Meru card review: spending dollars from a crypto balance, without a local bank

Meru is a prepaid Visa that loads from a US dollar balance you can top up with stablecoins on a long list of networks. That is the short version. The fuller picture, after working through Meru’s public pages and what limited user feedback I could find, is more nuanced. Meru keeps the fee structure simple on paper: a free virtual card, a five-dollar physical card, zero monthly maintenance, and a clear percentage-based fee on foreign-currency purchases. The account can be opened from almost anywhere, there is no published country list, and the operating company sits in Florida as a registered money services business with FinCEN. That is also where the picture starts to get blurry, because the issuing bank is unnamed, the help centre is in Spanish only, and Trustpilot draws a thin red line under complaints about locked accounts and unresponsive support.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Meru works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This review walks through who Meru is realistically for, what it costs in ordinary day-to-day use, how the top-up rails work, what can go wrong, and what to consider if the card ends up not fitting your situation. The information here is current as of 21 October 2026. Where Meru’s own pages don’t say something, I say so plainly rather than guessing.

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict
  2. Will they give you the card
  3. How to get it
  4. What it really costs
  5. How to top up Meru
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict

Meru scores 7.3 out of 10. It is a competent, low-friction dollar card aimed squarely at people whose money is already in stablecoins. The crypto top-up rails are unusually broad, the fee structure is straightforward, and the lack of monthly maintenance keeps the card cheap to hold. The downsides are equally concrete: the issuing bank is not publicly named, the country and citizenship rules are vague (“from anywhere in the world*” with an unexplained asterisk), support is in Spanish only, and Trustpilot carries a handful of serious complaints about withdrawals and locked access. Apple Pay and Google Pay availability is not stated anywhere in the help centre, which removes a popular convenience for many users.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Meru payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

In my reading, this card fits people whose main concern is moving USDC or USDT off an exchange or a self-custody wallet onto a Visa they can spend or withdraw in dollars. It does not fit people who need a fully featured euro card, an EU-licensed e-money provider, a published list of supported countries, or the comfort of in-app tokenised wallets.

Criterion Score Why it scored this way
Who can get it 8 / 10 Accounts open from “anywhere in the world”, but no country or citizenship list is published and the asterisk is unexplained
Cost 7 / 10 Virtual card free, physical card $5, no monthly fee; 1% on USD payments outside the US and 1.2% on other currencies
Top-up options 10 / 10 USDC and USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad, plus Tron, BSC and Ethereum
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Operator is a registered US MSB but the issuing bank is unnamed; Trustpilot complaints around withdrawals and app lockouts; App Store rating 4.7
Everyday use 7 / 10 Physical and virtual Visa, no Meru ATM fee up to $250 per withdrawal; Apple Pay and Google Pay not addressed
Total 7.3 / 10

Will they give you the card

The eligibility story for Meru is built around one line on the public site: accounts can be opened “from anywhere in the world*”, with an asterisk and a footnote that the official pages do not actually expand. There is no published list of supported countries, no distinction between residence and citizenship, and no statement that names Russian or Belarusian nationals. For a Russian speaker in Moscow, an Uzbek citizen in Tashkent, or a Russian living in Tbilisi or Yerevan, the practical answer is the same: the public site does not tell you whether Meru will say yes. The only way to find out is to start an application and see whether identity verification passes.

What the help centre does say about verification is concrete: you send a photo of a national ID (cédula, DNI or passport) and complete a facial validation if the system asks for it. You must be an adult. Tier levels, processing times, and the specific reasons an application might be rejected are not spelled out in the public help centre. That is a meaningful gap. Crypto card issuers that operate openly in the EU and the UK usually publish tier rules and explain what a soft or hard decline looks like; Meru does not.

The citizenship issue matters more for some readers than others. If you are a Russian citizen living in Russia, the situation in 2026 is that Visa and Mastercard stopped processing transactions for Russian-issued cards after March 2022, which is why demand exists for foreign-issued cards in the first place. Meru’s US operating entity (a Florida corporation registered as a money services business with FinCEN) takes a different route from an EU e-money licence, but neither path guarantees that a Russian or Belarusian passport will pass KYC. If you are a citizen of a country on US sanctions lists, expect problems; if you are a Russian citizen resident in a country not on those lists, the answer depends on Meru’s internal checks.

The cleanest conclusion is that Meru’s eligibility promise is broader than what most regulated competitors put on their front page, and that this is partly because no specific list is given. A wider net in marketing usually means fewer written commitments underneath.

How to get it

The signup steps are not described step by step in the help centre, but the components are. You install the Meru app, register with an email address, complete KYC by uploading a national ID and doing a facial check if prompted, then order a card. There is one tier of account, no plan structure, and no published minimum age above the general “adults only” line.

The card is described as “tarjeta física y virtual” — physical and virtual — and as a Visa International card issued in the United States. It runs against a US dollar account. The card metal, the design specifics, and whether it is embossed or laser-etched are not stated. The physical card costs five US dollars, the virtual card is free, and shipping cost depends on the destination country (Meru does not publish the amounts). Delivery time, replaced-card cost, and the full list of shipping countries are also not stated.

Activation is not described in detail in the public help centre. Based on similar cards, activation usually happens inside the app after the card arrives, with the physical card requiring a first PIN set or ATM use to confirm. If activation fails or the card does not show up, the published route is the in-app chat or the support email.

What it really costs

The headline cost picture is favourable: no monthly maintenance, free virtual card, five-dollar physical card, and most fees are simple percentages. The numbers below come straight from Meru’s fees page and the help-centre articles on card limits and currencies.

Fee or limit Amount (USD)
Virtual card issuance Free
Physical card issuance $5
Monthly maintenance Free
Purchase in the US, in USD 0%
Purchase outside the US, in USD 1%
Purchase outside the US, in other currencies 1.2%
ATM withdrawal (Meru’s own fee) $0 (operator/Visa fees may apply)
ATM limit per transaction $250
ATM transactions per day 3
Daily purchase limit $10,000

Three everyday payments show how the fees work in practice. If you buy a item from a US merchant in dollars, the markup is 0% and you pay the exact amount. If you buy an item from a European merchant priced in euros, your card converts the charge at the Visa rate and adds a 1.2% fee. If you withdraw cash from an ATM abroad in US dollars, Meru adds no fee of its own, but the ATM operator can charge its own fee, and a non-US cash withdrawal in another currency carries the 1.2% conversion fee on top.

ATM use is sometimes misleading on these cards. Meru’s own fee is zero, but “free ATM” stops being free as soon as the ATM operator’s fee kicks in. The $250 per transaction and three-per-day limits cap how much cash you can take out; for larger needs, Meru also lists MoneyGram cash pickup in local currency across more than 200 countries, which uses Meru’s own fee schedule rather than Visa or ATM rules.

The card’s currency behaviour is specific and worth understanding before any non-dollar spend. Meru’s card is a USD card. If a purchase is in another currency, it is sent to Visa, converted to dollars at the current rate, and the 1.2% fee is applied. Meru also has IBAN and MX accounts, but the card itself draws on the US dollar balance. The fee schedule above does not list withdrawal or closure fees in a way that would surprise an experienced crypto card user: ACH and SEPA cost 0.75% + $1.5, wire costs 0.75% + $25, Swift costs 0.4% + $15, and crypto withdrawals onto personal wallets vary by network (USDC on Polygon or Stellar costs 1% + $1; USDT on Tron 1.5% + 5 USDC).

How to top up Meru

This is where Meru genuinely outpaces many competitors. The card’s main job for many users is to turn stablecoin balances into spendable dollars, and Meru’s deposit rails are unusually wide.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Meru starts with a transfer to the right network

Crypto deposits are accepted for USDC and USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism and Monad at 1% + $1 (the equivalent is denominated in USDC or USDC for each network). USDT on Tron costs 1% + 5 USDT. USDC on BSC costs 1% + 3 USDC. USDC on Ethereum costs 1% + 10 USDC (it is an L1 chain, so the network fee dominates). Deposits from other exchanges through Meru’s deposit page are charged at 1% + 1 USDC.

Beyond crypto, several fiat rails exist: ACH globally and in Mexico and Colombia at $2 (€3 in Spain), wire at $15 (€25 in Spain), SEPA globally and in Colombia at $2 (€3 in Spain), SPEI at $2, PSE at 0.3% + $0.30, credit card via Stripe at 5.4% + $1, MoneyGram at $0.50, and PIX at no fee. The minimum top-up amount is not stated on the public fees page; the exact fee for the rail and amount you choose is shown in the app before you confirm.

A practical note on stablecoin deposits: choose the network carefully. Sending USDC on Ethereum instead of Polygon wastes money on gas, and sending USDT to a Polygon address instead of a Tron address can mean a lost transfer. Meru’s own deposit page names each accepted network per asset, and that page is the source of truth. Any rail you don’t see listed there is, by definition, not supported, and any unsupported deposit is at risk of being unrecoverable.

Three points are worth pausing on before you send anything. First, the crypto fee shown in the table is Meru’s fee on top of whatever the underlying blockchain charges; on Ethereum mainnet, network gas can dwarf Meru’s own markup. Second, the help centre warns that for some networks the user must hold a small amount of the native token (ETH on Ethereum, for example) to pay gas on top of the stablecoin transfer. Third, deposit credits are normally fast on L2s and on Tron, but can be slower on Ethereum; the published “exact fee shown before you confirm” line is a useful assurance, but it is the speed of credit that determines whether the card can fund a payment in time.

Paying with it every day

In everyday use, the card behaves like a fairly ordinary Visa. Physical cards work at point of sale and at compatible ATMs. Virtual cards work for online purchases, subscriptions, and one-off payments. Cash withdrawals up to $250 per transaction, three times a day, can be enabled in the app under “Tarjetas → Habilitar retiros en ATM”. Cash pick-up through MoneyGram covers another 200-odd countries where running to an ATM is not practical.

The noticeable omissions are easy to miss until you reach for your phone. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned anywhere in the help centre. For someone used to tapping a phone at a shop, this is a meaningful gap; for someone used to tapping a card, it is a non-issue. Disputes follow a 30-day calendar window from the transaction date (longer than some competitors), and are sent via in-app chat or to a published compliance email. Each dispute triggers a $30 fee, deducted whether the dispute succeeds or not, and the published review window is up to 15 business days. Chargebacks, in the legal sense of a card network reversing a transaction, are not explicitly addressed in the public terms — a sign that this is not a regulated debit card issuing product with full network protection, and a reason to think carefully about unfamiliar merchants.

Restricted categories on the virtual card are spelled out more clearly than on most competitors: betting platforms, adult and dating sites, virtual wallets, streaming and video game platforms (with some geolocation variation) are blocked. The named merchants include Binance, Interactive Brokers, Skrill, PayPal and Zinli. Restrictions can also come from the issuing bank and the merchant side, which is why a card that works at one shop can be declined at another.

App quality has reasonable signals. The App Store rating sits at 4.7 from about 1.7K ratings as of late October 2026; a Google Play listing exists but its rating was not read for this review. Reviews on both stores mention slow support and difficulty closing accounts. The help centre is in Spanish; English-language articles exist but the bulk of guidance is Spanish-only, which is awkward for an audience outside Spanish-speaking Latin America.

There is no cashback programme stated in the help centre. The marketing page does mention “Descuentos y promociones especiales en comercios seleccionados” (special discounts and promotions at selected merchants), but no specific rate is published. Anyone choosing between cards based on cashback should look elsewhere.

What can go wrong

Complaints are the part of any card review that matters most, because the marketing pages don’t fail in interesting ways — the operational edges do.

Trustpilot carries two Meru listings. The newer “meru.app” page has five reviews with an average around 3.0, with the company not having invited reviewers. One Spanish-language account describes a third-party transfer from Hotmart that was not credited and explains that Meru then stopped accepting third-party payments. Another describes a rejected withdrawal that was nevertheless debited, alongside a complaint that support was “almost nonexistent”. A third reviewer could not open the app for about a day, with Instagram being the only contact that responded. Two one-star reviews accuse the company of fraud without going into detail. On the “getmeru.com” Trustpilot page, with around 39 reviews and the overall score not having been confirmed, a one-star review from June 2025 describes being locked out for over a week and twenty support tickets that were closed without resolution. App Store reviews mention slow support, an unresolved withdrawal, and difficulty closing the account. None of this is conclusive — five or thirty-nine reviews are not statistically meaningful — but the pattern is consistent enough to be worth taking seriously.

The operating structure is the other risk to weigh. Meru’s legal page names R3MIT Solutions Inc. in Florida, registered as a money services business with FinCEN. FinCEN MSB registration is a US Treasury anti-money-laundering registration, not a banking licence, and it does not give deposit insurance or Federal Reserve oversight. The issuing bank is not named on the public pages, which is unusual for a regulated debit card product. The terms state that Meru “does not administer digital assets on the user’s behalf”, with the app “only displaying the balance”. That is a custodial arrangement at the fiat level (Meru holds your dollars) and a non-custodial at the crypto level (you never deposit crypto to Meru; you deposit to a network address for which Meru credits you).

Security and dispute infrastructure are standard for the category: card freeze and unfreeze in the app, real-time notifications, in-app spending limits, mandatory PIN for ATM use, and 3-D Secure for online payments (Visa Secure under the Visa network). Two-factor authentication is not stated in the help centre. The App Store text at one point claimed funds were “100% protected”, but the public terms do not describe insurance or deposit protection. Anyone moving serious balance onto this card should treat the balance as an unsecured corporate credit risk, not as a bank deposit.

A few specific failure modes to plan for: a withdrawal can be declined by the issuing bank and still reserved against your balance, leaving you short for a few days; an address mismatch on a US-billed merchant can trip AVS (Address Verification Service) and lead to a decline; a US holiday or weekend can slow support response. The 30-day dispute window is generous, but the $30 fee per dispute is a meaningful deterrent against casual chargebacks.

What to take instead

Three alternatives cover different points of the same problem space. None is a perfect substitute for Meru, and the choice depends on what trade-off matters most to you.

Card Score Strong on Trade-off
Meru 7.3 / 10 Wide stablecoin top-up rails, low monthly cost Unnamed issuing bank, Spanish-only help centre, vague country list
RedotPay 6.9 / 10 Clear country rules, low monthly cost, USD and HKD card options Card issuance fees ($10 virtual, $100 physical); Russia/Belarus explicitly excluded
Bitpanda 6.5 / 10 Cashback on crypto spending, EUR-denominated, first card and shipment free Euro-area residence required, EUR-only card, crypto conversion spread not stated
Wirex 6.7 / 10 Cryptoback in WXT, broad geographic footprint, in-app FX Country list not publicly stated, ATM withdrawals blocked in Singapore, metal card costs £45

RedotPay is the strongest pick if Meru’s vague country list puts you off. The help centre publishes two lists — one for KYC and one for card issuance — that name the countries and territories involved. Residents of Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and Serbia (alongside dozens of other jurisdictions) cannot complete identity verification; residents of an additional 47 places, including India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey, can complete KYC but cannot be issued a card. RedotPay trades that clarity for a much heavier cost structure: the virtual card application is $10 and the physical card application is $100, both non-refundable. Transaction fees (1% on the default currency, 1.2% on others) look similar to Meru’s. A 5 USD welcome reward can be earned but only on spending, not against the issuance fee.

Bitpanda is the cleanest choice if you live in the euro area and want a card that auto-converts crypto to euros at payment. It requires a Bitpanda account that has been verified by means other than Bankident, a residence in a euro-area country, and you get a single active physical Visa debit card in euros. The first card and first shipment are free, replacements are €5.90 (€9.90 lost or stolen), and additional cards are €10. Non-EUR foreign-exchange is charged at zero from Bitpanda but you inherit Visa’s mark-up from your bank. Crypto cashback is published as 1% in the article body and “up to 2%” in the summary; stablecoins and fiat are excluded. Crypto Indices are not supported as the spending asset.

Wirex is the closest match to Meru’s geographic reach. The homepage claims “130+ countries”, and fees are published for the UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other”. Card issuance is free in those regions, the PIN change is free, and the metal Visa Signature costs £45 in the UK with free DHL. Cryptoback is the headline feature: 0.5% on Standard, 3% on Premium, up to 8% on Elite, all paid in the WXT token. ATM withdrawals are blocked in Singapore under the Singapore terms, and other regional restrictions vary. The “supported countries” article on Wirex’s help centre is not currently accessible, so the country list is less explicit than RedotPay’s.

Who I would recommend it to

Meru makes most sense for a person whose money is already in USDC or USDT, who wants a US dollar card they can spend in shops or at ATMs abroad, and who is comfortable with a card product whose fees are simple but whose compliance machinery is opaque. In concrete terms: someone working remotely for a US or European company and receiving crypto payroll; someone holding stablecoins on a self-custody wallet and wanting a quick way to spend dollars without a bank; someone travelling across borders who needs a card that can be funded without a domestic bank account and withdrawn in dollars at compatible ATMs.

It does not fit people who need a published list of supported countries before they apply; people whose primary use case is in euros and who would prefer a card whose home currency is the euro; people who want full MiCA or FCA protection under a named European e-money licence; or people who rely on Apple Pay or Google Pay as a primary way to pay.

The clearest single warning I would give: never deposit an amount you cannot afford to lose access to for a week or two. The combination of an unnamed issuing bank, two separate Trustpilot profiles full of complaints about locked access and unresolved withdrawals, and a $30 fee per dispute means the operational risk is the part of the product that is hardest to evaluate from the marketing pages. Read the terms, read the fees page, and treat the balance as a corporate counterparty exposure rather than a bank deposit.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Meru card?

Meru is a Visa debit card backed by a US dollar account inside the Meru app. You fund it with stablecoins or several fiat rails, and you spend or withdraw in dollars. It is run by R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida corporation registered as a money services business with FinCEN, and is issued in the US.

How does Meru work?

You complete identity verification with a national ID, open a US dollar account, top up that account from a stablecoin transfer or a fiat rail, and then spend with the virtual card online or with the physical card at any merchant or ATM that takes Visa.

Is Meru a bank?

No. Meru is operated by a Florida MSB-registered company and the underlying card is issued by a bank that is not named on the public site. Card balances are not bank deposits and do not carry deposit guarantee protection.

Who owns Meru?

The legal entity is R3MIT Solutions Inc., incorporated in Florida. Meru, Inc. is also used in some documents. There is no separate holding company or banking licence publicly disclosed.

In which countries is Meru available?

The public pages do not publish a list. The marketing line claims accounts can be opened “from anywhere in the world” with an asterisk that is not explained in the public help centre. Whether a given application succeeds depends on Meru’s identity verification process at the time of application.

How do I apply for a Meru card?

You install the Meru app, register, complete KYC by uploading a national ID and doing a facial check if requested, then order a card. The virtual card is free; the physical card costs $5.

Does Meru require KYC?

Yes. Verification uses a photo of a national ID (cédula, DNI or passport) and a facial check if the system asks for it. Users must be adults. Tiers, processing times and specific reasons for rejection are not published.

How do I top up Meru?

From USDC or USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad, Tron, BSC or Ethereum, or via ACH, SEPA, wire, SPEI, PSE, PIX, MoneyGram or credit card through Stripe. The exact fee and the supported networks for the asset you choose are shown in the app before you confirm.

Can I add the Meru card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

The help centre does not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay, which suggests tokenised mobile wallet support is not currently a published feature of this card.

Is Meru safe?

Operating structure is licensed-style but not bank-like: a US MSB with FinCEN registration, an unnamed issuing bank, no deposit insurance, and a $30 fee per dispute that is charged whether or not the dispute succeeds. Treat the balance as an unsecured corporate credit risk rather than a bank deposit.

Created by the ”Crypto Card Rating” editorial team.

Fizen Card review: who it suits and who it does not
Fizen Card review: who it suits and who it does not

Fizen review for 2026: who can get the card, what it really costs, how top-ups…

Fiat24 Card Review: Closed Programme, What Holders Do Now
Fiat24 Card Review: Closed Programme, What Holders Do Now

Fiat24 stopped taking new applications. I check what happened, what holders should do with remaining…

Trade Republic card review: is it worth opening in 2026?
Trade Republic card review: is it worth opening in 2026?

A reviewer looks at the Trade Republic card: who gets it, what it costs, how…

Digitap card review: who it suits and where it falls short
Digitap card review: who it suits and where it falls short

A hands-on read of the Digitap crypto card: eligibility, KYC, fees, top-ups, daily use and…

Busha card review: a $2 virtual Visa, and the gaps around it
Busha card review: a $2 virtual Visa, and the gaps around it

A review of the Busha virtual USD Visa card: who can get it, the $2…