DigitalPurse Card Review: The Card That Says Almost Nothing About Its Own Fees
DigitalPurse is a virtual payment card you fund with cryptocurrency, and that is genuinely the whole pitch: download an app, create a card, load it with crypto or stablecoins, and spend the balance through Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. There is no physical card, no cash machine, no branch, and no named bank behind it. The people who run it describe themselves plainly on their own site as “a technology platform, not a bank.”

That last sentence is the single most useful thing they tell you, and I would read it twice before you send anything to them. I scored the card 5.8 out of 10. It is a plausible tool for a specific and fairly narrow person: someone who wants a single-use or short-lived virtual card, funded straight from crypto, and who is comfortable with an unnamed issuer, a “may be required” identity check, and pricing that only becomes visible inside the app. It is a poor fit for anyone who needs to know the fee before paying it, who wants to complain about a disputed purchase and get money back, who wants to hold a physical card, or who plans to keep a large balance on the platform for months.
What makes this review difficult to write is not that the card is bad. It is that the public pages are thin. The fees are shown inside the app at the moment you create a card, not on the website. The list of countries is not stated. The issuer is not named. The blockchain networks for the deposits are not stated. Where I could not find something, I will say plainly that it is not stated rather than fill the gap with a guess.
The conditions described below are current as of 2026-10-20.
21 October 2026 — Data verified against DigitalPurse official terms, help centre, and independent aggregator research.
Scorecard: 5.8 out of 10
Here is how the total breaks down, criterion by criterion, so you can disagree with me on a specific line rather than on a vague impression.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | No country list, no stated bans, no citizenship or residency restrictions, and no disclosure of the issuing region |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Creation and top-up fees appear in the app only; no figures on the site; third-party sources contradict each other |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT, USDC; networks not disclosed; no extra fee on USDT and USDC |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Issuer unnamed, platform not a bank, no chargeback; Trustpilot 4.8 from 232 reviews; recurring decline complaints |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual only; the three mobile wallets work; cash machines are not permitted |
| Total | 5.8 / 10 | A narrow tool, cleanly executed, with too much left unsaid |
A 5.8 is not a dismissal. It is roughly what you get when a product does one thing competently and leaves ten things unstated. The strongest marks are in funding, because six assets across both coins and stablecoins is generous for this category, and the weakest are in cost and everyday use, because both hinge on information the company does not publish.
If your question is simply “is this a scam?”, I did not find evidence of one. I found a small technology company with a functioning help centre, a 24/7 support channel, an app with thousands of installs, and reviews that are mostly positive. What I found instead is a product with real gaps around money — no chargeback, unnamed issuer, invisible fees — and a set of well-documented payment declines at large software providers.
Will They Give You the Card?
Short answer: probably, because the site states no country list, no citizenship restriction and no residency test — and also, I cannot promise it, because the same silence that leaves the list unstated leaves the eligibility rules unstated.
What is actually published is this. The terms page says nothing about which countries are served or who qualifies. The company is DECLASSIC TECHNOLOGIES LLC, and the site states it is “a technology platform, not a bank” whose services “may be facilitated by third-party licensed financial institutions.” The issuer is not named, the country of registration is not stated, and no licences are listed.
That combination matters more than it sounds. A card is a payment instrument issued under the licence of somebody, usually an e-money institution or a bank, and that somebody is the entity legally responsible when your payment goes wrong. Here, that entity is unnamed on the public pages. So when you ask “will they give me the card?”, the honest answer has two halves: no published restriction says no, and no published rule says yes either. What you are actually being admitted on is whatever the unnamed partner decides at signup.
For a reader anywhere, the practical consequence is this. If your reason for wanting an anonymous-style card is that you cannot get an ordinary one — because you live somewhere the banking system is closed to you, because your documents are in a country with no correspondent banks, or because you have moved countries and your old bank will not open anything new — then DigitalPurse’s lack of a country list is not the reassurance you want. A card with no stated eligibility rule is also a card whose eligibility rule can change next month without notice. And if the issuer turns out to be in a jurisdiction you did not expect, the BIN will say so to every merchant that looks (see the background section on BINs).
What I would do instead of guessing: sign up, create a low-value card, fund a small amount, and test one small purchase before committing real money. That is not a trick to get around anything. It is just the cheapest way to find out a fact the website refuses to state.
How to Get It
The short version: download the app, create an account, and the card exists almost immediately. But three things in that sentence are worth pausing on — what “account” involves, what “instantly” means, and what “card” you actually get.
The card is virtual only. There is no physical version. It is created through the app or a Telegram bot and is described as “available instantly.” Orders are processed straight away but “may take up to 24 hours.” No plastic is posted, ever.
You use it through a mobile wallet. The site says virtual cards work in-store via mobile wallets such as Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. The card network is not stated, and neither is the card’s currency. That network gap is more than a technical footnote: whether a shop accepts it, whether online verification works, and which 3-D Secure flow you get all hang on that unnamed network.
Identity checking is conditional, not absent. This is the part people get wrong in both directions. The terms require age 18+ and one account per individual. The help centre says KYC documents are not stated as a requirement, while the compliance page says KYC “may” be required for certain payments or products. There are no named verification levels. Unverified users have daily and monthly order caps — the amounts are not stated — and verified users get higher limits. Cards are sold in KYC and Non-KYC versions, and Non-KYC cards cost more because the company says they offer “greater privacy and flexibility.”
That last point deserves a beat of scepticism rather than celebration. Paying more for less verification is a real trade the card genuinely offers. It is not anonymity, and I want to be unambiguous about that: a Non-KYC card here means fewer identity checks, not that you are invisible. Your exchange, your on-ramp, and any blockchain you fund from see you perfectly well. Anyone who tells you a Non-KYC card leaves no trace is selling something.
There is a help article titled “Why is my KYC verification still pending?” — I did not read it — and processing times and rejection reasons are not stated anywhere I could find. If verification is the thing standing between you and a card, expect to be in the dark about how long it takes.
Here is the short checklist of what you can and cannot learn before you start:
- Age 18+, one account per individual: stated.
- No physical card: stated.
- No country, citizenship or residency list: not stated anywhere on the public pages.
- KYC may be required for some payments or products: stated.
- KYC documents required: not stated.
- Card network and card currency: not stated.
Fees and What a Payment Really Costs
This is the weakest part of the product, and I want to be direct about it: the fees are not published. The terms say purchases “may be subject to handling fees” and that the amounts are “detailed in the specific terms” of each product. The help centre says card creation and top-up fees are displayed in the card description inside the app during creation. No figures appear on the website, and no percentages are published.

So you cannot answer “how much does a coffee cost me?” from the public pages. You can only answer it by opening the app and looking. That is a real design choice, and it may be a deliberate one — showing a price before you create a card lets the platform vary it by amount and card type — but it puts the burden of comparison entirely on you.
| Item | What is published |
|---|---|
| Issuance / card creation fee | Not stated on the site; shown in the app during card creation; higher for Non-KYC cards |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Top-up fee | Not stated; shown in the app; scales with the amount on privacy cards |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion / spread | Not stated |
| Foreign-exchange fee on non-USD payments | Not stated; balance is USD, so payments in other currencies imply a conversion |
| ATM withdrawal | Not permitted |
| Daily and monthly spending limits | Not stated; virtual cards are offered with a “starting balance of up to $1,000 – $10,000”; Non-KYC verification affects caps |
| Refund | Returned items are refunded “to the card originally used”; gift-code orders have no returns or refunds once processed |
Two unofficial figures exist and I am labelling them as such, because they do not come from the company and they contradict each other. An App Store reviewer says the company charges an extra $3 for a virtual card and requires a minimum $6 balance. A third-party card directory lists issuance, top-up and monthly fee as free. Both cannot be right. Treat neither as a fact; treat both as a reason to look inside the app before you commit.
Now let me walk through three everyday payments, because abstract fee tables hide which fee actually bites.
A small purchase at a café. You tapped $20 of USDT into the card. The top-up fee, whatever it is, already came off at load time — that is the moment the fee is charged, not at purchase. The purchase itself may carry a handling fee, per the terms, and since your balance is USD and the café may charge in its own currency, a conversion happens. That conversion spread is not stated. So the real cost of the purchase is: the top-up fee, plus whatever handling fee applies, plus whatever the conversion costs you. You cannot compute any of the three from public information.
A $30 online subscription in euros. Same structure, larger numbers. The FAQ says “FIAT is converted to USD the moment it’s loaded to the card” — so conversion happens at load, and then a non-USD payment means a second conversion at the point of sale. The spread or fee for that second leg is not stated. Address verification is also worth worrying about: AVS is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines on exactly this kind of purchase.
Three small transactions. Here the per-purchase fee hurts most, because if any handling fee is a fixed amount rather than a percentage, three transactions pay it three times. The card type you chose changes this too: reloadable KYC cards are the lower-cost option, and Non-KYC cards cost more by design.
The pattern to take away: with this card, the load is where the visible cost sits, and the spread on conversion is where the invisible cost sits. If you are the kind of person who needs a total before you tap, this is not your card.
How to Top Up
Topping up is the part DigitalPurse does best, and the strongest thing about the whole product. Six assets are accepted: BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT and USDC. Blockchain networks are not stated. No additional fees are charged for USDT and USDC.

The mechanics for a reloadable card are simple: select the card, tap “Add Funds.” Non-reloadable cards cannot be topped up — the idea is that you buy as many as you need, which suits the throwaway-card use case.
The company’s own advice is worth following here, because it saves you money: it suggests USDT, USDC, bank transfer or mobile money precisely to avoid extra charges, and warns that BTC, ETH, LTC and XMR may cost more because of volatility and processing. That warning is not about a hidden DigitalPurse fee — it is about the network fee for your deposit, which the blockchain charges and the card company does not, plus the movement in price between the moment you send and the moment the balance lands.
The minimum top-up is not stated. Neither is the timing of a credit, and no network list is published, so you cannot pre-check whether the address you are about to send to is on a chain the platform accepts.
That last point deserves a real warning, not a shrug. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. Sending USDT is not a single action but many — it exists on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others — and the platforms are explicit that this is not risk-free: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not even a native option.
If you are new to this, the safest order of operations is: confirm the network inside the app first, copy the address from the app rather than from an old message, send a small test amount, wait for it to land, then send the rest. And remember that if the token you hold is an ERC-20 asset and you hold no ETH, you cannot send it at all — gas is paid only in ETH. On Tron, fees are paid via bandwidth and energy, often by burning TRX.
Withdrawing is possible in principle — the help centre describes selecting the active card, then More/Manage, then “Withdraw Funds” — but fees, minimum, timing and destination are all not stated. What happens to a leftover balance if you close a card is also not stated.
Paying With It Every Day
Everyday use is where the thinness shows. Here is the honest inventory: three mobile wallets, no physical card, no cash machine, no stated rewards, no stated app rating on official pages, and no chargeback when something goes wrong.
Where it works. The site says cards work at merchants that support mobile wallets such as Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. In practice that means most ordinary shops in most countries with a contactless terminal — but “most” is doing real work in that sentence, because the card network is not stated and small merchants, foreign-category merchants and some online stores will behave differently.
Where it does not work, by rule. The terms list prohibited purchases, and the list is described as not exhaustive: betting and casino gambling, government-licensed online casinos, non-sport internet gaming, dating and escort services, security brokers and dealers, foreign or non-fiat currency purchases, wires and money orders, and cash disbursements. Two of those bite harder than they first appear. Foreign or non-fiat currency purchases are prohibited, which interacts awkwardly with a card whose balance is USD — spending abroad means a conversion, and the terms do not explain how those two provisions coexist in practice. Cash disbursements appear twice: “Manual Cash Disbursements” and “Automated Cash Disbursements” are both listed, and the help centre states directly that ATM withdrawals are considered a “transfer of value” and are not permitted.
So: no cash, ever. If a category of purchase matters to you — travel cash, foreign currency, gaming, betting — check the list before you assume.
Why some software companies refuse it. This is the most practically useful complaint in the whole review, and it is not mysterious. A payment card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number, the BIN, and merchants can look it up to see which institution and country issued the card. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs precisely because that lookup reveals the card type and the issuer country, and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. A recurring theme in user reports is declines at Google Cloud, Azure and DigitalOcean — a signature of prepaid BIN blocking, which is a policy decision by those merchants, not evidence of a scam.
Two more everyday frictions worth knowing:
- A declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds that can remain for several days, typically up to 7. That money is unavailable while the merchant’s system decides.
- A gift-code order, once processed, has no returns and no refunds.
Rewards and app quality. No rewards, cashback or incentive is stated anywhere on the official site. Official pages show no store ratings; the site download buttons point to the company’s own web pages rather than to the stores. Unofficial figures from a third-party directory put the Android app at about 4.6 out of 5 from roughly 170 reviews with 50,000+ installs, and iOS at about 4.5 to 4.7 from over a thousand ratings. Those are not official and not confirmed by the company.
Support. Support is described as available 24/7 through the in-app support system, a Telegram bot, an English Help Centre with 29 articles, and a support email used for failed purchases. Russian-language support is not stated. That matters for Russian speakers, who should assume they will be working in English.
What Can Go Wrong
Let me separate three different risks, because they are often confused: risk of losing money to fraud, risk of losing it to the platform, and risk of simply not getting your money back from a shop.
There is no chargeback. None. The help centre says flatly: “we cannot support chargebacks,” giving the reasons as unsustainable fraud, blockchain finality and privacy — and it says this applies to sub-issuers too. A chargeback is a refund ordered by your issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. Without one, your only route when a merchant takes your money and delivers nothing is the help centre. There are articles on refunds not yet arrived, on double charges, and on a merchant declining but still taking money — I did not read them — but no dispute time frames are published.
This is the single most important line in this review. Your usual consumer protection, the mechanism that makes a bank card safe to use online, does not exist here. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Here it is not merely absent by accident of jurisdiction; the company says it cannot support it as a matter of policy.
Your funds are held by the platform, not by you. The site describes “secure encryption, minimal data collection, and strict access controls,” and also says the model is custodial by nature: funds are held with the platform and its sub-issuers. In-app freeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls and insurance are not stated. The one concrete protection offered is that you can cap the amount loaded onto a card to limit spending — which is genuinely useful, and I would use it.
Being custodial means you are trusting a company whose issuer is unnamed. The general lesson from this industry is worth repeating here: custodial platforms have a real history of failure. Mt. Gox lost about US$350 million as reported between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. And because blockchain transfers are typically irreversible with no built-in recovery, a stolen key or a wrong destination is not something a network can undo.
Company and regulatory standing. The site is copyright DECLASSIC TECHNOLOGIES LLC 2026. It says it is a technology platform, not a bank, and that services may be facilitated by third-party licensed financial institutions. No dated licence, issuer announcement or programme event appears on the official site or help centre. The help articles from 2025–2026 about non-reloadable cards and chargebacks are undated. I found no official incident report.
For context on what you would normally be able to check: in the EU, MiCA has applied since its provisions took legal effect in June 2023, with rules on stablecoins applying from 30 June 2024 and crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024; under Article 48, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers that you can consult. None of that machinery is visible on DigitalPurse’s own pages, which is not proof of a problem — the card may well sit under a partner’s licence in another framework — but it means you would be taking it on trust.
What users actually report. Trustpilot reads 4.8 out of 5 from 232 reviews, 60 of them in the last 12 months, the latest dated 19 October 2026; the company has not invited customers to review recently, and the visible reviews are positive. An earlier reading via a different Trustpilot domain showed 4.5 from 192 reviews. A third-party aggregator notes that a minority of older reviews call it a scam over declined cards, slow support and high fees, and highlights declines at Google Cloud, Azure and DigitalOcean; it cites Reddit threads from r/Ghana and r/Nigeria that I could not verify. Recurring themes across sources: those declines, balances that are hard to get refunded, an extra charge on small cards, and support that is both praised and criticised.
None of that amounts to a fraud finding. It amounts to a service where most people are happy and a minority have a bad time for reasons that are structural, not accidental.
What to Take Instead
I pulled together three alternatives with public pricing and compared them on the same questions. The scores are their own; the facts are theirs and mine respectively, and none of them is a substitute for reading the current pages yourself.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Stated cost | Notable strengths | Notable gaps |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DigitalPurse | 5.8 / 10 | Virtual only | Not published; shown in app; unofficial reports of $3 and a $6 minimum | Six funding assets; USDT/USDC with no extra fee | No chargeback; no ATM; declines at some software merchants |
| Bitrefill | 6.8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa | Free through the app; inactivity fee after 12 months without spending or cash-out, amount not stated | 2% total cashback with no cap (1% on crypto deposits, 1% on purchases); physical card; SEPA pay-in fee 1.99% | Country list and Russia/Belarus position not stated; deposit spread percentage not stated |
| UPay | 6.1 / 10 | Virtual and physical, personal and business | Not stated | Claims support in 180+ countries; converts payments to USD, EUR, AED and others | KYC partner accepts only ID issued by the same country as the user; no country list; fees not stated |
| Kemy | 6.0 / 10 | Unlimited virtual cards, one physical Mastercard | Virtual: $15 issuance valid 3 years plus $2/month. Physical: $250 issuance with DHL Express, valid 3 years, plus $10/month | 190+ countries; transaction fee 3.5% + $1 on virtual | Expensive to hold; failed transaction $0.8; deposit fee shown as 8% in one place and 5% in another on the same pricing page |
Two observations from that table. First, Bitrefill is the only one of the four with a published rewards programme and a physical option, which is why it scores highest of the alternatives — but its eligibility rules for Russia and Belarus are not stated either, so the same “check before you rely on it” advice applies. Second, Kemy’s pricing is the most transparent of all four and still shows how expensive this category gets when a provider decides to charge for holding a card: $2 a month on a virtual card adds up faster than most people expect.
If your problem is specifically “I need a card that works today, funded from crypto, and I do not care about cash or disputes”, DigitalPurse is not unreasonable. If your problem is “I need to not be surprised by a fee”, buy one of the alternatives and read their pricing page first, because at least two of them publish numbers.
Who I Would Recommend It To
Here is my honest recommendation, in the order I would rank the situations.
Good fit. You are spending from crypto regularly, you only ever pay by contactless in shops or through a mobile wallet, you never need cash, and you are deliberately keeping small balances across short-lived cards so that a compromise costs little. You have read the terms, you understand there is no chargeback, and you are at peace with the issuer being unnamed. If that is you, the six-asset top-up and the USDT/USDC no-extra-fee policy make this a reasonable tool — and the in-app cap on how much you load is worth turning on from day one.
Poor fit, and I would say so plainly. You need cash; you need a physical card; you need to dispute a purchase and get money back; you need to know the total cost of a transaction before you make it; or you want to keep a meaningful balance on the platform for a long period. In every one of those cases this card is the wrong instrument, and the reason is not that it is badly built — it is that the properties you need are the ones it cannot offer.
For Russian speakers specifically, three separate situations. If you are living in Russia, expect English-only support, expect no ATM, and be aware that Russian-issued cards stopped working abroad after Visa and Mastercard suspended operations in Russia in March 2022 — which is precisely the gap a foreign-issued virtual card fills, and precisely why an unnamed issuer country matters more for you than for anyone else. If you are living in another CIS country, note that KYC is conditional rather than absent, so a verification request can arrive at any point, and note that one competitor’s KYC partner accepts only ID documents issued by the same country as the user — a rule of that kind would be fatal for documents held elsewhere. If you are a Russian citizen living outside Russia, you are the person this product is most plausibly aimed at, and the absence of a stated country or citizenship list is the main reason it is available to you at all; equally, it is the reason you should verify your own status before loading anything substantial, because the rule can change.
None of that is advice about how to get around any check. It is a description of what a card with unstated eligibility rules means for the person holding it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the DigitalPurse card?
DigitalPurse is a virtual payment card funded with cryptocurrency. You create it in an app or through a Telegram bot, load it with BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT or USDC, and spend the balance through Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. There is no physical card and no cash machine. The company describes itself as a technology platform, not a bank, whose services may be provided by third-party licensed financial institutions.
Does the DigitalPurse card require KYC?
Not always. The compliance page says KYC may be required for certain payments or products, and the required documents are not stated anywhere public. Unverified users have daily and monthly order caps with amounts not published, while verified users get higher limits. Cards are also sold in Non-KYC versions at a higher price, on the stated grounds that they offer greater privacy and flexibility.
How much does the DigitalPurse card cost?
The card’s own site publishes no figures. Card creation and top-up fees are shown in the app during creation and scale with the amount on privacy cards, and an inactive card may incur fees — none of them stated. Unofficial figures conflict: an App Store reviewer reports a $3 charge and a $6 minimum balance, while a third-party directory lists issuance, top-up and monthly fees as free. Check inside the app before you commit.
Can I use the DigitalPurse card at ATMs?
No. The help centre states that ATM withdrawals are considered a transfer of value and are not permitted. The terms also list both manual and automated cash disbursements among prohibited purchases. If you need cash, this card cannot provide it.
Why was my DigitalPurse card declined at a service like Google Cloud or DigitalOcean?
Most likely prepaid BIN blocking. A card’s first six or eight digits identify the issuer and its country, and merchants can look that up and decline prepaid or foreign cards on policy. The recurring complaints about declines at those named cloud providers are consistent with this. There is also the ordinary risk that a declined authorisation leaves a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7.
What happens if a merchant takes my money and does not deliver?
You have no chargeback. DigitalPurse states it cannot support chargebacks, citing unsustainable fraud, blockchain finality and privacy, and says this applies to sub-issuers as well. Your route is the 24/7 in-app support, the Telegram bot or the support email. Returned items are refunded to the card originally used, and no dispute time frames are published.
Which cryptocurrencies and networks can I use to top up?
BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT and USDC are accepted, and no extra top-up fee is charged for USDT or USDC. The supported blockchain networks are not stated on the public pages, which matters because transfers are irreversible — send on a network the platform does not support and the funds may be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
Is DigitalPurse a regulated bank or a safe place to hold money?
It is neither, on the evidence available. The site says it is a technology platform, not a bank; the issuer is not named and no licences or registration country are stated. Funds are held custodially by the platform and its sub-issuers, and the model exposes you to platform and counterparty risk. There is a useful safeguard: you can cap how much is loaded onto a card.
Is the DigitalPurse card worth it?
For one narrow job, yes. If you want a quick virtual card funded straight from crypto, spend only through a mobile wallet, never need cash, and can accept having no chargeback, it does that job with a generous choice of funding assets and no extra fee on USDT or USDC. If you need cash, a physical card, dispute rights or transparent pricing, it is not worth it, and a provider with published fees would suit you better.
How do I get money back off the card?
The help centre describes selecting the active card, then More/Manage, then Withdraw Funds, and the FAQ confirms withdrawal is possible with terms and conditions applying. Fees, minimum amount, timing and destination are all not stated, as is what happens to a remaining balance when you close a card. Plan for those unknowns before you load money you expect to want back.
Published by the Crypto Card Rating team.
