Gemini is a US resident credit card dressed as a crypto card

If you’ve been hearing about the “Gemini card” and wondering whether it’s the kind of crypto debit card you can top up with Bitcoin and spend anywhere, the answer is no. The Gemini card is a US-resident Mastercard World Elite credit card issued by WebBank, the Salt Lake City bank that runs several other crypto-brand card programmes. Gemini, the crypto exchange, only attaches its name and reward structure. You don’t pre-load crypto onto the card, you don’t spend from a stablecoin balance, and the card isn’t available outside the United States. Where the card does land a hit is in its on-the-spot crypto rewards structure: up to 4% back on gas, EV charging, transit and rideshare, plus 3% on dining, 2% on groceries and 1% on everything else, paid in Bitcoin or any of 50+ other cryptos at the point of sale.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Gemini works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This review walks through who can actually apply, what it costs day to day, how the rewards work in practice, where the user feedback turns uncomfortable, and what a non-US reader or a Russian-speaking reader should do instead. Conditions are current as of 2026-10-20.

Data current as of 21 October 2026 (verified against the WebBank cardholder agreement).

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict
  2. Who will they give you the card
  3. How to get it
  4. Fees: what it really costs
  5. Top up: how to fund the card
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict

After weighing the eligibility rules, the cost structure, the rewards and the user feedback, I’d score the Gemini card 4.9 out of 10. The card does a few things well — there’s no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, the rewards are paid instantly in crypto, and the network is a true World Elite Mastercard. What’s dragging the score down is the closed eligibility (US residents only), the credit-card mechanics (it’s a credit product, not a debit product), the weak customer support picture and the recurring complaints about account freezes and slow dispute handling.

Who this card suits

Who should walk away

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Note
Who can get it 4 / 10 US residents in all 50 states; no other countries named
Cost 7 / 10 No annual fee, no FX fee, but full credit-card APR range of 16.49%–34.49% and $10/3% cash advance
Top-up options 2 / 10 Not a top-up product — it’s a credit card paid off in fiat; crypto only appears as a reward
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Trustpilot 1.3 from 1,513 reviews; reports of frozen accounts, withdrawal holds up to 35 days, denied disputes, no phone support
Everyday use 8 / 10 Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay; standard credit-card utility including ATM cash advances
Total 4.9 / 10 A respectable credit product, but the crypto narrative oversells what it actually does

Who will they give you the card

The headline answer is short: if you don’t live in the United States, the answer to “will I get a Gemini card” from the card’s own materials is essentially “we don’t say.” Gemini’s support page puts it like this: residents in all 50 US states are eligible to apply, with terms and restrictions applying. Citizenship for non-US citizens, residency outside the US, and any rule for readers based in Russia or Belarus aren’t stated on the card’s public pages.

This isn’t the same as a flat “no” for Russian speakers. It’s a “not stated.” Card issuers in the US do apply a credit check and a KYC pass, and KYC for a credit product typically asks for a Social Security number, which is hard to come by if you don’t have US tax status. One third-party review that’s been doing the rounds (a site called Gerald, undated) lists a Social Security Number and a hard credit pull as a baseline requirement for the Gemini card. That detail isn’t in Gemini’s own page text, so I’d treat it as unofficial and not confirmed by the card.

There’s a more practical way to read the cards-on-the-table as well: the cardholder agreement names WebBank, a US industrial bank, as the issuer, and a US industrial bank will issue against US addresses, US identification documents and a credit profile that has been built in US bureau data. If you don’t have that baseline, the application’s going to stall before you get to the rewards screen.

For US residents reading this, the things you should actually look at are credit score (a fair-to-excellent FICO is the working assumption), your existing revolving balances, and your income — the card is unsecured, so the credit limit you’re offered depends on the usual lending arithmetic. Unofficial review sites report credit limits ranging from a starting $1,000 through a more typical $2,500 to $25,000, with Reddit and Gerald articles pointing to lower starting limits for applicants with thinner credit histories. Treat those numbers as unofficial — the card’s published materials don’t state an explicit range.

How to get it

The how-to side mirrors any US credit-card application: you’d apply through the Gemini app or at the credit-card page, hand over the identity and credit-check items the form asks for, and either be approved with a credit limit or turned down. The card’s own page doesn’t walk through the KYC steps or publish a processing time; the implicit message is “if you have a US credit profile, the form is the same one you’d fill in for any US card.”

A few specifics worth knowing before you apply:

Once you have the card, the activation flow isn’t stated on the marketing page either, but the implied steps are the usual: verify your address with the issuer, sign in to the card app or the Gemini app, and set a PIN before tapping an ATM or in-store terminal. If you ever need support, the routes Gemini publishes are the Support Center help articles and a “Contact Us” request form — there is no phone line published.

Fees: what it really costs

The pleasant surface of the Gemini card is the fee schedule: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, no “crypto conversion fee” as such (because the card isn’t running on a crypto balance — it’s a credit card, and the rewards come in crypto, not the spending). The awkward underside is the credit-card APR, which can go from a manageable 16.49% to a punishing 34.49% depending on your creditworthiness at account opening. APR is variable and tracks the US Prime Rate, so it can drift up over time. Cash advances carry their own 29.49% APR plus a flat $10 or 3% fee, whichever is greater, and late or returned payments can land you with up to $35 per incident for late fees (the first one is capped at a lower $25) and up to $35 per returned payment.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Gemini payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

If you’ve paid for anything with a US credit card before, none of this will shock you. What’s unusual is that this card has the “crypto card” label without many of the prepaid-model fees you might expect — no top-up fee, no FX spread, no inactivity fee — because it’s simply not a prepaid product.

Costs at a glance

Fee or limit What it is What it costs
Annual fee Yearly charge for holding the card None
Card issuance Cost when the card is sent out Not stated
Foreign transaction fee Surcharge on purchases in non-USD currency None
Cash advance APR Interest on ATM/over-the-counter cash 29.49% variable
Cash advance fee Per-transaction cost of a cash advance $10 or 3% of the advance, whichever is greater
Late payment fee Fee if a payment is missed Up to $35 (first late fee capped at $25)
Returned payment fee Fee if a payment is rejected Up to $35
Card replacement Cost to replace a lost or damaged card Free once per 12 months, then $50 each
APR for purchases Standard interest on carried balances 16.49% to 34.49% variable
Penalty APR Defaulted interest 33.49% variable
Cash advance at an ATM Whether you can withdraw cash Allowed; daily ATM limit not published

Three everyday payments and which fees actually apply

To put the schedule next to how you’d actually use the card:

The line that always matters with a credit card is this: if you pay your statement in full and on time every month, the rewards are pure upside. If you don’t, the APR will more than eat the rewards, and the cash advance route makes that happen faster.

Top up: how to fund the card

The honest one-line answer: you don’t “top up” the Gemini card. It isn’t a prepaid product. Each month, you get a statement and you pay it off — by bank transfer, debit card or whatever payment rails WebBank makes available inside the Gemini app. Crypto doesn’t go onto the card at all; it comes back out of the card in the form of rewards.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Gemini starts with a transfer to the right network

This is where most readers searching for a “top up Gemini card” guide find themselves in the wrong place. The mental model of a typical crypto card — convert some Bitcoin into a USD balance, load it onto the card, spend it down, top up again next week — simply doesn’t apply here. The Gemini card issues credit, you pay it back in fiat, and you earn crypto on top of what you spent.

A few practical questions you might still be carrying:

If what you actually wanted is a card you can load with stablecoins and spend in fiat, that’s the prepaid crypto-debit category. None of the products in that category come from Gemini. A couple of later alternatives in this review do operate in that model.

Paying with it every day

Once you have the card, the experience is closer to a travel credit card than to a crypto card. From Gemini’s own support materials, the card works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. That means you can tokenise it onto a phone or watch in seconds, and the phone-wallet experience is where the device-specific security code and the biometric or passcode confirmation really earn their keep. Card-present payments are usually frictionless once tokenised, and online checkout with the same wallet uses the same dynamic code rather than your real plastic number.

The everyday benefits track to the reward categories rather than to crypto mechanics:

A few practical wrinkles the marketing copy doesn’t dwell on:

Day-to-day use is genuinely the strongest section of this card’s score. Wallets work, the World Elite benefits travel with you, the rewards land quickly, and the cash advance feature is there if you need it. What’s missing is the crypto-card experience of converting a token and watching a balance drain — that’s not what this product is.

What can go wrong

User feedback on platforms like Trustpilot shows a consistent pattern of complaints. Public reviews (about 1.3 out of 5 over 1,513 reviews) frequently mention slow dispute handling, account freezes that take weeks to resolve, and email-only support. The themes that show up over and over again:

None of this is unique to Gemini; the same shape of complaints appears across most US-resident-facing crypto brands. The reason it matters more here is that a credit card is a credit relationship, not a token balance. When a debit card freezes, you can still buy your lunch; when a credit card freezes, you can lose the line you’ve been relying on to float the month.

Compliance and disclosure gaps

Two things the card’s marketing page doesn’t make easy to find:

For Russian-speaking readers, the relevant facts for now are:

This isn’t advice about how to route around any of those rules — it’s just the legal shape of who gets approved, who doesn’t, and where the friction lives.

What to take instead

Because the Gemini card is closed to non-US readers, the most useful thing to do for readers outside the United States is to step back to the category the Gemini card claims to be in: crypto cards you can load with crypto (or spend crypto through), and which are issued in countries where you might actually hold a residency. Three alternatives sit somewhere in this category, with very different shapes. None of them is the Gemini card, and none of them is a perfect substitute either.

Card Type Issued by Geographic reach Annual fee Notes
Gemini (this card) Credit card (revolving) WebBank (Mastercard World Elite) US residents in all 50 states None Crypto paid as rewards, not funded by crypto; APR 16.49%–34.49%
Lava Debit-style crypto card “Lava Card”; acceptance at 150M+ merchants in 150+ countries (network and form not stated) Not stated; Russia/Belarus not addressed None Earn up to 5% back in bitcoin; no FX spread stated; funding in local currency or stablecoins (networks not stated)
Trastra Prepaid debit card Visa-branded prepaid; currency euro per batch notes Available in 31 listed EU/EEA-style countries; planned EEA-wide; non-European residents not at the moment Not stated Topped up from a Mover wallet with crypto (coins/networks not named); pages don’t list a cashback rate even though one is implied
RedotPay Visa debit (virtual and physical); USD and HKD card variants Visa BINs (US and HK) Card issuance restricted in 47 places (incl. India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore, Turkey as of 28 Aug 2026); a KYC-unsupported list includes Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, US None at base tier; RedotPay Pro is $12.90 monthly / $129 annually Virtual card $10, physical $100 (non-refundable); 1% transaction fee, 1.20% non-default currency; Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan, UAE are not on either list

How I’d compare them at a glance

For a Russian citizen reading this: the headline point is that no generalisable workaround exists. Some of the products above are open to residents of certain CIS countries that aren’t on a sanctions list; some aren’t. Eligibility depends on residency, citizenship, the issuer’s licence and the issuing bank’s risk policy, and those four don’t always line up. The only honest answer is to check each provider’s list against your own residency and citizenship before you start the KYC pass, and to assume that documents and an extra interview may be needed rather than relying on a streamlined signup.

Who I would recommend it to

After going through the eligibility, the cost structure, the rewards and the complaint patterns, I’d narrow the recommendation to a fairly specific reader:

If three things from that paragraph don’t apply to you, I’d pass:

The bigger picture I’d leave you with: the “crypto card” label is doing a lot of work in the marketing for what is, mechanically, a US-resident revolving credit card. The crypto is just the asset class for your rewards, not the engine of the card. Read the cardholder agreement before you sign, pay the statement in full every month, and the rewards are a small but pleasant kicker on top of what is, at heart, an ordinary credit card.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Gemini card?

The Gemini card is a Mastercard World Elite credit card issued by WebBank and marketed by Gemini, the crypto exchange. It’s a revolving credit product — not a debit or prepaid card — that pays its rewards in crypto (you choose from Bitcoin or 50+ other coins). It is open to US residents in all 50 states and charges no annual fee.

How does the Gemini card work?

You apply like any US credit card, get a credit limit, spend on it, and pay the statement off each month. The card earns 1% to 4% back in crypto on purchases, with 4% on gas, EV and transit (capped at $300/month), 3% on dining, 2% on groceries and 1% on everything else. Rewards land in your Gemini account in the crypto you select, which you can switch any time.

Is Gemini a bank?

No. Gemini is a New York trust company that operates a crypto exchange. The Gemini card itself is issued by WebBank, a Utah industrial bank that also issues other crypto-brand credit cards. Gemini is the programme manager; WebBank is the lender of record.

Who owns Gemini?

Gemini is run by Cameron and Tyler Winklevoss and operates through Gemini Trust Company, LLC. The card is “issued by WebBank” rather than by Gemini itself.

Is the Gemini card available in my country?

Only US residents in all 50 states are named as eligible in Gemini’s support materials. Citizenship for non-US citizens, residency outside the US, and rules for readers based in Russia or Belarus aren’t stated on the card’s public pages. Non-US readers should treat the card as effectively closed to them.

How do I apply for the Gemini card?

You’d apply through the Gemini app or on the credit-card page. The form asks for the identity and credit-check items any US credit-card application needs; approval, credit limit, and verification time aren’t stated on the marketing page, and a Social Security Number is widely reported as required, though that detail isn’t in Gemini’s own page text.

How do I top up the Gemini card?

You don’t — it’s a credit card, not a prepaid one. You pay the monthly statement in fiat through whatever payment rails Gemini and WebBank make available inside the app. Crypto doesn’t get loaded onto the card; it arrives as rewards.

Can I use the Gemini card in Russia?

Gemini’s published materials name US residency as the eligibility rule and don’t address Russia at all. WebBank, the issuer, runs a US credit programme, so a Russian residency is unlikely to qualify. Cards issued by Russian banks stopped working abroad after Visa and Mastercard suspended their operations in Russia in March 2022, which is the wider problem many readers are trying to solve.

Is the Gemini card safe?

The card uses MasterCard’s standard credit-card security — tokenisation in Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, the card network’s fraud monitoring, and the dispute procedure in the cardholder agreement’s Billing Rights section. Public Trustpilot reviews (1.3 out of 5 over 1,513 reviews) point to slow dispute handling, account freezes that can take weeks to resolve, and email-only support with no published phone line. No cardholder is ever anonymous; KYC requirements apply.

How do I contact Gemini support?

Through the Gemini Support Center help articles and the “Contact Us” request form on Gemini’s site. Phone support hours and a phone number aren’t published. The Gemini app on iOS supports English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish — Russian isn’t on the list.

Written by the editors at Crypto Card Rating.

Bipa card review: who it’s really for and what it costs
Bipa card review: who it’s really for and what it costs

An independent reviewer looks at Bipa, the Brazilian crypto card on Mastercard: who can get…

Xplace Card Review 2026: Fees, Limits and Real-World Use
Xplace Card Review 2026: Fees, Limits and Real-World Use

An independent look at the Xplace card: who can get it, what it costs, how…

Decard card review: a SGD credit line you repay in USDT or USDC
Decard card review: a SGD credit line you repay in USDT or USDC

An independent Decard card review of DeCard Luminaries: US$388 annual fee, 0% FX claim, USDT/USDC…

Nexo card review: features, fees and who it suits
Nexo card review: features, fees and who it suits

An independent review of the Nexo crypto Mastercard — who can get it, what it…

Exa card review: a self-custody crypto card, priced honestly
Exa card review: a self-custody crypto card, priced honestly

Exa review for 2026: virtual Visa only, 1.5% FX fee, $10,000 weekly cap, credit line…