What happened to the Gnosis Pay card, and what it means if you already held one

The short version: the Gnosis Pay consumer card programme is closing. The card stops authorising payments and the web app shuts down (except for withdrawals) at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026. As a product you could apply for today, it scores 4.5 out of 10 — because the single biggest question, “who can get it”, now has the worst possible answer: nobody new. If you already hold the card, the priority is not features or fees but moving your balance out safely and making sure any refunds, disputes or chargebacks you might still need are filed before the support windows close.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
The Gnosis Pay card programme no longer issues new cards

The card details, dates and figures below are current as of 21 October 2026.

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict: a well-built card caught in a shutdown, 4.5 out of 10
  2. What happened to the programme
  3. If you already have the card
  4. What can go wrong
  5. What to take instead
  6. Who I would recommend it to
  7. Frequently asked questions

Verdict: a well-built card caught in a shutdown, 4.5 out of 10

Let me give you the answer first, because in this case the situation is unusual and the headline should set the tone. Gnosis Pay was, on the fundamentals, one of the nicer consumer crypto cards: issuing and delivery were free, it charged no transaction fees and added no FX markup on top of Visa’s rate, and it was a genuine self-custody card you could top up in EURe, GBPe and USDCe and load into Apple Pay or Google Pay. On everyday use it earned 8 out of 10 in my scoring. On cost, 8 out of 10. On the things that decide whether you should hand a company your money for years — can you get it, and will it still be there when you need it — it scored 0 out of 10 and 1 out of 10 respectively. The programme is being wound down.

That is why the total is 4.5 out of 10 rather than something flattering. I am not marking down a good card for being good; I am marking down a product you can no longer rely on as a home for your money, because the operator itself has published the shutdown dates.

Who is this page for? Two readers, really.

The first is a current holder. You have a Gnosis Pay card and a balance sitting in your Safe account, and you are trying to work out what to do in the next ten weeks. For you, the product’s strengths are now almost irrelevant; what matters is the timeline, your withdrawal rights, and how long support, disputes and chargebacks remain available. That is what the second half of this page is for, and I have tried to make it actionable.

The second is someone reading this because they are thinking about a crypto card in general, or because getting an ordinary bank card is awkward where they live, and Gnosis Pay came up in a search or on a comparison list. For you the honest answer is: not this one, not any more. I walk through three alternatives later — MetaMask Card, KAST and Zeal — with their real fees and eligibility rules, and I tell you plainly that none of them is a like-for-like replacement, because they are different products with different conditions. What Gnosis Pay’s shutdown does teach you is how a crypto card programme ends, which is useful knowledge before you commit to any of them.

Let me lay out the score so you can see where the marks come from.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 Issuance is closed: the card and web app stop working on 20 December 2026 and the consumer card is being replaced by partner cards.
Cost 8 / 10 Issuing and delivery were free (an older EUR 30.23 purchase fee is outdated); no transaction fees or FX markup from Gnosis Pay, Visa’s rate applies; ATM 2% after the free allowance.
Top-up options 7 / 10 Self-custody Safe funded with EURe/GBPe/USDCe, plus USDC and EURC on Ethereum, Polygon and Gnosis Chain; unofficial: funding from another network needs a swap or bridge.
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Issuer Monavate (FCA) is named, but the programme is closing: support to 18 Jun 2027, disputes to 12 Jun 2028; Trustpilot 2.3; unofficial: a June 2026 exploit.
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals; unofficial: gambling categories blocked.
Total 4.5 / 10 A capable card on the way out the door.

The audience note that matters most right now is simple: if you hold this card, withdraw your balance before the shutdown, and do not wait until the last week. I will explain why, and how the Safe keeps your funds reachable, in the holders section below.

What happened to the programme

The answer to “what happened” is a deliberate pivot from being a consumer card to being a business-to-business card issuing platform, and the consumer product was the thing that got cut. Gnosis Pay did not collapse or get shut down by a regulator; it chose a different direction and wound down the retail side on a published schedule. Understanding that distinction matters, because it tells you what the company is likely to still be around for (its B2B platform) and what has already been abandoned (your consumer card and, eventually, the web app you manage it from).

First, the company. Gnosis Pay is the trading name of Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, a UK-registered company (No. 14919639). Crucially, Gnosis Pay itself is not the issuer. It is the technical services provider and programme manager. The card is issued by Monavate Limited under a licence from Visa Europe Limited, and Monavate is an FCA-authorised electronic money institution (FRN 901097). There are two issuer entities depending on where you are: for UK and non-EEA cardholders the issuer is Monavate Ltd (FCA), and for EEA cardholders it is UAB Monavate, under the Bank of Lithuania. This layering is normal for a crypto card — the crypto brand runs the front end, a licensed e-money institution issues the actual card — but it is worth holding in mind when you read about complaints and refunds later, because Monavate is the party with the statutory obligations.

The pivot itself was visible on the site. On 7 September 2026 the site was pitching B2B card issuing, with Startup and Enterprise tiers (a two-year agreement and a three-year agreement with a dedicated BIN respectively, at custom pricing) aimed at businesses, not cardholders. On the consumer side there was a single tier — no cashback tiers and no metal card — so there was nothing to migrate holders between on the retail side. Then, on 21 September 2026, the formal notice of closure of the Gnosis Pay web app and card was published. That notice is the document everything else hangs on.

The unofficial reporting around the same time filled in some of the picture, and I want to be clear that this part is not confirmed by the card’s own pages. News reported on 24 September 2026 said that MiniPay would handle migration and issue replacement cards on Gnosis Pay’s enterprise rails, and that GNO cashback eligibility would end on 30 September 2026 with a final distribution on 7 October. Separately, unofficial reports said the closure notice itself does not describe cashback on the current card and points instead to the help centre and support email; partner programmes may have had different rewards. Treat all of that as reported rather than official.

The dates are the part to pin down, and I have put them in one place because they govern every decision you make next.

That is the whole countdown in three lines. The first is the one that matters for your money movement; the second and third are the ones that matter if something goes wrong.

Now, who could get this card before it closed? The rule was residence, not citizenship. Before closure, the help centre said the card was for legal residents of selected European and Latin American countries — Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus and more EEA countries — with a waitlist for new countries. Russia and Belarus were not stated on the official pages. Unofficial, and not confirmed by the card, Russia was on the restricted list (card use prohibited) and was not an eligible application country as of August 2026; Belarus was not stated. The site now lists corridors in USD, EUR, GBP, BRL and ARS and points to partner apps.

Verification was handled by Sumsub in a unified KYC flow. The official pages do not state which documents, proof of address or age requirement were required. Unofficial and not confirmed by the card, the requirements were reported as 18+, a government ID or passport, and proof of address issued within the last three months, with a Sumsub check and approval not guaranteed. Note the levels, processing time and official rejection reasons were not stated either, which is partly why one of the recurring complaint themes you will read about later is people being turned down without an explanation.

What the card was, concretely? A Visa card, issued by Monavate Limited under a Visa Europe licence, offered as a virtual card (instant) and a physical card, with settlement at T+1. The balances were held in EURe, GBPe and USDCe — stablecoin versions of the euro, pound and dollar — and were spent 1:1, so a EUR 10 purchase cost 10 EURe. Gnosis Pay added no fee on that conversion and Visa’s exchange rate applied automatically; the page advised choosing the local currency at terminals to avoid the terminal’s own conversion. On fees, the help centre was clear: no transaction fees and no added FX fee from Gnosis Pay.

Because the card is closed, the cost picture is mostly a historical note now, but it is worth recording because it explains the Cost score, and because it shows what the fee schedule actually looked like.

Cost item What it was
Card purchase Free on the current fees page (an older help-centre article, possibly outdated, listed EUR 30.23)
Physical card shipping Free
Replacement (lost or stolen) 4.99 EURe/GBPe/USDCe, including replacement shipping
Transaction fee None from Gnosis Pay
Added FX fee None from Gnosis Pay; Visa’s exchange rate applies
Fiat / stablecoin conversion 1:1
Spending currencies EURe, GBPe, USDCe, spent 1:1 (EUR 10 purchase = 10 EURe)

On the software side, there was no native iOS or Android app named by the official site; the card was managed through the web app at app.gnosispay.com, with Apple Pay and Google Pay supported and described as “ready”. The App Store and Google Play rating was not stated because no native listing was found. The card’s limitations page did list real-world friction: rental-car agencies and automated fuel dispensers were restricted categories, and usage was prohibited in certain countries. Gambling was not stated in the official limitations; unofficial and not confirmed by the card, “Betting, casinos, lotteries and other gambling” was reported as a blocked category and excluded from cashback. On delivery timing, the official fees page said order and shipping were free but did not state a delivery time; unofficial, not confirmed by the card, a physical card usually arrived within 2 to 4 weeks, and the virtual card was available within minutes after KYC.

One more thing belongs in this timeline, because it happened before the closure and explains some of the noise in reviews: unofficial reporting said a June 2026 exploit hit the Gnosis Pay delay module, and co-founder Koppelmann said Gnosis would cover user losses (per The Block and LCX/Cointelegraph, 2026; early withdrawal advice was reported as conflicting). I have not checked the status of that compensation, and I would not rely on any promise about it without written confirmation. That is the backdrop against which the closure notice arrived.

If you already have the card

If you hold this card, the single most important fact is reassuring: your money is not held by Gnosis Pay or Monavate in a way they can take on their way out. It sits in your own Safe, a self-custodial smart contract account on Gnosis Chain. The assets remain yours, and neither Gnosis Pay nor Monavate can take them or block transfers. This is the big structural advantage of a self-custody card, and it is exactly the reason a card programme can shut down without stranding your balance. Access is also possible through third-party Safe interfaces using your existing signer key, so you are not locked to Gnosis Pay’s web app even after it closes.

So what should you actually do, and by when?

Gnosis Pay’s own recommendation was to withdraw before 20 December 2026. Withdrawals stay open on the web app after that date, with no deadline stated, at app.gnosispay.com/withdraw, though blockchain network fees may apply. Unofficial reporting (Crypto Briefing, September 2026, with Odaily and The Defiant agreeing) said the web app would remain in limited capacity after 20 December 2026 for withdrawals only, and that funds in Safe accounts have no withdrawal deadline. The official help-centre page “Is Gnosis Pay shutting down?” was more cautious, saying only that the web app is deprecated “by end of 2026” and that migration paths stay open “for as long as possible”.

Given that gap between the confident unofficial version and the deliberately vague official version, my advice is not to plan around the withdrawals staying open indefinitely. Withdraw before the cutoff while the full web app is still functional. Do not rely on a thin “withdrawals only” mode, or on a third-party Safe interface, as your primary exit route — those are fallbacks, not the main path.

Before you do, a short housekeeping list, because after 20 December some of this gets harder:

On where your balance lives and how you fund it: the card drew on a self-custody Safe account holding EURe, GBPe and USDCe, and the site also mentioned USDC and EURC on the Ethereum, Polygon and Gnosis Chain networks. On fees, the help-centre fees page did not state a top-up fee or a minimum top-up, and there was no gas fee for card transactions themselves — gas applied only to on-chain transfers, for example from your Safe to another wallet. The site also mentioned fiat on- and off-ramps at 1:1 via local rails (USD, EUR IBAN, BRL Pix, ARS) for the new platform, with fees not stated. Unofficial and not confirmed by the card, there was no top-up percentage fee from Gnosis Pay, but funding from another chain could require a swap or bridge with network or DEX costs, on-chain transfers pay gas, and a minimum top-up was not stated.

A word on why that gas point matters, because it trips people up. Card payments themselves are ordinary Visa transactions and cost you nothing on-chain. But moving crypto into or out of your Safe is a blockchain transfer, and the network charges a fee for it. On the Ethereum network, for example, fees are paid in ETH, so a Safe holding only stablecoins and no ETH cannot send — that is a real operational trap, not a hypothetical. The Gnosis Pay network is cheaper than Ethereum, but the principle holds: keep a little of the network’s own token in the Safe so you can move funds when you need to.

Everyday mechanics while the card still worked: ATM withdrawals were free up to five times a month or 200 EURe/GBPe/USDCe, and then 2% (minimum 1 EUR/GBP), with an ATM limit of EUR 250 per transaction and EUR 500 per day. Spending limits were EUR 5,000 per regular transaction and up to EUR 8,000 per day. Those are the sort of numbers that made the card usable day to day, but they are academic now — the important thing they tell you is the scale of the closure: this was a mainstream consumer card with mainstream limits, not a fringe experiment, and it is still being switched off.

The migration option, and whether to take it, deserves a careful look rather than a reflex yes. Moving to a partner app is not a continuation of your Gnosis Pay card; it is a new card programme, a new Safe and new terms. The closure notice is explicit that you may need fresh identity or compliance checks and a new Safe to move across. So migrating is a decision to sign up for a different product on a different company’s terms, under whatever eligibility rules they apply — it is not a way to keep the Gnosis Pay card you already have. Weigh it as a fresh choice, not a handover.

Finally, support and your statutory rights, because these run on their own long clocks.

That last line is a genuine trap. If a shop refunds you in, say, March, and the card was deactivated in December, that refund money does not magically become spendable on the card — it becomes something you have to withdraw or move. Ask for refunds in a way you can actually recover, and treat any post-December refund as money you will need to pull out through the Safe rather than spend.

What can go wrong

Nothing goes wrong with your balance, which is the whole point of the Safe. What can go wrong is everything around it: the support that helps you when something is not right, and the timing. Let me take the risks one at a time, worst first.

The support window closes before your problem does. This is the structural risk of any programme shutdown, and here the dates are fixed and public. General cardholder support ends at 23:59 UTC on 18 June 2027, and support for refunds, disputes and chargebacks ends at 23:59 UTC on 12 June 2028. If you discover a missing payment in early 2028, you are past the first window; if you have a chargeback in late 2028, you are past both. Scheme time limits run regardless, on their own much shorter clock. So the risk is not that support is bad — it is that the clock is not waiting for you. Anything you think might need support, raise now.

Recurring payments fail silently and cannot be moved. After the cutoff, any recurring payment set up on the card simply fails, and it cannot be ported to another card. A failed direct debit is not a neutral event: it can trigger a late fee from a utility, a cancelled subscription, or an overdraft from your main account. I would cancel every recurring payment on this card well before December rather than waiting to be declined.

Authorised-but-unsettled transactions still complete, but post-cutoff refunds do not work. A payment authorised before the cutoff still settles afterwards, so your money can leave after the card is gone. And a refund arriving after deactivation cannot be used on the card. That combination is the annoying one: you can be charged after December for something bought in November, and the money coming back has to be pulled out of the Safe rather than spent.

The exit is a new product, not a continuation. Moving to a partner app means a new card programme, a new Safe and new terms, and the closure notice warns that fresh identity or compliance checks may be required. That is a re-onboarding, with fresh eligibility rules and fresh KYC, and it is worth doing only if you actually want the new card — not as a way to rescue the old one.

Self-custody shifts the risk to you, which is a feature and a cost. The Safe runs on your signer key. Gnosis Pay and Monavate cannot take your assets, which is exactly why a shutdown could not strand you. But the flip side is that nobody can recover them for you if the key is lost. Keep the key offline and backed up, keep a little of the network’s own token in the Safe so you can move funds, and be sceptical of anything asking you to “recover” or “verify” your seed phrase. I note that card freeze/unfreeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls and fund insurance were not stated for this card — with a self-custody model many of those protections sit with you rather than the provider.

The company’s own track record was poor at the end. When I looked at Trustpilot on 20 October 2026, the score was 2.3 out of 5 labelled “Poor” from 38 reviews, 21 of them in the last twelve months, with 58% one-star and 21% five-star. The complaint themes cluster into three groups: support going unanswered on chat, tickets and email for weeks at a time through mid-2026; funds missing or blocked, balances dropping after a failed payment or top-up, and withdrawal attempts failing or transactions pending for more than two weeks in the middle of 2026; and KYC rejections with no stated reason, including “country not supported” for countries the programme did list, such as Italy and Mexico, alongside account deactivation and login problems.

And there was a security incident. Unofficial and not confirmed by the card’s own pages, a June 2026 exploit hit the Gnosis Pay delay module, and co-founder Koppelmann said Gnosis would cover user losses, though early withdrawal advice was reported as conflicting at the time. I have not verified the status of that compensation, and I would not count on any promise about it without written confirmation. It belongs here because it happened during the final months of the programme, and because it is a reminder that “self-custody” protects you from the company failing, not from the company’s systems being attacked.

Two structural points to hold onto. First, when something goes wrong with your card, the party with the statutory obligations is Monavate — Monavate Limited under the FCA for UK and non-EEA holders, UAB Monavate under the Bank of Lithuania for EEA holders — not Gnosis Pay, which was the programme manager. Complaints go to [email protected], which is forwarded to Monavate, or to [email protected]. If a complaint stalls, escalation runs to the Financial Ombudsman Service in the UK or the Bank of Lithuania in the EEA. Second, none of this touches your right to challenge a transaction in principle: the closure does not reduce your rights for unauthorised or incorrectly executed payments, and your statutory rights against Monavate are not limited by the 12 June 2028 support date.

What to take instead

There is no exact replacement for Gnosis Pay, because Gnosis Pay combined several things that few cards combine: a genuine self-custody Safe as the balance, EURe/GBPe/USDCe alongside USDC/EURC, no FX markup on top of Visa, and a single simple consumer tier. The three cards below are the most credible places to look, and I will be candid about each one’s catch. All three have their own eligibility rules and their own fees, and eligibility is decided by their criteria, not by anything you can argue your way around.

MetaMask Card KAST Zeal
Review score 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10 6.1 / 10
Card network Mastercard Visa Visa
Card form Virtual first (instant), Metal optional Virtual and physical, up to 10 per user Virtual (online, Apple Pay)
Free tier? Virtual free, no annual fee Standard 0 USD Not stated
Paid tier cost Metal $199/year Premium $1,000/yr; Private $10,000/yr Not stated
Transaction fee “Minimal”, amount not stated; Mastercard rate, no FX fee 0% on USD spend; non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75% No additional FX fee; Visa wholesale rate
What it spends from Connected self-custody wallet Own stablecoin balance (USD) Balances in card Safe (EUR/USD/GBP)
Cashback 1% (Virtual); 3% up to first $10,000 then 1% (Metal) 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier, monthly caps Up to 4% in GNO (must hold GNO in Safe)

Here is what each one actually is, and where it will frustrate you.

MetaMask Card is the strongest of the three on score, and the most wallet-native: it spends directly from your connected self-custody wallet, across Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with tokens named as mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT (the page says nine). The virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee; the Metal card is $199 a year. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories (Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay, among others), with other regions on a waitlist and proof of residency required; the citizenship rule was not stated, and US and UK sign-ups were temporarily closed per the FAQ. Its catch is that the currency is not stated, Solana-only wallets cannot withdraw credit, and its cashback is structured so that the headline 3% on Metal is limited to the first $10,000 spent, dropping to 1% after that.

KAST has the richest card lineup and the most transparent membership ladder, but the cost is steep if you want anything above the free Standard tier. It offers virtual and physical cards (up to ten per user), Visa Platinum on Standard, Visa Infinite metal on Premium and Visa Infinite gold plated on Private, plus Pengu, Solana and Bitcoin designs. Annual membership is 0 USD (Standard), $1,000 (Premium) or $10,000 (Private), billed annually upfront. Fees are unusually clear: stablecoin top-up 0%, USD card spend 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple/Google Pay 0%, with a non-USD FX fee of 0.5%–1.75% depending on your residence country, transaction country and card programme, 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, and 0.50 USD for a declined transaction on insufficient balance. Cashback is 1.5% on the first $2,000 a month (Standard), 2% on the first $10,000 (Premium) and 3% on the first $40,000 (Private). Eligibility is residence-based and shown at KYC, but the country list is not published and citizenship and ID matter independently of residence — for example, living in a supported country while holding only an ID from a restricted region can still make you ineligible, while dual citizens with an ID from a supported country may pass; only your own ID counts and a VPN does not bypass it.

Zeal is the most like Gnosis Pay in one important respect: it also runs on Gnosis Pay’s rails, spending from balances in a card Safe in EUR, USD and GBP, on the Gnosis Chain and Celo networks. It offers a Visa virtual card for online use, addable to Apple Pay. It charges no additional FX fee and converts at Visa’s wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM can still apply. You can spend in 150+ countries, though issuance depends on eligibility and regional availability, and its live markets per Gnosis Pay’s docs include the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. Its cashback is up to 4% paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, which you must hold in the card Safe to qualify and which can change; the App Store also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR/USD balances. Its catch is transparency: no fee schedule is published, and the physical-card option is not stated.

Before you pick, run it against your own situation rather than the marketing. Ask: can I actually be eligible where I live, and under my ID? What is the real cost of the tier I need, including any annual fee and delivery charge? When I spend in a currency other than the account’s, what exactly do I pay? What happens to my balance if this programme, like Gnosis Pay’s, decides to pivot? And is the cashback worth the lock-in (Zeal’s GNO requirement, KAST’s membership) or incidental?

Who I would recommend it to

Let me split this by who you are, because my answer genuinely differs.

If you already hold the Gnosis Pay card: yes, keep using it for now if it is convenient, but start treating it as a temporary wallet rather than a home. Withdraw your balance to a wallet you control before 20 December 2026, export your transaction history and note your card’s last four digits and expiry before then, confirm you can reach your Safe independently with your signer key, and file any outstanding refund, dispute or chargeback now rather than in the new year. Do not sign up recurring payments or set up anything that depends on this card surviving December. If you are weighing the partner-app migration, evaluate it as a brand-new product on someone else’s terms, not as a seamless handover.

If you were considering applying as a new customer: do not. Issuance is closed, so this is no longer an option at all, and the 0/10 “who can get it” mark is not a soft caution but a hard stop. Treat any page still advertising Gnosis Pay sign-ups as out of date.

If you want a crypto card generally: look at MetaMask Card, KAST or Zeal, subject to your own eligibility and a clear-eyed view of their fees and conditions. None of them inherits Gnosis Pay’s specific combination of self-custody Safe balances and EURe/GBPe/USDCe, so be prepared for a compromise on one or both.

If you are a Russian speaker living in Russia, in another CIS country, or Russian by citizenship but living elsewhere: the rules here turn on residence and ID, not citizenship alone, and I want to be precise rather than reassuring. Before closure, the official rule was residence of selected European and Latin American countries, and the official pages did not state anything for Russia or Belarus. Unofficial and not confirmed by the card, Russia was on the restricted list for card use and was not an eligible application country as of August 2026; Belarus was not stated. That means the practical answer is: do not expect to sign up from Russia, and do not expect a Russian-issued or Russian-address card to work here even if you somehow obtained one. For Russian citizens living in another CIS country or elsewhere, eligibility depends on where you legally reside and what ID you hold, exactly as it does for anyone else — for example, KAST’s own rule makes it explicit that living in a supported country is not enough if your only ID is from a restricted region. None of these cards is a way to work around sanctions, KYC or country rules, and I will not pretend otherwise; if you are not eligible where you live, none of these is for you.

My one broad recommendation: pick a card whose balance you control and whose operator has given you a reason to believe it will still be there in three years. Gnosis Pay got the first part right — the Safe meant a shutdown could not strand your money — and it is instructive that even a well-built, low-fee, self-custody card can be switched off by a change of corporate strategy. That risk does not go away with a different brand name; you just have to weigh it each time.

Frequently asked questions

What is Gnosis Pay card?

Gnosis Pay was a Visa consumer card that let you spend from a self-custodial Safe account, issued by Monavate Limited. It had virtual and physical cards in EURe, GBPe and USDCe, plus USDC and EURC, with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and spent 1:1. The programme is now closing and cannot be joined.

Is Gnosis Pay a bank?

No. Gnosis Pay is the trading name of Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, a UK-registered company, and it was the programme manager, not the issuer. The card was issued by Monavate Limited under a Visa Europe licence, and Monavate is an FCA-authorised electronic money institution. EEA cardholders were under UAB Monavate.

Why is Gnosis Pay closing the card?

Gnosis Pay pivoted to business-to-business card issuing, pitching Startup and Enterprise tiers from 7 September 2026, and wound down retail. The formal closure notice followed on 21 September 2026. This was a change of direction, not a collapse or a regulatory shutdown: the card and web app stop on 20 December 2026.

What happens to my money if I hold the card?

Your balance sits in your own Safe, a self-custodial smart contract account, so the assets are yours and neither Gnosis Pay nor Monavate can take them or block transfers. Withdrawals stay open after 20 December 2026 with no deadline stated, though network fees may apply. Gnosis Pay advises withdrawing before then.

When does the Gnosis Pay card stop working?

The card stops authorising payments and the web app closes except for withdrawals at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026. General cardholder support ends at 23:59 UTC on 18 June 2027, and refund, dispute and chargeback support at 23:59 UTC on 12 June 2028. Recurring payments fail after the cutoff and cannot be moved.

Can I still get a Gnosis Pay card?

No. Issuance is closed, which is why “who can get it” scores 0 out of 10. The consumer card is being replaced by partner cards, and moving to a partner app means a new programme, a new Safe and new terms. If you want a crypto card now, look at MetaMask Card, KAST or Zeal.

Do I need to withdraw everything before December 2026?

Officially it is recommended, not required: withdrawals stay open afterwards with no deadline stated. The prudent route is to withdraw before the cutoff while the web app still works, export your transaction history, and confirm you can reach your Safe independently through a third-party interface with your signer key.

What happens to refunds and disputes after closure?

Your rights for unauthorised or incorrectly executed transactions and your card-scheme chargeback rights survive the closure, but you must raise disputes promptly because scheme time limits apply, and support ends 12 June 2028. Statutory rights against Monavate are not limited by that date. A refund arriving after deactivation cannot be used on the card.

Is Gnosis Pay card safe and worth it?

On security, it used genuine self-custody, so your funds were yours in a Safe rather than held by a company. But the late track record was poor: Trustpilot showed 2.3 out of 5 from 38 reviews, with reports of unresponsive support and blocked funds in 2026, and unofficial reports of a June 2026 exploit.

Can I use Gnosis Pay card in Russia or Belarus?

Do not count on it. The official rule before closure was residence of selected European and Latin American countries, with Russia and Belarus not stated. Unofficial and not confirmed by the card, Russia was restricted and not eligible to apply in August 2026. Citizens elsewhere follow the same path: eligibility rests on residence and ID.

Written by the editors at Crypto Card Rating.

Rebind Card Review: A Free Visa on a Euro Balance
Rebind Card Review: A Free Visa on a Euro Balance

Rebind review: free Visa, no FX fees, up to 5% on euros. Who gets the…

1inch Card Review: Programme Closed, Cardholders Advised
1inch Card Review: Programme Closed, Cardholders Advised

The 1inch Card programme is being discontinued. Here is what happened, what holders should do…

Avici card review: how the USDC-backed Visa really works in 2026
Avici card review: how the USDC-backed Visa really works in 2026

An honest Avici card review covering eligibility, USDC top-up via Loan Escrow, fees, daily limits,…

xPortal card review: fees, limits and who can actually get one
xPortal card review: fees, limits and who can actually get one

Honest xPortal card review covering fees, country limits, top-up options, cashback and the gaps the…

AQUA card review: programme suspended, what holders should do
AQUA card review: programme suspended, what holders should do

The AQUA Dolphin Card was suspended globally on 4 December 2025. We cover who can…