HPX Card Review: The Card That Works, Until You Read the Help Page

Let me start with the number most people came here for: HPX scores 4.7 out of 10 in my assessment. That is not a rounding error, and it is not a verdict I arrived at by disliking crypto cards. It is a below-average score attached to a product that does something real — it turns a crypto balance into a USD prepaid card you can tap in a shop — and does it with a price tag and a set of unanswered questions that I could not resolve from the card’s own public pages.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
HPX works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

If you are an HPX wallet user who simply wants a USD card attached to what you already hold, the product does what it says on the tin and you will probably be fine. If you are looking for the reassurance of a named issuer, a published fee table, a working support desk and a clear answer about your money when something goes wrong, you will not find those here, and you will find out later rather than now.

Everything below is checked against HPX’s own help centre and its App Store listing as of the conditions stated below. Where those pages say nothing, I say nothing rather than filling the gap with an assumption.

The conditions described here are current as of 21 October 2026, checked against the HPX help centre and App Store listing.

Table of Contents
  1. The Score, Broken Down
  2. Will They Give You the Card?
  3. How to Get It
  4. What It Really Costs: Fees, Hidden and Otherwise
  5. How to Top It Up, and Which Network to Send It On
  6. Paying With It Every Day
  7. What Can Go Wrong
  8. What to Take Instead
  9. Who I Would Recommend It To
  10. Frequently asked questions

The Score, Broken Down

Before the details, the breakdown. I score each area on its own evidence, and the weakest areas pull the total down hard — a 4.7 is not an average of four good numbers and one bad one, it is three genuinely usable areas dragging against two that are close to empty.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up HPX starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Application restricted in Mainland China, Russia, Turkey, Pakistan and other countries; the list changes with policy and the remaining countries are not named
Cost 3 / 10 The USD $60 annual fee for the physical card is deducted from your first deposit, and a card-opening fee is paid before review with the amount not disclosed
Top-up options 6 / 10 Crypto deposits of USDT, BTC and ETH are converted to USD or EUR on the card; the networks are not named
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issuer and licences are not named, the developer is CIPHERBC PTE. LTD., and the App Store shows 3.3 out of 5 from 135 ratings with complaints about stuck coins and frozen accounts
Everyday use 6 / 10 A USD physical and virtual card, “tens of thousands of ATMs worldwide”; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not disclosed
Total 4.7 / 10 Weighted across all five areas

The pattern is easy to read. Who gets the card and how you fund it are ordinary scores — the restrictions are real but comprehensible, and the top-up path is straightforward. Cost and reliability are where the review lives, and both of them fail for the same underlying reason: the public pages do not tell you enough to make a decision.

Will They Give You the Card?

Yes for many people, and the answer turns on where you live rather than what your passport says. HPX’s help centre states plainly that applications are restricted in Mainland China, Russia, Turkey, Pakistan and other countries, that the list changes with policy, and that people who already had a card in restricted regions are generally unaffected — “except in Russia”, which is the one carve-out that gets singled out.

Two things follow from that, and both matter if you are one of the people searching for this card right now. First, the rule reads as residence-based: it is about the country you live in. Second, citizenship is not stated anywhere on the pages I read, so I cannot tell you whether a Russian citizen living in a permitted country passes, or whether the nationality itself is screened. Those are different questions with different answers, and I would not guess between them.

For the practical cases:

One more thing to keep in mind before you apply. This list is not fixed. HPX says it changes with policy, which means a country that works for you today can stop working without much warning, and it means any answer you get about your country may age badly. Ask, and get the answer in writing if you can.

One piece of background that explains why residence and citizenship are treated separately here, and why so many cards in this category phrase their eligibility rules the way HPX does. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are usually applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to country of address — that is standard practice, not a quirk of this particular card. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, plus a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person determination. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic KYC systems also validate proof-of-address documents against records.

So when HPX’s help centre talks about restricted countries without mentioning nationalities, that omission can mean either “we do not screen nationality” or “we have not documented it”. For a customer of yours, both readings point the same way — the citizenship rule is the thing to ask about in writing, because the published pages will not settle it.

And if your reason for wanting a foreign-issued card is that Russian-issued cards stopped working abroad after Visa and Mastercard suspended operations in Russia in March 2022, that history is worth weighing against this specific product. That suspension removed a large, well-regulated set of issuers from the market overnight, and the gap was filled by a long tail of smaller programmes with thinner documentation. HPX is in that tail. That is not an argument against it; it is an argument for going in with your eyes open about which questions the operator has not answered.

How to Get It

The application is a standard passport-based KYC flow, and the requirements are narrow in a way that is worth understanding before you start.

You need a passport. ID cards are not accepted. The name on your application has to match your passport, exactly. You submit your KYC documents, and if the review succeeds, the card arrives within 30 days of approval — that is 30 days after approval, not after application, so add your own review time on top of that. There is also a card-opening fee, and it is paid before the review happens, which means before anyone has decided whether to let you have the card at all. The amount of that fee is not stated.

What HPX does not publish is as informative as what it does. Proof of address is not stated as a requirement. An age threshold is not stated. There is no tier structure published, no stated processing time for the KYC check itself, and no list of rejection reasons. I have said “not stated” once and I will not repeat it at every turn; take it as the general condition of this card’s documentation, which is thin.

What you get is a prepaid card linked to a crypto wallet. Both a USD physical card and a USD virtual card exist, and crypto deposits are converted into USD or EUR for the card to spend. The card network is not stated. Delivery countries and delivery cost are not stated. One product, the “Global Travel Virtual Card”, is suspended for new applications according to a help notice — so if you were looking at that specifically, it is closed to you now.

There is a third-party tutorial circulating that describes HyperCard as having virtual and physical types in both US dollars and euro. That is unofficial, it is not confirmed by the card’s own pages, and I would treat it as a lead rather than a specification.

A note on what a passport-only KYC does and does not mean, since it is the whole of HPX’s published verification. In the EU, if due diligence cannot be completed, rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or the relationship and, where necessary, end an existing relationship — which is precisely why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents. That mechanism is not HPX-specific; it is the normal consequence of a KYC rule that cannot be satisfied. So a frozen account, on its own, does not tell you anything about whether HPX is competently run. What it does tell you is that your remedy depends entirely on how responsive the support desk is when you cannot supply what they want — and HPX routes support through an in-app ticket and a Telegram group with no published hours. That is the practical risk, not the freeze itself.

One more structural fact worth holding on to before you apply, because it explains why “passport only” feels lighter than it is. In this category the crypto brand is very often only a programme manager or a front end — it markets the card, and the actual card programme belongs to a licensed issuer and e-money institution. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. The 2022 FTX card is the standard example: Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Another example from the other end of the timeline: WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes.

Which brings us to the question HPX does not answer: who is the issuer behind this card? HPX names its app developer and its copyright entity. It does not name the issuer, the BIN sponsor or any licence. A crypto card normally depends on two sets of rules — payment regulation for the card itself and crypto regulation for the custody and exchange side — so an unnamed issuer means two licences you cannot look up rather than one.

And if you hold crypto rather than a card balance, the custody question is separate from the card question. With a custodial wallet, the provider holds your credentials and you must trust them completely; a seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in unencrypted form, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery because the network cannot freeze or return anything. The history is not theoretical either: Mt. Gox (roughly US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (roughly US$400 million, 2018) and the Ronin Network bridge (US$625 million, 2022). None of that is a specific accusation against HPX. It is the reason I would keep the balance on this card small whatever the fee turns out to be.

What It Really Costs: Fees, Hidden and Otherwise

This is the part I would read twice before you apply, and the reason the cost score sits at 3 out of 10.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a HPX payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What is disclosed: the USD physical card has an annual fee of $60, and HPX deducts it from your first deposit. That is a design choice rather than a trap — you are not billed separately, the money simply comes out of what you load — but it means your first top-up is $60 smaller than you intended, and that $60 buys a year of card use.

What is not disclosed: the amount of the card-opening fee that is charged before review. It is a real, collected charge and it is a number HPX has chosen not to publish.

Everything else is absent. The App Store listing publishes no fees at all. There is no conversion fee stated, no foreign-exchange fee stated, no ATM fee and no free-ATM allowance, and no daily or monthly spending limits published by the card itself. HPX’s own App Store description promises “tens of thousands of ATMs worldwide” without saying what an ATM withdrawal costs or how many are included.

One unofficial third-party tutorial claims a daily spending limit of “50,000 US dollars / no limit”. I cannot confirm that against HPX’s pages and I would not plan around it.

Fee or limit What HPX publishes
Annual fee, USD physical card $60, deducted from the first deposit
Card-opening fee Paid before review; the amount is not stated
Conversion fee (crypto to USD or EUR) Not stated
Foreign exchange fee (paying in another currency) Not stated
ATM fee and free-allowance Not stated; “tens of thousands of ATMs worldwide” is claimed
Daily spending limit Not stated by HPX; an unofficial source claims $50,000 or no limit
Monthly spending limit Not stated
Zero-fee offer for the USD virtual card PRO Mentioned as a time-limited offer; may be outdated

Now the part that should govern your decision. Take two everyday payments and ask which fees apply.

A $40 lunch in a café in your home country, paid with the USD physical card on a balance topped up in USDT. The $60 is already gone in year one. The crypto-to-USD conversion happened when you funded, and its cost is whatever rate HPX applied, which is not disclosed. The lunch itself is domestic, so no foreign-exchange fee is likely to bite. What you are exposed to is the spread inside the conversion, which you cannot see and cannot compare against anything.

A €25 subscription paid online while you are abroad, funded from a USD balance. Now the currency question lands. You are spending dollars to pay euros, and whether that costs you 0% or 1.75% is not something HPX publishes. MetaMask and KAST both state their foreign-exchange fee in public; HPX does not, and the amount is the difference between a card that is cheap to use and one that quietly eats a percent of every foreign transaction.

A third case worth pricing in your head: an ATM withdrawal abroad. You have a network claim, no fee figure, and no allowance. If HPX charges per withdrawal and you do not know the number, your cost per cash visit is unbounded from the outside.

Products I could see described: the USD physical card, the USD virtual card, the USD virtual card PRO, and the Global Travel Virtual Card, which is suspended for new applications. The benefits attached to each are not stated, so there is no published reason from HPX to prefer one over another.

How to Top It Up, and Which Network to Send It On

Topping up is the part of HPX that makes sense, and it is worth understanding exactly what happens to your money at the moment you send it.

Crypto deposits — USDT, BTC and ETH are named — are converted into USD or EUR for the prepaid card. That is the whole model: you send crypto in, the app converts it to a fiat balance, and the card spends that balance. There is no credit, no revolving balance, and no borrowing. You cannot spend money you have not loaded.

Two gaps. The networks are not stated. This is the single most consequential thing on this page for anyone who has ever lost crypto to a wrong-network transfer, and I will come back to it below. And the top-up options beyond crypto are not stated — I cannot tell you from HPX’s pages whether a bank transfer is available, and I am not going to guess.

The unnamed-network gap deserves more than a warning, because the failure mode is unusually unforgiving. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. There is no chargeback and no reverse button. And the fee for the deposit is not HPX’s to begin with — on-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain itself, so sending USDT on Ethereum requires ETH in the wallet to pay for the transfer regardless of anything the card does.

Getting the network right also requires knowing which token you actually hold, and the two common dollar stablecoins do not travel the same routes. USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar — but Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option for you. Tether, meanwhile, says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, which is worth knowing in both directions: stablecoins are not censorship-proof, and a transfer can be frozen at the token issuer’s level independently of anything the card does.

None of this tells you HPX is unsafe. It tells you that HPX has not told you which networks it accepts, which is the input you need in order to avoid an irreversible mistake. Ask, and confirm the exact network and token before you send anything.

Cashing out is not stated either. The help centre does not publish a withdrawal fee, a minimum withdrawal, or a processing time. If you are thinking of this card as a way to move value rather than spend it, that is the first question to ask them, because an unstated withdrawal path with a history of frozen accounts is a specific kind of risk.

One thing worth understanding on principle: the network fee for your deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by HPX. If you send USDT on Ethereum, you need ETH in the wallet to pay for the transfer regardless of anything HPX does or does not charge.

And a word about what you are converting from, because “I hold USDT” is not the same as “I hold a dollar”. A stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but despite the name stablecoins are not necessarily stable — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. If you top up HPX with BTC, you are exposed to that volatility before a single cent reaches a shop: your card balance moves with the market every second, and the moment you load is the worst possible moment to load if the price is spiking. USDT and USDC are the US-dollar-pegged pair, which is roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation as of the BIS’s July 2025 assessment. Circle describes USDC as redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations. Tether describes USDT reserves as intended to back the token 1:1. None of that makes either token risk-free, and neither is it a substitute for reading HPX’s conversion terms — which are not published.

Paying With It Every Day

Daily use is the 6 out of 10 area, and it earns that by being adequate rather than good.

You get a USD physical card and a USD virtual card, and HPX claims access to “tens of thousands of ATMs worldwide”. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not disclosed — and for anyone whose bank card is blocked, wallet support is often the difference between a card that works and a card that only works at card terminals with a chip.

The app itself: the US App Store listing, read on 2026-10-20, shows 3.3 out of 5 from 135 ratings, version 5.6.270301, requiring iOS 15 or later, 420.5 MB, rated 16+. The Google Play rating was not retrieved, so I can tell you nothing about the Android experience.

Rewards are not stated. There is no cashback programme described anywhere on the pages I read, which means the only return on your spend is whatever the crypto conversion gave you.

Dispute handling is not stated. There is no published procedure for what happens when a charge is wrong, a merchant refuses to refund, or a payment you did not make appears. A chargeback is a refund ordered by your card issuer, and the strength of your position depends on who the issuer is and how the programme is set up — which, as the next section makes clear, HPX does not name.

The pattern to notice: everything that would make daily use comfortable is the thing HPX has not published. Wallet support, rewards, limits, dispute handling. The things it has published — two card types, two currencies, ATM coverage — are the bare minimum for calling something a card.

Some of the friction you may hit is not HPX’s fault, and understanding it saves you from blaming the wrong thing. Every card number begins with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number, and any merchant can look that number up to see which institution and country issued the card — and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. That is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, and why a prepaid or foreign-issued card sometimes gets declined at a till that would happily take your domestic card. It is also why HPX not naming its network and issuer country is more than a curiosity: you cannot tell how your card will present itself to merchants.

Two more standard friction points to expect. Address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with the issuer’s records; it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines on their own. And 3-D Secure, which adds an identity check to online payments with a one-time code or a biometric, is something HPX does not mention — if a merchant demands it and your card cannot do it, that is an authorisation failure rather than a declined card.

One final everyday-use note that is easy to miss. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7. On a card where your whole balance is the balance, a string of failed online attempts can freeze a meaningful part of your money while the hold clears.

What Can Go Wrong

This is where I would slow down, and where the 3 out of 10 for reliability comes from.

The company behind the app is CIPHERBC PTE. LTD. in the App Store developer field, with a copyright line reading HYPER BC PTE. LTD. The site hyperpay.tech redirects to hpx.com. Critically: the card issuer and BIN sponsor are not named, and no licences are named. That is not a trivial gap. A crypto card is normally a payment service sitting on top of an issuer’s licence, and the issuer is the party that holds your balance, authorises your payments and owes you the money if you file a dispute. HPX does not tell you who that is.

The complaint record is the second thing. The App Store rating is 3.3 out of 5 from 135 ratings. A review from 2022 calls it a scam, describing a card charge labelled as an airline ticket and an inability to withdraw funds; the developer’s response pointed to in-app and Telegram support. An analysis of those 135 reviews puts the negative feedback at recurring themes from 2022 through 2024: coins stuck in “reviewing” for days with tickets unanswered, inability to withdraw or transfer, accounts frozen without explanation, one report of funds removed to an unknown address and one of an excessive fee. Some reviewers praise how easy it is to use. I found no Trustpilot or Reddit presence for HPX — searches turned up HyperX and HP, which are different things — so there is no independent layer of user commentary to weigh against the store.

Support runs through the in-app Help Center, called “My Work Order”, or a Telegram “Contact Us” group. The help centre sits at help.hpx.com with an English path, and the app lists English plus 17 more languages without showing the list, so Russian is not confirmed. Support hours are not stated. A frozen account described only by “Contact Us” in Telegram is a support experience I would want you to weigh against a $60 annual fee before you commit.

On security, the App Store describes two wallets. The off-chain wallet is platform-held, protected by an “SBC risk control system” with multi-signature co-management. The on-chain wallet keeps private keys locally, using BIP32/39/44/45, and the developer states it collects no data. Card freeze, two-factor authentication and insurance are not stated.

One more piece of context. The brand changed from HyperPay to HPX in July 2025. The Global Travel Virtual Card is suspended for new applications. No licence or issuer events were found — which I read as absence of news rather than good news, given that no licences are named in the first place.

The pattern in the failures is worth naming precisely, because it is the pattern you should expect to repeat. Coins stuck in “reviewing” for days, with tickets unanswered, is not a user error or a market event — it is the company failing to answer its own inbox. Accounts frozen without explanation is the KYC mechanism above operating without communication. Funds removed to an unknown address is the single most serious report in the set, and I want to be careful with it: it is one user’s account in a review aggregator, it is unverified, and I have no way to weigh it against anything else. But in a category where transfers are irreversible by design, a report of that shape deserves more attention than its evidentiary weight would otherwise warrant, not less.

What none of the complaint record can tell you is what your remedy would be if it happened to you. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. In the US, debit-card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit-card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. HPX names no issuer, so it names no dispute process — and under 3-D Secure, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift between the merchant, the issuer and you depending on how the authentication ran.

The safest reading of the evidence is this. HPX does not appear to be a scam operation dressed as a card: there is a functioning app, a real help centre, a policy page with an actual eligibility rule in it, and a developer who responds to reviews by pointing at support channels. It also does not appear to be a card I would hand a large balance without a direct conversation with the company. The difference between those two statements is most of what this review is about.

For what it is worth on the safety side, the app describes an on-chain wallet where private keys are held locally under BIP32/39/44/45, and an off-chain wallet held by the platform under an “SBC risk control system” with multi-signature co-management. The developer states it collects no data. Those are reasonable-sounding design choices, and they describe the crypto side. The card side — freeze, two-factor authentication, insurance — is not stated, and it is the side that governs what happens when your card is stolen rather than your wallet.

What to Take Instead

Here are three cards that publish their fees. That is the point of this section — each of them tells you what a payment costs, and HPX does not.

MetaMask — 7.1 / 10. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories, with other regions on a waitlist; proof of residency is required, and the page notes that ineligible regions limit sign-ups rather than spending. US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ. It is a Mastercard, virtual first and instant, with a metal version you can pre-order after the virtual card is approved, one card per user. The virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee; metal is $199 a year. Fees are described as “minimal” per transaction with no additional MetaMask fees and no foreign transaction fee, using the Mastercard rate. It spends directly from your connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana. Cashback is 1% on the virtual card, and the metal card’s headline 3% is footnoted to 3% on the first $10,000 spent and 1% thereafter, paid in mUSD.

KAST — 6.1 / 10. It shows your country at KYC and tells you if it is not listed; citizenship also matters, because holding only an ID from a restricted region can make you ineligible even in a supported country. Virtual and physical, up to 10 cards, on Visa. Annual membership is 0 USD for Standard, $1,000 for Premium and $10,000 for Private, billed annually upfront, with a $40 delivery fee on the Standard physical card and a 1 USD monthly inactivity fee after 12 months. The fee table is published: stablecoin top-up 0%, USD card spend 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%, non-USD foreign exchange 0.5% to 1.75% depending on your country, 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, and 0.50 USD for a declined transaction. Funding is by USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD. Cashback is 1.5% on the first $2,000 a month rising to 3% on the first $40,000 at the top tier.

Zeal — 6.1 / 10. A Visa card you can spend in 150+ countries, with issuance depending on eligibility and regional availability, and the card programme live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. Virtual card for online use, addable to Apple Pay, with accounts in EUR, USD and GBP. No fee schedule is published. Zeal states it charges no additional foreign exchange fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate. Up to 4% cashback paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain if you hold GNO in the card Safe.

HPX MetaMask KAST Zeal
Score 4.7 / 10 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10 6.1 / 10
Card USD physical and virtual Mastercard virtual, metal optional Visa, virtual and physical Visa virtual
Annual cost $60 physical card Virtual free, metal $199 $0 to $10,000 by tier Not stated
Foreign-exchange fee Not stated None, Mastercard rate 0.5%–1.75% None, Visa rate
Issuer named No Monovate Not stated here Gnosis Pay
Cashback Not stated 1% virtual / 3% metal to $10,000 1.5%–3% by tier Up to 4% in GNO

One caveat on the comparison. MetaMask’s “minimal fee per transaction” is not published as an amount on the pages I read either, so it is more transparent than HPX rather than perfectly transparent. And MetaMask is not available in the US or UK right now, which may rule it out for you before anything else does.

Who I Would Recommend It To

I would recommend HPX to one specific person: someone who already uses the HPX wallet, already holds USDT or BTC there, wants a USD card attached to that balance today, and is treating the balance as spending money rather than savings. For that person the card does its job — crypto goes in, USD comes out, a physical and a virtual card exist, and $60 a year is a price you can see.

I would not recommend it as your only card. The reasons compound rather than stack: no named issuer, no published conversion or foreign-exchange fee, no stated withdrawal terms, no stated limits, no published dispute process, a 3.3-star app with two-thirds negative reviews, and support that runs through an in-app ticket and a Telegram group with no stated hours. Any one of those is survivable. All of them at once, while your balance is held by a party whose licence is not published, is what drops the score to 4.7.

And the specific cases I would steer away from. If you live in Russia, HPX names Russia as a restricted region and excludes existing holders there — this is not the card to spend time on. If you live in another CIS country, your status is unstated, so you would be applying and finding out. If you are a Russian citizen living in the EU, the UK or the US, the restriction appears residence-based and citizenship is not stated, so it is worth asking before you assume either answer. If you plan to hold a meaningful balance on this card rather than a month’s spending, the missing issuer and licence information is the reason to walk away. If you rely on Apple Pay or Google Pay, HPX does not disclose support for either, so check before you rely on them.

If any of that describes you, MetaMask is the strongest card here on published terms, KAST publishes the most complete fee table in the category, and Zeal publishes its foreign-exchange policy even though it does not publish a fee schedule. Whichever you pick, check the terms before the first top-up, not after the first problem.

Frequently asked questions

What is the HPX card?

HPX is a prepaid payment card linked to a crypto wallet rather than a bank account. You deposit crypto — USDT, BTC and ETH are named — and it is converted into a USD or EUR balance that the card spends. A USD physical card and a USD virtual card both exist. It is a spending tool, not a bank account, and it does not lend.

How does the HPX card work?

You load crypto, the app converts it to a fiat balance, and the card draws on that balance at the till. Because it is prepaid rather than a debit card, it cannot go over what you have loaded. The card network is not stated on HPX’s pages, and the networks you can deposit over are not stated either.

Is HPX a bank?

No, and this is the single most important thing to understand about the card. HPX does not name the card issuer, the BIN sponsor or any licence on its public pages. A card like this normally sits on an issuer’s licence, and that issuer is the party holding your balance and handling disputes. HPX’s app developer is CIPHERBC PTE. LTD.

Who owns HPX?

The App Store listing names CIPHERBC PTE. LTD. as the developer, with a copyright line reading HYPER BC PTE. LTD., and the site hyperpay.tech redirects to hpx.com. The brand changed from HyperPay to HPX in July 2025. No licence or issuer is named anywhere in the company’s public documentation.

Is the HPX card available in my country?

Applications are restricted in Mainland China, Russia, Turkey, Pakistan and other countries, with the list changing under policy. Existing cardholders in restricted regions are generally unaffected, “except in Russia”. The rule reads as residence-based and citizenship is not stated, so a Russian citizen living in an allowed country is not clearly excluded — but it is also not clearly allowed.

How much does the HPX card cost?

The USD physical card carries a $60 annual fee, deducted from your first deposit. A card-opening fee is also charged before your application is reviewed, and its amount is not published. Conversion fees, foreign-exchange fees, ATM fees and spending limits are all unstated. I would want the conversion rate in writing before funding this card with real money.

How do I top up the HPX card?

You send crypto to the app and it converts the deposit into USD or EUR for the card; USDT, BTC and ETH are named. What HPX does not state is which blockchain networks are supported, and a transfer on the wrong network can be lost. Non-crypto top-up methods are also not described on the pages I read.

Is the HPX card safe to use?

I would not call it unsafe; I would call it unverified. The app describes an on-chain wallet with locally stored keys and multi-signature control on the off-chain side, but no issuer, licence, card-freeze feature, two-factor authentication or insurance is named. App Store ratings are 3.3 out of 5 from 135, with recurring reports of frozen accounts and stuck coins.

Can I add the HPX card to Apple Wallet?

HPX does not disclose Apple Pay or Google Pay support on its App Store listing or help pages, so I cannot confirm it. This matters more than usual if your usual card is blocked, because a card that only works at physical terminals is a much weaker substitute. Ask support, and treat silence as a no.

Is the HPX card worth it?

It is worth $60 a year if you already use the HPX wallet and want a USD card on it today. It is not worth being your only card, because the issuer, licences, conversion fee, foreign-exchange fee, withdrawal terms, spending limits and dispute process are all unstated, and the app has a substantial volume of negative reviews. If you want published fees, MetaMask, KAST and Zeal all say more than HPX does.

Prepared by the Crypto Card Rating editorial staff.

Slash Card Review: Stablecoin Spending for Japan Residents
Slash Card Review: Stablecoin Spending for Japan Residents

An independent look at the Slash card: who can get it, what it costs, how…

Bleap card review 2026 — fees, limits, eligibility, alternatives
Bleap card review 2026 — fees, limits, eligibility, alternatives

Honest Bleap card review covering fees, who can get one, how to top up, daily…

Avici card review: how the USDC-backed Visa really works in 2026
Avici card review: how the USDC-backed Visa really works in 2026

An honest Avici card review covering eligibility, USDC top-up via Loan Escrow, fees, daily limits,…

KAST card review: who it suits and what to watch for
KAST card review: who it suits and what to watch for

A hands-on review of the KAST crypto card covering fees, top-up options, KYC, country rules,…

Tangem Pay Card Review: What It Costs, Who Can Get It
Tangem Pay Card Review: What It Costs, Who Can Get It

A plain-language review of the Tangem Pay Visa card: eligibility, fees, limits, top-ups, daily use,…