Busha card review: cheap to open, thin on the details that matter

The Busha card is a virtual Visa card that spends straight from a crypto wallet balance, aimed at people in Nigeria, Ghana and Kenya who want to pay online in dollars without touching a bank account. The headline economics are genuinely good: a one-off $2 to create the card, and no funding or maintenance fees. Everything around that headline is where it gets awkward. The card is virtual only, so there is no plastic and no ATM. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported. The card works in USD only, and what it charges to convert a non-dollar payment is not published. And the card issuer itself is never named on the pages I read. I scored it 4.8 out of 10, which is a low mark driven less by what the card does wrong and more by how little is written down about it.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Busha works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of 21 October 2026.

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict: 4.8 out of 10
  2. Will they give you the card?
  3. How to get it
  4. Fees: what it really costs
  5. How to Top up the card
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict: 4.8 out of 10

I want to be precise about why that number sits where it does, because a 4.8 can read as “bad card” and this is more like “thin card with good price”. The two highest marks in my scoring are for cost and for the basic mechanics. The two lowest are eligibility and everyday use, and those are the two things you need before you spend a cent.

Let me take the score apart so you can see exactly where it came from.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 No countries are named on the pages I read. Busha has entities in Nigeria, Kenya and Ghana. Unofficial third-party reporting says the card is for Nigeria, Ghana and Kenya, 18+, with a verified account.
Cost 8 / 10 $2 once to create the card, no funding fee, no maintenance fee. Conversion and foreign-exchange fees are not disclosed.
Top-up options 5 / 10 You spend from USD, USDT and USDC balances in the Busha wallet. The networks are not named.
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Busha Digital Limited, licensed by SEC Nigeria as a Digital Asset Exchange. The card issuer is not named. Unofficial: Trustpilot around 3.5–3.8 out of 5 from 16–17 reviews, with slow withdrawals and slow support.
Everyday use 2 / 10 Virtual Visa only. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported. Unofficial: no ATMs.
Total 4.8 / 10

Who this suits, in one line: someone living in Nigeria, Ghana or Kenya who already holds USDT or USDC, wants to pay for things online in dollars, and is content with a card that exists only on a phone screen. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs cash from an ATM, anyone who wants to tap to pay at a till, anyone who wants a physical card in the post, and anyone outside those three countries reading a review that cannot promise them an application.

If you fall in the second group, read the alternatives section later on. There is nothing wrong with picking a different card.

Will they give you the card?

Here is the honest answer: I could not find a country list. Busha’s own pages do not name the countries where the card is available. What they say is that applicants “complete the eligibility questions”. The answers you give to those questions appear to be the gate, and the questions themselves are the rule.

What I can tell you about the company behind it. Busha has registered entities in three countries: Busha Digital Limited in Nigeria (registration 1495049) and Kenya (PVT-GYUQJAEL), and Busha Digital Ltd in Ghana (CS-182631123). It is licensed by SEC Nigeria as a Digital Asset Exchange. It also holds data-protection registrations in Kenya (ODPC 15965), Ghana and Nigeria. So this is a real, registered business with a regulator’s licence in one of those countries, not a shell. That is worth something, and I want to say so plainly.

What is not there is any statement about citizenship versus residence. Busha does not publish a rule saying whether you must be a resident of the country, a citizen of it, or either. Nothing on the pages I read addresses what a Russian, Belarusian or Ukrainian citizen living in, say, Germany or Kenya would find when applying. If you are a Russian speaker and you are not resident in Nigeria, Ghana or Kenya, I would treat the answer as unknown rather than likely-yes.

Third-party reporting fills in some of the gap, and I am flagging it as unofficial because Busha has not confirmed it: a review published in May 2026 by UEEX describes the card as available to applicants in Nigeria, Ghana and Kenya, aged 18 and over, with a verified Busha account. That is consistent with where the companies are registered, and it is the best picture of eligibility I can assemble, but it is not Busha’s own wording.

One concrete thing that is officially stated and worth knowing before you try: naira payments are not supported. The card is a USD instrument. That tells you something about how the product is designed to be used.

Question What the public pages say
Which countries Not named; eligibility questions decide
Citizenship vs residence Not stated
Russian or Belarusian applicants Nothing said
Minimum age Not stated on official pages; 18+ per third-party reporting
Naira payments Not supported
Registered entities Nigeria, Kenya, Ghana
Regulatory licence SEC Nigeria, Digital Asset Exchange

How to get it

The flow, as far as it is documented, is short. You answer the eligibility questions, you accept the Card Terms, and — if you are approved and have paid the $2 — the card is issued “within minutes”. There is no physical card in the pipeline at all. Everything happens on your phone.

That is where the documentation stops, and this is the part I would want a reader to hear clearly rather than discover later. Busha has an AML & KYC Policy and a help-centre article called “ID Verification”, and there is a help-centre page called “Verification Levels and Limits”. I could not open the verification content — the help centre redirected — so I am not going to describe documents I did not read. What is not stated on the pages I could reach: which documents you need, whether proof of address is required, what minimum age the card itself requires, how long verification takes, and what makes an application get rejected. If any of those are deal-breakers for you, ask support before you send money or documents.

The verification-level page does give one concrete set of numbers, and they are worth reading carefully because they are about fiat, in naira, not about the card. The page is framed for Nigeria and covers deposits and withdrawals rather than card spending.

Which of those levels you need for card use, what each level requires in documents, and how long it takes to move up are not stated.

On the card itself: it is virtual, on Visa, denominated in dollars — Busha calls it a “stablecoin-backed virtual USD Visa card”. You can hold up to 4 cards, and each one can have a custom name and a custom colour. Up to 4 is the whole product, in the sense that there are no paid tiers and no card classes described anywhere; the blog post describes a single card type.

The one piece of company history that matters for reading the current page: in July 2022 Busha announced an earlier version of these cards — USDC-funded, on Mastercard, early access, up to 10 cards, described as completely free. The current post describes a different product: Visa, up to 4 cards, $2 to create. Several third-party reviews I found still describe the older product, which is why you will see contradictions out there. Trust the current post over the commentary.

Fees: what it really costs

The price of getting in is genuinely low. Creating the card costs $2, once. Busha states plainly: “No funding fees or maintenance fees.” No monthly subscription, no annual charge, no inactivity fee mentioned anywhere. That is the strongest part of this card, and I want to credit it before I list the gaps.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Busha payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The gaps are where your money actually goes missing in practice, and the table below is honest about how much of it Busha has published. Where a cell says “not stated”, I mean the public pages do not say. I am not going to estimate, because an estimate on a fee page is worse than a blank.

Fee or limit What is published
Card creation $2, one time
Monthly fee None — “no maintenance fees”
Funding fee None — “no funding fees”
Conversion fee Not stated
Foreign exchange fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal Not stated (virtual card)
Cash advance Not stated
Daily spending limit Not stated
Monthly spending limit Not stated
Card currency USD only
Tiers None described; up to 4 virtual cards

Now let me walk three ordinary payments through it, because abstract fee tables do not help anyone.

Paying a dollar-denominated online bill. This is the clean case. USD in, USD out, no conversion step, and no fee that Busha discloses. If the merchant accepts a Visa card for international USD payments, this is the scenario the card was built for.

Paying a subscription priced in euros or pounds. Your USD balance gets converted at the point of sale, or the merchant’s acquirer converts it, and somewhere in that path a conversion or foreign-exchange charge exists. Busha does not publish what it is. This is the payment to be most careful with, precisely because you cannot see the number in advance.

Paying a local shop in your own currency. Naira payments are not supported. So a cardholder in Nigeria is not using this for the shop around the corner — the card is a dollar card for dollar-priced online spending, and treating it as a general local spending card will disappoint.

One more warning about the fee table you will find elsewhere. Third-party reporting describes a Busha card with no annual, monthly, transaction or foreign transaction fees at all, where the only charges are platform fees for buying USDC and network fees. That description conflicts with the official picture — a USDC Mastercard, up to 10 cards, no creation fee, against the official Visa, up to 4 cards, $2 creation fee. It is describing the older product. Where the two disagree, the official current post is the one I would rely on.

How to Top up the card

Topping up is not really a separate operation here, and that is the concept to get your head around. The card does not have its own wallet balance that you feed. It spends directly from balances already sitting in your Busha wallet. Busha puts it this way: “Busha Card currently supports spending from USD, USDT, and USDC balances”. So you fund the wallet, not the card.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Busha starts with a transfer to the right network

Three balances, three possibilities:

And that is the whole list. No bank transfer top-up, no debit card purchase, no third-party payment provider, no payroll load — none of those are described for this card.

The networks gap is the one to take seriously. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send USDT on a network Busha does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be lost outright or need manual recovery with no guarantee of success. A support ticket is not a refund mechanism. Before your first transfer, work out which networks this card takes and test with a small amount.

On minimums: the current post gives no minimum top-up and no deposit network fees. A 2022 post about the earlier USDC card mentioned a minimum of 2 USDC, a maximum of 5,000 USDC per funding, and 10,000 USDC held per card — that was the older product and Busha has not confirmed it applies now, so I would not plan around those numbers.

Withdrawing is also not documented. The current post does not describe moving a card balance back out or closing a card, and the Card Terms are not linked from it. If you need to get money off the card, ask before you load it.

Paying with it every day

Day-to-day, the card is a virtual Visa that works “wherever Visa supports international USD payments”. That is the whole acceptance promise, and it is a Visa promise rather than a Busha one.

The missing pieces are what make daily use awkward:

Two things about merchant acceptance that are worth understanding even though they are general facts rather than Busha facts. First, a card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that anyone can look up, and it reveals which institution and which country issued the card. When that country does not match the billing address the customer typed in, some merchants apply extra scrutiny or decline. A virtual dollar card issued for African markets will look foreign to many shops, and that is a structural feature of how cards work, not a Busha bug. Second, address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address against the issuer’s records and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — another source of declines.

The app is the one clearly healthy part. There is an iOS and an Android app. The App Store Nigeria listing shows 4.6 out of 5 from 5.4K ratings, and Bush’s own site quotes 4.6 on the App Store with 5k+ ratings and 4.5 on Google Play with 11k+.

What is not documented, and what you would want before trusting a card with money on it: any freeze control, two-factor authentication, spending controls, blocked merchant categories, or 3-D Secure handling. There is an ISMS policy mentioned in the footer and a Security section in the help centre, but the card-specific details are not in the pages I read. There are also no dispute, chargeback or refund terms published alongside the card. That last one matters more than it sounds: if a merchant takes your money and delivers nothing, a chargeback is the mechanism that normally gets it back, and Busha does not publish how it works here.

What can go wrong

Here is my risk list, ordered by how much it should worry you.

You are trusting a custodian with your money, and with your card. Busha’s wallet is custodial — Busha holds the credentials. The general rule is unavoidable: whoever holds the private key or seed phrase controls the funds, and crypto transfers have no built-in recovery. Custodial platforms have a real history of failure, from Mt. Gox at about $350 million reported stolen across 2011–2014, to Coincheck at about $400 million in 2018, to the $625 million Ronin Network loss in 2022. This is not a comment on Busha specifically. It is what the category is.

The issuer is not named. Visa does not issue crypto cards itself; it licenses issuers and can suspend programmes. Busha names itself as the company, and names SEC Nigeria as its regulator, but the entity that actually issues the card and holds the BIN is not disclosed on the pages I read. When something goes wrong with a card, knowing who the issuer is matters. Ask.

Nobody can tell you the limits. No daily limit, no monthly limit, no balance cap on the current product. A 2022 post about the older card mentioned a 10,000 USDC maximum balance per card. Without published caps you cannot reason about how much to leave loaded, which is your only real protection against a compromised card.

The provider can be shut down or delisted. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all its programmes closed. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. This is a live category risk, not a hypothetical.

A stablecoin can lose its peg. Stablecoins are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. USDT and USDC are dollar-pegged and between them account for about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation as of the BIS in July 2025, and Circle says USDC is fully backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations. That is a well-documented USDC. It is not the same as a guarantee, and USDT reserves are stated as an intention to back tokens 1-to-1 rather than an attestation you can audit.

Complaints exist, and they are about the boring stuff. A third-party review from May 2026 puts Busha on Trustpilot at about 3.5–3.8 out of 5 across roughly 16–17 reviews. Recurring themes: deposits and withdrawals slow or not appearing, KYC delays and forced upgrades, rate gaps when selling crypto, and slow support. Google Play shows around 4.36. I want to be clear that this is unofficial reporting — I did not find any first-party complaint material, and my own search for user reports returned nothing on Busha specifically, only on other providers. But the pattern it describes, slow withdrawals, is the single thing that hurts you most.

Support hours and languages. The help centre is in English, with a contact page. Working hours and whether anyone answers in Russian are not stated. There is no dedicated Busha Card section in the help centre — the collections cover KYC, Security, Busha Spend, Busha Business and others — which suggests the card is a relatively thin slice of the business.

Spending blocked without warning. Card authorisations can be declined, and a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to a week. Combined with published restrictions on some issuers’ side, that is money out of reach for no clear reason.

And a housekeeping point about tax, offered as information only and not as advice. In the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or services generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local currency at the value on the transaction date — which can make each card payment its own disposal. Your own jurisdiction will differ, and this is a question for a professional in your country, not for me.

What to take instead

If Busha’s gaps are the problem — no physical card, no Apple Pay, no ATM, nothing published about limits or fees — the alternatives below are all rated higher by the same criteria I used above, and each publishes more of what you need to make a decision. I am not telling you to switch; I am showing you what the comparison looks like.

Card Score Card type Entry cost Monthly fee Conversion fee Who it is for
Busha 4.8 / 10 Virtual Visa, USD $2 None Not stated Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya residents spending USDT online
RedotPay 6.9 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa; USD and HKD cards 10.00 USD virtual, 100.00 USD physical None, waived 1.00% transaction; 1.20% non-default currency People who want a physical card and published fees
Wirex 6.7 / 10 Virtual and physical; Visa or Mastercard depending on region Free in UK, EEA, APAC, SG, AU and “Other” Not stated No foreign exchange fee on the card page People who want cash, ATMs and a metal card option
Bitpanda 6.5 / 10 Physical Visa debit, EUR only Opening and first shipment free None Non-EUR FX fee 0, “VISA mark-up fees apply” Euro-area residents who want a plain debit card

A few specifics worth pulling out, because they answer the questions people actually ask.

RedotPay is the one to look at if you want the numbers in advance. It publishes a full fee table effective from 1 December 2025: 1.00% transaction fee for crypto conversion, waived for transactions in your default currency and 1.20% for non-default currency, 0.2 USD for small authorisations after the first 5 per card per month, and 0.5 USD for declined transactions after the first 3 per month. It gives you virtual and physical options, a USD card and an HKD card, and a 5 USD welcome reward valid for 30 days on spending only, which cannot be used toward the issuance fee. Its RedotPay Pro tier is 12.90 USD monthly or 129.00 USD annually. The catch is eligibility: its own KYC list excludes citizens of a long list that includes Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia, North Macedonia, Montenegro and Bosnia and Herzegovina among others, and a separate card-issuance list, dated 28 August 2026, adds India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey as residents ineligible for both virtual and physical cards. Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE are on neither list. The rules are by citizenship on one list and by residence on the other, and they are worded differently, so check which one applies to you.

Wirex suits people who want cash. It offers a virtual card and a physical card, one of each at a time, with the physical card working at point of sale and at ATMs. Card issuance is free in the UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other”, and the metal card is a Visa Signature debit card with an order fee of 45 GBP on the UK page including DHL Express, or a delivery fee of 45 EUR elsewhere. It carries cryptoback in WXT: 0.5% Standard, 3% Premium, up to 8% Elite. What I could not establish is the country list — the official “Supported countries” article returned a page-not-found, and fees are published for the UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other” only. The homepage claims a service area of “Worldwide (130+ countries)”, which is not the same as being able to get a card. Availability depends on your region, the residence country you enter must match your ID, and Singapore terms do not permit cash withdrawals in Singapore.

Bitpanda is the plainest of the three. It requires a verified account and residence in a euro-area country, and users verified through “Bankident” cannot order a card. It is a physical Visa debit card in EUR only, one active card at a time. Account opening, the monthly cost and the first shipment are free; reissue is EUR 5.90, or EUR 9.90 for a lost or stolen card in the FAQ, and each additional physical card is EUR 10. It spends from a chosen main asset with an optional fallback — cryptocurrencies, precious metals or EUR, with a EUR 1 minimum payment — and Crypto Indices are excluded. Cashback is stated as 1% in the body text and “up to 2%” in the page summary, which the page does not reconcile; fiat, stocks, metals and stablecoins are excluded.

If you are Russian-speaking and outside the euro area, Nigeria, Ghana or Kenya, RedotPay is the only one of the four with published citizenship rules that name Russia and Belarus explicitly. Whether that helps or hurts you is entirely a question of your citizenship and residence.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Busha card to a specific person: someone living in Nigeria, Ghana or Kenya, holding USDT or USDC, paying for online services that bill in dollars, comfortable with a card that lives only in an app, and willing to do one piece of homework before the first transfer — confirming which networks the card accepts. For that person, $2 to open and no monthly fee is a good deal, and there is not much cheaper in this category.

I would not recommend it to:

And a note for Russian speakers reading this from Russia, from another CIS country, or from elsewhere. The card’s published footprint does not include Russia: Busha’s entities are in Nigeria, Kenya and Ghana, naira payments are not supported, and nothing on the pages I read says whether a Russian or Belarusian citizen can open one regardless of where they live. The rules that matter to you in any case come from the country you reside in, not the country you were born in — sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are typically applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as address. If you are not resident in one of the three countries, read the “not stated” cells in the fee table as the answer to “can I use this”, not as a delay before you find out.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Busha card?

The Busha card is a virtual Visa card that spends directly from a crypto balance in the Busha wallet rather than from a bank account. It is denominated in US dollars and Busha describes it as a “stablecoin-backed virtual USD Visa card”. You can hold up to four, each with its own name and colour. There is no physical version: no plastic card, and no Apple Pay or Google Pay.

How does the Busha card work in practice?

You fund your Busha wallet rather than the card. The card then draws on USD, USDT or USDC balances in that wallet, converting to dollars as it spends, and it works wherever Visa supports international USD payments. Busha does not state which blockchain networks it accepts for USDT or USDC transfers, so confirm that before your first deposit — a transfer on an unsupported network can be lost, since blockchain sends are irreversible.

Is Busha a bank?

No. Busha is a licensed digital asset exchange, licensed by SEC Nigeria as a Digital Asset Exchange, operating through Busha Digital Limited in Nigeria and Kenya and Busha Digital Ltd in Ghana. It holds data-protection registrations in Kenya (ODPC 15965), Ghana and Nigeria. It is a custodial crypto platform and programme manager, not a deposit-taking bank, and it does not say who the card’s issuing institution is.

Who can apply for the Busha card?

Busha’s public pages do not name any country. Applicants “complete the eligibility questions”, and your answers appear to be the gate. Busha has entities in Nigeria, Kenya and Ghana, and third-party reporting from May 2026 describes the card as available to applicants in those three countries, aged 18 and over, with a verified account. Nothing on the official pages addresses citizenship versus residence.

Is the Busha card available in Russia?

There is no sign that it is. Busha’s entities are in Nigeria, Kenya and Ghana, and naira payments are not supported, so the product is built for dollar spending in West and East African markets. Neither citizenship nor residence rules are published, so a Russian citizen resident in Russia should treat the answer as no rather than unknown — and a Russian citizen living in one of those three countries has no published rule either way.

How much does the Busha card cost?

Creating the card costs $2 once. Busha states there are no funding fees and no maintenance fees, and there is no annual or inactivity fee mentioned. That is the good news. The bad news is that the conversion fee and the foreign exchange fee are not published, so you cannot cost a non-dollar payment in advance. There are also no spending limits stated.

Can I use the Busha card in Apple Pay or Google Pay?

No. Busha states directly that “Apple Pay, and Google Pay are not currently supported”. There is no tokenised mobile wallet layer, which means no tap-to-pay and none of the device-level security that tokenisation normally provides. Since the card is virtual-only as well, online payments are effectively the only channel it is built for.

Is the Busha card safe to use?

It carries the normal risks of a custodial crypto product plus some gaps specific to this card. You are trusting Busha to hold credentials to funds that cannot be recovered once sent, and the card issuer is not named on the pages I read. No freeze control, two-factor authentication, spending caps or chargeback terms are published for the card. What is documented is a licensed operator with registered entities and a decent app rating, around 4.6 on the App Store Nigeria listing.

What do users complain about?

Officially, nothing — I found no first-party complaints, and a search for user reports returned nothing on Busha specifically. Unofficial third-party reporting from May 2026 cites Trustpilot at about 3.5–3.8 out of 5 from roughly 16–17 reviews, with recurring themes of deposits and withdrawals slow or not appearing, KYC delays and forced upgrades, rate gaps when selling crypto, and slow support. Treat those as reported themes from a small sample, not as an established pattern.

Is the Busha card worth it?

For someone in Nigeria, Ghana or Kenya who already holds USDT or USDC and pays online in dollars, $2 to open with no monthly fee is hard to beat, and I would say yes. For anyone who needs cash, a physical card, a phone wallet, published fees or published limits, it is not worth it — a higher-rated alternative that publishes its fee table will serve you better. The deciding question is not the price, it is whether you can afford the undocumented parts.

Written by the editors at Crypto Card Rating.

Kontigo card review: a USDC card with a lot left unsaid
Kontigo card review: a USDC card with a lot left unsaid

I checked what Kontigo publishes about its USDC card: who gets it, what it costs,…

BitPay Card Review: The Card Is Gone — What Holders Should Do
BitPay Card Review: The Card Is Gone — What Holders Should Do

BitPay closed its card programme in June 2023. I score it 1.7/10, explain what happened…

Trustee Plus Card Review (2026): A Hands-On Assessment
Trustee Plus Card Review (2026): A Hands-On Assessment

Trustee Plus card review for 2026: eligibility, fees, top-up networks, daily spending, risks and three…

Wirex card review: a fiat-crypto hybrid that costs little but stumbles on support
Wirex card review: a fiat-crypto hybrid that costs little but stumbles on support

A practical look at the Wirex card — fees, top-ups, day-to-day spending, where it works,…

PEXX card review: who it suits, what it really costs
PEXX card review: who it suits, what it really costs

A plain-language review of the PEXX card: who can get it, the 0.6% and 1.2%…