Nexo card review: who it suits and what it really costs

If you already keep your crypto on Nexo and you live in Europe, the Nexo card is the natural way to spend that balance at any shop that takes Mastercard. It works as a prepaid-style card: you keep your assets on the platform, and at the till the conversion from crypto to the merchant’s currency happens in the background. The card itself is free, the foreign-exchange fee is low inside the EEA and UK, and you can tap your phone with Apple Pay or Google Pay within minutes of opening the account.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Nexo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The catch is that the card is not built for everyone. Eligibility is narrow, the plastic card is locked behind a five-figure crypto balance, and Nexo has been going through a complicated regulatory transition under the EU’s MiCA framework. A Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office in 2025, in connection with alleged sanctions and AML breaches, is part of that picture too. In this review I’ll go through what the card actually does, what it costs in real numbers, who can and cannot get one, and how it compares with the alternatives for people who don’t fit Nexo’s narrow audience.

The conditions described here are current as of 21 October 2026, checked against the Nexo card page and the Bank of Lithuania issuer register.

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict
  2. Who they will give you the card
  3. How to get it
  4. Fees: what it really costs
  5. Top up: how to fund the card
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict

I rate the Nexo card 6.3 out of 10. That’s a passing grade for a specific kind of reader and a poor fit for almost everyone else. The everyday-use score is the highest in the breakdown, reflecting that, once you have it, paying with the card is smooth: virtual card in minutes, mobile wallets work, ATM access with monthly free allowances, and loyalty-tier cashback in NEXO or Bitcoin. Costs are light for a European spending inside the EEA and UK; they get meaningful outside it. The biggest deductions are for the narrow country list and the various risks: a 2025 Sofia police raid tied to alleged Russia-sanctions and AML breaches, the ongoing MiCA transition that has shifted custody and trading to licensed partners, and a Trustpilot TrustScore of 4.4 with recurring complaints about slow withdrawals and closed accounts.

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Why it scored that way
Who can get it 5 / 10 Limited to residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”; no official country list, an unofficial source lists 30 European states with Bulgaria, Estonia and the US restricted
Cost 7 / 10 No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; FX 0.2% on weekdays inside the EEA/UK/Switzerland and 2% outside it; an unofficial 0.75% crypto-to-fiat swap on top of FX; the plastic card requires Gold tier and a $5,000 crypto balance
Top-up options 7 / 10 The card spends directly from a Nexo account holding 100+ assets; stablecoins and FiatX (EURx, USDx, GBPx) work in Debit Mode, but the underlying networks are not published
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 TrustScore 4.4 on Trustpilot with recurring complaints about delayed withdrawals and locked accounts, plus the Sofia raid, the MiCA partner switch, and conflicting reporting on whether the plastic card can be ordered; no cardholder insurance is published
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals across four loyalty tiers — but the plastic card and the cashback in Credit Mode are gated behind a $5,000 balance and the Gold tier
Total 6.3 / 10

The card fits Europeans — particularly those in EEA countries or the UK — who already park significant crypto balances on Nexo and want to spend those balances at standard retailers without a separate conversion step. It does not fit people who live in countries outside that unofficial 30-state list, who need a card backed by a US dollar balance they top up from a bank, or who want a self-custody card that does not require trusting a custodian with their private keys.

Who they will give you the card

The Nexo card page says the card is offered to residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”, and goes on to say only that it is “not available in certain jurisdictions”. That is the entire official statement of who qualifies. The card does not publish a country list, an excluded-jurisdictions list, a specific age requirement, or the documents needed for proof of address. Identity Verification calls for “a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country”, which is a tight rule: a passport issued in a non-eligible country will not pass even if the applicant’s residence is in, say, Germany.

Unofficial reporting from a card-tracking site lists Nexo as available in 30 countries: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom. Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States are listed as restricted. Treat that list as unofficial — it is not on the Nexo card page itself. Argentina is the one non-European country in that 30; Nexo has, at various points, served Latin American clients through other partners, so its appearance is not necessarily wrong, but again, it is not on the card’s official page.

For Russian speakers this is the part to read carefully. The card page itself does not name Russia or Belarus. The unofficial list does not include Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan or any other CIS country except — depending on the source — none of them. Russia is also the subject of an alleged 2025 Sofia police raid on Nexo’s Bulgarian office over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML violations, which I treat as news, not as an official Nexo statement about which citizens it accepts. For Russian citizens living in Russia, in other CIS countries, and abroad, the realistic reading is that the Nexo card is not designed for them and the card page offers no path to opt in. Outside the EEA and the UK, the FX fee jumps from 0.2% to 2% on weekdays, so even if you could obtain the card from a neighbouring jurisdiction, the day-to-day economics would be poor.

What is and isn’t published about eligibility:

How to get it

The card flows off a Nexo account, so step one is opening that account and completing Identity Verification with a supported EEA, UK or other eligible European ID. There is no separate “card application”: once verified, you open the Nexo app, go to the Card tab and pick virtual or physical. The virtual card activates inside the app, immediately, and the physical card is ordered in the same tab at no extra cost. Standard delivery can take up to four weeks and may pass through the local Post Office. You activate the physical card inside the app when it lands.

The issuing institution on the page is DiPocket UAB, which is authorised by the Bank of Lithuania. The card page carries a Mastercard trademark notice, which is consistent with a Mastercard programme, and the unofficial card-tracking source names the network as Mastercard; the card page itself does not spell that out. The card currency is chosen at virtual card activation and cannot be changed on the physical-card order screen — if you pick wrong, Nexo’s help center says you have to contact support.

There is one hard prerequisite that catches people out: the plastic card and most of the headline cashback are tied to loyalty tiers. To get a physical card you must hold more than $5,000 in digital assets on the platform and reach at least the Gold loyalty tier. The Gold tier, in turn, is set by the share of NEXO tokens in your portfolio, so it’s not a balance threshold alone — it’s a ratio. Reach Gold before ordering the physical card or you’ll be told to wait.

What gets opened in which step:

Fees: what it really costs

There is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee on the Nexo card. The virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate; the physical card is free to order and free to ship. That alone is better than most rivals on the basic-cost axis. The fees you do pay are the foreign-exchange (FX) fee and, where applicable, the crypto-to-fiat swap fee and ATM overage.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Nexo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The FX fee has four rates, set by where the merchant is and when you swipe. Inside the EEA, the UK and Switzerland it is 0.2% on weekdays and 0.7% at weekends. Outside those regions it is 2% on weekdays and 2.5% at weekends. That is competitive inside Europe and steep outside it.

Crypto conversion is published less clearly. The Debit Mode spends stablecoins, regular crypto or FiatX assets such as EURx, USDx and GBPx, and the merchant receives fiat; the page itself does not publish a crypto-to-fiat conversion fee. An unofficial source gives it as 0.75% on top of FX. I am repeating that as an unofficial figure because Nexo’s own page does not state it.

ATM withdrawals are available. Each tier includes a free monthly allowance in EUR or GBP, and the excess is charged at 2% with a minimum of 1.99 EUR or 1.99 GBP per withdrawal.

Costs at a glance

Fee or limit Amount
Issuance (virtual) Free (activate requires $50 in account)
Issuance (physical) Free, requires Gold tier and $5,000+ in digital assets
Monthly fee None
Annual fee None
Inactivity fee None
FX fee, EEA/UK/CH, weekday 0.2%
FX fee, EEA/UK/CH, weekend 0.7%
FX fee, outside EEA/UK/CH, weekday 2%
FX fee, outside EEA/UK/CH, weekend 2.5%
Crypto-to-fiat conversion (Debit Mode) Not stated on card page (unofficial: 0.75%)
ATM free allowance, Base EUR 200 / GBP 180 per month
ATM free allowance, Silver EUR 400 / GBP 360 per month
ATM free allowance, Gold EUR 1,000 / GBP 900 per month
ATM free allowance, Platinum EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,800 per month
ATM overage 2%, minimum 1.99 EUR / 1.99 GBP per withdrawal
Daily / monthly spend limits Not stated on card page

To see how that looks in practice, consider your typical European spend. When you use the card inside the EEA, you pay the 0.2% weekday FX plus the 0.75% crypto-to-fiat swap fee (unofficial estimate). That combination of fees is typical for crypto cards in the European market. Outside the EEA, or on weekends, the FX fee is higher, so those transactions are significantly more expensive. For ATM withdrawals, you have a free allowance per month depending on your tier, and any amount over that triggers a 2% fee (minimum 1.99 EUR or GBP), which is a clear threshold to manage by grouping your withdrawals.

The plastic card’s $5,000 floor catches people out. If your balance dips below it, Trustpilot reviewers describe a “grace period” before cashback and physical-card benefits are paused. If your balance is volatile, that can mean inconsistent treatment from one month to the next.

Top up: how to fund the card

The Nexo card is fed directly from your Nexo account balance. You don’t top it up in the sense of moving money onto the card — the card draws on the platform balance at the moment of payment. That works for 100+ digital assets that Nexo supports, including crypto, stablecoins, and FiatX assets like EURx, USDx and GBPx that act as tokenised euro, dollar and pound balances. The networks that those assets live on are not named on the card page, so the practical guidance is to use whatever deposit route the Nexo app shows for your chosen asset.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Nexo starts with a transfer to the right network

Cashback in Credit Mode is paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin, and you can switch the payout currency. So the “top up” question splits into two subquestions, depending on which mode you use.

Debit Mode. You spend crypto, stablecoins or FiatX directly. The conversion to the merchant’s fiat happens at the till. This is the closest thing to “tap and go” with crypto: balances you already hold at Nexo convert automatically and the merchant receives normal fiat.

Credit Mode. You borrow against your holdings and the loan is repaid by selling the collateral, with the cashback rate set by your loyalty tier. Note that Credit Mode requires the same $5,000+ in digital assets floor as the physical card.

On funding specifics the card page is silent:

So while you don’t “top up” the card the way you would a prepaid voucher, you do need a funded Nexo account to make any of this work, and how that account gets funded (crypto deposit, fiat on-ramp, transfer from another wallet) is decided in the app and not described on the card page.

Paying with it every day

Once the card is live, everyday payment behaves much like any contactless card. You tap with Apple Pay or Google Pay at a terminal, or insert the physical card at the till. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number kept in your phone’s Secure Element, so the actual PAN never reaches the merchant. Most contactless payments clear without a PIN or a 3-D Secure prompt; online card payments may sometimes ask for an Identity Check (Mastercard’s 3-D Secure brand) — a one-time code or biometric — which can occasionally cause friction on small online stores.

A few practical things to keep in mind.

Loyalty tiers and cashback

There are four loyalty tiers: Base, Silver, Gold and Platinum. Tier is set by the share of NEXO tokens in your portfolio, not by balance size alone. The plastic card and meaningful Credit-Mode cashback both demand the Gold tier or above, which is why I keep coming back to the $5,000 balance requirement. Cashback is paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin, and you can pick which one to receive.

Tier Cashback in NEXO tokens Cashback in Bitcoin ATM free allowance
Base 0.5% 0.1% EUR 200 / GBP 180
Silver 0.7% 0.2% EUR 400 / GBP 360
Gold 1% 0.3% EUR 1,000 / GBP 900
Platinum 2% 0.5% EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,800

Rates “may change and vary by region” per the card page. Beyond cashback, Loyalty Program members earn “up to 13%” on idle funds, with the rate per tier not stated. Cashback is only paid on purchases made in Credit Mode, and only when the account holds more than $5,000 in digital assets; that gating is why Debit Mode users typically see no cashback.

What can go wrong

This is the section where the Nexo card’s score drops. Three things matter: the company’s regulatory position, the technical reliability of card services, and your exposure as a custodian’s customer.

Regulatory position. Cardholder funds are issued by DiPocket UAB under a Bank of Lithuania authorisation, which is a separate thing from Nexo’s own crypto licences. Nexo’s MiCA picture has been moving: in mid-2026 the company said it had set up a MiCA-compliant structure under German oversight, and during the MiCA transition custody and trading moved to licensed partners (Tangany for custody, DLT Finance for trading). Independent ESMA-register checks in August and September 2026 reportedly found no entity called “Nexo” among authorised CASPs, although a Bulgarian FSC application was said to be pending as of February 2026. None of this tells you the card will stop working tomorrow, but it does mean the corporate story is “the card product continues under an authorised issuer while a separate MiCA licence is being lined up”, and that kind of separation matters if anything goes wrong.

Operational reliability. Trustpilot shows a 4.4 TrustScore across about 18,805 reviews, with around 2,549 of those in the last twelve months. Recent reviews consistently mention:

These are recurrent themes, not isolated complaints. Read the most recent hundred or so reviews on Trustpilot before applying — patterns are useful; individual reviews are not.

Bulgarian police raid. Cointelegraph has reported a 2025 police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML violations. There has been no official Nexo statement on whether Russian citizens are accepted or refused. Treat the raid as unresolved news, not a verdict, but it does explain why Russian applicants face so much uncertainty.

Custodial exposure. Nexo is a custodian: it holds your crypto, not you. There is no published cardholder insurance on the card page, and an unofficial source confirms “not included cardholder insurance”. That is the standing deal with any custodial platform — you trade key-management responsibility for counterparty risk. Past examples in the wider category (Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin, FTX) are a reminder that the failure mode is real.

Other gaps. The card page does not publish a 2FA statement, a cardholder insurance statement, dispute or chargeback terms, or specific country and replacement-card rules. That is a lot of “not stated” in one place. Cardholders are getting a working product but a thin policy document.

What to take instead

If the Nexo card doesn’t fit — wrong country, wrong balance size, wrong balance-to-tier mix — three other options cover most of the use cases. None of them is a perfect replacement; they each have a different angle.

Xplace (7.7/10). A Visa card aimed at crypto users. Virtual card is instant; physical card delivery is 7–14 business days at Silver, with Gold and Platinum tiers coming soon. Annual fees start free at Basic, then $99 / $249 / $999 across the three paid tiers. Platinum promises 0% FX; lower-tier FX is not stated. Cashback is paid in USDC and runs from 0.5% (Basic) to 2% (Platinum). Deposits on the Solana network include cbBTC, wETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks. Xplace doesn’t publish a country list and just says “services are not available in all jurisdictions”.

ether.fi Cash Card (6.7/10). A Visa card on a broader country list — Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, UAE, UK and 31 US states, plus Belgium and Ireland without physical delivery. Russia and Belarus aren’t on the list. First virtual card costs $10 in regional-pricing countries, free elsewhere on the basic tier. FX is 0.5% (Core), 0.25% (Luxe) or none (Pinnacle/VIP). Cashback is paid in ETHFI (locked for 7 days, then claimable) and is structured in tiers: 3% up to $2,000 a month, then 1% to $3,000, then 0.5%, with different ladders for the higher tiers and for EUR purchases. ATM, cash advances, P2P and gambling MCCs are excluded from rewards. ether.fi’s model is built around a self-custody Safe, so the card spends from your own wallet rather than from a custodian’s books, which is a meaningful difference if you don’t want to hand over private keys.

Exa (6.2/10). A Visa Signature credit card issued in 45 countries (Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa, the UAE, and others) and 31 US states. Eighteen countries are ineligible, including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia — the rule is “Russian residents cannot be issued a card” and the card is also blocked for spending in Russia. Funding is through the Exa App’s self-custody model and the card spends via a “Pay Now” or credit-on-collateral mode. The card is marketed as free; no fee amounts are published. There is no cashback in the usual sense — the platform earns yield on assets instead. There is a US activation promotion ($100 spend = $20 in XRP via Uphold) and a 20% Airalo eSIM discount through Visa Signature benefits.

Quick comparison

Card Network Where it fits Main fee lever Cashback
Nexo Mastercard EEA/UK/UK-resident Europeans with $5,000+ in crypto on Nexo FX 0.2% EEA / 2% ROW + unofficial 0.75% crypto swap NEXO or BTC, up to 2% / 0.5% (Platinum Credit Mode)
Xplace Visa Crypto users comfortable with Solana deposits Annual fee $0–$999; Platinum promises 0% FX USDC, up to 2% (Platinum)
ether.fi Cash Card Visa Users who want self-custody + broad country list First virtual card $10 in some countries; FX 0–0.5% ETHFI, up to 3% on lower ladders
Exa Visa (Signature) 45-country eligibility, self-custody Marketed as free; specifics not published None in cashback form; Visa Signature perks

The card that beats Nexo on cost is Xplace, if you can reach Platinum and stay in its monthly volume. The card that beats Nexo on country coverage is ether.fi. The card that beats Nexo on simplicity is Exa, but only if “self-custody + no cashback + marketing copy that says free” matches what you need.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Nexo card to a specific reader: a European living in the EEA or the UK who already keeps more than $5,000 in crypto on the Nexo platform, who is comfortable with a custodial relationship, and whose typical purchases are in EUR or GBP inside the EEA. If that is you, the card earns its keep: a low 0.2% FX on weekdays, decent loyalty-tier cashback in NEXO or Bitcoin, ATM access with meaningful free allowances, and the convenience of paying with a balance you’re already holding.

I would not recommend the Nexo card if:

For most people reading a list of crypto cards, especially anyone who lives in a country Nexo does not serve, the right move is to look at Xplace, ether.fi or Exa first and treat Nexo as a convenience product for an existing Nexo customer base, not a card to migrate your balance to.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Nexo card?

The Nexo card is a Mastercard debit and credit card issued by DiPocket UAB, an electronic-money institution authorised by the Bank of Lithuania, that spends from a Nexo account balance holding crypto, stablecoins or FiatX assets.

Is Nexo a bank?

No. Nexo is a crypto platform; the card programme itself is run by an electronic-money issuer, DiPocket UAB. Custody and trading on the Nexo side have, during the MiCA transition, run through licensed partners such as Tangany and DLT Finance.

Where is the Nexo card available?

The card page says “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”, without naming them. An unofficial source lists 30 countries (Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, the UK and Argentina). Bulgaria, Estonia and the US are listed as restricted. Russia and Belarus are not addressed on the card page.

How does the Nexo card work?

You open a Nexo account, complete Identity Verification with a supported European ID, activate a virtual card in the app, and then pay at any Mastercard-accepting shop. Debit Mode converts your crypto or stablecoin balance into fiat at the till; Credit Mode lets you borrow against holdings and earns cashback in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin.

Does the Nexo card require KYC?

Yes. Identity Verification is required before the card can be issued. The card page asks for “a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country” and does not name additional documents or a minimum age.

How do I top up the Nexo card?

You don’t top the card up in the prepaid-voucher sense. The card draws directly on your Nexo account balance, which you fund by depositing crypto, stablecoins or FiatX. Deposit fees, minimum top-ups and fiat on-ramp channels are not stated on the card page.

Is the Nexo card free?

Yes for issuance, monthly, annual and inactivity fees. You pay FX (0.2% inside the EEA, the UK and Switzerland on weekdays; 2% outside), and unofficial reporting lists a 0.75% crypto-to-fiat swap on top. The plastic card requires more than $5,000 in digital assets and the Gold loyalty tier.

Can I add the Nexo card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

Yes. Both mobile wallets are supported. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific token kept in the Secure Element; Google Pay works similarly on Android. The mobile wallet is frozen if you freeze the underlying card.

Is the Nexo card safe?

It uses standard safeguards such as instant card freeze, spending controls and biometric locks, and Mastercard’s 3-D Secure (Identity Check) for risky online payments. The underlying crypto is custodial — Nexo holds the assets, not you — and the card page does not publish a cardholder-insurance statement.

How do I close or delete a Nexo account?

The card page does not describe a closing procedure. Typically you withdraw any remaining balance, settle Credit-Mode loans, freeze the card in the app and contact support at support.nexo.com. Withdrawals are described in reviews as sometimes slow, so plan ahead.

Created by the ”Crypto Card Rating” editorial team.

Decard card review: a SGD credit line you repay in USDT or USDC
Decard card review: a SGD credit line you repay in USDT or USDC

An independent Decard card review of DeCard Luminaries: US$388 annual fee, 0% FX claim, USDT/USDC…

Lava Card review: fees, limits and who really gets one
Lava Card review: fees, limits and who really gets one

Lava Card review: what it costs, how you top it up, who is eligible, what…

Trastra Card Review: What It Costs and Who It Fits
Trastra Card Review: What It Costs and Who It Fits

Independent review of the Trastra prepaid card: 4.1/10, 31 European countries, EUR 9 to order…

Moonwell Card Review: Closed Programme, What Holders Must Know
Moonwell Card Review: Closed Programme, What Holders Must Know

The Moonwell card shut down in 2026. Here is what happened, what former holders should…

Exa card review: a self-custody crypto card, priced honestly
Exa card review: a self-custody crypto card, priced honestly

Exa review for 2026: virtual Visa only, 1.5% FX fee, $10,000 weekly cap, credit line…