Keytom card review
Keytom is a payment card that lets you spend a USDC balance through a Visa number. On paper it looks like a clean fit for anyone who already holds USDC and wants a card rather than another exchange withdrawal: a virtual card is free, the wallet app is straightforward, and the card works with Google Pay and PayPal. Beneath that clean surface, the card has real limits. Issuing the physical card costs 50 USDC, the monthly fee is 10 USDC per card, and the conversion fee climbs to 2.35% on any payment that is not in US dollars. The Customer Acceptance Policy excludes a long list of jurisdictions including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda and Iran, and the country list on which 150+ people can actually use it is narrower than the marketing claim suggests.
Current as of 21 October 2026 (checked against Keytom card page, third-party trackers, and official policies).

I looked at the card page, the published fees, the company filings and what users are reporting on Trustpilot as of 2026. This review walks through who Keytom is for, what it really costs to keep and use, how the top-up flow works in practice, where the card is most useful day to day, where it has gone wrong for users, and what to look at if Keytom is not the right fit. The conditions below are current as of 2026-10-20.
Verdict
Keytom earns 6.0 out of 10. It is a USDC-funded Visa with a clear value proposition for one specific reader: someone who already holds USDC, lives in an eligible country, and is happy to convert stablecoins to a USD card balance for everyday Visa spending. For that reader it is a competent, low-friction option with reasonable customer feedback on Trustpilot. For anyone else — non-USDC holders, anyone who needs Apple Pay, anyone transacting heavily in non-USD currencies, or any Russian, Belarusian, Ukrainian or Serbian resident — the cost-benefit calculus shifts against Keytom pretty quickly.
The card’s strengths: virtual issuance is free, the physical card is a standard Visa contactless, the app runs on iOS and Android, and Google Pay and PayPal are supported. The weaknesses: 10 USDC monthly fee per card, 2.35% on non-USD spending versus 1% on USD, a one-off 50 USDC for the physical card, no Apple Pay yet, no cashback or perks tier, and an exclusion list that rules out a meaningful chunk of the global audience including all Russian, Belarusian, Ukrainian and Serbian residents.
Score breakdown
| Criterion | Score | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | “150+ countries” claimed, but with a meaningful exclusion list |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | Monthly fee, physical issue fee and a high non-USD conversion rate |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Spends USDC balance, but the network details and fees are not stated |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Canadian MSB, but issuing bank unnamed; complaints cluster around a referral programme and high fees |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Google Pay and PayPal support, ATM access |
| Total | 6.0 / 10 |
Who will they give you the card
Keytom says the card is available to residents of “150+ countries”. The larger reality sits in the Customer Acceptance Policy, dated 25 July 2026 per a third-party tracker, which lists prohibited jurisdictions and keeps them out: Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda and Iran are named, among others. The rule reaches beyond current residence. Clients with direct or indirect links to those places — including ultimate beneficial owners who reside there or hold citizenship there — cannot be onboarded. Place of birth or former citizenship alone is not disqualifying, but if you hold a residence permit or citizenship in an eligible jurisdiction the policy still calls for enhanced due diligence on the prohibited-jurisdiction connection.
The country rules matter for Russian-speaking readers in three different situations, and it is worth being explicit about each. A person living in Russia is in a prohibited jurisdiction and is excluded from onboarding under the Customer Acceptance Policy. A Russian citizen living in another CIS country faces a more nuanced path: if the country of residence is itself on the prohibited list (Belarus, Ukraine and Serbia are), the resident block applies in full; if the country of residence is eligible (Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE are not on the list), the application can proceed but the citizenship connection means enhanced due diligence and a real chance of refusal. A Russian citizen living in a non-CIS country falls into the same enhanced-due-diligence box — eligible in principle, scrutinised in practice, refused where the connection cannot be unwound.
For readers who are resident in a non-prohibited jurisdiction, the practical reading is this: the card is reachable but not guaranteed, and onboarding time will likely include document requests beyond the standard set. If your funding source is itself a domiciled account in a restricted area, the screening on the funding side will be a separate and additional hurdle. The safest approach is to assume the application will be looked at carefully and to prepare proof of foreign residence, valid ID, and a non-restricted funding path, before expecting an outcome.
That distinction matters in three concrete ways. First, a Russian citizen living in, say, the United Arab Emirates or Georgia is not automatically excluded, but the application will draw closer scrutiny and may be refused. Second, a Russian resident currently in Russia is excluded outright. Third, the same logic applies to Belarusian, Ukrainian and Serbian residents — being present in those countries at signup will block the account. The Customer Acceptance Policy is written for corporate clients, but the underlying country restrictions apply to individuals as well.
The card page does not say “KYC” anywhere, which is unusual for this category. The published language talks about 2FA, transaction monitoring and AML controls, with the AML Policy allowing Keytom to ask for further verification on individual cases. Documents that may be requested at onboarding — passport, national ID or residence permit, a selfie or liveness check, proof of address, source-of-funds evidence — are stated by a third-party tracker (cryptocardhub, August 2026), so these are treated as unofficial and not confirmed by the card.
There is no published age threshold on the card page; the third-party tracker says 18+. The processing time for a verification decision is not stated, nor are the official rejection reasons. If you live in an eligible country, hold a clean document set and are not a citizen or resident of any prohibited jurisdiction, you should expect a standard onboarding path. If any of those conditions is murky, you should expect questions, additional documents and a real chance of refusal.
The geographic reach matters in another way. Keytom is regulated in Canada as a Money Services Business, not as a bank or e-money institution, and the card-issuing bank is not named on the public pages. That means the cardholder agreement you sign in the app is with an entity you do not see on the marketing surface. For readers used to cards that publish the issuer prominently — the sort of transparency European EMI cards typically provide under PSD2 — Keytom’s disclosure is thinner than expected and is worth resolving with support before you load meaningful funds.
How to get it
The signup path is the usual crypto-card shape: download the iOS or Android app, create an account, complete whatever checks Keytom runs, and order a card. The card itself is a Visa in two flavours — virtual and physical — denominated in US dollars only. The card page does not let you change the currency. Validity runs up to five years. Each account can hold one virtual and one physical card at a time, and both are contactless where the terminal supports it.
Although the technical arrangement is a credit BIN, the card spends your own USDC balance rather than a credit line. In practice that means there is no credit check, no statement balance and no interest — it behaves like a prepaid card from your side, even though it carries a credit BIN underneath.
The physical card ships in about 14 days and costs 50 USDC. Keytom does not list which countries it ships to, and the FAQ says only that issuance, delivery and payments “may be limited or unavailable in some jurisdictions”. The replacement cost for a lost or damaged card is not stated.
On verification depth, Keytom publishes no tiers. The card page says the company “may sometimes ask about a transaction” and request verification for unusual activity, but there is no stated processing time and no published list of rejection reasons. The two-factor authentication is a login safeguard; identity verification is handled case by case.
Ordering the card in the app has been available since June 2026 per a third-party tracker. The card page does not say how long the whole process takes from account creation to a working card, and it does not publish service-level commitments, so plan around a few business days of buffer rather than any guaranteed window.
Fees: what it really costs
The costs table is where Keytom looks most expensive in this category. The virtual card is free to issue, but every other line item — physical delivery, monthly fee, conversion, ATM, foreign currency — carries a percentage or fixed charge that adds up fast at any meaningful spend.

The biggest single line is the 10 USDC monthly fee per card. If you hold both a virtual and a physical card the monthly charge is 20 USDC. The fee is debited only when the balance covers it, which avoids a negative balance but also means a low-balance account can accrue months without the fee being collected. Card payments in US dollars are charged at 1% with a 0.66 USDC minimum; payments in any other currency are charged at 2.35% with the same minimum. The crypto-to-USD conversion uses a weighted average of the top five exchanges, per the FAQ — a sensible choice for a stablecoin-priced balance, but one that does mean your rate is whatever those venues average on the day.
ATM withdrawals are available only with the physical card. The fee is 2% on USD cash withdrawals (3.35% on other currencies), again with a 0.66 USDC minimum. Per-operator ATM surcharges apply on top. There is no top-up fee listed on the card page, no cashback programme and no reward tier.
Costs at a glance
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issue | Free |
| Physical card delivery | 50 USDC |
| Monthly fee per card | 10 USDC |
| Monthly fee with both cards | 20 USDC |
| Payment fee in USD | 1% (min 0.66 USDC) |
| Payment fee in non-USD | 2.35% (min 0.66 USDC) |
| ATM fee in USD | 2% (min 0.66 USDC) |
| ATM fee in non-USD | 3.35% (min 0.66 USDC) |
| ATM daily limit | USD 3,000 |
| ATM monthly limit | USD 10,000 |
| ATM withdrawals per day | 3 |
| ATM withdrawals per month | 30 |
| ATM withdrawals per year | USD 100,000 |
| Soft transaction limit | ~USD 150,000 per transaction |
| Cashback or rewards | None stated |
To translate the table into real spending, here are three examples.
A monthly subscription billed in USD incurs a 1% fee on each payment. Because the monthly card fee is 10 USDC (or 20 USDC with both cards), the all-in cost for keeping and using the card depends heavily on your usage volume: the more you spend, the less the fixed monthly fee dominates your total cost. A card used only for small, infrequent purchases will have a high effective cost relative to the spend, while a higher-volume user will see the fixed fee amortized over larger amounts. Always factor the 10 USDC monthly fee into your expected usage, as it applies regardless of whether the card is used for a subscription or a one-off payment.
A purchase in a non-USD currency incurs the 2.35% non-USD fee. On top of the transaction amount, you should account for the bank or card wholesale FX margin within the Keytom conversion flow. Paying for large non-USD purchases with a USDC-funded card is generally less efficient than using a card native to that currency, as you face both the conversion fee and the FX margin in each transaction.
An ATM withdrawal incurs the 2% fee (or 3.35% for non-USD currencies), plus any applicable operator surcharge. These fees are charged on top of the withdrawal amount, and the operator’s own FX margin (if applicable) can add further cost, making ATM usage one of the more expensive ways to access funds on this card. Compare these costs against alternative ways to withdraw if minimizing fees is a priority.
Top up: how to add USDC and fund the card
Keytom spends from a USDC balance, and there are three ways to get USDC onto the card. You can fund by card through Visa Direct, send USDC directly to a Keytom address, or convert euros or other crypto held inside Keytom into USDC. No top-up fee is listed on the card page, so the funding itself is free on Keytom’s side; what costs money is the network and FX layer underneath.

The networking detail is the part I cannot confirm from Keytom’s own pages. The card page does not state which blockchains the direct USDC top-up accepts. USDC has been natively issued across more than three dozen networks since 2018, and Circle has retired support on some of them over time, so the choice of network has real consequences — sending USDC on a chain Keytom does not support can mean a stuck deposit that may need manual recovery with no guarantee. The safest path on a card page this quiet on networks is to fund through Visa Direct from a card you already trust, accept whatever FX that path charges, and only use direct USDC once you have confirmed the supported networks with support.
The minimum top-up amount is not stated. The network-fee payer is not stated. Conversion of euros or crypto already held inside Keytom to USDC goes through Keytom’s exchange; the spread is not published. A third-party tracker (cryptocardhub, August 2026) lists a SEPA in/out cost on a personal account of 0.5% + EUR 0.25 to receive and 1% + EUR 0.25 to send, and a EUR-to-crypto conversion fee of 1.5%, but those are unofficial figures and not on Keytom’s own card page. For crypto withdrawals the same third party lists 0.1% plus the network fee, again unofficial.
A practical way to think of funding: the card’s natural currency is USDC, the natural network is whichever one Keytom lists when you tap “deposit”, and the natural onboarding for anyone who already holds euros or stablecoins on a brokerage is the in-app conversion rather than a card top-up. If you fund from a bank card through Visa Direct you accept whatever card-side fee your bank charges plus any FX margin the scheme applies; if you fund in USDC directly you accept only the blockchain fee and whatever minimum the card enforces. If you fund from euros held at Keytom you pay the in-app conversion spread.
There is no published withdrawal path for the card balance to a bank account or to a private crypto wallet. The card’s “out” side is therefore the ATM up to USD 3,000 a day and USD 10,000 a month. A Deletion Policy is linked from the site, but its contents are not summarised on the card page and I have not read the full text.
Paying with it every day
The card is a normal Visa on the merchant side. Anything that takes Visa will take Keytom, with two carve-outs: contactless fuel-pump transactions are not supported, gambling merchants are not supported, and a handful of platforms block in-game purchases even where the merchant category is otherwise allowed. Beyond those carve-outs, online checkout, in-store contactless, subscriptions and most in-app purchases work the way they do on any other Visa.
The card’s standing with merchant category codes is the practical layer here. Most crypto-funded cards in this category block a similar set of MCCs — gambling, fuel pumps, sometimes quasi-cash merchants — and the blocks are issuer policy rather than law. What that means in practice is that a small minority of merchants will reject the card not because of who issued it but because of what kind of purchase is being attempted. If a subscription you want to pay is on a blocked MCC, no amount of funding the card higher will unblock it. Worth checking the merchant’s category before relying on the card for a recurring bill.
Mobile wallet support is the practical difference for daily use. Google Pay works on the virtual card, and the virtual card can be added to PayPal. Apple Pay is, per the FAQ, “not available yet”, and an October 2026 Trustpilot reply from the company confirms the team is working on bringing it back, implying earlier availability. If your phone is an iPhone and your wallet is Apple Pay, this card will not replace it for in-store contactless until Apple Pay is restored.
Refunds go through the merchant, usually inside 2 to 15 days. The fee on the original payment is not returned, so a refund can come back slightly lower than the amount you were originally charged. There is no extra refund fee from Keytom’s side. Authorisation holds — the temporary block a hotel or airline places while it checks your card — can stay on the balance for up to 30 days. That hold is real money you cannot spend while it sits, and a reader who funds the card tightly around a planned trip can find the balance temporarily short when the hold lingers. Chargebacks are not mentioned on the card page, which is a real gap. If you need a clear chargeback path for a disputed purchase, ask support before you rely on it.
The card’s standing with online checkout is mostly a question of where the BIN lands. Foreign-issued cards routinely face Address Verification Service issues at US and Canadian merchants, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright based on the BIN lookup rather than on a flagged transaction. A reader who plans to use the card heavily with US-only merchants should expect some friction regardless of balance. Within Europe and in most non-US online stores the card behaves like any other Visa.
There is no cashback, points programme or spending tier. The card is meant to spend USDC, not to layer rewards on top of that spend. A third-party tracker confirms this: no cashback or purchase rewards are advertised. If your existing card gives 1% back on a category you spend heavily in, the Keytom economics are net negative unless the funding side — selling USDC to top up the card — is materially cheaper for you than your alternative.
For limits: the published soft cap is around USD 150,000 per transaction. There is no fixed cap on the number of transactions or on monthly spend stated on the card page; the only fixed caps are the ATM ones. Cash, by contrast, is gated hard: three ATM withdrawals a day, thirty a month, USD 100,000 a year.
Two practical patterns are worth flagging. First, the card behaves like a prepaid card from the user’s side — you load USDC, you spend it down, you cannot overdraw — but the technical arrangement underneath is a credit BIN, so a small minority of merchant systems that gate on “credit” will accept it where a debit-only card would be declined. Second, the currency-conversion cost is paid every time the card settles a non-USD transaction, and that cost is built into the 2.35% fee rather than appearing as a separate wholesale FX margin. The visible fee and the actual bank-rate FX move are charged in a single percentage, which is convenient but makes it harder to compare like-for-like with a card that publishes a “no FX fee” headline and a hidden wholesale margin.
What can go wrong
The category risk on any crypto card is the same: the card is a prepaid vehicle that holds your money with a custodian, and that custodian is the counterparty for every dollar you load. Keytom sits firmly in that model. Your USDC balance is held by Keytom, not in your own wallet, and the published safeguards run in that direction: 2FA on login, AML and transaction monitoring, the option to freeze the card from the dashboard, segregated client accounts and an FAQ-level claim that crypto is “insured up to $100 million through Fireblocks”. The custodian relationship is the load-bearing risk — if Keytom has a custody or solvency event, that is your balance at risk. Segregated client accounts reduce but do not eliminate that risk: in a custodian insolvency, segregated accounts ring-fence client balances from the custodian’s creditors, but access to those balances can still be paused while an administrator is appointed.
The user-reported picture on Trustpilot, as of 2026-10-20, is a 4.3 out of 5 from 37 reviews. 81% are five-star and 14% are one-star, with the visible complaints clustering around several themes. The first is a referral reward: at least one user reports the bonus being unpaid and the account subsequently being closed; a company reply dated 12 October 2026 says rewards can be withheld where abuse is suspected. The second theme is fees and rates, with several reviewers describing the charges as high next to competing cards. The third theme is the missing Apple Pay: multiple October 2026 reviews ask when it is coming back, with the same company reply that it is being brought back. Only 10 of the 37 reviews are visible on the public listing. A small sample like 37 reviews is also statistically thin — the rating can swing materially with a handful of new posts — so the company reply pattern matters as much as the score.
The corporate picture is partial. Keytom is operated by KEYTOM SERVICES LTD, registered as a Money Services Business in Canada with FINTRAC under MSB M21788474. The card issuer is not named on the public pages, which is unusual for this category — most cards state the issuing bank or e-money institution on the back of the card and on the cardholder agreement. As a Canadian MSB, Keytom is regulated for money transmission in Canada but not by a payments regulator for card issuance, so any cardholder agreement you sign is with a different entity whose name is not surfaced on the card page. That gap is worth raising with support before relying on the card for larger balances.
A few category-level risks are worth carrying into the picture. The first is programme-level risk: Visa and Mastercard can suspend or terminate a card programme at any time, and history shows it has happened — most famously with FTX in November 2022 and with WaveCrest in Europe in 2018 — typically with a notice period, then spending stops, then the issuer asks users to withdraw remaining balances. Keytom’s programme is small and is issued through an unnamed partner, so the underlying issuer’s standing with the network is a real dependency you cannot verify from the card page. The second is sanctions and BIN risk: cards issued through certain processors can be downgraded, blocked or restricted at merchants that screen BIN origin, which is more likely when the issuing entity is in a jurisdiction outside the merchant’s home country. The third is stablecoin-specific risk: USDC can deviate from its peg in stress events even briefly, which means the balance on your card can move in fiat terms at the moment the conversion happens; Keytom mitigates this by averaging across five exchanges but does not eliminate it.
Regulatory and product news to be aware of: the Customer Acceptance Policy was updated 25 July 2026. The physical card became orderable in the app in June 2026. Apple Pay was, per the company’s own reply, available earlier and is being restored. None of these are red flags on their own — programmes iterate — but they should temper any assumption that the current product has been the same product for years. Regulatory changes in the EU and the UK over 2024 to 2026 have reshaped which card programmes can serve which customers; smaller programmes can be caught out by licensing changes that larger competitors have the legal bandwidth to absorb. Keytom’s Canadian MSB registration does not by itself cover EU or UK customers, so any EU or UK servicing depends on a partner arrangement that Keytom’s marketing pages do not describe.
Customer support runs through in-app chat, the website and [email protected], during business days 5:00 to 15:00 UTC, with after-hours messages answered the next business day. The site and app appear in English only; Russian-language support is not stated. If you need to escalate a verification refusal, a missing top-up or a refund delay, expect to do it in English in that window. Withdrawals can be paused on suspicious activity under the AML Policy, which is standard but worth knowing if your funding pattern is bursty.
What to take instead
Three alternatives cover most of the ground a reader might compare Keytom against. None is a perfect replacement — that is not the point of a side-by-side — but the differences matter for the use case Keytom fits and the use cases it does not.
Alternatives at a glance
| Card | Best for | Score | Key difference from Keytom |
|---|---|---|---|
| RedotPay | Cardholders who want a HKD option or a paid Pro tier | 6.9 / 10 | Multi-currency (USD and HKD cards); a one-off USD 100 physical issuance fee but no monthly fee; cashback welcome reward |
| Bitpanda | Euro-area residents with a verified Bitpanda account | 6.5 / 10 | EUR-only card with free first shipment; assets convert to EUR at payment; 1–2% cashback on crypto spending |
| Wirex | Multi-region users who want cashback in a token | 6.7 / 10 | Cashback up to 8% in WXT for premium tiers; multiple regional fee schedules; Apple Pay availability depends on region |
RedotPay
RedotPay is the most directly comparable option. It offers virtual and physical Visa cards with a USD option and an HKD option, which gives an alternative for anyone who spends meaningfully in Hong Kong dollars. The onboarding rules are stricter than Keytom’s headline “150+ countries” claim. Two RedotPay lists overlap: a KYC list of unsupported countries and a card-issuance list (dated 28 August 2026, 47 places) where residents cannot get a card. Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and Serbia appear on both lists. The cost shape is different: USD 10 to issue a virtual card, USD 100 for a physical card that is non-refundable once paid, but no monthly fee and no inactivity fee. Transaction fees start at 1%, with a slightly higher 1.20% on non-default-currency payments and small authentication fees beyond the first five per card per month. The welcome reward is 5 USD usable on spending within 30 days; the welcome reward is not usable to cover the issuance fee.
For a reader whose eligibility block on Keytom is the deal-breaker — for example, a Russian citizen in a non-prohibited jurisdiction refused by Keytom after enhanced due diligence — RedotPay is unlikely to help because Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and Serbia are also on its lists. For a reader whose block is the 10 USDC monthly fee, the redotpay Pro tier at 12.90 USD monthly or 129 USD annually is not obviously cheaper, but the absence of a basic monthly fee at the standard tier is.
Bitpanda
Bitpanda suits euro-area residents who already have a verified Bitpanda account and want a physical Visa debit card in EUR. The first shipment is free; reissues are EUR 5.90, lost/stolen EUR 9.90, additional cards EUR 10. Non-EUR spending has a “VISA mark-up” fee on top of the FX rate, which is comparable to Keytom’s non-USD conversion but in the opposite direction. Cashback is advertised at 1% on crypto spending per the card body or up to 2% per the summary — the two figures are unreconciled and worth checking directly on the Bitpanda page — and excludes fiat, stocks, metals and stablecoins, so a USDC-funded reader would not qualify. There is no virtual card option stated. Only one active card at a time is allowed, and only euro-area residents with verified accounts can get one; Bitpanda’s own onboarding uses “Bankident”, and users verified through Bankident cannot order, which is an unusual carve-out.
A reader whose monthly spending is dominantly in euros and who already has a Bitpanda brokerage account will find the Bitpanda card a cleaner fit than Keytom on FX cost. A reader who funds from USDC specifically will not, because stablecoins are excluded from cashback and the brokerage’s funding path is asset conversion to EUR rather than a direct USDC spend.
Wirex
Wirex is the broadest of the three by region, marketed as available in 130+ countries. The tradeoff for that reach is inconsistent country support and a regional fee schedule. Standard card issuance is free in the regions it lists; a metal card adds a GBP 45 / EUR 45 order fee. The published FX positioning is aggressive — “no foreign exchange fee” — but the in-app exchange rate depends on the pair and liquidity, so the reality is similar to Keytom rather than cheaper. The cryptoback programme (WXT) is the main draw: 0.5% standard, 3% Premium, up to 8% on the metal card for Elite tier, but with a long list of ineligible MCCs that includes ATM withdrawals, gambling and several merchant categories where crypto-funded cards commonly get declined. The Singapore regional page notes that cash withdrawals “are not permitted in Singapore” and that transactions involving “Prohibited Countries” (Iran, Cuba, Syria and others) are barred.
For a Russian-speaking reader who has relocated to a Wirex-served country, Wirex’s broader regional reach is useful where Keytom’s Country Acceptance Policy forces an enhanced-due-diligence case. The cryptoback can offset some of the FX cost for high spend, but only on the eligible MCCs and not on ATM withdrawals or gambling.
If Keytom’s fit is a USDC-funded Visa for everyday use and you are in an eligible country, the comparison that matters most is between Keytom and a USD-denominated HKD-less alternative. If you spend in euros a meaningful share of the time, Bitpanda’s EUR-native card is the cleaner fit. If your priority is a rewards layer on top of spending, Wirex’s cryptoback in WXT is the closer match.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Keytom to a specific kind of reader. If you already hold USDC in a self-custody wallet or on an exchange you trust, you want a Visa rather than another wire, you live in an eligible country not on the Customer Acceptance Policy prohibition list, you do not need Apple Pay, and you are happy paying a 10 USDC monthly fee plus 1% in USD or 2.35% in other currencies for the convenience of a card, then Keytom is a reasonable choice. The combination of free virtual issuance, a relatively clean iOS and Android app, and Google Pay plus PayPal support covers the most common everyday needs.
I would steer a different way if you are in one of the following groups: a Russian, Belarusian, Ukrainian or Serbian resident, because the policy excludes you at onboarding; a non-USD-heavy spender, because the 2.35% non-USD fee is high relative to several competitors; an iPhone-first user, because Apple Pay is missing; someone who needs a cashback or points layer, because there is no published rewards programme; and anyone whose card balance would be large enough that the missing issuing-bank disclosure becomes a real risk-management question. For those readers, Wirex’s cryptoback or RedotPay’s lower monthly cost are likely a better fit.
The middle of the road: if Keytom works for you on eligibility and you are not on Apple Pay, get the virtual card for free and try it at low spend for a month before committing to the 50 USDC physical card and the recurring 10 USDC monthly fee. The Customer Acceptance Policy and the AML Policy are the documents that govern who can and cannot keep an account open — read them before you load a balance you would not want to be paused while verification is pending.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Keytom card?
The Keytom card is a Visa debit-style card that spends a USDC stablecoin balance held by Keytom. It comes in a free virtual flavour and a physical one delivered for 50 USDC; the card is denominated in US dollars only and cannot be switched to another currency.
How does the Keytom card work?
You load USDC onto the card by sending a USDC transfer, by funding through Visa Direct or by converting euros or crypto held inside Keytom into USDC. At payment the card converts USDC to the merchant’s currency where needed, applies the appropriate fee (1% in USD, 2.35% in other currencies) and spends from your USDC balance. The card cannot overdraw because there is no credit line behind it.
Is Keytom a bank?
No. Keytom is operated by KEYTOM SERVICES LTD, a Canadian Money Services Business registered with FINTRAC under MSB M21788474. The card page does not name the issuing bank, which is unusual for the category and worth clarifying with support.
Who owns Keytom?
The card operator is KEYTOM SERVICES LTD, a Canadian-registered company. Beneficial ownership and parent-company structure are not laid out on the public-facing pages, so the owner in the wider sense is not stated by Keytom itself.
Is the Keytom card available in my country?
The card page says 150+ countries, but the Customer Acceptance Policy dated 25 July 2026 prohibits Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda, Iran and others. If you are resident in any of those places you cannot onboard; if you are a citizen or beneficial owner connected to them you can also be refused.
How do I apply for the Keytom card?
You apply by downloading the iOS or Android app, creating an account, completing whatever checks Keytom runs, and ordering a virtual or physical card. The card page does not publish a verification processing time or a list of rejection reasons, so plan around a few business days and the possibility of follow-up document requests.
Does the Keytom card require KYC?
The card page does not say “KYC” by name; it mentions 2FA, transaction monitoring and AML. Identity verification is handled case by case, with the published AML Policy allowing Keytom to ask for further documentation when activity looks unusual.
How do I top up the Keytom card?
You top up by funding the USDC balance through Visa Direct from a card, by sending USDC directly, or by converting euros or other crypto held inside Keytom into USDC. The card page does not publish a minimum top-up, the supported networks for direct USDC transfers, or any top-up fee.
How do I add the Keytom card to Apple Wallet?
You cannot, currently. The FAQ states Apple Pay is “not available yet”, and an October 2026 Trustpilot reply from Keytom says the team is working on bringing it back. Google Pay works with the virtual card, and the virtual card can be added to PayPal.
Is the Keytom card safe?
The card relies on Keytom holding your USDC balance, which is the standard custodial-model risk for this category. Published safeguards include 2FA, transaction monitoring, the option to freeze the card from the dashboard, segregated client accounts and an FAQ-level claim that crypto is insured up to USD 100 million through Fireblocks. The card issuer is not named on the public pages.
Created by the ”Crypto Card Rating” editorial team.
