WantToPay Card Review: What You Actually Pay and What You Actually Get

WantToPay is a virtual payment card you issue inside Telegram and load with crypto or roubles. That is the whole product, and the simplicity is the point: no plastic ever arrives, no bank account is opened, and the card number appears in your phone within minutes. For people who already hold USDT or who earn in roubles and pay for foreign subscriptions — streaming, hosting, software, games — that convenience is real. For everyone else, the pricing is heavy and the risk picture is genuinely poor. My score is 4.5 out of 10.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
WantToPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of 21 October 2026. All licence claims were checked against the company’s official public documentation.

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict: 4.5 / 10, and the reasons why
  2. Will they give you the card?
  3. How to get it
  4. Fees: what it really costs
  5. How to top it up
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict: 4.5 / 10, and the reasons why

WantToPay is a Telegram-native virtual card, and that single fact decides most of what follows. It suits one narrow reader: someone living with a phone in one hand and a foreign service in the other, paying small amounts repeatedly, who does not want or cannot get an ordinary bank card. It does not suit anyone planning to hold a balance for months, anyone who needs cash, anyone who needs a card for subscriptions that bill in a currency other than dollars, and anyone whose priority is knowing exactly who is responsible for their money.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up WantToPay starts with a transfer to the right network

The score is not a shrug. It is built from six separate marks, and two of them are low enough to pull the whole thing down.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Countries and residency are not stated on the site; a new-user promotion for 18+ users; the number of supported countries is not disclosed
Cost 2 / 10 Easy 990 RUB, Smart 1,590 RUB, Pro 3,490 RUB; $6 a month service fee on Easy, Smart and Pro; crypto top-up fees of 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart
Top-up options 6 / 10 Roubles by phone number or bank card; crypto BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 WTP Technology Limited (Hong Kong), issuer not named; Trustpilot score hidden because of a guidelines breach, 274 reviews; complaints about cards that stopped working and inaccessible funds
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual card only; Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay only on Smart and Pro; no physical card and no ATM
Total 4.5 / 10 Strong on convenience for one user type, weak on cost transparency and on how problems are handled

Read the cost row again before anything else. A $6 monthly fee applies to three of the four tiers, crypto deposits cost 7–9% on the two tiers most people will pick, and per-transaction fees are charged on top. That is a lot of separate charges for a card that exists to save you friction.

Will they give you the card?

Yes in principle, and the bar is low — but the honest answer has a hole in it. The home page does not state which countries or residencies are supported, and the terms index gave no country list. Russia and Belarus are not addressed. The only clear eligibility note is a promotion aimed at new users aged 18 and over. So: the age floor is explicit, the geographic scope is not.

That matters more than it sounds. Because WantToPay is issued by a Hong Kong company and the licence holder is not named, the effective eligibility comes from the issuer and its compliance screening rather than from the site. Nationality and country of residence are checked separately in most regimes of this kind — sanctions screening and issuer risk policy usually look at citizenship and country of birth as well as where you live. The company says it has operated since 2022.

One caution, clearly marked as unofficial: tariff terms reported by a third-party, sponsored article in September 2026 list sellers from certain countries, naming Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey among others. I did not find that list on WantToPay’s own pages, so treat it as a signal that country rules exist somewhere rather than as a published policy. If you are a Russian citizen living outside Russia, in Kazakhstan, in Georgia or in the EU, that is the exact question to ask support before you fund anything — and it is an eligibility question, not a legal opinion.

If you live in Russia, in another CIS country, or you are a Russian citizen living elsewhere, the practical test is simple and cheap: ask the Telegram support bot, in writing, whether your document, your country of residence and your country of citizenship are accepted. Get the answer in the chat history before you top up. Nothing about the published pages lets me answer it for you, and I am not going to guess.

How to get it

The whole process runs inside Telegram. There is no App Store or Google Play app — the product is a Telegram Mini App plus a website. That is worth pausing on if you are the kind of user who prefers a native app with its own store listing, independent ratings and a normal update history. Ratings for the Mini App are not stated anywhere I could find.

Identity verification is run by Sumsub and the company describes it as “verification with one document”. It does not store document copies. The documented steps are:

Proof of address does not appear in the official KYC steps; only the ID document and the selfie do. Rejection codes are not published, and the company attributes most failures to photo quality, advising that you contact support after several failed attempts. A bonus that may matter to you: new users who verify within seven days of registration get a 30% discount on the Easy tier.

The card itself is virtual only, in USD, with 3D Secure on online payments. The card network is not specified on the site. Unofficial third-party reporting suggests Smart cards are issued in the USA under the tariff terms, and that some Prepaid and Easy cards carry Singapore BINs. I could not confirm either from WantToPay’s own material, so plan for the possibility that the network is not what you assumed when you read it elsewhere.

One more unofficial detail worth knowing before you choose a tier, because it affects the fee arithmetic: a “Plus” subscription has been reported as required for Easy and Smart at 690 RUB or 6 USDT per 30 days, with multi-month options at 1,860 / 3,310 / 4,100 RUB for 3 / 6 / 12 months, and one subscription covering all cards. That reported subscription price is very likely the same thing as the official $6 monthly service fee. If you are comparing tiers, check whether the $6 is billed monthly or bought as a block.

Fees: what it really costs

This is where the card is weakest, and I would not skip this section. Read the table before you decide which tier you want.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a WantToPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Prepaid Easy Smart Pro
Issuance fixed denomination $10–$200 990 RUB ($10) 1,590 RUB 3,490 RUB ($35)
Monthly service fee $0 $6 $6 $6
Successful transaction fee $0.25–$0.50 $0.25–$0.50 $0.50–$1.00, plus 0.2% for contactless $0.5 + 1% of payment amount
Failed transaction fee $0.25–$0.50 $0.25–$0.50 $0.40–$1.00 $1
Crypto top-up fee fixed denomination only 9% 7% not stated
Minimum deposit $10 $10 $10 $10
Purchase limit per day up to $20,000 up to $50,000 not stated —
Single transaction limit $10,000 $20,000 $25,000 —
Period limit — — — up to $50,000 per month
Validity 24 months 24 months 36–60 months not stated

A few things jump out. First, the failed-transaction fee: you pay for a payment that did not happen. Second, a Pro customer pays 1% of the amount on top of a $0.50 base, which on a subscription is half a dollar more than a flat fee would cost. Third, the crypto top-up fee of 9% on Easy is larger than most exchange spreads in this category, and it is charged on top of the network fee you pay the blockchain. Fourth, Pro’s only stated monthly cap is $50,000, which is generous enough that the $6 is easy to justify — if you are the kind of person who ever spends that much through one card.

Three everyday payments, priced from the table above:

A $9 monthly streaming subscription on Easy. Top it up with $100 of crypto at 9%, so $9 goes on fees before you have paid anything. The payment itself costs $0.25–$0.50. Your effective monthly cost of that subscription increases significantly because of these upfront fees. You have effectively doubled the cost.

A $12 SaaS tool paid on Prepaid. No monthly fee and no top-up percentage — you bought a fixed $10–$200 denomination up front — but the transaction fee is $0.25–$0.50, which is a small percentage of the payment. Prepaid is the cheapest tier for small spending, and it is the only one with no recurring charge.

Two failed attempts at a purchase on Pro. $1 each, so $2 gone for nothing, before the 1% success fee on whatever eventually works. If a merchant declines the card because it is a prepaid foreign BIN — which happens — you pay the $1 again on the next attempt.

Two fees are simply not stated and you should assume the worst. The separate currency-conversion commission does not appear in the official comparison table, and paying in currencies other than the dollar is not addressed. The ATM situation is not stated officially either; unofficial third-party reporting says cash withdrawal is not offered and funds cannot be taken out, which is consistent with the official position on withdrawals.

On currency specifically: the card’s base currency is USD, and a rouble top-up is converted at the app’s rate. A dollar card that converts at an undisclosed rate, on top of a 9% deposit fee, on top of an undisclosed conversion commission, is the single most likely place for you to lose money quietly.

How to top it up

Two routes, both straightforward, both with a trap.

By roubles: Easy and Smart accept instant transfer by phone number or by bank card. The ruble top-up is converted at the app rate, and the fee for that conversion is not stated. Note the asymmetry — bank cards can be used to send money in, but they cannot be used to receive payments out of your WantToPay balance.

By crypto: BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC and TON are listed on the pricing page, while the home page lists BTC, USDT, USDC and TON. The networks are not named anywhere, and that is the trap. Transfers go through Cryptomus, and the card issues new payment details for every top-up. If you send crypto to details you have already used, that transfer cannot be returned. There is no address book, no memo reuse, no “same account as last time” convenience — every deposit is a fresh one-time address.

Crediting is usually immediate and can take up to 180 minutes. Who pays the network fee is not stated.

If you are sending a stablecoin, check the network twice, and understand that blockchain transfers are irreversible. Sending USDT on a chain the provider does not support can mean losing the money or needing manual support recovery with no guarantee. This is not a WantToPay problem specifically; it is how every on-chain transfer works, and the cost of a mistake is the whole amount.

The minimum deposit is $10 on every tier. On Easy, that $10 immediately attracts a 9% fee — under a dollar for the smallest possible top-up, which is the only case where the percentage is not painful.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where WantToPay is at its most plausible and at its most limited at the same time. There is no physical card, so nothing works at a shop terminal or in person; there is no ATM, so no cash; the entire product is a number on a screen that you type into checkout forms or push to your phone’s wallet.

What you get in return for that limitation is speed. Mobile wallets are the reason the card is usable at all, and they are not on every tier:

Tier Apple Pay Google Pay Samsung Pay Notes
Prepaid no no no online and checkout use only
Easy no no no online and checkout use only
Smart yes yes yes unofficial reporting says Apple Pay is Smart-only
Pro yes yes yes plus VIP support and offline abroad

Cashback is not stated on any tier — there is no rewards programme here at all, which is worth noting when you compare against alternatives that do pay one.

Where you can and cannot spend is not fully published on the official pages, and this is where unofficial reporting has to be flagged as such. A sponsored third-party article from September 2026 describes a refusal code #D005 applied to prohibited merchant categories — crypto exchanges, casinos, adult content, mining, e-wallets and government bodies — with gambling and donations prohibited, and states that Brawl Stars, Genshin Impact, the Epic Games Store and the PlayStation Store cannot be paid on any tariff. I did not find that list confirmed on WantToPay’s own pages. Treat it as a strong hint about the categories that get blocked, not as a contract.

Blocked merchant categories are not unusual in this category and many issuers restrict them by policy rather than by law. The practical consequence is the same: you may find that a service you were about to pay for simply declines, and you will have no say in it.

Two more limits on daily use. Address verification is one: merchants that check the billing address against issuer records may decline a foreign-issued prepaid card, and declined authorisations sometimes leave a hold on your funds for several days. Dispute handling is the other: the company’s own error-and-solutions pages say nothing about chargebacks or complaint procedure. If a payment goes wrong, there is no published path beyond the Telegram support bot.

What can go wrong

Several things, and they are not hypothetical.

The card stops working. The dominant complaint theme in user reviews is cards that cease to work, and funds that become inaccessible. Some users report support going silent. That is the core reliability risk: a virtual card with no physical fallback and no published dispute process.

Money you cannot get out. Withdrawals are not the design. The cards are not meant for taking funds out of services, no withdrawal to a bank or to crypto is described, and when a card expires it is deleted together with any remaining balance. That last clause deserves to be read twice. Choose your validity window knowing that unused money does not automatically follow you.

An “internal balance” you did not ask for. Funds land there if a card provider has a technical failure, or if support moves them. You can move money back to a Prepaid, Easy, Smart or Pro card at any time, free, with a $2 minimum and up to $500 a day. You cannot add money to it from a card. So the internal balance is a holding pen you do not control, and getting out of it is slow by design.

The issuer is a name you do not know. The company behind the card is WTP Technology Limited, registered in Hong Kong, incorporation number 76394774. The issuer is not stated. Unofficial reporting says the BIN sponsor is not named either and that BIN regions are the USA and Singapore. When you hold a prepaid card balance, you are trusting a Hong Kong company and an unnamed issuing partner, not a bank with a deposit guarantee. Electronic money balances are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.

The review record is not reassuring. On Trustpilot, read on 2026-10-20, the TrustScore is not displayed — marked unavailable because of a breach of the guidelines, with fake reviews removed — against 274 reviews, 152 of them in the last twelve months. Five-star reviews are 85% and one-star 13%. The company’s own site claims 4.6. Specific user reports include declined payments and top-ups taking from ten minutes to nearly an hour (September 2026), a refusal to refund a 693 RUB issue fee (September 2026), and a refund that took “several months” before it was returned (May 2026). Many positive reviews are very short, some from accounts with a single review. The company replied to roughly 3% of negative reviews.

Regulation can move underneath you. A card is a payment service and is regulated separately from the crypto side, so this kind of product often depends on two licences at once. Card programmes do get suspended: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, a card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then a request that you withdraw remaining balances. In the EU, the MiCA transition period for existing providers runs only until 1 July 2026, after which providers need an authorisation — a card whose provider sits outside the EU is not directly affected, but any European partner is.

Taxes are yours. If you fund the card from crypto, each payment can be a separate disposal for tax purposes, with gain measured in local fiat currency at the value on the transaction date. I am not giving you tax advice here — check your position with a professional — but I would be doing you a disservice if I let you assume that spending crypto through a card is somehow outside the scope of what tax authorities look at.

What is not a risk, or at least not an unusual one: 3D Secure is on for online payments and the company says it does not store document copies. Custody model, in-app freeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls and any insurance are all not stated — and the absence of a stated custody model is itself information, because it means you cannot tell from the public pages whether the funds sit in an account you could ever claim from.

What to take instead

If WantToPay does not clear my own bar, it is not because the product is badly built — it is because the fees are high and the accountability is thin. Here is where the alternatives stand, on the same criteria I used for WantToPay.

Alternative Score Cost Top-up options Rewards
WantToPay 4.5 / 10 $6/month on three tiers, 9% crypto top-up on Easy RUB by phone or bank card; BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON none stated
Bitrefill 6.8 / 10 card stated as free through the app; amounts not stated; inactivity fee after 12 months (amount not stated) Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, BASE, Polygon, Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa, MasterCard; SEPA 2% total cashback, no cap: 1% per crypto deposit, 1% per purchase
UPay 6.1 / 10 not stated BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC; networks not stated none stated
Kemy 6.0 / 10 virtual $15 issuance + $2/month; physical $250 issuance + $10/month USDT and USDC on the main networks, plus BTC, ETH, SOL via on/off ramp; fiat via mobile money and virtual bank accounts cashback not mentioned

Bitrefill is the one worth your attention if cashback matters. It pays 2% with no cap, and its fees are softer: a deposit spread on crypto-to-euro conversion (percentage not stated), a SEPA pay-in fee of 1.99%, and spreads added by payment processors or ATM operators. It offers both virtual and physical Visa. The catch is vagueness in the other direction: the terms say access is “subject to eligibility criteria” and that “further eligibility requirements, established and verified by our partners, shall apply”, with no country list. Same for Russia and Belarus — ask.

Kemy publishes real numbers, which is more than most. Virtual cards cost $15 to issue, valid three years, plus $2 a month, with a 3.5% + $1 transaction fee and $0.80 for a failed payment. Physical is $250 with DHL Express, one card per user, at $10 a month. It claims 190+ countries with “a few restrictions apply” and no list. Worth noting a conflict on its own site: the main-account deposit fee shows as 8% in the summary and 5% in the section. A pricing page with an internal contradiction is a small warning sign.

UPay is the vaguest of the three: no costs stated, no fees stated, no network named, and a page that says it does not serve residents of certain countries without naming them, though the list can change with regulatory or issuer policies. Its KYC partner accepts only identity documents issued in the same country as the user, which is a real constraint for anyone whose passport and residence do not match. It does claim support in 180+ countries and offers virtual and physical, personal and business cards.

My honest read: if you want the cashback, look at Bitrefill. If you want published, stable pricing, look at Kemy. If you want a physical card in your hand, both of those and UPay offer one and WantToPay does not. WantToPay’s advantage over all three is Telegram-native simplicity, and that is a genuine advantage for one particular reader.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend WantToPay to exactly three kinds of person.

The first is someone paying a stream of small foreign subscriptions from a phone, who already holds USDT and is comfortable generating a fresh deposit address for every top-up. For that person, a 9% deposit fee on a large one-off deposit is far cheaper than nine separate ones, and the 30% verification promotion for new users softens the first purchase. WantToPay solves a real problem for them.

The second is someone whose monthly card spend is genuinely small and whose top-ups are small. At the very bottom end, a $10 minimum deposit with a $0.25–$0.50 transaction fee on a Prepaid card, with no monthly fee and no withdrawal capability to worry about, is a cheap way to pay. Prepaid is the tier I would pick if I used this product at all, and only for low-value, high-frequency payments.

The third is someone with a specific, verified reason — a service that only accepts this card, or a currency constraint that rules out everything else. Rare, but real.

I would not recommend it to you if any of the following are true of you:

Before you commit, three checks. Ask support in writing whether your document, your residence and your nationality are accepted, and keep the answer. Ask what the conversion commission is on a non-dollar payment, because it is not published. And read the internal balance rules, so that a technical failure does not surprise you.

Frequently asked questions

What is the WantToPay card?

WantToPay is a virtual payment card issued inside a Telegram Mini App rather than a plastic card or a bank account. You verify your identity once, then get a USD card number you can use at online checkouts and, on the higher tiers, push to Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. It is loaded with roubles or with crypto, and it is designed for paying foreign services rather than for holding money or taking cash out.

How does the WantToPay card work?

It works like a prepaid card. You top it up, the money converts into a card balance, and each payment spends from that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Identity checks run through Sumsub using one document and a selfie. Online payments use 3D Secure. There is no physical card and no ATM, so it is an online and wallet product only.

Is WantToPay a bank?

No. The company behind it is WTP Technology Limited, registered in Hong Kong, with incorporation number 76394774, and the card issuer is not stated. It operates in the prepaid and electronic-money model rather than as a deposit-taking bank, which means your balance is not a bank deposit and is not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Is WantToPay card free?

Not quite. The Prepaid tier has no monthly fee, but Easy, Smart and Pro each carry $6 a month. On top of that, crypto deposits cost 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart, and each successful or failed payment carries its own fee — $0.25–$0.50 on Prepaid and Easy, more on the higher tiers. Third-party reporting also describes a paid Plus subscription, likely the same $6.

Is WantToPay card available in my country?

The site does not say. Countries and residency requirements are not stated, the number of supported countries is not disclosed, and Russia and Belarus are not addressed in the public terms. Third-party reporting names several countries in the tariff terms, but I could not confirm that on WantToPay’s own pages. The reliable route is to ask the Telegram support bot in writing before you top up.

How much does it cost to use the card in practice?

Three realistic examples. A $9 monthly subscription on Easy after a 9% deposit fee costs substantially more than the face value because of the upfront fees. A $12 payment on Prepaid costs $0.25–$0.50 in transaction fees, which is a small portion of the payment. Two failed attempts at a purchase on Pro cost $2 for the failures, before the 1% success fee on whatever eventually goes through. Currency conversion costs are not stated.

Can I withdraw money from WantToPay?

No, and you should plan around that. The cards are not intended for withdrawing funds from services, no withdrawal to a bank or to crypto is described, and when a card expires it is deleted together with any remaining balance. If a technical failure occurs, money may move to an “internal balance” you can move back to a card from — free, $2 minimum, $500 a day — but cannot fund from a card.

How do I top up the card?

Two ways. Easy and Smart accept instant roubles by phone number or bank card, converted at the app rate, with the conversion fee not stated. Crypto deposits accept BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC and TON, with a minimum of $10, but networks are not named. Critically, new payment details are issued for every top-up, and a transfer sent to details you have already used cannot be returned.

Is it safe to add the card to Apple Wallet?

Only on the higher tiers. Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay are available on Smart and Pro, not on Prepaid or Easy, and third-party reporting says Apple Pay is Smart-only, which I could not confirm officially. Adding it is a normal, tokenised operation — the card number goes into the phone’s secure element with a one-time code per payment — but it adds one more dependency on the card continuing to work.

Is WantToPay safe and is it worth it?

Safe enough for small amounts you can afford to lose, not for anything more. The card works, 3D Secure is on, and the company says it does not store document copies — but the custody model, in-app freeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls and any insurance are all unstated, the issuer is unnamed, and Trustpilot’s score is not displayed there because of a guidelines breach, with recurring reports of cards stopping working and funds becoming hard to reach.

Written by the editors at Crypto Card Rating.

FlexCard card review — honest look at a virtual crypto card
FlexCard card review — honest look at a virtual crypto card

Independent review of FlexCard: who can get it, what it costs, how to top up…

LinkPay Card Review: Fees, Limits and Real-World Use
LinkPay Card Review: Fees, Limits and Real-World Use

An independent look at the LinkPay crypto card: who it suits, what it costs, how…

Worldwide Card Review: Fees, Top Ups and the Big Gaps
Worldwide Card Review: Fees, Top Ups and the Big Gaps

A close look at the Worldwide card: what it costs, how you top it up,…

Cashi card review: stablecoin Visa with many networks, no plastic yet
Cashi card review: stablecoin Visa with many networks, no plastic yet

A hands-on review of the Cashi stablecoin Visa card: who can get it, what it…

Kripicard Card Review: Fees, Limits and Real Complaints
Kripicard Card Review: Fees, Limits and Real Complaints

An independent look at Kripicard: who it suits, what it really costs, how to top…