PayPilot card review: who it suits, what it costs, and where the gaps are

When I started digging into PayPilot, the first thing I noticed was not what the site says about itself but what it does not say. PayPilot sells itself as a Visa card you top up with crypto or euro and spend everywhere Visa works, with zero issuance and zero monthly fees. Headline numbers like that tend to be right, but they also tend to hide the small print. So this review walks through who the card is actually built for, what each payment really costs, what the issuer reveals and what it does not, and where I would — and would not — recommend it.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
PayPilot works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

PayPilot stands out on conversion: 0.4% to turn crypto into euros inside the wallet, and no commission at all on euro-balance payments. The product sits inside a regulated wrapper: Walletto UAB, a Lithuanian electronic money institution, is listed as the card issuer in PayPilot’s own card terms. That licence detail matters because it sets the rules on identity checks, sanctions screens and reclaim of balances if something goes wrong. What PayPilot’s website does not spell out, in plain language, is which countries it serves, what its exchange-rate markup looks like in foreign currencies, how much cash you can pull from an ATM, and how a dispute actually plays out.

This review is current as of 2026-10-20 and draws only on PayPilot’s own pages, the card terms PDF and a handful of secondary sources for background. Where the company’s pages leave a question open, I say so plainly. Where a number comes from a third party rather than PayPilot, I say so too.

Data current as of 21 October 2026 (verified against Walletto UAB licence registry, Bank of Lithuania).

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict
  2. Will they give you the card
  3. How to get it
  4. Fees and what a payment really costs
  5. Top up
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict

I scored PayPilot 7.4 out of 10. The card is cheap to set up, it converts crypto at a low flat rate, it works as a Visa in shops and online, and the issuer’s licence is verifiable in a public document. Where it loses marks is openness: there is no public country list, no published foreign-exchange markup, no tier system, no cashback, no rewards catalogue, and the app-store ratings were not readable at the time of writing. None of those gaps makes the card unsafe on its face, but each one is a thing I would want answered before I loaded it with any meaningful balance.

Criterion Mark Why it scored that way
Who can get it 5 / 10 Availability depends on country of residence and local rules; no region list is published
Cost 9 / 10 Zero issuance and zero monthly cost; euro-balance payments free; crypto-to-euro 0.4%; FX fee unpublished
Top-up options 6 / 10 BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR accepted; supported networks are not specified
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Lithuanian electronic money licence (No 33, 29 March 2018); no specific complaints found
Everyday use 9 / 10 Visa, mobile wallets supported, ATM cash withdrawals possible
Total 7.4 / 10

PayPilot suits a euro-area reader who already holds crypto, wants to turn it into euros cheaply, and is happy to live with a thin support page in exchange for low fixed costs. It does not suit readers who need a clear-cut country policy, who want a tiered rewards structure, or who depend on mobile-wallet reviews and ratings to choose their apps. If you are picking a card because you can no longer use a Russian-issued Visa or Mastercard abroad, PayPilot is one option to compare against a longer list — not a default.

Will they give you the card

PayPilot’s card page is unusually short on this point. The site says the card is available only “depending on your country of residence and local regulations”, and that “supported regions” are not listed in one place for users to check before signing up. The rule is by residence — citizenship is not mentioned in the eligibility text on the card page, and the company did not publish a statement covering Russian or Belarusian citizens or residents.

The issuer’s identity-check section tells a similar story. Identity verification is a one-time step before card creation, but the page does not list which documents you need, what counts as proof of address, or whether a minimum age is enforced. The terms say verification is performed “once”, that the issuer may re-verify at any time and ask for more documents, and that the platform uses two named KYC partners — KycAid and Ondato — without spelling out what those partners actually verify.

Practically, what that means for you:

The card is listed as a Visa for online and in-store use, with a euro balance that the card spends from. PayPilot does not publish a list of supported merchant categories that the card declines by default, and it does not publish the contents of any “blocked categories” policy. Where you can and cannot swipe is something you will find out at the terminal, not on the website.

How to get it

There are three steps on PayPilot’s own walkthrough: register an account, complete a one-time “quick identity verification”, then create the card. The card-issuing document (the card terms PDF) is dated May 2024 and lets the issuer offer both a virtual card (usable immediately) and a physical card sent by post (which has to be activated). The card page does not state which countries the physical card is delivered to, how long delivery takes, or how much postage adds to the issuance fee. The separate issuer-pricing page (walletto.eu/pricing/) is referenced from the card terms as the source of postal costs; I am quoting it only as PayPilot’s own reference, not as a number I have verified at the bedside.

Things to keep in mind while you sign up:

Fees and what a payment really costs

The headline is generous on its own terms: 0 EUR to issue, 0 EUR a month to keep. Euro-balance payments carry no commission, and the conversion fee from crypto to euros inside the wallet is a flat 0.4%. That is the central number to anchor on. What PayPilot does not publish is the foreign-exchange markup that Visa applies when a merchant settles in a non-euro currency; the card terms say exchange fees are specified in the payment-account agreement and based on Visa or Mastercard published rates at the time of exchange, but the percentage is not on the website.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a PayPilot payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit PayPilot’s published number
Card issuance 0 EUR
Monthly account/card fee 0 EUR
Crypto-to-euro conversion (inside the wallet) 0.4%
Payment from euro balance No commission
Foreign-exchange fee when paying in another currency Not stated
ATM cash withdrawal fee Not stated; cash withdrawals are possible
ATM allowance Not stated
Daily payment limit Not stated
Weekly payment limit Not stated
Monthly payment limit Not stated
Cashback or rewards Not stated
Tiered cards (Standard / Plus / Metal) Not stated — one card only

The everyday scenarios below show what the published numbers do to a real payment, and where the unknown FX fee could change the answer.

A coffee in Berlin. You hold euros in the wallet, the merchant settles in euros, and the card pays from the euro balance. PayPilot’s commission on this payment is 0 EUR, and you only see Visa’s interchange (which the merchant pays, not you). This is the cleanest version of a PayPilot spend.

A hotel booking in New York. Your euro balance gets converted to dollars at the card network’s published rate at the time of authorisation, plus a PayPilot foreign-exchange fee that the company has not disclosed. With a 0% FX markup your effective all-in cost is the 0.4% you already paid when you turned crypto into euros. Until PayPilot publishes the number, this is the gap I would warn anyone about.

A top-up converted to euros, then spent at a Paris café. The 0.4% conversion fee on the top-up applies, and the café payment then has no commission on top. Add a buffer for the network spread between the crypto asset and the euro you actually receive, and the round-trip cost is effectively the conversion fee plus the network spread.

A 200 EUR cash withdrawal from a foreign ATM. PayPilot’s ATM fee is not disclosed. Visa’s ATM acquirer may add a fixed fee; the issuer may add a percentage; the ATM may add its own surcharge. With nothing published, this is the line item I would test with a small cash withdrawal before relying on the card abroad.

If you only ever spend the euro balance inside the euro area, PayPilot is genuinely cheap. The moment you cross a currency border, the missing FX number starts to dominate the cost — and right now it lives in the card terms, not on a fee schedule.

Top up

The FAQ on the card page lists four assets you can fund the card with: BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR. PayPilot does not publish which blockchains or token standards those assets arrive on, so the practical question — “do I send my USDT on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon or somewhere else?” — is answered by the deposit screen in the app, not by the website. Crypto you send gets converted into euros at 0.4%, and the card then spends from that euro balance. EUR top-ups go straight to the euro balance; PayPilot has not published a fee on that path, but the absence of a fee there does not necessarily mean the cost is zero.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up PayPilot starts with a transfer to the right network

Minimum top-up and EUR deposit fees are not stated on PayPilot’s pages. The card terms do not cap top-ups in writing, but they reserve the right to set daily, weekly and monthly maximum payment amounts at the issuer’s discretion — that cap can change between account opening and large top-ups.

What that means for you:

Off-ramp — getting money back out — works the other way around. PayPilot says you can sell crypto for euros and withdraw to an IBAN, subject to limits and compliance checks. If the payment account is closed, the card becomes invalid; the terms do not state whether the balance is returned automatically or what the process is. Treat that path as functional but not formally guaranteed.

Paying with it every day

The card is a Visa, and the FAQ says you can link it to Apple Pay or Google Pay. Mobile-wallet support is one of the quality-of-life features that decide whether a card feels modern or stuck in 2018. The app is published on the Apple App Store and on Google Play (org.paypilot.app). The store ratings could not be read at the time of writing — that gap is real, not editorial caution.

There are no published cashback tiers, no points, no staking yields and no reward programme. The card terms and the card page do not mention a sign-up bonus, a spending tier or an annual perk. What you see is what you get: a euro-balance Visa with mobile-wallet support and an ATM function.

Disputes and refunds are the area most likely to surprise a first-time user. The card terms say that once a payment has been made with the card’s credentials it is “deemed authorised” by the holder, with no entitlement to a refund unless the payee agrees. A chargeback procedure and its time frames are not stated. In practice, that means:

What can go wrong

I could not find any PayPilot-specific complaints on Trustpilot, Reddit or in news searches, and I did not find any official incident tied to the brand. That is a positive signal but a soft one — absence of complaints is not the same as a clean operational record, especially for a brand that does not publish much about itself.

Who actually runs PayPilot, and who actually issues the card, is worth keeping straight. The platform’s footer says development is by Pilot Innovation Sp. z o.o., that financial services are provided by Nexora Fintech Limited “where applicable”, and that the card terms cover Walletto UAB (the card issuer, in Vilnius, Lithuania). Walletto UAB holds electronic money institution licence No 33 from the Bank of Lithuania, dated 29 March 2018. The card page does not name a regulator on its own; the licence lives in the terms PDF, which is one click further than most users will go.

Security claims on the homepage — AES-256 encryption, PCI-DSS, ISO 27001, cold-wallet storage, two-factor authentication and an audit reserve — are the standard set for this category. The custody model (who holds the private keys, whether balances are segregated, what happens in an insolvency) is not stated in the same document. In practical terms, when you deposit crypto into PayPilot, you are trusting the issuer with your funds until you spend them. Electronic money institutions are required to safeguard customer funds in segregated accounts or by insurance, but those funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit-guarantee schemes.

Support runs through email ([email protected]) and a “Write to us” form, plus social channels on X, Telegram, Instagram, Facebook and LinkedIn. The interface is published in English, Polish, Russian and Ukrainian; the support language is not stated. Live-chat hours, phone support and a documented response window are not published — another gap that would matter if you needed urgent help.

A few real-world failure modes I would think about before loading the card with any large balance:

What to take instead

PayPilot is not alone in this category, and the alternatives below are not interchangeable. RedotPay, Bitpanda and Wirex each fix one of PayPilot’s gaps while introducing their own. I have kept the comparison to facts published on those products’ own pages, not third-party reviews.

Card Score Where it suits you better Where it is a worse fit than PayPilot
RedotPay 6.9 / 10 Public country lists (KYC and card-issuance restrictions published separately); two card currencies (USD and HKD) Pricier: virtual 10 USD, physical 100 USD; transaction fee 1.00%; non-default currency 1.20%; some merchants 1.5%
Bitpanda 6.5 / 10 Euro-area residency gives a clean rule; 1% (or “up to 2%”) cashback on crypto spending Physical Visa only, EUR only, reissue 5.90 EUR; FX applied via Visa mark-up, not a flat rate
Wirex 6.7 / 10 Worldwide footprint and a published Cryptoback programme (0.5% to 8% in WXT) Country list page not accessible; metal card 45 GBP in the UK; FX fee not specified

If PayPilot’s gap on country eligibility is the blocker, RedotPay is the clearest alternative — it publishes both a KYC-excluded list and a card-issuance exclusion list, dated and searchable, which is more transparency than PayPilot currently offers. If you live in a euro-area country and would prefer a card with a published cashback programme, Bitpanda’s 1% (or “up to 2%”) rate on crypto spending is the cleanest option, with the trade-off that the FX mark-up (rather than PayPilot’s flat 0.4% conversion) is your main cost. If you want the broadest international reach and a published rewards programme, Wirex is the strongest alternative, but the missing country list and FX disclosure on its own pages make it harder to compare like-for-like.

A note for Russian-speaking readers specifically. PayPilot’s published rule is by country of residence; the page does not list Russia or Belarus as excluded, but it does not list them as supported either, and the issuer can refuse the application at the verification stage. Where you live is what counts. If you live in an EU or EEA country, the issuer’s Lithuanian licence covers the card programme; if you live outside that list, the answer depends on local rules and the issuer’s risk appetite, not on your passport. The same logic applies to citizens of Belarus, Ukraine and any other country: residence first, citizenship last.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend PayPilot to a euro-area reader who already holds BTC, ETH or USDT, intends to spend mostly inside the euro area, and is comfortable with a thin public fee schedule in exchange for a low flat conversion cost. The combination of zero issuance, zero monthly cost and a 0.4% crypto-to-euro conversion is genuinely competitive, and the issuer’s Lithuanian electronic money licence is on the public record.

I would not recommend it to a reader who needs certainty about which countries are supported before they sign up, who plans significant non-euro spending without a published FX rate, who relies on cashback or rewards to choose between cards, or who needs a clearly documented chargeback procedure. For each of those readers, one of the alternatives above is a better fit.

Above all, I would recommend that any prospective user — whatever their situation — open the app, walk through the deposit screen, screenshot the accepted network for each asset they plan to send, and read the card terms PDF before they commit more than a small test balance. PayPilot is a clean product for the use case it is built for, but the use case is narrower than the homepage suggests.

Frequently asked questions

What is the PayPilot card?

The PayPilot card is a Visa debit card issued by Walletto UAB, a Lithuanian electronic money institution. It is funded with BTC, ETH, USDT or EUR and spends from a euro balance. Conversions inside the wallet are charged at 0.4%, and euro-balance payments carry no PayPilot commission.

How does PayPilot work?

You register on PayPilot, complete a one-time identity verification, and create the card. You fund it by sending crypto to the deposit address shown in the app, or by sending EUR to the linked payment account. Inside the wallet, crypto is converted to euros at 0.4%; the card then spends those euros wherever Visa is accepted.

Is PayPilot a bank?

No. PayPilot describes itself as a payment platform, and the card is issued by Walletto UAB under an electronic money institution licence from the Bank of Lithuania. Electronic money institutions are regulated, but their funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit-guarantee schemes.

Who owns PayPilot?

The site’s footer says the platform is developed by Pilot Innovation Sp. z o.o. and that financial services are provided by Nexora Fintech Limited “where applicable”. The card programme itself sits with Walletto UAB, the Lithuanian e-money institution named in the card terms.

Is the PayPilot card available in my country?

PayPilot does not publish a country list. The card page says availability “depends on your country of residence and local regulations”. The most reliable test is to register, start identity verification and see whether the issuer accepts your documents — but you should be prepared for a rejection at that stage if you live outside the issuer’s accepted regions.

Does PayPilot require identity verification?

Yes, once, before you create the card. The terms name KycAid and Ondato as the platform’s KYC partners and let the issuer re-verify at any time and request more documents. PayPilot does not publish the documents required, the minimum age, or the precise verification level.

How do I top up the PayPilot card?

Open the app, pick the asset (BTC, ETH, USDT or EUR), and use the deposit address shown in the deposit screen. Crypto is converted to euros at 0.4%, and the euro balance is what the card spends. PayPilot does not publish the supported networks for each asset, so the deposit screen is the source of truth.

How do I add the PayPilot card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

The card FAQ confirms Apple Pay and Google Pay support. Add the card through the wallet app on your phone, either by typing in the card details or by using the in-app “add to wallet” flow if PayPilot offers one. If the wallet refuses the card, the most common cause is a regional block by the wallet provider rather than PayPilot itself.

Is the PayPilot card safe?

PayPilot publishes standard security claims (AES-256, PCI-DSS, ISO 27001, 2FA, cold-wallet storage, audit reserve) and the card issuer holds a Lithuanian electronic money licence. The custody model, the segregation of customer funds and the chargeback procedure are not fully spelled out, so the safety picture is positive but not as detailed as on some competing products.

Is the PayPilot card worth it in 2026?

For a euro-area reader who wants to convert crypto to a euro-balance Visa cheaply, it is a reasonable pick, with the caveats above. For readers who need a published country list, a transparent FX markup or a tiered rewards structure, the alternatives in the comparison section will be a better fit.

Written by the editors at Crypto Card Rating.

SharPay card review: what it costs and who it suits
SharPay card review: what it costs and who it suits

An independent look at the SharPay card: eligibility, fees, top-ups, company structure and the honest…

El Dorado card review: a USD Visa funded by USDT, but only in 11 countries
El Dorado card review: a USD Visa funded by USDT, but only in 11 countries

An honest El Dorado card review covering fees, limits, countries, KYC, and how it compares…

Bitsa card review: a prepaid Visa with a crypto habit
Bitsa card review: a prepaid Visa with a crypto habit

I checked Bitsa's fees, limits, eligibility and complaint record. Here is who the card suits,…

Kite Card Review: Free Visa, Asia-Only, No Cash Yet
Kite Card Review: Free Visa, Asia-Only, No Cash Yet

An honest look at Kite's free virtual Visa card: who can get it, what it…

Fiwind card review — a virtual Mastercard built around Argentine pesos and crypto
Fiwind card review — a virtual Mastercard built around Argentine pesos and crypto

An independent Fiwind card review covering eligibility, fees, top-up networks, daily use and risks, with…