Tria card review

Tria is a Visa programme that lets you spend from a crypto balance through three tiers — a digital Lite card, a plastic Pro card and a metal Max card. It is built around a self-custodial wallet, so the keys stay with you and the card pulls against a balance you top up. That is the short version. The longer version gets more interesting, because Tria’s help center is unusually generous on some points (the tier structure, the supported networks, the broad country list) and unusually silent on others (which entity runs it, what FX really costs, what merchant categories are blocked). This Tria card review is built around that asymmetry — what Tria confirms, what it leaves blank, and how that should change your decision.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Tria works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of 21 October 2026.

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict
  2. Will they give you the card
  3. How to get it
  4. Fees and what a Tria payment actually costs you
  5. How to top up Tria — networks, minimums and what “gasless” actually means
  6. Paying with Tria in everyday life
  7. What can go wrong with Tria
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend Tria to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict

Tria scores 7.3 / 10 in this review. The strongest notes are for top-up options (9 / 10) and everyday use (9 / 10): you can fund the card from more than a thousand tokens across Bitcoin, Ethereum, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, BSC, Aptos and Solana, and once loaded, the card behaves like a normal Visa, with Apple Pay and Google Pay where those wallets are supported. Reliability is the weakest point (4 / 10). Tria does not name the operator or the issuer on its public pages, and the only public rating I could pull from — Trustpilot — sits at 3.4 from two reviews at the time of writing, with one reviewer openly questioning whether the company is legitimate. Cost came in at 7 / 10: the headline pricing varies, but the published renewal figures are Pro at $109 a year and Max at $250 a year, with Tria’s own FX fee at zero for members and an ATM charge of $1.00 plus 1% on Pro and Max.

Criterion Score Why it got that score
Who can get it 8 / 10 Residence-based rule with 200+ regions in the app; an unlisted country fails KYC
Cost 7 / 10 Lite $0, Pro $109/yr, Max $250/yr; Tria FX 0; $1.00 + 1% ATM
Top-up options 9 / 10 1,000+ tokens across 9 networks; USDC/USDT on L2 cheapest
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Operator and issuer unnamed; Trustpilot 3.4 from 2 reviews
Everyday use 9 / 10 Lite digital, Pro plastic, Max metal; Apple/Google Pay where supported
Total 7.3 / 10

Before you take the number at face value, walk through it with me for a moment. Two parts of the table need a closer look because they pull the total in different directions.

The two 9 / 10s are mostly about plumbing, not about Tria itself. Top-up is a list of supported networks and tokens — useful because most card programmes pick three or four chains and call it a day. Everyday use is “it is a Visa, you can tap it.” That is meaningful, but it is also a low bar. Most of the cards on this market clear it.

The 4 / 10 on reliability is the line that does the heavy lifting. A card programme without a named issuer, without a public reputation and without a dispute process described on the help center is, fairly or not, harder to recommend to anyone who wants to put serious balances through it. The total lands on the high side of 7 because the product mechanics are good; it does not clear 8 because the company page is empty.

Tria suits you if you want to spend straight from a self-custodial wallet rather than load a custodial balance, you live in one of the 200-plus regions Tria supports, and you are comfortable choosing a token and a network yourself at top-up time. It does not suit you if you want a clearly named, well-known issuer, an FX number you can quote in advance, or a card programme whose legal entity you can find on Tria’s own site.

Will they give you the card

Tria’s eligibility is built around one rule: the country you select in the app has to match your documents and your physical location. The app’s dropdown lists more than 200 regions, including Australia, Canada, Germany, Hong Kong, the UAE, the UK and the US. Pick something outside that list and KYC fails. Tria does not address citizenship separately, so the rule that decides you is residence, not the passport you hold.

This sounds simple, but it has consequences most applicants do not think about until they hit them. The single largest reason for an unsuccessful Tria application is not a bad selfie or the wrong colour filter on a passport scan — it is that the country you selected does not match where you actually are when you open the app. Geo-mismatch is treated as a serious integrity flag, alongside suspected sanctions exposure, suspected PEP (politically exposed person) status, and duplicate accounts linked to the same phone or documents. The KYC article lists those four categories explicitly as decline reasons.

A few practical consequences fall out of that rule:

For English-speaking readers: Tria’s public pages do not state whether all regions are supported, but you must select your country of residence in the app and supply matching documents. If your country is not in the dropdown, Tria is not available there. Citizens of unsupported regions living elsewhere should look for the country they now live in, not the country on their passport.

Two more things worth knowing before you start. First, Tria does not appear to run tiered KYC — you do the same checks whether you buy Lite, Pro or Max. That is a quiet upside if you are considering upgrading later, because you will not redo the identity process. Second, processing time for the review itself is not stated on the help center pages I read. Treat “a few business days” as the working assumption; do not plan a major trip around it.

How to get it

You start in Tria’s mobile app. Desktop sign-up is not supported — KYC is mobile-only, and the rest of the journey (membership, card delivery, freezing, top-up) happens there too. Here is the order of operations:

  1. Buy a Tria membership in the app. Lite is free; Pro lists at about $109 a year and Max at about $250 a year on renewal, with first-year promotional prices sometimes shown lower (third-party estimates put Pro at $90–$109 and Max at $225–$250). Prices can vary by region, so trust the figure the app shows, not the help center.
  2. Complete KYC once. Tria asks for personal details, a valid ID document and a selfie. A separate “KYC Document Requirements” article is referenced, but the help center page I read does not list which specific document types are accepted or whether proof of address is required — another “not stated” gap.
  3. Receive your card. The Lite card is digital and issued immediately. Pro (PVC) and Max (metal) are physical and ship in batches, first-come first-served, only where physical shipping is officially enabled for the country. Delivery time and cost are not stated. Replacement is also not fully live — in-app physical reissue is “still pending” per the help center, and replacement promo codes are not currently available. The Lite digital card can be reissued up to three times.

KYC is one-time, with no tier upgrade later — you do the same checks whether you order the free Lite card or the Max. Processing time for the KYC review itself is not stated on the pages I read.

A point worth flagging: Tria’s official rejection reasons are spelled out — duplicate accounts, wrong or incomplete data, suspected PEP or sanctions, missing documents, unverifiable selfies, unsupported IDs, and country mismatch. Privacy-style coins or unusual ID documents will be a higher-risk path; if your home country is not in the dropdown, no document tweak will get you past KYC. If you have dual citizenship, the rule that applies is the country of residence and documents, not the passports you hold — Tria’s pages do not adjudicate between citizenships.

A practical question readers ask: can I open the app in one country, get the card, then move? Tria’s pages do not address this directly. The safe assumption is that the country you chose at KYC is the country you are tied to for compliance purposes; if you move countries for an extended period, expect to repeat the process. Travel short trips are a different matter, because the rule is about where you are when KYC happens, not about every future border crossing.

Fees and what a Tria payment actually costs you

This is where Tria looks cleanest on paper and most slippery in practice. The headline is favourable: Tria says its own FX fee is zero for members, and its deposit fee is zero “at this time.” Travel-related card fees are described as staying under 1%. The slip is in the numbers the help center deliberately leaves out and one unofficial figure that contradicts the marketing copy.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Tria payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value Notes
Card issuance Lite free; Pro and Max bundled with membership Pro/Max membership buys the card
Annual membership Lite $0; Pro $109/yr; Max $250/yr First-year promotions sometimes lower (third-party)
Tria’s own FX fee 0% Visa’s FX fee can still apply
Conversion (crypto → fiat at payment) not stated Done in USD/EUR per the help center
ATM withdrawal $1.00 + 1% of the amount Pro and Max only; Lite has no ATM
ATM transaction size up to $750 per withdrawal 3 withdrawals per 24 hours (article is Japan-specific)
Daily spend “up to millions” — exact figure not stated —
Cashback spend cap $1,000/month (Lite, Pro); $2,000/month (Max) —
Deposit fee 0% from Tria A “Provider Fee” (swap, routing, bridging) is shown in the app before confirming

The table is what Tria confirms. Now, before you treat those zeros as gospel, walk through two real cases.

Buying a coffee with USDC loaded on Polygon. The card converts USDC into the merchant’s local currency (USD or EUR, depending on where the merchant is based) at the point of sale. Tria takes nothing on its side, and on Polygon the gas is paid by Tria’s relayer, so you pay nothing on that layer either. The only drag is the spread embedded in the on-the-fly conversion, which is what “Provider Fee” really is, and which the app previews before you sign off. For a $5 coffee that preview will be a few cents at most; for larger sums the spread matters more. The point is, you can see it, which is more than many competitors offer.

Withdrawing local currency from an ATM abroad, Pro or Max card. Tria charges $1.00 plus 1% of the amount. The ATM operator may add its own surcharge on top, and if the ATM dispenses a currency different from your card’s settlement currency, Visa’s network FX fee will apply on top — Tria’s marketing of zero FX refers to Tria’s own line item, not the network’s. So an ATM withdrawal in a foreign currency might cost you Tria’s $1 + 1% ($3), an ATM surcharge ($3 or so, operator-dependent) and a Visa FX fee whose precise number Tria does not publish. One unofficial source (penchan.co, 2 Oct 2026) lists Visa’s combined FX and international fees at 4%; I have not been able to confirm that against Tria’s own pages, so treat it as unofficial and not confirmed by the card.

Two more everyday cases that come up:

A few facts the costs table does not capture but you should know:

The honest summary is: the membership fees are clear; the deposit fees are clear; the FX line item on Tria’s side is clear; the network FX line item is not. Budget some margin for that, especially if your typical merchant is in a currency other than USD or EUR.

How to top up Tria — networks, minimums and what “gasless” actually means

Top-up is the strongest part of the product. Tria takes from the Tria Wallet (a self-custodial wallet inside the app) or from supported external wallets such as Gemini and MiniPay, plus credit or debit card for purchasing tokens outright. The wallet can hold more than 1,000 tokens, and the supported networks for card top-up are Bitcoin, Ethereum, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, BSC, Aptos and Solana. Avalanche is not currently supported for card top-ups; if you hold SOL, it needs to be converted before it can be sent to the card, because direct SOL is not on the supported list for top-up.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Tria starts with a transfer to the right network

This is also one of the few parts of the product where Tria has clearly thought about the user experience. The top-up flow shows the network fee before you commit, tells you when a chain needs a native gas token you do not yet hold, and warns about networks Tria does not accept. Compare that to card programmes that simply give you a deposit address and let you find out three days later that you sent ERC-20 USDT to a Polygon address.

The minimums are simple:

These are minimums in dollar terms, not minimum amounts of tokens. If you try to top up $10 worth of ETH, the app will reject it; the conversion at the time of the attempt is what counts.

Network fees are where the choice of network actually matters, and this is the part most readers should read carefully:

Transfers are typically instant, though in congestion Tria says they can take two to four hours. Tria itself does not charge a deposit fee at this time, but a “Provider Fee” — covering swaps, liquidity routing and bridging — is shown in the app before you confirm, so you see the spread rather than guessing it. That is a meaningfully better experience than card programmes that bake the spread into the rate without surfacing it.

The cheapest route in practice is USDC or USDT over an L2 — Optimism, Arbitrum, Base or Polygon — because you get a stable value, near-zero network cost and predictable routing. The renewals FAQ mentions topping up with “supported crypto or fiat” without listing which fiat rails are available, so for direct bank transfers you will need to check what shows up in your app at the time. If you live in a region where on-ramps are patchy, this is one of those places where the app shows the truth and the help center does not.

A few practical edges that come up:

If you let the membership lapse, the card is not cancelled and keeps its number; the account simply drops to Lite and the higher cashback rate falls away. Your wallet and funds are untouched — that is part of what “self-custodial” means here. Card-balance withdrawal back to crypto or to a bank, and the closure treatment, are not stated.

A useful framing for this section: Tria’s top-up experience is, on paper, the best part of the product for someone who is comfortable managing networks. For someone who is not, it is the riskiest part, because a misclick can mean lost funds. If you are new to self-custody, the Lite tier is a cheap way to learn the workflow before you move real balances through it.

Paying with Tria in everyday life

Once loaded, Tria behaves like a Visa. The tier decides what the card looks like in your hand:

Conversion to the merchant’s local currency happens at payment, in USD or EUR. The card can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay “where supported” — and “where supported” is doing real work in that sentence, because tokenised wallet support depends on the country you are in, not on the card. If your phone wallet does not show Tria as an option, the card simply is not enabled there. This is not unique to Tria — every Visa programme has a country matrix for tokenised wallets — but Tria does not publish its matrix, so you have to try it to find out.

A few things you will bump into in daily use:

Daily-use-wise, the picture is “works like a Visa when it works, and the gap between ‘works’ and ‘does not work’ is not documented.” If you travel a lot, the conventional risk is that tokenised wallets and certain merchant categories work in one country and break in another — and Tria’s pages do not list the blocked categories, so plan for an alternative card while you are figuring it out. The two or three cards most readers end up carrying are a Tria (or equivalent) for self-custody spending, a regular bank card as backup, and a third card for categories Tria’s blocked list — once you find out what it is — does not cover.

A useful exercise for the everyday section: check whether your highest-spend merchants (rent, subscription, supermarket) accept foreign-issued cards before moving a meaningful balance. It is a small upfront cost for a large later benefit.

What can go wrong with Tria

This is the section a careful reader should spend the longest on. Several headline risks are obvious; several others are specific to Tria.

The honest summary here is that none of these risks is a deal-breaker on its own. Taken together, they push Tria out of the “give it to your parents” category and into the “fine for an experienced user, keep an eye on it” category. If you are reading this review to decide whether to recommend Tria to someone with limited crypto experience, the answer in 2026 is: not yet.

What to take instead

If any of the gaps above matter to you, the obvious alternatives are MetaMask Card, KAST and Zeal. None is identical to Tria, and each makes different trade-offs. The table is a side-by-side; the short notes below pick out what changed for you specifically.

Card Score Network Wallet style Cost Cashback Notable
Tria 7.3 / 10 Visa Self-custodial Lite $0, Pro $109/yr, Max $250/yr Tiers, percentages not stated 200+ regions, 1,000+ tokens
MetaMask Card 7.1 / 10 Mastercard Spends from connected self-custodial wallet Virtual free; Metal $199/yr Virtual 1%; Metal 3% on first $10k, then 1% in mUSD 45 listed countries, others waitlist
KAST 6.1 / 10 Visa Up to 10 cards per user; Visa Platinum / Infinite / gold-plated Standard $0/yr; Premium $1,000/yr; Private $10,000/yr 1.5% / 2% / 3% USD on tier-capped monthly spend Strong fee disclosure on its own page
Zeal 6.1 / 10 Visa Balances in EUR/USD/GBP on Gnosis Pay not stated on zeal.app Up to 4% in GNO; rates can change 150+ countries, but KYC scope not stated

What changes for you under each:

If you want the cleanest fee disclosure, KAST is the safer pick. If you want the widest regional list, Tria is. If you want to spend directly from your own self-custodial wallet without an intermediary stablecoin step, both Tria and MetaMask Card do that, with MetaMask narrower in geography. If you want multi-currency balances on the card itself, Zeal is the most natural fit.

A final note for comparison: only Tria and KAST explicitly support Russian-speaking regions in their published materials — and only in their pages, not their support channels. MetaMask’s listed 45 countries and Zeal’s KAST-style matrix are silent on Russian-speaking CIS states. This is not a recommendation either way; it is a flag to check the country list in the app before you commit.

Who I would recommend Tria to

After working through the help center and the alternatives, here is who I think Tria fits and who it does not.

Tria is a good fit if you already hold a portfolio of more than a handful of tokens, you understand which network each one lives on, you live in one of the 200-plus regions Tria lists, and you are happy making two or three decisions at top-up time (which token, which network). If you want Apple Pay or Google Pay and your country supports those wallets, Tria delivers a normal card experience from there. The Lite digital tier at $0 is a genuinely free entry point for trying the workflow; I would start there. The Pro tier at $109 a year makes sense only if you want the higher cashback tier, possible lounge access “where supported” and a physical PVC card; the Max at $250 makes sense only if you specifically want metal and the highest tier of perks. Most readers reading this review will land on Lite or Pro, not Max.

Tria is not a good fit if you want a clearly named, regulated issuer on the about page; if you want an FX number you can quote to your accountant before you travel; if you live in Russia, Belarus or anywhere else not in the dropdown, since no documentation change will get you past KYC; if you need a Russian-language support channel — there is none on the help center; if a single-app, in-app-only support model feels too narrow for the balances you intend to put through; or if your regular merchants are subscription-based and prone to declining foreign-issued cards. Two or three weeks of low-value testing will tell you whether that last point bites you, and it is cheap insurance before you commit a balance.

In short: Tria is a useful tool for an experienced crypto user who is comfortable with the trade-offs of self-custody, the gaps in the help center and the limits of the Lite / Pro / Max tier system. It is not a card to give to a parent who has never owned a token, and it is not a card to take to a country where the dropdown will refuse you at the door.

The bottom line: 7.3 / 10 is a fair total, but the 9 / 10s and the 4 / 10 sit on different sides of the same product. The plumbing is strong; the company page is not. If the plumbing is what you came for, Tria delivers. If the company page matters to you, wait for it to grow.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Tria card?

Tria is a Visa card programme that spends from a crypto balance held in the Tria Wallet, a self-custodial wallet inside the app. It comes in three tiers — Lite (digital), Pro (plastic PVC) and Max (metal) — and members convert crypto into USD or EUR at payment.

How does the Tria card work in practice?

You fund the Tria Wallet with crypto, the card converts the balance into USD or EUR at the moment of purchase, and the merchant receives a normal Visa payment. Apple Pay and Google Pay are available where tokenised wallet support is enabled for the country you are in.

Is Tria a bank?

Tria is not described as a bank on its public pages. The card is a Visa programme operated by an entity that Tria does not name on those pages; one third-party source (penchan.co, 2 Oct 2026) names Nimbus, LLC as the issuer, but Tria’s operating company itself is not confirmed against Tria’s own pages.

Who owns Tria?

The help center does not name the operating company or the card issuer. I could not find this in Tria’s official pages during this review, so if ownership matters to you, ask support directly inside the app before funding the card with a meaningful balance.

Is the Tria card available in my country?

Tria supports 200-plus regions in its app dropdown, including Australia, Canada, Germany, Hong Kong, the UAE, the UK and the US. Russia and Belarus are not stated on Tria’s own pages, though one third-party site lists Russia as restricted — treat that as unofficial until confirmed by Tria’s app itself.

Does the Tria card require KYC?

Yes. KYC is one-time and done in the mobile app after you buy a card. You supply personal details, a valid ID and a selfie; the help center references a separate “KYC Document Requirements” article rather than naming which document types are accepted on the page I read.

How do I top up a Tria card?

You send supported crypto from the Tria Wallet or a supported external wallet to the card. Networks are Bitcoin, Ethereum, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, BSC, Aptos and Solana, with minimums of $50 for BTC and $10 for everything else; USDC or USDT on an L2 such as Optimism, Arbitrum, Base or Polygon is generally the cheapest and most predictable route.

How much does the Tria card cost?

Lite is free. Pro is $109 a year and Max is $250 a year on renewal, with first-year promotions sometimes shown lower. Tria’s own FX fee is zero for members, but Visa’s network FX fee may still apply, and the precise network rate is not stated on Tria’s pricing pages.

Is the Tria card safe to use?

The wallet is self-custodial, so the keys stay with you. Card numbers and the CVV are hidden behind a biometric reveal, and the physical card can be frozen in the app. Tria does not publish details of two-factor authentication, insurance or spending controls on the help center, which is a meaningful gap given that the operator and issuer are not named.

Can I add the Tria card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

Yes, where tokenised wallet support is enabled for your country. If your phone wallet does not surface Tria as an option, the card is not enabled in that wallet for your region at the moment, and you may need to use the physical card instead of relying on the phone.

How do I withdraw money from Tria back to a bank?

Tria’s public pages do not describe a card-balance-to-bank withdrawal flow in the help center. The wallet is self-custodial, so you can always send the underlying crypto from the Tria Wallet to any address, but converting that crypto to a bank balance involves a separate on-ramp that the help center does not name.

Is the Tria card worth it in 2026?

For an experienced self-custody user in a supported country who is comfortable with the gaps in Tria’s public materials, Lite or Pro is worth trying — start on Lite, graduate to Pro only once you have tested the workflow and the cashback math works for you. For anyone who values a clearly named issuer, a published FX number and a multilingual support channel, Tria is not yet worth the commitment.

Published by the Crypto Card Rating team.

Kolo Card Review: What It Is, What It Costs, Who It Fits
Kolo Card Review: What It Is, What It Costs, Who It Fits

An independent look at the Kolo card: who can get it, real fees, top-up options,…

Monolith card review: closed programme and what to do instead
Monolith card review: closed programme and what to do instead

Monolith closed on 8 October 2024. Here is what happened, how to redeem leftover balances…

Pay card review: programme closed, what holders should do now
Pay card review: programme closed, what holders should do now

Pay (Card Pay) review: the crypto card programme stopped issuing cards in 2022 and the…

Solayer Card Review: Fees, Limits and Who Can Actually Sign Up
Solayer Card Review: Fees, Limits and Who Can Actually Sign Up

A plain-English review of the Solayer Pay card: who can get it, what it costs,…

AQUA card review: programme suspended, what holders should do
AQUA card review: programme suspended, what holders should do

The AQUA Dolphin Card was suspended globally on 4 December 2025. We cover who can…