Moonwell Card Review: A Programme That Has Already Closed
If you landed here searching for a crypto card to spend from, the first thing you need to know is that the Moonwell card is gone. It is not a card you can apply for, order, or top up. Card loading and new issuance stopped on 8 July 2026, and the last day anyone could use a Moonwell card was 8 August 2026. The app went offline on 6 September 2026. This is not a review of a product you might buy; it is a review of a wound-down programme, written so you know exactly where things stand and what to look at instead.
The conditions described below are current as of 21 October 2026.

I score it 2.3 out of 10, and the reasons are all in the same place: you cannot get this card, you cannot use it, and the infrastructure that ran it has been sold. That said, a low score on a closed product is not the same as a warning about theft or fraud. I found no complaints about the card itself. The story here is corporate, not criminal, and it matters that you understand the difference before you decide what to do with any balance you once held.
The conditions described below are current as of 2026-10-20.
The score in full
Here is the whole picture, criterion by criterion, with nothing hidden behind an average.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | The programme is closed: card loading stopped and new issuance ended 8 July 2026, last day of use 8 August 2026 |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Unofficial figures: 0.5% fee to load USDC, 1.5% currency conversion |
| Top-up options | 2 / 10 | Card loading stopped 8 July 2026; unofficial history: on-chain USDC and “borrow-and-load” against Moonwell positions |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | The card closed together with Cypher, acquired by Nium; fee-free withdrawal ran until 6 September 2026; no complaints about the card found |
| Everyday use | 0 / 10 | All cards cancelled 8 August 2026, the app went offline 6 September 2026 |
| Total | 2.3 / 10 | A closed programme, not a live product |
Who this suits: almost nobody, in the sense that nobody can obtain it. The narrow exception is you if you are a former holder with money or rewards still sitting in the old system and you need the shutdown dates confirmed rather than guessed. Who it does not suit: anyone starting out today, anyone choosing a card for everyday spending, and anyone who wants Apple Pay or Google Pay from a crypto balance — those were reportedly supported, but the point is moot now.
What happened to the programme
The official account comes from the infrastructure provider, not from Moonwell. Cypher — the company whose wallet and card programme ran the Moonwell card — published a notice dated 8 July 2026 stating that Cypher has been acquired by Nium. In the same notice it set the shutdown timetable: card loading stopped and new issuance ended on 8 July 2026; the last day to use cards was 8 August 2026 at 00:00 UTC, after which all cards were cancelled; the app, the dApp and withdrawals closed on 6 September 2026. The final rewards cycle ran 2 to 16 July. Cypher said the team is building a successor platform on Nium infrastructure.
Moonwell’s own statement, as reported by Crypto Briefing, is that it is exploring new card providers with no timeline attached. The lending protocol itself is a separate matter and was reported as unaffected.
One thing worth understanding, because it explains the whole pattern: Moonwell never issued the card itself. Moonwell was the brand in front; CypherD Wallet Inc. held the programme. When you read a shutdown notice from a company whose name does not appear on your card, this is why. It also means the card’s public page at moonwell.fi no longer describes the product at all.
Now, what the card used to be — from third-party reporting, not from official pages, and therefore unofficial — a Visa debit card that spent on-chain USDC at more than 44 million merchants, launched in December 2024, reportedly available in more than 180 countries except New York and Vermont, with Apple Pay and Google Pay support, a 0.5% fee to load USDC, and a 1.5% foreign exchange fee. Treat those numbers as a description of a product that no longer exists, useful only for understanding what people are mourning.
On everything else the card’s public pages say nothing. Eligibility rules, KYC levels, the card’s currency, delivery timelines, tier structure, rewards and wallets are all simply not stated, because the card pages are gone. Anyone telling you the current KYC steps for the Moonwell card is guessing.
If you already have the card
This is the section that matters if you are one of the people who used it.
Cypher’s notice was explicit: the card balance was withdrawable through the Cypher app or dApp at no fee, and that window ran until 6 September 2026. That date has passed. If you did not withdraw before it, the practical question becomes what support will still answer, and for how long.
On that, the notice gives one concrete commitment and leaves the rest open. Cypher support at [email protected] was available through 6 September 2026, followed by a 60-day transitional period. Languages and hours are not stated. As of the date of this review that transitional window is the only route described anywhere in the official material, so if you have a balance or a claim, that address is the first thing to use — and the shorter you leave it, the less likely anyone is there to answer.
Two details from the official notices are easy to miss and expensive to ignore:
- The Cypher wallet was non-custodial, meaning you held the keys yourself. That is good news for control and it is also why “the company still has my money” is the wrong mental model. Your funds were yours throughout; what closed was the app that let you reach them.
- Rewards earned before 16 July 2026 were honoured, but they had to be claimed before the end date. If you did not claim, that claim path is what the support address is for.
On the spending side of the old card, the official pages state nothing: ATM withdrawals, spending limits, top-up methods and dispute handling are all not stated. Historically the card was funded with on-chain USDC, and reportedly offered a “borrow-and-load” feature letting you borrow against Moonwell lending positions and load the proceeds onto the card — a genuinely unusual feature, and one that disappeared along with everything else.
What can go wrong
The honest answer here is that nothing about this was a security failure, and that distinction matters. I found no Trustpilot or Reddit complaints about the card itself as of 2026-10-20. The Cypher notice does not blame Moonwell or allege any wrongdoing. So the risks below are the ordinary risks of holding value in a system that is being switched off, not signs of a bad operator.
The real risks are these:
- A missed deadline. Both the spending deadline (8 August 2026) and the withdrawal deadline (6 September 2026) have passed. Any value left in the old system is now in a transitional support channel rather than a working app.
- Unclaimed rewards. Rewards earned before 16 July 2026 required a claim before the end date. Unclaimed rewards are the most common thing former holders write in about.
- Record-keeping that outlives the service. Cypher’s notice notes that AML law requires identification and transaction records to be kept at least five years after account closure. Good for accountability, but it means your data does not vanish the moment the app does — worth knowing if privacy matters to you.
- The Moonwell-specific controls are not stated. The non-custodial key arrangement is documented for Cypher. What Moonwell itself did to verify identity, or what limits it applied, is not stated anywhere public.
- Acquisition risk in general. This card went out of business not because crypto cards fail, but because the issuer was bought and the acquirer wanted something else. Any crypto card carries this exposure.
A wider note on the sector: programme closures follow a recognisable shape — a notice period, spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw. The FTX US debit card ended this way after Visa terminated its agreements on 13 November 2022. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all its Visa programmes closed. Neither collapse involved user theft; both stranded balances. That is the category lesson: the money was fine, the access was not.
What to take instead
Three cards in my comparison set are live and worth your attention. All three of their headline numbers come from their own pages; where a page says nothing, I say nothing.
| Nexo | Xplace | ether.fi | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.3 / 10 | 7.7 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 |
| Who can get it | Residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”; no country list on the page; Russia/Belarus not stated | Country list not stated; “services are not available in all jurisdictions”; Visa accepted in 160+ countries; citizenship and residence rules not stated | Only listed jurisdictions: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, UAE, UK, plus 31 US states; “if your jurisdiction is not listed, you will not be able to apply” |
| Card | Virtual (activates in app) and physical; issued by DiPocket UAB; Mastercard trademark on page but network not stated explicitly | Visa; virtual instant, physical Silver live, Gold/Platinum coming soon with 7–14 business day delivery | Visa; virtual and physical |
| Cost | No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; virtual card needs at least $50 to activate; physical card free shipping but needs balance above $5,000 and at least Gold tier | Annual fee: Basic free, Silver $99/y, Gold $249/y, Platinum $999/y; borrowing has no origination fee | Core members normally get one free virtual card; first virtual card costs $10 in regional-pricing countries |
| FX | 0.2% weekdays / 0.7% weekends (EEA/UK/CH); 2% / 2.5% rest of world | 0% FX on Platinum; other tiers not stated | On top of base rate: Core 0.5%, Luxe 0.25%, Pinnacle and VIP none; EUR purchases 0% FX article |
| Rewards | Cashback in NEXO token or Bitcoin, Credit Mode only, account above $5,000: Platinum 2%/0.5%, Gold 1%/0.3%, Silver 0.7%/0.2%, Base 0.5%/0.1% | Credit-mode cashback: Basic 0.5%, Silver 1%, Gold 1.5%, Platinum 2%, paid in USDC; Cash-mode cashback not stated | Cashback in ETHFI locked 7 days: Core 3% to $2,000/month then 1% to $3,000 then 0.5%; Luxe 3% to $10,000; Pinnacle 3% to $50,000; Business 1% |
| Funding | Nexo account, 100+ digital assets; Debit Mode spends stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets | Solana network: cbBTC, wETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT, xStocks | Any supported token to your Safe (Credit mode); Direct Pay spends balance |
Reading that table for your own situation:
- If you are in Europe and hold a Nexo-sized balance, the Nexo card’s daily costs are the smallest of the three: 0.2% on weekday conversions in the EEA, UK and Switzerland. The catch is the $5,000 balance and Gold-tier threshold for the physical card.
- If your priority is zero FX, Xplace’s Platinum tier is the only one of the three whose page states 0% FX outright — but it costs $999 a year, which is a lot to pay for a rate.
- If your country is not on ether.fi’s list, stop. That page is unambiguous: unlisted jurisdictions cannot apply. It is also the only one of the three with 31 US states listed.
What none of these can do is help you if you live in a country where none of them operate. I found no reliable information about card availability for residents of Russia, Belarus, or Kazakhstan in any of these programmes, and their own pages do not address those countries. For context on why that matters: after Visa and Mastercard suspended operations in Russia in March 2022, cards issued by Russian banks stopped working abroad, which is a key reason people look for foreign-issued cards in the first place. I am not going to suggest workarounds. What I will say is that any provider you evaluate deserves a check of its own regulator’s register — ESMA maintains an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities — and a straight answer to the question of whether it will serve you where you actually live.
Two structural facts that apply to all three, and to any card you pick: a payment card is a separate regulated thing from the crypto side. Under MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation which took legal effect in June 2023, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution — so a crypto card often depends on two licences, not one. And MiCA’s grandfathering period for providers operating under national law runs only until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation is granted or refused, whichever comes first. That date has passed, which means the pre-existing provider landscape has already been reshaped once.
Who I would recommend it to
Nobody, as something to sign up for. The card stopped existing two months before this review, and no application path exists.
I would recommend two things to two different groups. If you are a former holder, dig out whatever confirmation you have of your balance and rewards and use the support address named in the official notice while the transitional period lasts; the single most common failure I would expect is a former holder assuming the money vanished when the app disappeared, when in fact the question is unclaimed rewards and a claim window that closed. If you are choosing a card today, skip this page and read the comparison above, then verify your candidate against your own regulator’s register — because the lesson of the Moonwell card is not that crypto cards are unsafe, it is that the brand you are holding can disappear while your funds never did.
Frequently asked questions
What was the Moonwell card?
It was a Visa debit card that spent on-chain USDC at more than 44 million merchants, launched in December 2024 and reported by third-party outlets as available in more than 180 countries except New York and Vermont. Those figures are unofficial and describe a product that no longer exists. The card was operated by Cypher under the Moonwell brand, and it is now closed.
Why did the Moonwell card shut down?
The infrastructure provider, Cypher, was acquired by Nium. Cypher’s notice dated 8 July 2026 set a full wind-down timetable rather than an abrupt stop. Moonwell says it is exploring new card providers, but no timeline has been given. The lending protocol itself was reported as unaffected by the card closure.
When was the last day I could use the Moonwell card?
The last day to use any Moonwell card was 8 August 2026 at 00:00 UTC, after which all cards were cancelled. Card loading and new issuance had already stopped on 8 July 2026. Both dates are in the past, so if you are reading this hoping to make one last purchase, that option is gone.
Can I still withdraw money from the Moonwell card?
The fee-free withdrawal window through the Cypher app or dApp ran until 6 September 2026, which has passed. Cypher support at [email protected] was available until that date and then through a 60-day transitional period. If you hold a balance or unclaimed rewards, contact that address now — do not assume the funds disappeared with the app, because the Cypher wallet was non-custodial and the keys were yours.
Was Moonwell a bank, and who actually issued the card?
No — Moonwell is a DeFi lending protocol and brand, not a bank. The card was issued and operated by CypherD Wallet Inc., the infrastructure provider, which is why the shutdown notice came from Cypher and was dated 8 July 2026. This layering is common: the crypto name markets the card while a licensed institution holds the programme behind it.
Is Moonwell card available in my country?
No, it is not available anywhere — the programme is closed everywhere. Historically it was reported as available in more than 180 countries excluding New York and Vermont, but that is unofficial and now moot. If you are starting from scratch, look at the live alternatives above and check each one’s own country list, because none of them serve every country.
Did Moonwell card require KYC, and how did I activate it?
The card’s public pages state nothing about KYC levels or activation, because the card pages no longer exist. What can be said generally: KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, and EU rules cover name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, sanctions screening and politically-exposed-person status. If due diligence cannot be completed, the institution must refuse the relationship — which is why accounts close pending documents.
Is Moonwell card safe?
There is no evidence of a security problem with this card. I found no Trustpilot or Reddit complaints about the card itself as of 2026-10-20, and the official notice alleges no wrongdoing. Cypher’s wallet was non-custodial, so users held their own keys. What ended was access, not custody — a distinction worth remembering when judging any card that shuts down.
What happened to rewards I earned before 16 July 2026?
Rewards earned before 16 July 2026 were honoured by the programme, but they had to be claimed before the end date, and the final rewards cycle ran 2 to 16 July. If you did not claim in time, unclaimed rewards are the most common category of thing former holders need help with, and the support address named in the official notice is the route.
What should I use instead of the Moonwell card?
Three live options in my comparison set, each with real trade-offs. Nexo suits European residents with a balance above $5,000 and offers the lowest stated weekday FX in the EEA at 0.2%. Xplace’s Platinum tier states 0% FX but costs $999 a year. ether.fi lists specific jurisdictions only, including 31 US states, and says unlisted countries cannot apply. Check any candidate against your own regulator’s register before you commit.
Published by the Crypto Card Rating team.
