Wayex card review: a free stablecoin-backed Visa, with strings attached

The Wayex card is a Visa debit card that spends from a USDB balance pegged 1:1 to the US dollar, with the balance topped up from stablecoins or fiat. The headline pitch is straightforward: no account-opening fee, no monthly fee, and what Wayex calls “0% on USD spending” if you transact in dollars. The catch is that a lot of important detail (which countries are live, how much the physical card costs, ATM limits, FX fees outside the dollar zone) is either not stated on the main site or only spelt out in the Australian help-center articles that may or may not apply to the global version.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Wayex works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

If you are weighing Wayex against other crypto cards, what you mostly get here is a free digital Visa with stablecoin top-up on multiple networks. What you cannot rely on, at least from the public pages, is a complete published fee schedule for the international product. This review walks through what Wayex does say, what it does not, what the Trustpilot reviews complain about, and which alternative cards publish clearer numbers.

Conditions are current as of 21 October 2026.

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict: 7.5 out of 10
  2. Who will they give you the card
  3. How to get the Wayex card
  4. What it really costs: Wayex fees
  5. How to top up Wayex
  6. Paying with Wayex every day
  7. What can go wrong with Wayex
  8. What to take instead of Wayex
  9. Who I would recommend Wayex to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict: 7.5 out of 10

Wayex scores 7.5 out of 10 in my evaluation. The free digital card and the stablecoin deposit options are genuinely useful, and the Visa rails plus Apple Pay and Google Pay support mean day-to-day spending works in most places a normal debit card does. The reason it does not score higher is that the global fee and limit sheet is incomplete, the live-country list is vague, and KYC complaints on Trustpilot are not rare.

This card fits you if you hold stablecoins in DAI, USDT, USDC or PYUSD and want a free way to spend them online or through a mobile wallet, and if you do not need fine-grained visibility into per-transaction FX, ATM or monthly limits before you sign up. It is not the right card if you want full published limits up front, if you specifically need a physical card with disclosed global shipping, if you want cashback on spending, or if your country is under UN, FATF, EU or US sanctions (in which case Wayex’s terms exclude you outright).

Criterion Score Reason
Who can get it 5 / 10 Live in 18+ regions today, with a stated expansion to 100+; the regions themselves are not named on the public site, and the terms bar anyone located in, or a citizen or resident of, a country sanctioned by the UN, FATF, EU or US.
Cost 9 / 10 Digital card is free, account opening is free, there is no monthly fee, and USD spending is advertised at 0%; the price of the physical card and FX fees outside the dollar zone are not stated.
Top-up options 9 / 10 DAI, USDT, USDC and PYUSD on 10+ blockchains (the networks themselves are not named by name), plus fiat deposits in USD, EUR and other currencies.
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Card is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence and the programme is managed by Bridge Ventures LLC; on Trustpilot Wayex sits at 3.9 from 61 reviews, with recurring complaints about KYC blocks and slow payments.
Everyday use 8 / 10 Free digital Visa, physical card “where supported”, Apple Pay and Google Pay, stablecoin balance; ATM withdrawal details for the global card are not published.
Total 7.5 / 10

Who will they give you the card

Wayex is open to people in what the company calls “18+ regions today”, with expansion to 100+ planned. The site does not list those 18 regions by name on the front page or in the main product description, which is unusual for a Visa debit product — most competitors publish at least a “supported countries” page.

Two pieces of context narrow it down slightly. First, the Wayex app is downloadable in 160+ countries, which is a marketing number and not a guarantee of card issuance, since you can often install an app in a country where the actual card service is not yet live. Second, the terms forbid anyone who is located in, or who is a citizen or resident of, a country under UN, FATF, EU or US (OFAC) sanctions, as well as anyone in a jurisdiction that bars crypto services. Russia, Belarus and Iran are not named explicitly anywhere I read, but the sanctions clause catches them; CIS countries such as Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE are not on the exclusion list and are not the subject of UN or EU-wide sanctions. For Russian citizens living in those countries, the terms screen on citizenship and residence separately, so being physically present in a permitted country does not by itself make a Russian passport-holder eligible — that ambiguity is something you have to confirm with support before uploading documents.

One unofficial source (CoinCodeCap, February 2026) describes the core product as Australia-only at launch, with the 160-country site positioning being an early-rolling-out global rollout. I am treating this as unconfirmed by Wayex itself.

The practical consequence is that the basic eligibility question — “can I actually get this card where I live?” — has to be asked and answered through the app or support rather than from the website, which is a friction point. The minimum age is 18 and there is a KYC step that Wayex says can be completed in as little as two minutes, although the documents you need and the tiers within KYC are not detailed on the public pages.

How to get the Wayex card

The signup flow is the usual crypto-card pattern: download the Wayex app (iOS on the App Store, Android on Google Play), create an account, complete KYC, then order the digital card inside the app. The physical card is offered “where supported”; for the Australian product the help center quotes AUD 14.99 for issue and delivery, with lost, stolen and expired replacements free. The international product does not give a price or a delivery time on the main site, which is one of those gaps that push this card down my score.

KYC needs to be completed before the card activates. Wayex markets a two-minute process, but you should expect the usual pattern of holding an identity document (passport or national ID for most readers, plus a proof of address in some cases) up to the camera and waiting for a manual review if the system flags anything. There is no public description of verification tiers, what counts as enhanced due diligence, or what triggers a rejection. Rejection reasons also are not stated; if your application is refused, you are unlikely to learn exactly why from the public documentation. The terms reserve the right to keep the card restricted or to refuse service to anyone in a sanctioned country, regardless of where they are physically located.

What I would do before applying, in order: check the app store listing for your country to see whether the app supports your region; prepare a passport-quality photo of your ID and a recent proof of address; have a stablecoin wallet ready with a small USDC or USDT balance on one of the “10+ blockchains” Wayex mentions, so that once your card is live you can do a test top-up without scrambling.

What it really costs: Wayex fees

Cost is where Wayex looks strongest on paper and is also where the missing detail matters most. The promises that are stated clearly: the digital card is free, the account is free to open, there is no monthly fee, and USD spending carries 0%. What is missing on the main site is the price of the physical card for the global product, the FX fee for non-USD card payments, the crypto-to-fiat conversion fee, and the ATM withdrawal fee.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Wayex payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

If you spend in USD (or hold USDB and pay a US-billed merchant in dollars), the effective cost of a transaction is effectively the network fee you paid to deposit your stablecoin, plus the blockchain fee on top-up, plus whatever your wallet charged you to obtain the stablecoin in the first place. Once the balance is loaded, the card itself adds nothing in dollars. That is the cleanest case.

If you spend in EUR, GBP or any non-USD currency, the picture is less clean. The Wayex help center (in an article about the Australian product) says there are “no foreign exchange fees on Wayex”, but it is denominated in AUD there, and FX treatment for the international Visa card is not stated on the global site. Without an explicit FX percentage, you have to assume that non-USD spending will be converted at a rate somewhere between the mid-market rate and the rate your issuer chooses, and that the difference between those two is effectively your cost.

ATM withdrawals are not described at all on the global site. For the Australian product the help center states that ATM withdrawals are only possible in Australia, that Wayex charges $0 itself, that ATM operator fees still apply, and that there is a maximum of AUD 1,000 per day. Overseas ATM use is not supported in that product. Whether any of this translates to the international card is unconfirmed.

Fee or limit What Wayex says (global card)
Digital card issuance Free
Physical card “Where supported”; price not stated for the global card
Account opening Free
Monthly fee None
USD spending 0%
FX on non-USD spending Not stated
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated
Daily / monthly spend limit Not stated on main site
Per-transaction limit Not stated on main site

To make this concrete, here is how three common everyday payments look under what Wayex publishes:

How to top up Wayex

Wayex takes stablecoins and fiat. On the crypto side, DAI, USDT, USDC and PYUSD are accepted across “10+ blockchains”; the specific networks are not enumerated on the front page, which matters because sending USDC on a chain the platform does not support is one of the most common ways to lose funds in this category (blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a recovery request to support is at their discretion).

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Wayex starts with a transfer to the right network

The fiat side supports deposits in USD, EUR and “other” currencies. The help center’s Australian article, dated 12 August 2026, adds GBP, MXN and BRL to that list and notes that crypto deposits are free from Wayex’s side (you still pay the network or gas fee), that AUD deposits are zero-fee from Wayex, and that there is no stated limit on the deposit size.

The minimum top-up amount for the global card is not stated. With stablecoins, your effective minimum is the minimum that your chosen network accepts plus whatever you spent on the network fee to send it; on Ethereum mainnet, a USDC transfer after gas can easily cost more than the amount itself for small deposits, so picking a cheaper network — Tron, Solana, Polygon, Base or whichever of the “10+” Wayex names — matters in practice.

Funding-side risks to keep in mind:

Paying with Wayex every day

The card is a Visa debit card with a USDB balance, and the frictionless case (USD, online, Apple Pay or Google Pay) is the experience Wayex is built around. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, which means tokenised card numbers: the real PAN is stored in the Secure Element on your phone and never shared with the merchant, and each transaction is authorised with a one-time dynamic security code. That is the same flow used by mainstream bank cards.

Online checkout uses Visa Secure (Visa’s brand of 3-D Secure). You may sometimes see a verification step in your banking app or via SMS when the issuer’s risk engine is uncertain; frictionless approvals are common for low-risk, low-value transactions. For US merchants in particular, the Address Verification System (AVS) compares numeric parts of the billing address (street number and ZIP) with the issuer’s records and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can lead to a small share of US online checkouts declining the card even when the balance is sufficient.

In physical stores, tapping the phone on a contactless terminal is the everyday flow. If the merchant’s terminal supports it, the transaction goes through the tokenised device account number rather than your real card number. If the merchant is in an MCC (merchant category code) Wayex has chosen to block, the transaction will decline regardless of your balance. The blocked categories themselves are not published on the public site.

There is no stated card cashback. The “rewards” Wayex markets are not card cashback at all: a separate “Everyday Yield” programme offers up to 5% on liquid stablecoin balances in the account (live), with “Fixed-Term Deposits” up to 20% via a Kasu integration marked as coming soon. Those yield the balance, not the card spend, so this is not the right card to choose if you want a percentage back on every purchase.

Withdrawal of cash from an ATM is not a documented feature for the global card. The Australian product’s restrictions (Australia-only, AUD 1,000 per day, $0 Wayex fee on top of operator fees) are not confirmed for the international Visa, so for the global product the realistic position is that you cannot rely on ATM use. Ask support before you travel if that is a requirement.

Help is reached through live chat in the app, by email at [email protected], and via community channels on Telegram, X, Discord and Reddit. The complaints-policy help article says the team is available 24/7, and the policy itself commits to acknowledgement within three business days and resolution within 30 business days. Disputes are handled under binding arbitration in Panama City, in English, which is worth knowing if you ever need to escalate.

What can go wrong with Wayex

The recurring complaints on public reviews are about KYC, not the card itself. Trustpilot shows Wayex at 3.9 stars out of 5 across 61 reviews (74% five-star, 10% one-star), with Trustpilot noting that the company is not actively inviting recent reviews. The pattern across the negative ones is:

Two structural risks worth flagging beyond the user reports:

There are no public reports of funds being stolen from Wayex itself. The data points are operational (KYC, closure, transfer speed) rather than security-related (custody, hacks). Wayex markets transparent custody and an optional self-custody integration, 24/7 monitoring, and instant card controls in the app; whether 2FA is mandatory, what happens if you lose your phone, and how the optional self-custody flow recovers access are not described in detail on the public pages.

What to take instead of Wayex

If what you want from Wayex is a free or near-free Visa debit card that spends from crypto, three of the more established names in this category publish clearer numbers on their public pages. None of them is a perfect substitute (each has its own gaps), so the choice comes down to which trade-off you care most about.

Card Score Cost (issuance / monthly) Top-up Key trade-off versus Wayex
Wayex 7.5 / 10 Digital free / None USDB balance via stablecoins on 10+ chains and fiat Free digital card, but global fee/limit sheet incomplete on the public site
RedotPay 6.9 / 10 Virtual 10.00 USD; physical 100.00 USD / None for standard (Pro 12.90 USD monthly) On-chain crypto deposit by supported network, in-app credit-card buy Paid issuance and a published 1% conversion fee, but full published limits and an exclusion list that explicitly names countries
Bitpanda 6.5 / 10 First shipment free / None Spends from a chosen crypto, metal or EUR balance with auto-conversion EUR-only card and euro-area residence requirement, but a clear fee table and 1% cashback on crypto spending
Wirex 6.7 / 10 Standard issuance free in UK/EEA/APAC/SG/AU; metal 45 GBP / None Cash, stablecoins or crypto via third-party top-up “Worldwide (130+ countries)” marketing with no public full country list, but Cryptoback in WXT up to 8% on the metal tier

RedotPay is the closest published comparator if you specifically need to know whether your country is on the list: it names the excluded countries (which include Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia and others) and which countries can buy a card (a separate list). You pay for the card (10.00 USD for a virtual, 100.00 USD for a physical, not refundable) and for transactions (1% for the conversion, 1.20% in non-default currency), so it is cheaper to start with Wayex if you qualify, but more expensive to run daily if non-default-currency transactions dominate your spend.

Bitpanda is the right pick if your use case is euro-priced spending from a euro-area address, you want explicit cashback on crypto (the page summary says “up to 2%”, the body says 1%, with fiat, stocks, metals and stablecoins excluded), and you are willing to live with a euro-only card. Wayex is more permissive on residence and on currencies, but pays no cashback.

Wirex is the right pick if you want a rewards-bearing Visa (or Mastercard, depending on region) and you are happy to live with a marketing-style “130+ countries” without a public full country list and with fees “subject to change”. The metal tier’s 45 GBP order fee is a one-off, and the headline WXT rewards (0.5% standard, 3% premium, up to 8% on metal) are generous if you hold WXT and pay in eligible MCCs.

In short: if Wayex’s KYC friction is not a problem for you, its global product is genuinely good value among free stablecoin-backed Visas. If knowing the country list, fee schedule and verification rules up front matters more than the zero upfront cost, RedotPay or Bitpanda publish clearer contracts.

Who I would recommend Wayex to

I would recommend Wayex to a stablecoin holder who lives in a country not under UN, FATF, EU or US sanctions, who wants a free digital Visa to spend USDC, USDT, DAI or PYUSD online and via Apple Pay or Google Pay, and who is comfortable waiting out the day-to-day fee and limit questions through support rather than from a published fee table. If your spending is mostly USD-denominated, the effective cost after the network fee on your deposit is close to zero, and that is genuinely hard to beat in this category.

I would not recommend Wayex to someone who needs the physical card’s global shipping price stated up front, who needs a published FX mark-up before relying on the card in Europe or the UK, who intends to withdraw cash abroad from ATMs, who values predictable cashback on every purchase, or who lives in or holds citizenship of one of the countries the Wayex terms exclude by sanctions. For those use cases, Bitpanda or Wirex will probably serve you better, even at a higher nominal cost.

Before you sign up, do these three things in this order: verify in the app that your country is on the live issuance list (do not trust the website’s “18+ regions” claim on its own); ask support for the FX mark-up, physical-card cost and ATM behaviour for your specific region; and do a small test top-up with USDC on the cheapest of the supported networks before committing a larger balance.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Wayex card?

The Wayex card is a Visa debit card whose balance is held in USDB, a token pegged 1:1 to the US dollar. The card is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence, with Bridge Ventures LLC as the programme manager and Wayex itself as the platform provider. It is designed for spending stablecoins and fiat through a familiar Visa rails experience.

How does the Wayex card work?

You top up a USDB balance with stablecoins (DAI, USDT, USDC, PYUSD) on one of the supported blockchains, or with fiat in USD, EUR and other currencies. When you pay, the card debits that balance; if the merchant charges a non-USD currency, the network converts the amount and charges your USDB. Daily spending is meant to be done with the free digital card or via Apple Pay or Google Pay.

Is Wayex a bank?

No. Wayex is explicitly described as a platform provider and “not a bank”. The card itself is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa licence, with Bridge Ventures LLC as the programme manager. Customer funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme in the way a normal current account would be.

Who owns Wayex?

Public ownership information is not stated on the pages I read. Wayex operates the platform, the card programme is managed by Bridge Ventures LLC, and the issuing bank is Lead Bank. If ownership matters for your decision (for example for AML due diligence), ask support for the legal entity behind the platform before you deposit.

Is the Wayex card available in my country?

Wayex says “18+ regions” are live, but the site does not list them. App availability in 160+ countries is marketing, not a guarantee of card issuance. Terms exclude anyone in, or a citizen or resident of, a country sanctioned by the UN, FATF, EU or US. Confirmation is available only via Wayex app or support.

How do I get a Wayex card?

Download the Wayex app on iOS or Android, create an account, complete KYC (Wayex advertises a two-minute flow), and order the digital card from inside the app. The physical card is offered “where supported”; for the global product the price and shipping time are not stated, while the Australian product quotes AUD 14.99 for issue and delivery.

Does Wayex require KYC?

Yes. KYC is required to activate the card. Wayex markets a process that can be completed in as little as two minutes, but the documents you need and the verification tiers are not detailed on the public pages. The terms reserve the right to keep the card restricted or to refuse service to applicants from sanctioned jurisdictions regardless of physical location.

Can I add Wayex to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Yes. Wayex supports both Apple Pay and Google Pay. Adding the card tokenises it onto your phone so the real card number is never shared with merchants, and contactless payments are authorised with a one-time dynamic security code.

How do I top up my Wayex card?

Send DAI, USDT, USDC or PYUSD to the deposit address shown in the app, on one of the 10+ blockchains Wayex supports (the specific networks are not all named publicly), or deposit fiat in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN or BRL through the supported rails. Crypto deposits are free from Wayex’s side; you still pay network or gas fees, and the minimum top-up depends on the network you choose.

How do I withdraw cash from Wayex?

The global card does not publish an ATM withdrawal fee, limit or supported-country list on its main pages. For the Australian product, ATM withdrawals are Australia-only, capped at AUD 1,000 per day, with no Wayex fee but normal ATM operator fees, and overseas ATMs are not supported. If ATM access matters for the global card, ask support before relying on it.

Is the Wayex card safe?

There are no public reports of funds being stolen from Wayex itself. The card uses standard Visa rails with 3-D Secure (Visa Secure) and tokenised mobile-wallet support, and the company publishes 24/7 monitoring and instant card controls. The structural risks are programme-manager or issuer change (the FTX and WaveCrest precedents), arbitration in Panama City for disputes, and the fact that customer funds are not bank deposits.

Is the Wayex card worth it?

For a stablecoin holder in a non-sanctioned jurisdiction who mostly spends in dollars, the free digital card and zero advertised USD fee are competitive. If you need a physical card with published shipping, non-USD FX transparency, ATM access abroad, or a cashback rate, another card will fit your needs better.

Created by the ”Crypto Card Rating” editorial team.

Bit2Me card review — costs, limits, and who actually gets one
Bit2Me card review — costs, limits, and who actually gets one

A hands-on Bit2Me card review covering fees, top-up options, country availability, Mastercard cashback tiers, and…

Xapo Bank card review: who it is really for
Xapo Bank card review: who it is really for

An honest look at the Xapo Bank card: a $1,000-a-year membership, Gibraltar licence, USD deposit…

PayPilot card review: a euro-balance Visa with a thin public footprint
PayPilot card review: a euro-balance Visa with a thin public footprint

An independent review of the PayPilot card: who can get it, what it costs to…

Bitpanda Card Review: What It Costs and Who Can Get One
Bitpanda Card Review: What It Costs and Who Can Get One

A hands-on review of the Bitpanda card: who can order it, what it really costs,…

Kontigo card review: a USDC card with a lot left unsaid
Kontigo card review: a USDC card with a lot left unsaid

I checked what Kontigo publishes about its USDC card: who gets it, what it costs,…