Digitap card review: a free virtual card with a lot of unanswered questions

Digitap is a crypto card app that hands you a Visa virtual card for nothing, lets you load it from 100-plus cryptocurrencies or plain US dollars, euros and pounds, and then sells you a plastic or metal version for a fee. On paper that is a tidy proposition, especially for anyone who cannot open an ordinary bank card abroad. I read through the plans page, the card page, the app listings and the user reviews, and my honest answer is that Digitap is a plausible tool with a thin public paper trail. It scores 6.2 out of 10. The free part is real; the transparency is the problem.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Digitap works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of 21 October 2026.

If you are Russian-speaking, one thing deserves saying up front: Digitap says it “works in 180+ countries worldwide” but does not name the issuing countries, and it publishes no citizenship or residence rule for Russia, Belarus or anywhere else. For someone living in Russia, in another CIS country, or a Russian citizen living abroad, that silence is not a small detail — it is the first thing to resolve, because a card that is unobtainable the week your status changes is worth much less than its fees suggest.

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict: 6.2 out of 10 — cheap to start, hard to verify
  2. Who will they give you the card
  3. How to get it
  4. Fees and what the card actually costs you
  5. How to top it up
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict: 6.2 out of 10 — cheap to start, hard to verify

The score is not a vibe; it is the sum of five criteria, and the shape of those five marks tells you almost everything about where Digitap is strong and where it is thin.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Digitap starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Digitap claims it works in 180+ countries, though no issuing countries are named
Cost 5 / 10 Virtual tier is free with two free virtual cards; 2.5% top-up fee (Wallet, Virtual), 2.2% (Pro); Pro costs $299 to open and $95 a year; no foreign transaction fees
Top-up options 7 / 10 Crypto (100+ assets) or fiat in USD, EUR, GBP; networks are not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issuer and legal entity unnamed; Trustpilot at 2.7 out of 5 with complaints about silent support and doubts over the $TAP presale; the app is in beta
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual card instantly, plastic on order, ATMs worldwide; unofficially, Google Pay works and Apple Pay does not

That reliability mark of 3 out of 10 is doing a lot of work, and it drags everything else down. A card is not a savings account you visit twice a year — it is the thing you hope works at a supermarket checkout in a foreign city. Digitap does not name the bank that actually issues the card, does not name its own registered company, and does not describe how your money is held. Its Trustpilot score sits at 2.7 out of 5 from 13 reviews in the last 12 months, 54% of them one-star, with recurring themes of support going silent, an unanswered refund request after a $299 Pro upgrade, and doubts about who is actually behind the company. Separately, the marketing site leans heavily on the $TAP token presale — that is a distinct thing from the card, and it colours how many reviewers read everything else.

So who does it suit? It suits someone who wants a free virtual card today, holds several different crypto assets, and is comfortable treating the balance as spend money rather than savings. It suits people who mostly pay online or in their own currency and who have already worked out how they will handle a support request that does not get answered. It does not suit anyone building a financial record on this card, anyone for whom a frozen balance would be a crisis, or anyone who needs to know today, in writing, which institution stands behind the money.

My one-sentence version: Digitap is a good deal on the front of the card and an unanswered question on the back of it.

Who will they give you the card

Digitap’s public position is one sentence: the card “works in 180+ countries worldwide”. That is a coverage claim, not an eligibility rule. Nowhere on the card page or the plans page does it say which countries issue, what passport or residence permit you need, how old you must be, or whether a Russian or Belarusian citizen qualifies. The site footer does say it is not directed at places where using the service would be contrary to local law, which is a standard way of deferring the question rather than answering it.

Let me be plain about what that means in practice, because it is the part that matters most to a Russian speaker:

The absence of a published rule is not proof of a rule against you. It does mean the decision is made in private, by a support team, at a moment when you have already invested time and possibly money. If your situation is complicated — a country that is under sanctions, a residence permit in a third country, a citizenship the provider has never mentioned — the only responsible way to find out is to ask Digitap directly, in writing, before you load anything, and to keep the answer.

How to get it

The advertised flow is short: open a Digitap account online “in a few minutes”, pick a plan, get a virtual card instantly or order the physical one. What arrives depends on the tier, and the tier decides how much identity checking sits in front of you:

What Digitap does not publish is the actual document list, whether proof of address is required, the minimum age, how long review takes, or the reasons a review might be refused. Those blanks matter more than they look, because identity checks are exactly where a borderline applicant gets stranded without knowing why.

On the card itself: an instant virtual card, plus a physical card with a custom design, EMV chip and PIN, on Visa. You can hold fiat accounts in USD, EUR and GBP. Premium and Business are quoted on request only.

One third-party note, offered as unofficial and not confirmed by Digitap: a January 2026 MEXC promotional article — which, note, is promoting the $TAP presale, so weigh it accordingly — says the virtual card arrives after a simple identity check processed in under 24 hours, while the physical card needs more verification, including a passport scan and a selfie. Treat that as a useful expectation-setter rather than a promise, because the provider itself does not commit to any timeframe.

Delivery is another blank: which countries the physical card ships to, how long it takes and whether it costs anything are all unstated on the pages I could read. The only replacement price published is $40 for a physical card on Pro, and $2.50 for a virtual one.

Fees and what the card actually costs you

The headline is attractive: the Virtual tier is free, with two free virtual cards and free replacements, and Digitap states there are “no foreign transaction fees”. The catch is that the top-up fee is where the money actually goes, and the price of climbing to the Pro tier is steep.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Digitap payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Digitap’s published position
Issuance — Wallet $0, no physical cards
Issuance — Virtual Free, includes 2 free virtual cards
Issuance — Pro $299 account opening fee
Issuance — Premium, Business On request
Monthly or yearly fee — Pro $95 yearly admin fee
Top-up / deposit fee 2.5% on Wallet and Virtual; 2.2% on Pro and Premium
Withdrawal to external wallet 1% on Wallet, Virtual and Pro; 0% on Premium and Business
Withdrawal to external bank 1% on Virtual and Pro; 0% on Premium and Business; not available on Wallet
Foreign transaction fee None
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
Replacement card Physical $40, virtual $2.50 (Pro)
ATM withdrawal Available worldwide with crypto-to-fiat conversion; fee and free allowance not stated
Spending limits Labelled only: “Medium Limits” on Wallet and Virtual, “High Limits” on Pro, “No Limits” on Premium and Business; amounts not stated
Card currencies USD, EUR, GBP fiat accounts; FX rules on other currencies not stated

Three everyday payments, so the fees land somewhere real:

Buying a coffee on the Virtual tier illustrates the costs. You load funds at 2.5%, and you are told there is no foreign transaction fee, so the extra cost is the deposit fee alone — the conversion fee, if any, is not specified, but the deposit cost is clear.

A 200.00 USD online purchase paid for with a crypto asset. Here the load fee applies and the conversion fee is simply not published. You are being asked to accept a cost you cannot calculate in advance, on a card whose selling point is convenience.

A 100.00 EUR cash withdrawal at an ATM in another country. The card supports it, with crypto-to-fiat conversion, but neither the withdrawal fee nor any free allowance is readable on the public page — the FAQ answers behind them could not be read. If cash matters to you, that is a question to ask before you rely on it.

Two limits deserve a second look. First, the plans page displays a toggle at $15.99 per month or $155 per year, which is not mapped to any named tier — it is unclear what that price buys. Second, “Medium Limits”, “High Limits” and “No Limits” are labels without numbers. A daily cap you cannot see is a cap you cannot plan around.

How to top it up

You have two routes, and both are straightforward on paper.

Crypto is the main one: more than 100 assets are supported, and you pick the asset at checkout. Fiat is the other: USD, EUR and GBP. That is genuinely the widest part of the offer, and it is why Digitap appeals to people already holding several coins and stablecoins rather than a single token.

What is missing is the detail that costs money when it is absent. The networks are not stated. The minimum top-up is not stated. Who pays the blockchain network fee on your deposit — you or Digitap — is not stated. And the fee for a fiat top-up beyond the table above is not stated. Blockchain fees are charged by the network itself, not by the card provider, so on a busy chain a deposit can cost more than the 2.5% headline suggests.

This is also where the stablecoin reality is worth holding in mind. USDT and USDC together make up roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation, and both exist on multiple networks: USDC is natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, while USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche among others. Transfers are irreversible. Sending on a network the provider does not support, or to an address on a different network, can mean the money is simply gone, with no guarantee that support will recover it. So the practical advice, which is not a trick but just care: check the deposit screen in the app for the exact network before you send, and start with a small test transfer.

Withdrawals work too, at 1% out to an external wallet or bank on the lower tiers and 0% on Premium and Business. What happens to a remaining balance if you close the account is not stated.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the mechanics are pleasant. The virtual card is available immediately, so you can be spending within minutes of signing up. The physical card has an EMV chip and a PIN, so it works at ordinary terminals and at ATMs worldwide with crypto-to-fiat conversion. That is the core promise, and it delivers it.

The frictions are all around the edges. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not stated on the official pages. However, from user reviews on Trustpilot in November 2025 and May 2026, Apple Pay appears to be missing, while reviews in December 2025 and February 2026 report Google Pay working. That is third-party user testimony, not something Digitap confirms, but it is consistent enough to plan around: if your wallet of choice is Apple’s, ask first. Blocked merchant categories are also not stated, and with no published list, you cannot know in advance whether something you want to pay for will be refused.

The rewards programme runs on $TAP tokens, paid at a rate that depends on the tier — “basic cashback” on Wallet and Virtual, “high cashback” on Pro, “up to double digit %” on Premium — with no percentages given anywhere and no monthly cap or staking requirement mentioned. This is a statement of intent rather than a confirmed benefit.

The app is where the beta shows. It is on the App Store for iPhone, iPad and Mac M1, and on Google Play under my.digitap.card. Digitap itself calls the iOS build “the official beta version”. On the UK App Store storefront, read on 20 October 2026, it showed no rating at all — “not enough ratings or reviews” — and the Google Play rating could not be read. A beta app from a provider that does not name its issuer is worth trying with small sums.

Two more things are simply absent from the public pages and are worth chasing: the dispute and chargeback process, and any description of security controls. No 2FA, freeze or spending-control wording appears on the plans page, and the custody model is not described — which, given the card behaves like a stored-balance prepaid product, is the question a careful reader should ask first.

What can go wrong

This is the section where the score drops to 3 out of 10, so I want to be direct rather than diplomatic.

The company behind the card is thin on paper. Digitap describes itself as “a fintech application powered by licensed financial partners”. That is a description of a relationship, not a name. The issuer is not identified, the registered entity is not identified, and no licence is cited. No dated licence or programme announcements appear on the official pages I could read.

The user record is not reassuring. On Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, Digitap sits at 2.7 out of 5 across 13 reviews in the last 12 months, 54% of them one-star. The recurring complaints are about silence rather than failure: no reply from support in January, April and June 2026, including one case following the $299 Pro upgrade; a refund request on the Pro plan left unanswered in April 2026; doubts about who runs the company and whether it is regulated, with “scam” claims tied to the token presale, running from November 2025 to June 2026, one reviewer reporting the website was unavailable in April 2026. Also mentioned: no Apple Pay, and slow KYC. There are a few positive notes, specifically about Google Pay in December 2025 and February 2026. To be fair: a search for Digitap-specific complaints across review sites and news turned up nothing beyond this, and no official incidents were found.

Support hours are stated two ways, which is its own kind of answer. The page says it is “here to help 24/7 on email or submit a contact form”, but the table gives “Business Hours” for Wallet, Virtual and Pro, with 24/7 only on Premium and Business. Only English is shown as a language; Russian is not stated. If your plan is free, your stated support window is business hours.

Then the category risks, which are not Digitap-specific but apply to anyone holding crypto with a card provider. Crypto transfers are irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery path — the network cannot freeze or return funds. Custodial platforms have a genuine history of failure: Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin Network bridge. If you load value here, you are accepting counterparty and hack risk on top of everything else.

Stablecoins are not risk-free either. They aim to hold a steady value, but they do not always manage it: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023. And they are not censorship-proof — Tether states it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

Finally, the merchant side. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit BIN that any merchant can look up, which reveals the issuer and country, and some merchants apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address — or decline prepaid and foreign cards outright. Address verification, which compares the street number and postcode you type with issuer records, is mostly a US, Canadian and UK mechanism and generally does not work for foreign-issued cards, so declines are common. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.

My practical reading: use this card for spending money you have already decided is spendable, keep the balance small enough that a freeze is an inconvenience rather than a disaster, and ask the three questions in writing — who issues the card, what security controls exist, and what happens to a balance at closure — before you move real money.

What to take instead

Three alternatives came out ahead of Digitap on the same scoring, and the comparison is more useful than a ranking because each trades a different weakness.

Digitap RedotPay Bitpanda Wirex
Score 6.2 / 10 6.9 / 10 6.5 / 10 6.7 / 10
Who can get it 180+ countries claimed, issuing countries unnamed Explicit KYC and card-issuance country lists Euro-area residence required, verified account Region-dependent; official country list page not readable
Card Virtual instant plus physical, Visa Virtual and physical, Visa Physical Visa debit, EUR only Virtual and physical, Visa or Mastercard, metal option
Free tier Yes, two virtual cards No Account opening free Issuance free in listed regions
Top paid tier Pro $299 opening plus $95 a year Pro $12.90 monthly or $129 annual Not stated Metal card 45 GBP on the UK page
Top-up 100+ crypto assets or USD, EUR, GBP On-chain crypto or buy with a credit card in-app Spends from a chosen asset, converted to EUR Cash, stablecoins and cryptocurrencies; SEPA, Faster Payments, ACH, PIX free
Notable fee 2.5% top-up on the free tier 1.00% transaction fee Visa mark-up applies on non-EUR No annual or FX fee stated; exchange rate shown in-app
Rewards $TAP tokens, rates not given $5 welcome reward, spending only, 30 days 1% stated, “up to 2%” elsewhere on the page Cryptoback in WXT: 0.5% to up to 8% by tier

RedotPay at 6.9 out of 10 wins on disclosure. It publishes two explicit country lists: a KYC list under which citizens of the listed countries cannot complete verification, and a separate card-issuance list which adds India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey as ineligible for both virtual and physical cards. Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and Serbia appear on both; Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE appear on neither. If you are a Russian speaker, that table is worth more than any marketing claim — it tells you where you stand, and in the case of Georgia, Armenia and Kazakhstan, it suggests a route Digitap never names. Its fees are also plain: 1.00% transaction fee, 1.20% in a non-default currency, small authorisations and declined transactions each with a monthly free allowance, and small merchant surcharges listed by name. Its drawbacks are real too — virtual card application costs 10.00 USD and a physical card 100.00 USD, non-refundable once paid.

Bitpanda at 6.5 out of 10 is the narrowest and in some ways the most predictable: a euro-area resident with a verified account gets a physical Visa debit card in EUR only, one active at a time, with account opening and the first shipment free. It spends directly from a chosen asset — listed cryptocurrencies, precious metals or EUR — converted at the point of payment. The catch is scope: the rule is by residence, euro-area only, and users verified via Bankident cannot order.

Wirex at 6.7 out of 10 is the broadest in spirit — the homepage claims 130+ countries, and a virtual and a physical card work at Visa or Mastercard terminals. It publishes region-by-region fee tables for the UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and others, and gives real cryptoback rates in WXT: 0.5% standard, 3% Premium, up to 8% Elite, with a published list of ineligible categories. But the supported-countries article was not accessible for review, so I could not read the country list, and its cash-withdrawal terms in Singapore are restrictive.

If your priority is clarity about who will issue you a card and what it charges, RedotPay is the one to read first. If you are in the euro area and want the simplest possible answer, look at Bitpanda. If you want the widest coverage and real cashback rates, Wirex. If you want 100-plus crypto assets and a genuinely free virtual card, Digitap remains on the list — with the questions above.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Digitap to someone specific rather than in general terms.

I would recommend it if you are already holding several crypto assets or stablecoins and want to spend them without converting everything in advance; if a free virtual card with instant access is worth more to you than a named issuer; if your spending is online or in the currency of the card; and if you are comfortable re-verifying a support question in writing and waiting.

I would not recommend it if you are putting savings on it, if you need physical cash routinely — because the ATM fee is not published — if Apple Pay is non-negotiable, if you need to know today’s daily limit, or if a frozen balance would leave you stuck. I would also hold back if you are a Russian citizen in a situation where your status is unusual; not because Digitap says no, but because it does not say anything at all, and that is not a foundation to build on.

The honest summary is that Digitap’s free tier is a good deal and its transparency is not yet good enough to be one you rely on heavily. Start with the free Virtual tier, keep the balance small, put the three questions in writing, and move up to Pro only when you have an answer. And if the money matters more to you than the coin selection does, the alternatives above answer more of your questions up front.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Digitap card?

Digitap is a crypto card app that gives you a Visa card you can load with crypto or cash. You open an account online, choose a plan, and receive a virtual card almost immediately; the physical card is ordered separately. The free Virtual tier includes two free virtual cards. Spending draws on a balance you have funded yourself, so it behaves more like a prepaid card than a bank debit card linked to an everyday current account.

Is Digitap a bank?

No, and this is the most important thing to understand about it. Digitap describes itself as “a fintech application powered by licensed financial partners”. It does not name the bank that issues the card, does not name its own registered legal entity, and cites no licence on the card or plans pages. So while a licensed institution is presumably behind the card programme somewhere, you cannot tell from the public pages which one, and you are trusting the app and its partners rather than a bank you can name and complain to.

How do I get a Digitap card?

Open an account online, which Digitap says takes a few minutes, then pick a plan. On the free Virtual tier you get a virtual card straight away after “light KYC”; the physical card with EMV chip and PIN is ordered on top. Pro, Premium and Business require full KYC. What Digitap does not publish is which documents are needed, how long review takes, or the minimum age, so treat the process as unpredictable rather than routine.

Does Digitap require KYC?

It depends entirely on the tier. The Wallet tier at $0 has no KYC but gives you no card at all. The free Virtual tier requires “light KYC” and gives you two virtual cards. Pro, Premium and Business require full KYC. Identity checks normally cover your name, address, date of birth, nationality, an identity document, a sanctions check and whether you are a politically exposed person — and where due diligence cannot be completed, institutions are required to decline or close the relationship, which is the usual reason an application stalls without explanation.

Which countries can get a Digitap card?

Digitap says the card works in 180+ countries worldwide, but it does not name the issuing countries and publishes no citizenship or residence rule for Russia, Belarus or anywhere else. That silence matters: if you live in Russia or another CIS country, or you are a Russian citizen living abroad, the public pages give you nothing to go on. My advice is to ask Digitap in writing, before depositing anything, whether your country and your citizenship are eligible.

How much does a Digitap card cost?

The Virtual tier is free and includes two free virtual cards with free replacements. Deposits cost 2.5% on Wallet and Virtual, and 2.2% on Pro and Premium. The Pro tier charges $299 to open plus $95 a year, with card replacements at $40 for physical and $2.50 for virtual. Digitap states there are no foreign transaction fees. The crypto conversion fee and the ATM withdrawal fee are not stated, which is why I would not rely on either until you have the answer in writing.

Can I add Digitap to Apple Wallet?

Probably not at the moment, and this is unofficial. Digitap’s own pages do not state Apple Pay or Google Pay support. However, user reviews on Trustpilot in November 2025 and May 2026 report that Apple Pay is missing, while reviews from December 2025 and February 2026 say Google Pay works. Treat that as consistent but unconfirmed, and if you rely on a phone wallet, ask support before signing up.

Is Digitap safe to use?

It is a real Visa card with real money behind it, but the transparency around it is thin, and I would treat that as the main risk. The issuer and legal entity are unnamed, security controls such as 2FA, card freeze and spending limits are not described on the plans page, and the custody model is not explained. Trustpilot shows 2.7 out of 5 from 13 reviews in the last 12 months, mostly about unanswered support. Using it with a small spend balance is a very different proposition from parking savings on it.

Is Digitap a scam or a $TAP token scheme?

I found no official incidents involving the card, and no Digitap-specific complaints beyond its own review page. What is true is that Digitap’s marketing site heavily promotes the $TAP token presale, which is a separate thing from the card, and some of the negative Trustpilot reviews connect that promotion to doubts about the company. Rewards are paid in $TAP tokens at rates that are never given as percentages. So the token and the card are linked in the same marketing but not the same product — judge them separately, and keep the two decisions apart.

Is a Digitap card worth it?

For a free virtual card with 100-plus crypto assets and no foreign transaction fee, yes — that combination is genuinely hard to match, and the free tier costs nothing to test. What it is not worth is relying on for savings, large balances, or anything where a frozen account would hurt, given the unnamed issuer and the support record. Start on the free Virtual tier, ask the three hard questions — who issues the card, what security controls exist, what happens to a balance if you close the account — and then decide whether to put real money behind it.

Published by the Crypto Card Rating team.

Utorg card review: a USDC-only Visa with no monthly fee, but who can get one?
Utorg card review: a USDC-only Visa with no monthly fee, but who can get one?

Hands-on review of the Utorg crypto card. We cover eligibility, KYC, fees, top-up networks, Apple…

BitPay Card Review: The Card Is Gone — What Holders Should Do
BitPay Card Review: The Card Is Gone — What Holders Should Do

BitPay closed its card programme in June 2023. I score it 1.7/10, explain what happened…

PayPilot card review: a euro-balance Visa with a thin public footprint
PayPilot card review: a euro-balance Visa with a thin public footprint

An independent review of the PayPilot card: who can get it, what it costs to…

Bit2Me card review — costs, limits, and who actually gets one
Bit2Me card review — costs, limits, and who actually gets one

A hands-on Bit2Me card review covering fees, top-up options, country availability, Mastercard cashback tiers, and…

Meru card review: who it suits and what it really costs
Meru card review: who it suits and what it really costs

An independent Meru card review covering eligibility, fees, top-up options, daily spending, risks and the…