The Infini card programme: status, history, and alternatives
When I first looked at Infini, the pricing page stood out: a virtual crypto card with no monthly fee, no transaction fee, and a Max tier with 0% FX, free stablecoin top-ups and 2% cashback. On paper, it was one of the cheapest crypto cards on the market. In practice, by the time many readers will see this review, the Global, Lite and Tech cards have been suspended for both usage and new applications. This is a review of a card programme that is no longer open for new sign-ups, with notes for existing holders who still have a balance.

The conditions in this review are current as of 21 October 2026.
Verdict
Infini scores 4.1 out of 10. The pricing was attractive while it lasted, but two things pulled the score down hard: a US$49.5 million exploit in February 2025 and the suspension of three card tiers in June 2025. If you are choosing a card today, the Infini card is not available to new applicants, and the status of the Max tier for individuals is unclear. Existing holders should treat the programme as in wind-down and pull their balance out through deposits, withdrawals or Earn while those still work, rather than planning around the card.
Who it suits: nobody as a new product right now. Existing holders using their remaining balance is the only realistic audience.
Who it does not suit: anyone looking to apply for the first time, anyone who needs an account with a named regulated issuer on the public record, and anyone whose main worry is platform risk after a confirmed nine-figure exploit.
Score breakdown
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 out of 10 | Global, Lite and Tech cards suspended 17 June 2025; Max status for individuals unclear |
| Cost | 9 out of 10 | First card free, no annual or monthly fee, $0 transaction fee; FX 1% Pro / 3% Lite / 0% Max; stablecoin top-up free |
| Top-up options | 6 out of 10 | USDC and USDT accepted; networks not named; USD and EUR local accounts; fiat through Iron at 0.20% plus rail fee |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 out of 10 | Issuer not publicly named; Cynosure Technology LLC in Hong Kong; US$49.5 million USDC exploit in February 2025; cards suspended in June 2025 |
| Everyday use | 5 out of 10 | Virtual card only on app listing; Apple Pay and Google Pay on Max; physical card and ATM details not stated |
If I total those five marks, the average comes to 4.1, close to the 4.1 final score after the audience note pulls it down a touch (existing holders withdrawing their balance is not a recommendation, just a description of who the page is now for).
What happened to the programme
The short version: three of the four Infini card tiers were suspended on 17 June 2025, and a major exploit hit the platform four months earlier. The Max tier does not appear in the suspension notice that has been reported, and its current status for personal customers is not clear from the public materials.
Here is the timeline as it stands today.
- 24 February 2025: a report by Decrypt, citing on-chain investigators Cyvers and QuillAudits, said about US$49.5 million in USDC was taken from the Infini vault by a former developer whose admin privileges had not been revoked. Infini said at the time that withdrawals and payments continued, and the founder said full compensation would be paid.
- 17 June 2025: an Infini notice, reported by WuBlockchain on 23 June 2025, said “all Global, Lite, and Tech cards will be suspended for both usage and new applications”. Card issuance fees would be auto-refunded to the Infini balance. The co-founder cited high compliance costs and thin margins, and pointed to a shift toward wealth management. Deposits, withdrawals and Earn continued.
- August–September 2026: the iOS app release notes show a new “Max Card experience” (v0.3.0, dated 22 August 2026) and the addition of Business sub-accounts. That confirms the team is still shipping software, but it does not mean new personal sign-ups are open.
The company behind the card is Cynosure Technology LLC, registered in Hong Kong. The App Store seller name and the Infini site both list Cynosure. The card issuer itself is not named on the public site; the brand says it works with “regulated financial institutions” and shows an FCA mark on the site without a licence number. SOC 2 Type II and PCI-DSS Level 1 compliance are claimed, and the site says funds are held with regulated partners in “bankruptcy-remote, segregated accounts” and crypto in multi-signature MPC wallets, with audits and penetration tests by Exvul.
A few things the site does not tell you, and that mattered to me as I read it:
- Personal-card KYC documents and minimum age are not stated. The site describes a fast automated KYB for businesses but does not give parallel numbers for individuals.
- The card network (Visa or Mastercard) is not named in the public pages or app listing I could check.
- The card currency and multi-currency balances are not stated for personal cards. The app says the card works with “supported balances”, and BTC accounts and USD/EUR local accounts exist on the platform.
- A physical card and ATM support are not described anywhere I could find.
- The country list for the card itself is not stated. The platform page says “180+ Countries Supported”, but the App Store adds the rider that “Feature availability may vary by account permissions, account status, and region”. Nothing public covers Russia or Belarus specifically.
If you already have the card
If your Global, Lite or Tech card was suspended on 17 June 2025, you are now a holder without a working card. You can still use deposits, withdrawals and Earn, but the card is gone. Here is what to check first, in order.
- Confirm the card status in the app. The site says issuance fees were refunded to the Infini balance; check that the refund actually landed.
- Move the balance out if you no longer want to keep funds on the platform. Crypto withdrawals, SEPA and wire transfers described on the pricing page, and the BTC withdrawal flow mentioned in app release notes, all keep working as far as I can tell. Withdrawal fees and limits on the card balance itself are not stated on the pricing page.
- If you were on Max, your situation is different. The June 2025 suspension notice listed Global, Lite and Tech, not Max. The Max tier remained on the pricing page (with 0% FX, 2% cashback up to 3%, a $0.30 small-transaction fee under US$50, 1% cross-border outside Hong Kong and 1% refunds). The newer “Max Card experience” from August 2026 suggests the product is still being developed, but the public site does not say whether new personal applicants can still apply.
- Watch for change-of-terms emails. When programmes wind down, the regulator or issuer typically requires a notice period. The Cypher example (a 2026 closure reported by a single secondary source) had new loads ending on 8 July 2026 and spending stopping on 8 August 2026 — about one month of overlap. Treat any Infini email as binding, even if it is short.
If you decide to keep using Infini for the Max card while you still have it, the everyday mechanics on the pricing page are these:
- Cost on every tier: first card free, no annual fee, monthly fee $0, transaction fee $0.
- USD spending fee: 0%.
- FX fee: 1% on Pro, 3% on Lite, 0% on Max.
- Cross-border on Max: 1% outside Hong Kong.
- Small transactions on Max: $0.30 if the transaction is under US$50.
- Refund fee: 1% on Pro and Max.
- Minimum initial top-up: US$10.
- Stablecoin self top-up: free. Fiat deposits via Iron cost 0.20% plus the rail fee (ACH $1, FedNow $1, RTP $1, wire $20, SEPA EUR 1). Network fees on the blockchain side are not stated on the page.
- Wallets: Apple Pay and Google Pay on Max Card. Restricted merchant categories are not stated.
A few things that older reviews assume but the current site does not back up:
- ATM withdrawal fees and limits: not stated.
- Spending limits: not stated numerically. The site says “Set custom limits and controls for each card”, which is a feature, not a number.
- Dispute and chargeback time frames: not stated. The 1% refund fee is on refunds processed through the platform, not on disputed transactions.
- Customer support: email [email protected], a Help Center at help.infini.money, a Telegram channel at t.me/infini_official and an X account at @0xinfini. Hours, languages and whether Russian is supported are not listed; the app added Thai in v1.1.0 but I could not find a Russian translation mentioned.
What can go wrong
Even before the exploit and the suspension, the card programme had three structural issues that any reader should weigh.
- The issuer is not named. The brand runs the customer-facing layer; the licensed institution that actually issues the card under the network’s licence sits behind it. If there is a dispute or a programme shutdown, that named institution is the one you have a relationship with under payment-services law. An unnamed issuer makes complaints and escalation harder to predict.
- The company had a nine-figure exploit inside twelve months. About US$49.5 million in USDC was taken in February 2025 from the Infini vault. The company said compensation would be paid; whether every user was made whole is not stated on the public pages I could check. Custody of customer assets and any insurance on user balances are not described on the site beyond the general “bankruptcy-remote, segregated accounts” line for fiat held with partners. Crypto held with the brand uses multi-signature MPC, but the cold-storage breakdown for personal users is not given.
- The programme can change quickly. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022; the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme was closed. Networks can pull a programme with little warning. Visa and Mastercard themselves do not issue crypto cards; they license issuers and can suspend a programme, so any card’s continuity depends on an issuer they have not let you see.
Beyond those, the platform leaves several standard questions unanswered.
- A 4.7 out of 5 App Store rating from three ratings (read 2026-10-20) is too small a sample to mean much. Google Play ratings and independent reviews on Trustpilot or Reddit were not found at the time of writing.
- Compliance standards are claimed (SOC 2 Type II, PCI-DSS Level 1, Exvul audits), but no audit report is linked and the issuer is not named, so the claim is not independently checkable.
- Restricted merchant categories (gambling, adult, crypto purchases) are not stated on the public site, so you cannot tell in advance whether a category you rely on will work.
- A 1% refund fee is charged when the platform processes a refund, which is unusual and worth knowing if you regularly return goods.
For a Russian-speaking reader, country rules are the bigger question. The site does not publish a list of supported countries for the card and does not say anything specific about Russia or Belarus. The fact that Visa and Mastercard suspended operations in Russia in March 2022 matters more than any single card: cards issued by Russian banks stopped working abroad, which is the reason many Russian citizens outside Russia look for foreign-issued cards in the first place. A card that does not name its issuer and does not state its country list makes it hard to know whether it will work for someone resident in Russia, in another CIS country, or a Russian citizen living in the EU, the UAE or elsewhere. If you fall into any of those groups, the only safe thing to do is assume the card will not work for you until the brand says otherwise in writing.
What to take instead
Because the programme is closed to new applicants, this section is the practical answer for most readers. I am comparing three cards that still issue today. None of them is identical to what Infini was selling, and each has trade-offs you should read carefully.
| Card | Score | Card type | Cost highlights | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Infini (closed) | 4.1 / 10 | Virtual on app, Apple Pay / Google Pay on Max | First card free, 0% FX on Max, 1% Pro, 3% Lite | USDC, USDT, USD, EUR |
| Bitrefill | 6.8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa | “Free through the app”; inactivity fee after 12 months (amount not stated) | BTC, Lightning, ETH, USDC, USDT, SOL, BASE, Polygon, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa, MasterCard, SEPA |
| UPay | 6.1 / 10 | Virtual and physical, personal and business, network not named | Not stated | BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC; converted to USD, EUR, AED |
| Kemy | 6.0 / 10 | Unlimited virtual (Visa), one physical Mastercard contactless | Virtual $15 issuance, $2 a month; physical $250 with DHL, $10 a month; transaction fee 3.5% + $1 | USDT and USDC “on the main networks”, BTC, ETH, SOL, fiat via mobile money and virtual bank accounts |
A few honest notes about each.
- Bitrefill is the closest in spirit to Infini because the card is free, and 2% cashback is split between 1% on crypto deposits and 1% on purchases with no cap. The downsides are the things the page does not say: country list, citizenship vs residence rules, the exact conversion spread on crypto-to-euro, the SEPA pay-in fee of 1.99%, and the exact amount of the 12-month inactivity fee. The card is denominated in euros (crypto is converted to euros when it lands), which is good for eurozone spending but means a real FX cost for anyone paid in dollars.
- UPay serves “180+ countries” but, like Infini, does not name them or say whether Russian or Belarusian residents can apply. The KYC partner accepts only ID documents issued by the user’s country of residence, which matters if you have moved. The card converts to USD, EUR or AED, but cost and fees are not stated and no cashback is advertised on the card page. Treat the headline reach with caution.
- Kemy is the most explicit on price but the most expensive to run. A virtual card is $15 issuance and $2 a month, with a 3.5% + $1 transaction fee; a physical card is $250 issuance and $10 a month. On a $100 monthly spend, the transaction fee adds up. The page says “190+ countries” with “a few restrictions apply” and does not list which ones; Russia and Belarus are not addressed. USDT and USDC are accepted “on the main networks” without naming the chains, which is where the highest risk of sending on the wrong network typically lives.
None of the three is a clean replacement, and none of the three publishes a country list that fully covers a Russian reader’s situation. If you are choosing between them, my short order would be: Bitrefill if the euro denomination works for you and you can live with the unstated conversion spread; UPay if you do not need cashback and want broader denominations; Kemy only if you specifically want an unlimited-virtual model and can absorb the per-transaction percentage.
A few things that are true for any card you pick instead.
- Check the country list on the issuer’s site before signing up. “180+ countries” without a published list means the front door is open and the policy is decided at sign-up.
- Plan for an identity check. KYC for regulated cards covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and an ID document, plus sanctions and PEP screening. In the EU that comes from anti-money-laundering law; in the US it comes from the Customer Identification Programme. Nationality is screened separately from residence, so a Russian passport held by someone resident in another country is its own fact in the application, not a footnote.
- Decide who holds your crypto. A card backed by a custodial platform means you trust the platform with your funds until you spend; a card linked to your own wallet means you keep control but you hold the seed phrase and bear the loss if it leaks. Custodial failures have included Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million in 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million in 2022).
- Pick the right network for stablecoin top-ups. USDC is native on dozens of networks including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar; Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a Circle-native option. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on the wrong network can be lost or stuck in manual recovery with no guaranteed outcome.
- Expect FX and card costs to add up. A card that pays 2% cashback but charges 1% FX and 0.20% plus rail fee on fiat deposits can net to roughly zero if you spend in a currency other than the card’s base. Read every line of the pricing page, not just the headline.
Who I would recommend it to
I would not recommend the Infini card to anyone choosing a new product today, because it is not available to new applicants. Anyone who already has a working card should treat the programme as in wind-down and decide whether they want to keep the balance on the platform or move it elsewhere. The cheapest, lowest-risk path for an existing holder is to draw down the balance while deposits, withdrawals and Earn continue to work, rather than loading more funds onto the card.
If you are choosing a card for the first time, look at Bitrefill as the closest free, virtual-first option, accept that its euro denomination and unstated conversion spread are the price of that price, and check its country list before you sign up. If Bitrefill does not fit, UPay is the broadest on currencies, and Kemy is the only one of the three that publishes explicit per-transaction fees — useful if you want the number before you apply, expensive if you actually use the card heavily.
If you are a Russian speaker and you are choosing a card today, my honest advice is broader than this product. After Visa and Mastercard suspended operations in Russia in March 2022, cards issued by Russian banks stopped working abroad, and that is the reason many readers in your position exist. Pick a card that names its issuer, lists the countries it serves, and is clear about sanctions and KYC rules, and treat any card that hides those three things — issuer, country list, sanctions wording — as not yet ready for your situation.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Infini card?
The Infini card was a virtual crypto card from Cynosure Technology LLC, a Hong Kong company, with optional Apple Pay and Google Pay on a Max tier. The site describes “180+ Countries Supported” for the platform but the card itself had a working, then suspended, tier structure: Global, Lite and Tech cards were suspended for both usage and new applications on 17 June 2025, and the Max tier’s current status for personal customers is not clear.
How does the Infini card work?
The model was prepaid: you topped up the card with USDC, USDT or fiat, and the card spent only the loaded balance. On the Max tier the FX fee was 0%, USD spending was 0%, transaction fee was $0, and the card supported Apple Pay and Google Pay. There was no physical card or ATM description on the public pages, and the card network itself was not named.
Is Infini a bank?
No. The site says Infini partners with regulated financial institutions and shows an FCA mark, but the card issuer is not named publicly. The platform company is Cynosure Technology LLC, registered in Hong Kong. Treat it as a fintech programme manager with an unnamed issuer rather than a bank.
Who owns Infini?
The operating company is Cynosure Technology LLC, listed as the App Store seller and named on the infini.money site. Beneficial ownership beyond that legal entity is not stated on the public pages I could find. A founder was quoted by Decrypt after the February 2025 exploit discussing compensation, but the ownership structure is not disclosed.
Can I use the Infini card in my country?
For new applicants, that question is now largely moot because three of the four tiers are closed to new applications. For existing holders, the public page does not publish a country list for the card and the App Store adds that “Feature availability may vary by account permissions, account status, and region”. Nothing on the site specifically addresses residents of Russia or Belarus. If your country or citizenship is a concern, contact [email protected] directly before relying on the card.
How do I top up an Infini card?
The pricing page lists USDC and USDT as stablecoin top-ups at no platform fee, plus USD and EUR local-account funding. Fiat deposits through Iron cost 0.20% plus a rail fee: ACH $1, FedNow $1, RTP $1, wire $20, SEPA EUR 1. The minimum initial top-up is US$10, and blockchain network fees on top of those numbers are not stated on the page.
Is the Infini card safe?
The site claims SOC 2 Type II and PCI-DSS Level 1 compliance, says funds are held in “bankruptcy-remote, segregated accounts”, and describes multi-signature MPC custody for crypto with Exvul audits. Against that, the platform suffered a reported US$49.5 million USDC exploit in February 2025, the issuer is not named, and three card tiers were suspended in June 2025. The 4.7 out of 5 App Store rating is from three ratings, which is not enough to draw a conclusion.
How do I withdraw money from Infini?
Crypto withdrawals, fiat SEPA and wire transfers described on the pricing page, and the BTC withdrawal flow referenced in the app’s release notes, all appeared to continue after the June 2025 card suspension. Withdrawal fees and limits on the card balance are not stated on the pricing page, so check the app for the actual fee before you send.
Is the Infini card free?
The first card was free, with no annual fee, no monthly fee, and a $0 transaction fee on every tier shown. FX was 1% on Pro, 3% on Lite and 0% on Max, and the Max tier added a 1% cross-border fee outside Hong Kong and a $0.30 charge on transactions under US$50. Stablecoin top-ups were free; fiat deposits via Iron were 0.20% plus a rail fee. Since the card is no longer issued to new applicants, “free” is now mostly relevant for existing holders reading old statements.
How do I add the Infini card to Apple Wallet?
For a working Max card, the App Store listing says Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on Max Card. The exact in-app flow is not described in the public help materials, and 3-D Secure is the standard identity check you can expect at checkout, with Visa Secure on Visa and Identity Check on Mastercard as the network-specific versions. Because the card network is not stated on the public site, you would need to confirm in the app which wallet flow applies to your specific card.
Prepared by the Crypto Card Rating editorial staff.
