most, because they are not small omissions. Conversion is the mechanism by which USDC becomes yen at a shop. Foreign exchange is what you pay when the merchant’s currency is not the card’s currency. Both are fees that exist in this category almost everywhere, and here there is no published number for either. That does not mean they are zero. It means I cannot tell you what a purchase will cost, and neither can the public pages.
The funding side of the cost picture is worth understanding before you compare anything. You fund the card in USDC. Merchants are paid in yen or other fiat currencies, and the cardholder does not convert stablecoins per purchase — the conversion is handled on the funding side, at load time, not at the till. That is a genuinely different architecture from cards that convert on every swipe, and it is a real advantage: you are not paying a conversion spread on each purchase, you are paying whatever the load cost is, once. But the load cost is precisely the number the site does not publish. So the honest summary is: Slash’s per-purchase economics may be better than a rival’s, and I cannot prove it from the card’s own material.
Three everyday payments, and which fees apply:
- Coffee in a Tokyo shop, contactless, in yen. The card draws on your USDC balance. The published fees that could apply: none that I can name with confidence, because the conversion terms are not stated. What you will actually experience is a payment that either goes through at the merchant’s price or does not.
- An online purchase from a foreign merchant, priced in US dollars or euros. This is where the missing foreign-exchange line bites hardest. A card with no published FX fee is not the same as a card with a zero FX fee, and I would not assume the second reading. Treat this as an unknown cost until support tells you otherwise.
- Withdrawing cash at an ATM in Japan. The card’s material says nothing about ATM use — not whether it works, not what it costs. This is a question to ask, not a feature to plan around.
On the card costs themselves, the launch campaign is the one piece of genuinely generous pricing on the table: 35 USDC for a physical card instead of 70 USDC is a meaningful discount, but it is described as a launch campaign, so it is not something I would build a long-term plan on. The 20 USDC virtual card and the 20 USDC annual fee from year 2 are modest and predictable. The card is prepaid in spirit: it draws on a stored balance, and the balance is what you loaded. That means the card cannot overdraw — a comfort that also means there is no credit line, no float, and no grace period if your balance runs out mid-week.
What you are buying for those fees, in plain terms:
- Instant virtual card, plus an optional physical one
- Contactless payment in stores
- Card freezing in the app
- Visa acceptance, which is the broadest network most people care about
- USDC funding on two chains
And what you are not buying, and should not assume you are buying: cashback (none stated), member tiers (coming soon), Apple Pay or Google Pay support (not stated), and any published answer on fees or limits.
How to top it up
Top up means sending USDC to the card, and Slash does this one way: in the app, on Solana or Ethereum. Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM are listed as coming soon. Minimum amounts, fees, and any fiat on-ramp are not stated — there is no published answer about buying USDC with yen through the app, and I would not assume one exists yet.
This is where the card meets the part of crypto that punishes carelessness, so let me say it plainly. You send funds to an address on a specific network. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the card does not support, or sent to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright or can require a manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. Solana and Ethereum are both supported, so the mistake available to you is not “which networks exist” but “which one am I actually on right now” — and that check takes ten seconds and is the difference between a working balance and a support ticket.
Two practical consequences of funding in USDC specifically. First, USDC is a dollar-pegged stablecoin, not dollars: the issuer describes it as redeemable 1:1 for USD and fully backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly held in a SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm — but stablecoins are not guaranteed stable, and USDC itself briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. The peg risk is low and that failure was brief, but it is not zero. Second, transfers cost network gas, charged by the blockchain rather than by the card provider, so a Solana deposit is cheap and an Ethereum deposit is not free. Neither of those costs is Slash’s fee.
Withdrawing money out of Slash is not stated either. I do not know whether you can take USDC back to your own wallet, whether there is a fee, or whether the answer is simply no. That is the kind of question you should have answered before you treat the card as anything other than a spending surface.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is where Slash scores well, and the reason is simple: it does the ordinary things. You tap the card or the phone in a shop, the merchant is paid, and the balance comes down. Virtual card instantly, physical card in the post, contactless in stores, and the card can be frozen in the app the moment it goes missing.
That last one matters more than it sounds. Instant freezing, plus app-based controls, is the standard safeguard set in this category and Slash has it. If you lose the physical card or suspect theft, the correct first move is to freeze it in the app, not to phone a support line and wait.
What is not stated, and I have to keep coming back to this because it defines the edges of “everyday use”:
- Apple Pay and Google Pay — not disclosed. If you pay by phone at all, this is your first question for support. The virtual card’s usefulness partly depends on whether it can live in a mobile wallet.
- ATM withdrawals — not disclosed.
- Blocked merchant categories — not disclosed. This matters more than it sounds: in this category, issuers routinely block certain merchant category codes, gambling (MCC 7995) being the classic example, and the blocked list varies by issuer and is a policy choice rather than a legal rule. It is not published whether Slash blocks anything.
- Online payments and 3-D Secure — not disclosed, and this is the one that catches people out. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued card numbers because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country; address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. A Japan-issued Visa paying a Japanese shop is the uncomplicated case. A Japan-issued Visa paying an overseas merchant is not, and I would test it early with something small rather than something large.
On rewards, the honest position is that there are none stated. There is a referral reward when a referred friend issues a card and makes a first payment. Member tiers are coming soon, and third-party reporting describes planned tiers — Virtual, Normal, Premium — with Premium at up to 1.5% cashback, and a referral reward of about USD 10 equivalent per friend after the first payment. Those figures are unofficial, reported by a crypto news site in October 2026 rather than by the card, and the same report notes the rates may change. I would not build a case for Slash on the promise of 1.5%.
Disputes are also not addressed: the help centre has categories for an issuance guide, a usage guide, and terms and policies. So the question “can I get a refund on a disputed charge, and how” is not explicitly answered. For context on why that question is worth asking: a chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received; prepaid-card coverage varies by jurisdiction and should not be assumed. Note also that a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven.
What can go wrong
The risks here are not exotic. They are the ordinary risks of a young financial product with a thin public disclosure record, and I would rather list them than talk around them.
The age of the product. Issuance began on 20 April 2026 after a launch target that had already slipped once. Programmes in this category get shut down — WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes, and Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, after which the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. If you hold USDC on a Slash card, you are holding a claim on a young programme.
The unpublished numbers. Conversion fee, foreign-exchange fee, ATM cost, daily limit, monthly limit — none stated. I covered what that means in the cost section, and I will not repeat it except to say this is the single biggest practical risk on this page. A card you cannot cost is a card you cannot use confidently for anything recurring.
The counterparties. The card is issued by Iquitous (iKitas) Inc.; the programme is managed by Slash Vision Pte. Ltd. in Singapore, which owns the brand; Orico sponsors the BIN and provides international brand support. Issuing bank and licences are not stated on the site. A Singapore programme manager and a Japanese issuer are a normal, respectable structure for this category — the brand is often just a front end, and the issuer holds the actual programme — but it does mean your money sits with a chain of entities you have not heard of. If the issuer’s licence status ever changed, or if the brand and the issuer parted ways, you would be dealing with an unfamiliar support desk.
Key custody is not stated. Whether your USDC is held by Slash, by the issuer, or stays under your own control until the moment of payment — the card’s material does not say. This is worth pushing on, because the two models are very different. With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your wallet until payment, and you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address. With a custodial provider you are trusting someone else with the keys, which carries counterparty and hack risk — a risk history that includes Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and the Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Neither model is wrong; you should just know which one you are in.
Irreversible transfers. Covered in the top-up section, and it belongs here too, because the loss case is asymmetric: a failed card payment is an annoyance, a transfer to the wrong network is a permanent loss or a long, uncertain support recovery.
Language and support. Support runs on [email protected], and the help centre is Japanese, with categories for issuance, usage, and terms. Hours and other languages are not stated. For a reader who does not read Japanese, that is a practical barrier to raising a problem, and it deserves a mention that no score captures.
Taxes. Not advice, just the shape of it: digital assets are treated as property by tax authorities, so exchanging them for goods or services generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at the value on the date of the transaction, and short-term if held a year or less. Depending on your country, each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. If you will spend meaningfully through this card, that is a question for a professional in your jurisdiction, not for me.
What to take instead
Slash is a single-country product, so the honest comparison is not “which card is better” — it is “which card is available to you at all”. If you are in Japan, Slash’s competition is thin. If you are anywhere else, you are looking at a different market with published fee schedules, and that is worth seeing side by side.
| Card | Score | Who can get it | Card cost | Cashback |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Slash | 4.6 / 10 | Residents of Japan, 18+ | Virtual 20 USDC, physical 70 USDC (35 USDC launch), 20 USDC/year from year 2 | None stated; tiers coming soon |
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | Sign-up open in 45 listed countries/territories; other regions waitlist; proof of residency required; citizenship rule not stated | Virtual free; Metal $199/year | 1% (Virtual); Metal headline 3%, footnote limits 3% to the first $10,000 spent then 1% |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Residence-based list at KYC; country list not published; restricted-region ID may still fail KYC | Standard 0 USD/year; Premium 1,000 USD/year; Private 10,000 USD/year | 1.5% on first 2,000 USD/month (Standard), up to 3% on first 40,000 USD/month (Private) |
| Zeal | 6.1 / 10 | Spend in 150+ countries; programme live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia, Thailand | Not stated | Up to 4% cashback in GNO |
MetaMask Card is the most widely reachable of the three alternatives: sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories, including much of Europe and Latin America — Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay among them — with other regions on a waitlist. It is a Mastercard, the virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee, and spending draws directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana. It advertises a “minimal fee for each transaction” with no additional MetaMask fees and no foreign transaction fee, using the Mastercard rate. The catch is geography again, plus one: US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per its own FAQ. Cashback is paid in mUSD into the Money Account, and US and UK sign-ups being closed is the sort of detail that makes a “global” card a regional one.
KAST has by far the most published detail of any card here, which is itself a reason to note it. Its card spend, stablecoin top-up and Apple/Google Pay fees are all listed at 0%; the non-USD foreign-exchange fee is 0.5%–1.75% depending on your residence country, transaction country and card programme; declined transactions for insufficient balance cost 0.50 USD; and non-USD transactions under 25 USD cost 0.10 USD. It runs up to 10 cards per user, with Virtual, Standard, Premium and Private designs across Visa Platinum, Visa Infinite metal and gold-plated. Eligibility is a residence-based list shown at KYC, and the country list is not published — the help centre notes that if your country isn’t listed, KAST is not available there, and that living in a supported country while holding an ID from a restricted region may still make you ineligible to pass KYC.
Zeal is the one to look at if you spend across many countries: spending in 150+ countries, with the card programme live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. It charges no additional FX fee of its own and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees may still apply — for example on ATM use. It pays up to 4% cashback in GNO on Gnosis Chain, provided you hold GNO in the card Safe, and the App Store also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR/USD balances. Its physical card is not stated, and it operates on balances in EUR, USD and GBP stablecoin accounts.
Two general observations before you choose. First, the transparency gap is the real differentiator: KAST publishes a full fee table and Slash publishes half of one, and that difference will show up in your actual spending costs long after you have forgotten which card you signed up for. Second, and this matters for readers outside Japan: all three alternatives are open to far more of the world than Slash is, and none of them requires you to be resident in Japan.
Who I would recommend it to
In Japan, holding USDC and paying in yen, I would recommend Slash with two conditions: start with the 20 USDC virtual card rather than the 70 USDC one, and ask support the four questions this page could not answer — what a foreign purchase costs, whether the card works in Apple Pay or Google Pay, whether ATM withdrawals work, and what your daily and monthly limits are. If the answers are reasonable, this is a clean way to spend a stablecoin balance in ordinary shops, and the fact that the conversion happens at load time rather than per purchase is a real design advantage.
Outside Japan, I would not recommend it, because it is not available. If you are a Russian speaker in another CIS country, or a Russian citizen living in the EU, the UK, the US or anywhere else, the right move is to look at a card whose eligibility you actually meet, and to check the fee table before you fall for the headline. In your situation, the binding constraint is residence and identity, not the quality of the card.
And I would add this for anyone still reading crypto-card pages in 2026: read the fee table and the custody model before the cashback. The rewards numbers are the part that changes most often and matters least. The questions “what does a conversion cost” and “who holds my keys” are the ones that decide whether a card is usable for you or merely interesting.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Slash card?
Slash is a Visa payment card that spends a USDC stablecoin balance in ordinary shops. You load USDC into the app, and the card pays merchants in yen or other fiat currencies, with the conversion handled on the funding side rather than per purchase. It comes as a physical card and a virtual one, and it is aimed at residents of Japan. The site describes it as Japan’s first credit card usable with stablecoins. Member tiers are described as coming soon, and no cashback is stated.
How does the Slash card work?
You create an account in the Slash App, complete identity verification, and receive a virtual card instantly or a physical card in the post within Japan. You then top up in USDC on Solana or Ethereum. When you pay, the merchant is charged in fiat and your USDC balance falls — the cardholder does not convert stablecoins per purchase. The card can be frozen instantly in the app if lost or stolen, and it works for contactless payments in stores.
Is Slash a bank?
Not on the evidence available. The site does not state the issuing bank or the licences. What the press material does show is a three-party structure: Iquitous (iKitas) Inc. issues the card, Slash Vision Pte. Ltd. in Singapore manages the programme and owns the brand, and Orico sponsors the BIN and provides international brand support. Visa is the network. That is a normal arrangement in this category, where the brand is often a front end rather than a bank.
Who owns Slash?
Slash Vision Pte. Ltd., a Singapore company, is the programme manager behind the brand, and the site’s copyright is SLASH VISION LABS. Card issuance is handled by Iquitous (iKitas) Inc., with Orico as BIN sponsor. Visa and Mastercard as networks do not issue these cards themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme, as they did with WaveCrest in Europe in 2018 and with FTX in 2022.
Is Slash card available in my country?
Only in Japan, and only for residents of Japan aged 18 or over, with physical cards shipping nationwide inside Japan. It is residence-based, not citizenship-based, so a Russian speaker resident in Tokyo is eligible while someone with the same passport living elsewhere is not. The card’s public pages say nothing about nationality or about Russia and Belarus specifically. I cannot tell you how to qualify if you do not live there, and I would not try.
How do I get the Slash card?
Download the Slash App on iOS or Android, create an account and complete identity verification, known in Japan as honnin kakunin. News mentions a driver’s licence and biometric authentication being accepted. Proof of address is not stated, nor are verification levels. After approval you get a virtual card instantly or a physical card by post. Account opening is free; the physical card costs 70 USDC (35 USDC under the launch campaign) and the virtual one 20 USDC.
Does Slash require KYC?
Yes — identity verification in the app is the gateway to the card. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, including ongoing transaction monitoring. In the EU, that covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check and politically exposed person screening. Note that nationality is screened separately from residence, which is why residence alone does not make a card available to you.
How do I top up the Slash card?
You send USDC to Slash, in the app, on Solana or Ethereum. Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM are marked as coming soon. Minimums, top-up fees, and any way to buy USDC with yen through the app are not stated. Be careful: transfers are irreversible, and sending on a network the card does not support, or to an address of another network, can lose the funds or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Network gas is charged by the blockchain, not by Slash.
Is Slash card free, and what will it cost me?
Opening the account is free. The virtual card is 20 USDC and the physical one 70 USDC, or 35 USDC under the launch campaign. The annual fee is free in the first year and 20 USDC from year two. The costs I cannot give you are the ones that would actually matter day to day: the conversion fee and the foreign-exchange fee are not stated, and neither are ATM costs, daily limits or monthly limits. Ask support before you rely on the card for recurring or foreign spending.
Is Slash card safe, and is it worth it?
The everyday safeguards are there — instant card freezing in the app, identity verification, transaction monitoring and stated compliance with Japanese law on installment sales and prevention of transfer of criminal proceeds. But this is a young product: issuance began on 20 April 2026 after a delayed launch, and I found no independent reviews or complaints at all, which tells you more about its age than its quality. Custody is not stated, so it is unclear whether your USDC is held by a provider or stays under your own keys.
Published by the Crypto Card Rating team.
