Solayer card review: what the marketing leaves out

Solayer Pay is a crypto card that turns a stablecoin balance into an ordinary Visa purchase: you load the card, spend it in a shop, and the crypto side sits behind it. On paper that is exactly what people who cannot open a normal bank card are looking for. In practice I went through the card’s own documentation and found a product that is genuinely usable for its intended audience and genuinely unclear on the details that decide whether it is cheap for you. My score is 6.2 out of 10 — a card I would describe as promising, workable, and under-documented rather than finished.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Solayer works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of 21 October 2026.

Who this is for, in one sentence: stablecoin holders on Solana living in permitted countries. Who it is not for: anyone who wants published spending limits, a printed fee schedule with no contradictions, or a clear answer about who is behind the money.

Before the details, the score table. One row per criterion, the marks exactly as they came out of the review, then the total.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Residence and citizenship of listed countries are both excluded; the list covers most of the EU, the UK, Switzerland, Turkey, the UAE, India and China, plus eleven restricted US states. Restricted-country counts from a third-party site put it at 120 open and 94 closed.
Cost 5 / 10 $20 a year membership, $24.99 or $59.99 physical-card delivery, $0.10 plus 1.5% on non-USD spend, a cross-border fee of up to 3%, and a top-up fee stated three different ways by three official pages.
Top-up options 5 / 10 Stablecoins only, specific coins not named, Solana plus other networks added at the issuer’s discretion.
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Issuer is Third National; the Solayer legal entity and its licences are not stated; no complaints found, but the custody described in the docs and the “non-custodial” marketing contradict each other.
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and up to $250 per ATM withdrawal on the physical card — though the pages disagree about whether the physical card exists yet and whether ATM use is allowed.
Total 6.2 / 10 A competent everyday card for the right person, held back by silence and inconsistency in its own documents.
Table of Contents
  1. Will they give you the card
  2. How to get it
  3. Fees
  4. Top up
  5. Paying with it every day
  6. What can go wrong
  7. Instead
  8. Who I would recommend it to
  9. Frequently asked questions

Will they give you the card

Yes, if you are over 18, pass identity verification, and neither your country of residence nor your citizenship appears on their exclusion list. That last part is the one that catches people out, and it is worth reading twice before you spend any time on the application.

The rule is not about where you happen to be sitting today. The documentation says residents or citizens of the listed countries are “not eligible to sign up for the Solayer Card, regardless of their current place of residence”. Both legs of the test apply. If you moved out of a restricted country a year ago and still hold that passport, the citizenship leg still catches you. If you are a citizen of a permitted country but living in a restricted one, the residence leg catches you. Either way the answer is the same.

On the list, alongside most EU member states, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, India, China and Ukraine, sit Russia and Belarus. Georgia, Serbia, Moldova and Montenegro are also excluded. In the United States the exclusion is partial rather than national: Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington and Wisconsin are on the restricted list.

Then the thing that made me slow down. The card terms separately ask you to confirm you are not a US citizen, describing the product as “intended for those outside of the United States”. The eligibility page, meanwhile, restricts only particular US states. Those two official documents do not agree about who Americans are eligible. I would not build a plan around the more generous reading.

Countries that are not on the exclusion list — so not excluded, but also not confirmed as eligible — include Armenia, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan. The page makes a point of saying it is not a list of eligible countries, and it is right not to. Absence from the list is not permission. A third-party card directory counts 120 available and 94 restricted countries, but that is their tally, not the issuer’s, and I did not confirm it against Solayer.

If you are a Russian speaker reading this: a Russian citizenship or a Russian residence address is disqualifying, and there is no version of this card open to you. The same goes for a Belarusian one. If you live in Kazakhstan, Armenia, Georgia or another post-Soviet country, check your own passport and your own address separately — one may be fine while the other is not. I am not going to describe ways around any of these rules, and I would be wary of anyone who does; the rules exist because the issuer and the card network have to comply with them, and an account that was opened in breach of them can be frozen later.

How to get it

The process is an ordinary one: download the app, create an account, complete identity verification, wait three to five business days for a decision, and either start with the virtual card or order the physical one.

You need to be 18 or older. Identity verification runs through Sumsub and asks for your country of residence, address, occupation, annual salary, an emailed code, and an identity document — a passport, a driver’s licence or an Aadhaar card. You photograph both sides, in JPG, PNG, HEIC, WEBP or PDF up to 50MB, and pass a face liveness check. Review and approval take three to five business days after verification is submitted.

What the documentation does not tell you matters here. There is no stated requirement for a separate proof-of-address document, no stated list of what causes a rejection, and no stated tier structure for verification levels. If your situation is complicated — several addresses, an unusual document, a name that does not match your bank records — you are working without a published map.

The card itself is a Visa, issued by the issuer under licence from Visa. You get a physical card and a virtual one, and the account runs in US dollars, so any non-USD purchase is converted. Delivery costs depend on where the card goes: US Express is $24.99 and takes two to five business days tracked; International Express is $59.99 and takes five to eleven business days tracked, production included. Shipping is the only charge for the card itself. New users pay a one-time $20 account activation fee that covers the virtual card for the first year.

Two small things that will irritate you if you find out afterwards: your delivery address cannot be changed after you order, and if a card is lost or stolen you freeze it in the app and order a replacement — the replacement fee is not stated.

Fees

The fee picture is the weakest part of this review, and not because the numbers are high. It is because Solayer’s own pages give three different numbers for the same top-up fee, and two different rates for one conversion. I would print the relevant pages and compare them yourself before you commit money.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Solayer payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item What is stated
Account membership $20 per year, covering card access and maintenance for 12 months; new users pay a one-time $20 account activation fee covering the virtual card for the first year
Physical card No separate card fee; delivery $24.99 (US Express) or $59.99 (International Express), tracked
Issuance and monthly card fees Not stated — the product page lists no card fees
USD transaction $0.15
Non-USD transaction $0.10 plus 1.5% on the fee page; $0.10 plus 1.75% in the FAQ
Cross-border fee Up to 3%, added by the terms
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM Up to $250 per withdrawal including surcharges, physical card only, maximum three attempts per rolling 24 hours; standard ATM and network fees may apply. The terms say cash advances are not available — the pages disagree
Top-up fee 1% on the fee page, 0.5% in the FAQ, $0.10 per top-up transaction in the tutorial
Spending limits Dynamic, and may be modified at any time; no figures published. Unofficial listings quote $10,000 daily and $30,000 monthly spending and $500 ATM — undated, from a third-party site, and possibly out of date
Late payment Up to $40
Returned payment Up to $29
Interest APR 0%, with the possibility that a rate may be introduced later
Currency conversion To USD at the card-network rate

The fee structure for everyday payments is complex, with variable conversion and cross-border charges that depend on the transaction currency and the specific page you consult. A non-USD transaction typically incurs a fee of $0.10 plus 1.5% to 1.75%, with an additional cross-border fee of up to 3% applied by the terms. Given the inconsistency in the official fee pages and the lack of a stated crypto conversion fee, it is difficult to predict the exact cost of any given purchase.

On cash: if the terms are right that cash advances are not available, then your ATM access depends entirely on which document you believe. If the physical-card page is right, you have $250 per withdrawal, three attempts a day, plus whatever the ATM operator charges. Unofficially, a Chinese-language listing quotes a $500 ATM figure; treat that as unconfirmed.

The honest summary is that you cannot model this card’s costs precisely from its own materials. That is unusual, and it is the main reason I stopped at 6.2.

Top up

Topping up is the part the card does best, and the flow is short enough that there is not much to get wrong — as long as you are careful about the network.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Solayer starts with a transfer to the right network

The card is funded with stablecoins. The specific coins are not named on the pages I read, which is worth knowing if your holding is not one of the obvious dollar-pegged tokens. The named chain is Solana, with other networks added at the issuer’s discretion — so the list of supported networks can grow without much notice, and can differ from what you assume.

Three steps: open the app, go to the Card tab, tap Deposit, and approve the transfer in your wallet. The minimum top-up and any fiat on-ramp options are not stated. What is stated is the fee, and here the three-way split is the main warning: 1% per top-up on the fee page, 0.5% in the FAQ, $0.10 per transaction in the tutorial. Top-ups are the moment you are most likely to notice a difference, because it is the first transaction you control.

Two rules to hold onto:

One more thing to know, because it is the kind of clause that only bites years later: cards deactivate after six months of inactivity, and getting back going needs a new card issued. If you keep a Solayer card as a backup you rarely touch, mark your calendar.

How do you get the balance back out? I could not find it. The top-up page and the terms do not cover withdrawing the card balance to a wallet. The terms say only that the balance can be repaid at any time without penalty, that chargebacks resolved in your favour are credited to the Solayer Account, and that on termination the card must be surrendered. Treat “can I get my money out” as an open question to put to support before you load anything large.

Paying with it every day

This is where Solayer scores best, and it is the reason to stay interested despite the paperwork problems.

The daily experience is a virtual Visa plus a physical Visa, and both work with Apple Pay and Google Pay for contactless payments. In practice that means most of your spending never touches a card terminal: you unlock your phone and pay. The physical card exists as an ordering flow with tracked delivery and two shipping tiers, so you are not limited to the virtual one.

There are two categories of purchase to avoid. The first is gambling-related activity, which is on the prohibited list. The second is cash-like transactions: travellers cheques, foreign currency, money orders, wire transfers and cryptocurrency. So the card is for buying things, not for moving money around or buying more crypto with it.

On rewards: no cashback rate is stated. What is described is a points system fed by spending and referrals, ecosystem perks, and yield on eligible balances. A widely quoted 1% cashback and 10% first-purchase offer appear to have been a 2025 campaign. The current product pages do not commit to a percentage, so do not build a reward into your budget.

The app is on the Apple App Store and Google Play. App-store signals are thin and should be read with care: a third-party directory reported an App Store US rating of 5.0 from two ratings and 500+ Google Play downloads on 11 August 2026, while a separate report from 3 March 2026 showed 0.0. Two ratings is not a rating. What both figures do tell you is that this is a young app with a small public footprint, and a small footprint means fewer public reviews warning you about problems before you hit them.

When something goes wrong, the process is written down and it is reasonable. Try the merchant first. If that fails, or if the charge is unauthorised, start a chargeback through the Solayer Account and report it within no more than 60 days of the charge appearing on the periodic statement. The card network may require extra documents. The disputed amount can stay due while the case is pending, and if you win, the money is credited to the Solayer Account. Read that last part twice: the refund lands back on the Solayer card account, not in your wallet.

Two ordinary payment realities to keep in mind. Address verification, which merchants use to compare the billing address you type against issuer records, is mostly a US, Canadian and UK mechanism and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — that produces declines that look like your fault and are not. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to seven.

Apple Pay is the safer of the two mobile wallets for a card like this. It replaces your card number with a device-specific number held in the Secure Element rather than on a server, and each payment carries a one-time code. The issuer can still restrict that tokenised number, for example blocking it on magnetic-stripe use, so a token can be declined where the physical card would work.

What can go wrong

Nothing alarming has surfaced, which is not the same as nothing being wrong. Here is what I found and what I could not find.

First, the customer history is empty. I found no Trustpilot page for the Solayer card and no complaint threads on Reddit or forums. Official incidents are not stated. A third-party directory noted on 11 August 2026 that independent feedback is minimal. Coverage so far is launch news and a Coin Bureau review of the protocol; Blockmedia reported >15M USD in cumulative top-ups and Solana-wallet-only top-ups early on. A young product with no complaints usually means the product is young, not that it is faultless.

Second, the corporate picture is thinner than it should be. The card terms name Third National as the issuer. The Solayer legal entity and its licences are not stated on the pages I read. When you are loading money onto a card, “who is the regulated entity I am contracting with, and under which licence” is not a pedantic question — it is the first question.

Third, and this is the one I keep returning to: the custody story contradicts itself. The security documentation describes provider-operated hybrid custody — hot wallets holding a small operational balance, cold wallets holding most assets offline with multi-signature, and “circuit breakers that freeze suspicious activity”. The marketing calls the card non-custodial and fully on-chain. Those are different architectures with different risk profiles, and only one of them can be true. If it is the first, a provider failure or a provider compromise affects you; if it is the second, a lost seed phrase is unrecoverable. Either is a real risk, and you deserve to know which one you are carrying. Two-factor authentication, spending controls and insurance are not stated.

A fourth, smaller thing: convenience features are not promised. There is instant freeze and unfreeze of a lost card in the Solayer Card Dashboard, which is genuinely useful. Beyond that, do not assume the usual safety kit.

Support is Discord-based according to the FAQ, with [email protected] and a phone number given in the terms. Working hours and Russian-language support are not stated. If you are a Russian speaker who somehow falls inside the eligible countries, ask a Russian-language question in writing early and see what comes back — that is a fair test of whether you can manage an account in your own language.

The regulatory backdrop explains the caution. Card programmes close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically follow a pattern: notice, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw whatever remains. That is the risk to hold in mind with any crypto card, and it is why I would not keep a large idle balance here. In the EU, e-money funds must be safeguarded in dedicated accounts or insured, but they are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes. A 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, but it shows the sequence is short.

Instead

I scored three alternatives for this page on the same basis. None of them is a clean answer either, and the choice is mostly about which kind of uncertainty you can live with.

MetaMask — 7.1 / 10, the highest score in my comparison. A Mastercard, virtual first and instant, with a metal card you can pre-order afterwards, one card per user, issued by Monovate. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories including Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France and Spain; other regions go to a waitlist. Proof of residency is required, and the useful detail is that ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending — you can be blocked from opening an account and still be able to use a card you hold. That is a different, gentler failure mode than Solayer’s, where the country test can follow your citizenship around. US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per their FAQ. The virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee; metal is $199 a year. Spending is direct from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana. Cashback is paid in mUSD: 1% on virtual, with the metal headline of 3% limited by a footnote to the first $10,000 spent and 1% after that.

KAST — 6.1 / 10. The most explicit about its own numbers, which is either reassuring or a sign that the model is expensive at the top. Residence decides first — if your country is not listed you are not eligible, and they say so plainly — but citizenship and ID matter too: living in a supported country while holding only an ID from a restricted region may still fail KYC, while dual citizens with an ID from a supported country may pass. Only your own ID is accepted and a VPN does not help. Membership runs from 0 to 1,000 to 10,000 dollars a year, billed annually upfront, with card tiers to match and a 1 USD monthly inactivity fee after twelve months. The fees are more explicit than most: stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spend 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%, and a non-USD foreign exchange fee of 0.5% to 1.75% depending on where you live, where you are spending and which card programme; non-USD transactions under 25 USD cost 0.10 USD, and a declined payment for insufficient balance costs 0.50 USD. Supports USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD. Their terms say the acceptable tokens are currently USDT and USDC, which contradicts the marketing — the same disease as Solayer’s top-up fee.

Zeal — 6.1 / 10, built on Gnosis Pay. A Visa, virtual for online use and addable to Apple Pay, spending from balances in EUR, USD and GBP stablecoin accounts on Gnosis Chain and Celo. You can spend in 150 or more countries, with the live Gnosis Pay programme in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. The fee schedule is not published at all — which is its own kind of answer. What is promised is attractive: no additional foreign exchange fee, conversion at the Visa wholesale rate, and up to 4% cashback paid in GNO, though the GNO has to be held in the card Safe to qualify and the rates can change. The app store also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR and USD balances. A yield figure attached to a card balance is the thing I would read twice before believing.

Solayer MetaMask KAST Zeal
Score 6.2 / 10 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10 6.1 / 10
Network Visa Mastercard Visa Visa
Who it suits Stablecoin holders on Solana in permitted countries Wallet users in 45 listed countries who want fees waived Residents of listed countries with a supported ID Gnosis Pay users in the EU, UK and 10 named markets
Published fee schedule Contradictory Partial Most explicit of the four Not published
Cashback No rate stated 1% virtual, up to 3% metal on the first $10,000 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier, capped monthly Up to 4% in GNO, must hold GNO

If your problem is that no ordinary card will open in your name, and your wallet already lives on Solana, Solayer is a reasonable first try. If your problem is clarity and predictability of cost, KAST publishes more than the others. If you already hold a stablecoin balance you spend from elsewhere, MetaMask spends straight from the wallet and waives its own fees. If you are a Gnosis user, Zeal is the natural fit.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Solayer card to someone who already holds stablecoins, already uses Solana, already has a mobile wallet set up, and lives in a country that is genuinely off the exclusion list — and who reads the fee pages themselves rather than trusting a summary. For that person it is a working Visa that loads in three taps, pays by phone, and costs $20 a year plus delivery.

I would not recommend it to someone deciding between cards for the first time, to anyone who needs to know their spending limit before they spend, or to anyone planning to hold a balance on it. The reasons are specific rather than general: three different top-up fees across three official pages, two different non-USD rates, no published spending figures, no stated crypto conversion fee, an unstated answer on how to withdraw your balance, an unnamed licence for the brand, and a custody model described one way in the security documentation and another in the marketing. That is not a card I would build a month of expenses on without checking first.

The biggest single thing you can do before applying is to read the eligibility list against both your citizenship and your address. If either leg catches you, nothing else on this page matters. The second is to ask support, in writing, the four questions the pages do not answer: what the real top-up fee is, what the crypto conversion fee is, how you withdraw the balance to your wallet, and which legal entity and licence stand behind the Solayer name. Keep the answers.

I do not have a shortcut, a referral code or a special offer to give you here, and I would distrust anyone who promised one.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Solayer card?

Solayer Pay is a Visa card you fund with stablecoins rather than from a bank account. It launched in April 2025 as the Emerald Card and was renamed Solayer Pay by a May 2026 press release. You load a balance from a crypto wallet and spend it like an ordinary card, in stores and online, including through Apple Pay and Google Pay. A physical card was introduced in a press release dated 14 May 2026. The card runs in US dollars, so spending anywhere else is converted at the card-network rate.

Is Solayer a bank?

Not as far as the documentation reveals. The card terms name Third National as the issuer, and the card is issued under licence from Visa. The Solayer legal entity itself and its licences are not stated on the pages I read. That is different from how a bank or a licensed electronic money institution normally presents itself, where the regulated company and its authorisation are named prominently. Ask support which entity you are contracting with before you load anything significant.

Who owns Solayer?

Solayer is the brand behind the card and the protocol it is built on. Its developer community runs a support channel on Discord at discord.gg/solayerlabs, and the card terms give [email protected] plus the phone number +1 (734) 510 1402. What the terms do not state is which legal entity owns the Solayer name or under which licence it operates. Support hours and language availability are not stated either, which matters if you would rather deal with them in Russian.

Can I use the Solayer card in my country?

You can spend wherever a Visa is accepted, but you cannot always open the account. The card runs in USD and any purchase outside the United States is converted, with a $0.10 plus 1.5% fee on the fee page and a cross-border fee of up to 3% in the terms. The sign-up question is separate: residents and citizens of listed countries are both excluded regardless of where they currently live. Russia and Belarus are on that list, so for Russian citizens there is no way to sign up.

Does the Solayer card require KYC?

Yes, and it runs through Sumsub. You give your country of residence, address, occupation and annual salary, confirm an emailed code, upload a passport, driver’s licence or Aadhaar card photographed on both sides, and pass a face liveness check. Files can be JPG, PNG, HEIC, WEBP or PDF up to 50MB. Approval takes three to five business days after submission. You must be 18 or older. Whether a separate proof-of-address document is required and what causes a rejection are not stated.

How much does the Solayer card cost?

The membership is $20 a year, covering card access and maintenance for twelve months, and new users pay a one-time $20 activation fee that covers the virtual card for the first year. The physical card has no separate card fee, but delivery is $24.99 for US Express or $59.99 for International Express, tracked. A USD transaction costs $0.15 and a non-USD one $0.10 plus 1.5%, with up to 3% cross-border on top. No card fees are listed on the product page.

Is the Solayer card free?

No, not entirely. The $20 a year membership plus the one-time $20 activation fee for the first year and, if you want the plastic, $24.99 or $59.99 for delivery, mean there is always something to pay. What you may never pay is unclear, because the top-up fee is given three ways across three official pages: 1% per top-up, 0.5%, or $0.10 per transaction. Before you top up, find out which one is live for you.

How do I top up the Solayer card?

You open the Solayer Pay app, go to the Card tab, tap Deposit, and approve the transfer in your wallet. The card is funded with stablecoins — the specific coins are not named — on Solana, with other networks added at the issuer’s discretion. Check the network carefully before you confirm, because blockchain transfers are irreversible and a deposit on the wrong network can be lost. On-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by Solayer.

Is the Solayer card safe?

I would say it is reasonably engineered but honestly unclear. The security documentation describes provider-operated hybrid custody with hot wallets holding a small operational balance, cold wallets holding most assets offline and multi-signature, and circuit breakers that freeze suspicious activity. The marketing calls the card non-custodial. Both cannot be true, and which one you are relying on changes the risk completely. You do get instant freeze and unfreeze of a lost card in the dashboard. Two-factor authentication, spending controls and insurance are not stated.

Can I withdraw money from the Solayer card?

I could not find the answer, and you should not treat that as a yes. The top-up page and the card terms do not describe how to move a card balance back to your wallet. The terms do say the balance can be repaid at any time without penalty, that chargebacks resolved in your favour are credited to the Solayer Account, and that the card must be surrendered on termination. Put that question to support in writing before you load money you expect to need back.

Created by the ”Crypto Card Rating” editorial team.

CL Card Review: Fees, Limits and Real-World Use
CL Card Review: Fees, Limits and Real-World Use

An independent look at the CL card: who it suits, what it really costs, how…

Phantom Cash Card Review: What It Is and Who Can Get One
Phantom Cash Card Review: What It Is and Who Can Get One

A plain-language review of the Phantom Cash card: US-only eligibility, undisclosed fees, how top-ups work,…

Rizon Card Review: Fees, KYC and Who Can Actually Sign Up
Rizon Card Review: Fees, KYC and Who Can Actually Sign Up

A hands-on look at the Rizon crypto card: who can get it, what it really…

Jupiter Global Card Review: Fees, Limits and Who Can Sign Up
Jupiter Global Card Review: Fees, Limits and Who Can Sign Up

An independent look at the Jupiter Global card — who can get it, what it…

Lydian Card Review: Visa Stablecoin Spending, Reviewed Hands-On
Lydian Card Review: Visa Stablecoin Spending, Reviewed Hands-On

An independent review of the Lydian crypto card: eligibility, fees, top-up, daily use, risks and…