UPay card review: the card works, the price list does not exist
The UPay card is a crypto payment card. You hold Bitcoin, Ethereum or a dollar stablecoin in the UPay wallet, you pay with the card, and the crypto is converted to ordinary currency behind the scenes so the shop sees a normal card payment. On paper it is a sensible idea for anyone who keeps part of their money in crypto and wants to spend it in a café, a shop or online, without touching an exchange every time. That part I found no argument with.

The problem is everything around it. I read through the company’s public pages, its help centre and the third-party write-ups, and the single most consistent finding was silence. The card page does not publish an issuance fee. It does not publish a monthly fee. It does not publish the transaction percentage, the currency conversion markup, ATM charges, daily limits or monthly limits. The help centre’s terms page is a stub that lists topic headings and nothing underneath. Meanwhile the numbers that do exist come from third-party sites, and those sites contradict each other: one says a virtual card costs $10 to issue, another says $50, a third describes two different top-up percentages for two different products. Two Trustpilot pages under different domains show 3.3 and 2.5 out of 5. When the official price list is empty and the unofficial ones conflict, my job as a reviewer is not to average them together and hand you a number. It is to tell you plainly that the number does not exist, and then to help you work out whether you can live with that.
The conditions described on this page are current as of 21 October 2026.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | The company claims support in 180+ countries and says it does not serve residents of certain countries, but no list is published |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Nothing is disclosed officially; third-party figures for issuance, top-up and FX fees contradict each other |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | You can fund with BTC, ETH or USDT, with USDC also listed, but the networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Licences are named but the issuer bank is not; Trustpilot shows 3.3 out of 1 review, with complaints about freezes and false PEP flags |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, ATMs — the strongest part of the product |
| Total | 6.1 / 10 | A good card with an unpublished price list |
Who this suits, and who it does not
This card suits the person who already holds crypto, already knows which networks they use, and treats a spending balance as a convenience rather than as a system. If your BTC or ETH already sits on a chain you use daily, if you are comfortable topping up a wallet from your phone, and if you would rather not touch an exchange to buy coffee, the UPay card is a reasonable fit. The everyday-use rating of 9 out of 10 is deserved: virtual and physical options, personal and business, plus Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, is everything a normal card offers and then some.
It does not suit the person who needs to know the price before they spend. If you are the sort of user who wants one page that says “a payment costs 2%, there is no monthly fee, here is your daily cap”, this card will frustrate you, because that page does not exist anywhere I could find. Nor is it a card to hold as your only payment method while you are building a credit history or need the dispute process spelled out in advance.
It also does not suit anyone who needs certainty about who is behind it. The company’s own site names licences, but not the bank that issues the card. That is a real difference from cards where the issuer is printed on the terms.
Will they give you the card
Short answer: probably, if your documents are in order, but you will not be able to check in advance.
Here is the thing I keep coming back to. The company says UPay does not serve residents of certain countries, and it says that list may change with regulatory or issuer policies. It also claims support in 180+ countries. Those two statements sit side by side and neither tells you anything usable, because the restricted list is not published. Anyone who told you they checked and it works in your country has been guessing.
Third-party sources fill the gap differently. Finbold, writing in July 2026, says “over 150 countries” and names the US, Germany, France, Argentina and Canada as examples, while noting that availability depends on your location, your eligibility and which product you pick. TechBullion says “at least 168 countries”. Neither publishes a restricted-country list. Those figures are unofficial and I am not treating them as confirmed by the card.
The rule that will bite first, though, is not the country list. It is the document rule. The KYC partner accepts only identity documents issued by the same country as the user. If you live in one country and hold a passport or national ID from another, that is the most likely reason for a refusal — and it has nothing to do with where the money is.
On citizenship versus residence, and on Russia and Belarus specifically, the company’s public pages are silent. I am not going to guess. If you live in Russia, in another CIS country, or you are a Russian citizen living elsewhere, the honest position is that your nationality and country of issue will be screened as part of normal checks, and the card’s pages give you no way to check the outcome in advance.
The legal background matters here, and it is worth a paragraph because it explains the rule above. Identity checks are not a formality anywhere. EU rules require customer due diligence covering name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and a determination of whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as to country of address. And if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to withhold the transaction or end the relationship — which is exactly the mechanism behind the freeze complaints I describe later.
How to get it
The process is four steps, and it is short enough to describe in one breath: create an account and verify your identity, choose and apply for a card, fund the wallet, then spend. That simplicity is genuine. The problem is what sits inside step one.
Verification goes through Sumsub. The card pages say the check takes 5 to 10 minutes. There is one description of one KYC level, and only one: a Sumsub check, an identity document from the same country as you, done in 5 to 10 minutes. Levels, tiers, and the reasons a check fails are not stated.
On the proof-of-address and age question — the card pages do not say. A third-party site, cryptocards.so, which is itself unverified, says that for the Stellar virtual card it needs an email, a phone number and an identity document, and that proof of address and a selfie are not required. The Coin Republic, in June 2026, says KYC is mandatory through the wallet app. Both are unofficial and I would not build a plan around either.
So the practical version is: have an identity document issued by the country you live in, to hand, before you start. That is the one requirement stated clearly enough to plan around.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section I had to rewrite twice, because the honest content is mostly an absence.

The card page does not state the cost of issuing a card. It does not state a monthly fee. It does not state a transaction fee or a top-up fee. It says only that conversion may occur during a payment, depending on the network and settlement. The home page says the card can be used at ATMs, and gives no fee and no allowance. Daily and monthly limits are not stated either; the help centre’s terms page is a stub listing topics with nothing under them. And there are no tiers — the card page and home page name no plan levels, only “personal and business” and “virtual and physical”.
So the table below is mostly “not stated”. I am putting it in anyway, because a reader deserves to see the shape of the hole, and because the unofficial column is where the real decision gets made.
| Item | Official figure | Unofficial figures (not confirmed by the card) |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not stated | $10 for a virtual card; $50 for the Stellar virtual card; $100 activation for physical Premier, Platinum and Precious |
| Monthly or annual fee | Not stated | No monthly fee and no annual fees mentioned |
| Top-up / recharge | Not stated | 2% on virtual cards; 1% on Precious; 3% on the Stellar card |
| Payment transaction fee | Not stated | Flat 1% on Premier virtual, advertised with no deposit or cross-border fees; 1.5% on UPay Wallet. These figures are unofficial and not confirmed by the card. |
| Currency conversion | Not stated | Marketing says spending needs no currency conversion, while the disclaimer says conversion between digital assets and fiat may occur; 1% FX on the Stellar card |
| ATM | Not stated | Withdrawals possible, no amount given; not supported on the Stellar virtual card |
| Daily and monthly limits | Not stated | $20,000 daily and unlimited monthly on the Stellar virtual card; Finbold says no limits at all. These figures are unofficial and not confirmed by the card. |
Now, since the official list is empty, let me take you through three ordinary payments and show you which of those unofficial numbers would hit you. Please treat these as illustrations of where fees tend to live, not as quotes from the company.
A coffee. Say you are in a country where the card converts to USD, EUR, AED or another currency. Here the only fee that can bite is the conversion, and the conversion cost is not stated. If a 1% FX figure from the Stellar card applies to you, that is the number on your receipt. If instead the flat 1% Premier transaction fee applies, that is the number. Same purchase, two different answers, and the site does not tell you which one you are in.
A subscription. Here the risk is not a fee but a decline. Address Verification Service compares numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, so it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards and can cause declines. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards anyway, because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and the issuer country. And a declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds that can remain for several days, typically up to 7. So the cost of a subscription on a crypto card is not always a percentage — sometimes it is a locked balance and a support ticket.
A holiday abroad. Multiple things stack here: the ATM fee that exists somewhere but not on paper, the FX figure that is not published, and the possibility that your card is read as foreign by local merchants. A cash withdrawal abroad is the single scenario where the missing numbers hurt most.
One more thing on currencies, because the marketing copy deserves a flag. The card page says payments convert to USD, EUR, AED and others. The marketing material says you can spend “without the need for currency conversion”, while the disclaimer says conversion between digital assets and fiat may occur during a payment. Both statements are on official pages. That is not a contradiction you can resolve by reading carefully; it is a sign to ask support directly before you rely on either.
Top up: how to put money in
The official answer is short. The UPay wallet can be topped up with BTC, ETH or USDT, and USDC also appears among the supported coins. Nothing else is stated: not the networks, not the fee, not the minimum, and no card-banking or bank-transfer option appears on the card page, the home page or the help centre. Third-party sources add detail the company does not. cryptocards.so lists BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC and DOGE for the Stellar card. Finbold, in July 2026, says wallet top-ups can come from a bank account or an eligible Visa or Mastercard. Networks were not found anywhere.

So here is the part that genuinely matters, and it is not about UPay. Networks are not a detail — they are the thing that decides whether your money arrives. A stablecoin like USDT exists on several chains: Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others. USDC is natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche and Stellar. Sending to the wrong network, or to an address of another network, can lose the funds or require manual support recovery with no guarantee, because blockchain transfers are irreversible.
One specific trap worth knowing: on Ethereum, fees are gas and are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send it. Tron prices internally with bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. And Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.
If UPay does not name the networks, you must get the answer from support before your first transfer, not after. Write it down. And remember that the network fee for your deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider — so it exists even though UPay’s top-up fee is not disclosed.
Paying with it every day
The daily mechanics are where this card is at its best, and I found no complaint about them.
You can hold a virtual or a physical card, for personal use or business. Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay can all be linked, which means in practice you tap your phone and rarely touch the plastic. On Apple Pay specifically, the card number is replaced with a device-specific Device Account Number stored in the Secure Element and never on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code; the issuer can also restrict a tokenised number, for example blocking it on magnetic-stripe, phone or website use. That is a genuine security improvement over handing over a card number.
Cards can be used at ATMs, though the fee is undisclosed. Businesses can get cards too.
Two absences to keep in mind. First, blocked merchant categories are not stated — and the category you are most likely to hit a wall on is gambling, MCC 7995, which many issuers block by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer. If gambling matters to you, ask. Second, there is no cashback stated on the card page, and the home page carries an “Earn While You Sleep” product title with no detail attached. I would not count a rewards programme into my budget on the strength of a product name.
On security in general: two-factor authentication, instant card freeze, spending limits and card safeguarding are not published on the pages I read, beyond the Sumsub identity check. That is a notable gap for a product whose entire pitch is convenience.
The app is linked from App Store, Google Play and as an APK download. I did not find a rating or a number of ratings, so I cannot tell you how the app is received — which matters, because third-party summaries report app crashes after an update and a support bot with no escalation route.
What can go wrong
This is the section that pulled my score down most, and I want to be specific rather than vague.
First, the reviews. A news and user report from June 2026 described them as mixed: praise for speed and easy crypto deposits, alongside complaints about verification, about accounts frozen mid-transaction with ID requests, and about false PEP flags with no appeal path. A PEP flag is the label for politically exposed person; a false one means the screening system has decided you are a political figure when you are not, and if there is no appeal path, you are simply stuck.
Second, the ratings. The Trustpilot page for upay.com, read on 20 October 2026, showed 3.3 out of 5 from one review, which was a two-star complaint about a KYC failure involving a Palau digital residency ID. One review is not a sample, but it is what exists. A different domain, upay.best, shows 2.5 out of 5 from 19 reviews in 2026, and The Coin Republic in June 2026 cited 2.6 out of 5 from 19 reviews for Upay Technology Limited — a different domain, so treat that one carefully. The unverified aggregator cryptocards.so cites Trustpilot and Google Play at roughly 2.5 to 2.8 stars, mentions app crashes after an update and a support bot that cannot escalate, and warns of a name collision with unrelated UPay entities.
Those last two deserve weight. There is more than one company using the name UPay, so when you read a review you should check you are reading about the one you are considering. And a support bot with no escalation path is a serious operational weakness, because the complaint themes I collected — false PEP flags, unsupported ID types, temporary restrictions after deposits, Apple Pay unavailable on some cards or regions, declined transactions, delayed refunds, unclear fees — are all problems that need a human to resolve.
Third, the corporate picture. The site names UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., Denver, Colorado, USA, though the address on the site is garbled. It lists MSO (Hong Kong), VASP Lithuania “In-Principle Approval”, MSB United States and MSB Canada. The issuer bank is not stated, and neither is the card network. A June 2026 item reported the company expanding crypto spending options with BTC, ETH and USDT converted to fiat, and stated the licence claims as unverified by the article itself.
What does it mean that no issuer bank is named? A card payment involves several parties: the network routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front-end. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. The history is not reassuring on that point: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. A card programme can end. When that happens the usual pattern is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw your remaining balance.
Fourth, support. A help centre, an FAQ page and [email protected] are listed. The FAQ page returned a page error when I looked. The help centre root page showed only a Chinese-language heading with no article list. Russian-language support and support hours are not stated. For a card aimed at a wide spread of countries, a help centre you cannot read is functionally a help centre that does not exist for half of the people considering it.
Fifth, a detail that costs real money if it goes wrong. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. Whether you can use one here is not stated. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Read that sentence twice: prepaid-card protection should not be assumed. If you are planning to run a card through a foreign merchant for larger amounts, find out the dispute route first.
I should also say the honest thing about custody, because it applies to any card of this type. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them completely; a seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds, and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery because the network cannot freeze or return funds. That risk is not UPay-specific, and providers have a record of it: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen in 2011–2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022.
What to take instead
If the missing price list is the dealbreaker, the alternatives below are worth putting side by side. All three are compared on the same axes: who can get it, what the card costs, what the fees are, what you can top up with, and whether you get rewards.
| Card | Score | Who can get it | Card and cost | Fees | Top-up | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UPay | 6.1 / 10 | 180+ countries claimed, no restricted list published; ID must match country of residence | Virtual and physical, personal and business; all fees not stated | Not stated; unofficial figures conflict | BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC; networks not named | No cashback stated |
| Bitrefill | 6.8 / 10 | Terms say access is “subject to eligibility criteria” and further partner requirements apply | Virtual and physical Visa; free through the app, amounts not stated; inactivity fee after 12 months without spending or cash-out, amount not stated | Deposit spread on crypto-to-euro conversion, percentage not stated; SEPA pay-in 1.99%; processor and ATM spreads; FX fee not stated | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, BASE, Polygon, Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa, MasterCard, plus SEPA | 2% total cashback, “no cap”: 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase |
| Kemy | 6.0 / 10 | 190+ countries, “a few restrictions apply”, no list published, check at sign-up | Unlimited virtual cards and one physical Mastercard; virtual $15 issuance valid 3 years and $2/month; physical $250 issuance with DHL Express, $10/month | Virtual top-up $1.5 under $100 or 1.25% from $100 (min $5), transaction fee 3.5% + $1, failed transaction $0.8; physical same top-up with min $10, failed $0.80; FX fee not listed | USDT and USDC on the main networks, plus BTC, ETH, SOL via on/off ramp; fiat via mobile money and virtual bank accounts | Cashback not mentioned |
| Tevau | 6.0 / 10 | Page says 200+ countries with availability varying by region; no list published | Virtual 20 USD, Plastic 100 USD, Metal 199 USD, 24K Gold 499 USD; monthly fee not stated; fees said to differ by card type, campaign and region (unofficial figures) | Moving deposited USDT to the card balance costs 1%; wallet deposits “no fee”; FX spread for overseas spending, not quantified (unofficial figures) | USDT; the app shows which network to use, networks not named | Cashback not mentioned |
Read that table the way I would. Bitrefill scores highest here, and its card is free through the app, but it is euro-denominated and its crypto-deposit spread is not quantified either — so it trades one missing number for another. Kemy and Tevau publish prices, which is genuinely more than UPay does, and both publish numbers you can budget against: Kemy’s 3.5% plus $1 transaction fee is high but explicit, and Tevau’s 1% to move USDT onto the card balance is explicit too. Tevau’s figures come from an independent information site that states it is not Tevau itself, so treat them as unofficial.
One caution on all four: every one of these cards runs the category’s standard risk that a programme can be suspended by its network or wound down by its issuer, and in every case the dispute process is either unstated or assumed rather than promised.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the UPay card to someone who keeps BTC, ETH or USDT on a chain they already use, who wants Apple Pay or Google Pay more than they want a printed fee schedule, and who treats the card as one of several rather than as their only card. That person gets a 9-out-of-10 everyday experience and can live with the 4-out-of-10 on cost.
I would not recommend it as a first card, and I would not recommend it to anyone whose spending depends on knowing the exact fee. The reason is not that the fees are high — I cannot tell you that, because they are not published. The reason is that they are unknown, and the unofficial estimates disagree by a factor of five on issuance and by two points on top-up.
If you are reading this from Russia, from another CIS country, or as a Russian citizen living elsewhere, the specific thing to check before anything else is whether your identity document is issued by the country where you live, because that is the stated rule, and then whether your nationality and country of issue clear the screening the way yours did or did not for someone else. Neither the company nor I can tell you that in advance. What you can do is ask support the two questions that matter most — which networks to send funds on, and what the total cost of one ordinary payment is — and judge the card on the answers.
Frequently asked questions
What is the UPay card?
The UPay card is a crypto payment card that spends from your UPay wallet balance. You hold BTC, ETH or a dollar-pegged stablecoin, the crypto is converted to ordinary currency at the point of sale, and the shop sees a normal card payment. UPay offers virtual and physical cards, for personal and business use, and supports Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. The company is UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., listed in Denver, Colorado, USA, and it names MSB and VASP licences on its site.
How does the UPay card work?
Four steps: create an account and pass identity verification, choose and apply for a card, fund the wallet, then spend. Verification runs through Sumsub, takes 5 to 10 minutes by the company’s account, and requires an identity document issued by the same country as you. The wallet is topped up with BTC, ETH or USDT, with USDC also listed, and the card spends that converted balance. Cards work at ATMs too, though the fee is not stated.
Is UPay a bank?
No, not as far as its own pages describe it. UPay presents itself as a crypto wallet company with card programmes, naming licences including MSB United States, MSB Canada, MSO Hong Kong and a VASP Lithuania approval in principle. It does not name the bank that issues the card or the card network. That distinction matters, because in this category the crypto brand is often only a programme manager while a licensed issuer holds the actual card account.
Can I use the UPay card in my country?
Probably, but you cannot verify it before applying. The company claims support in 180+ countries while also saying it does not serve residents of certain countries, and it publishes no restricted list. Third-party sources say “over 150 countries” and “at least 168 countries”. The rule you can plan around is narrower: your identity document must be issued by the country you live in. Citizenship, residence and the position on Russia and Belarus are not stated anywhere public.
How much does the UPay card cost to get?
The card page does not state an issuance fee, so the honest answer is that the official cost is unknown. Unofficial figures, which the card does not confirm, are $10 for a virtual card, $50 for the Stellar virtual card, and a $100 activation fee for physical Premier, Platinum and Precious tiers with no annual fees. Those three numbers contradict each other, which is why I would not budget from any of them without asking support directly.
Is the UPay card free?
You will not find a stated monthly fee anywhere on the card or home pages, and third-party write-ups repeat that there is no monthly or annual fee. But “no monthly fee” is not “free”. Unofficial transaction and top-up fees range from 1% to 3%, and the currency conversion cost is not published at all. Also worth knowing: the card page names no tiers beyond virtual and physical, personal and business.
How do I top up the UPay card?
The official answer is that you top up the UPay wallet with BTC, ETH or USDT, with USDC also listed among supported coins. Networks, fees, minimums and any fiat or bank-card route are not stated on the card page, the home page or the help centre. Third-party sources mention DOGE for the Stellar card and bank account or eligible Visa or Mastercard funding. Get the network confirmed by support before your first transfer, because sending on the wrong chain can lose the funds.
Is the UPay card safe?
It uses recognised identity verification through Sumsub, and Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific token in the Secure Element, which is a real safeguard. Against that: the issuer bank and network are not named, two-factor authentication and card-freeze controls are not published, and customer reports from 2026 describe accounts frozen mid-transaction, false PEP flags with no appeal route, declined payments and delayed refunds. There is also a name collision with unrelated UPay entities to be careful of.
How do I add the UPay card to Apple Wallet?
The home page states that Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay can be linked. The steps themselves are not published, so I cannot walk you through them honestly. Two practical warnings. Some user reports from 2026 describe Apple Pay not being available on certain cards or in certain regions, so if the option is missing, that is a known theme rather than something you did wrong. And linking a tokenised card does not fix a declined payment — the underlying authorisation can still fail.
Is the UPay card worth it?
Worth it if you already hold crypto on a network you use, want tap-to-pay more than you want a fee schedule, and can treat it as a secondary card. Not worth it if you need a published price list, a stated daily or monthly limit, or a documented dispute route — none of those exist on the public pages. On balance the everyday use is strong and the cost transparency is weak, which is exactly what a 6.1 out of 10 is telling you.
Published by the Crypto Card Rating team.
