Volet card review: what you actually get for the fees you pay

Volet runs a payment card on top of a custodial e-wallet. The wallet has been around for years under the ADVcash name and is now branded Volet; the card sits on top of it and draws its balance from that wallet. In this review I walk through who can get one, what it costs in practice, how it behaves day to day, and where the risks sit — and I compare it against three alternatives for people who need a card that spends from a crypto balance.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Volet works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of 21 October 2026 (verified against Volet official fee pages and programme information).

Table of Contents
  1. Verdict
  2. Who will they give you the card
  3. How to get it
  4. What it really costs
  5. How to top up the card
  6. Paying with it every day
  7. What can go wrong
  8. What to take instead
  9. Who I would recommend it to
  10. Frequently asked questions

Verdict

Volet earns 6.0 out of 10 in my scoring. That sounds average, but it is two stories glued together. On availability and everyday usability it is decent: the service runs in 180+ countries, the Global digital Mastercard is accepted in 150+ of those, and there are regional Visa/Mastercard products for Europe and the Asia-Pacific region. On cost it is weak: loading the card from the Volet wallet carries 1% + 1 USD/EUR on Europe, 1.5% + $1 on Asia-Pacific, and 2.5% + $1 on the Global card, on top of any conversion fee you already paid getting from crypto to a wallet balance. The receiving side is reasonable (no extra POS fee, the Mastercard rate on Global), but the chain of fees from a crypto balance to a shop till is the figure that matters, and on the Global card that chain adds up.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Volet payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

I would say this card suits people who already keep a fiat balance inside Volet and want a card that spends from it, and people in the Asia-Pacific region or Europe/Turkey/Israel who want a regional Mastercard or Visa. It is a poor fit if your main reason for getting it is moving small amounts from crypto to a card cheaply, if you need clear ATM costs up front, if the issuer’s identity matters to you, or if you live in a country Volet has not publicly listed. The score table below shows where I added and where I docked marks.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Service in 180+ countries; Global digital Mastercard available in 150+; regional cards for Asia-Pacific and for Europe plus Turkey and Israel
Cost 4 / 10 Issuance from $1 to $5; card load 1–2.5% + $1; fiat card top-up to the wallet 3.5%; no monthly fee stated
Top-up options 6 / 10 Card loads only from the fiat Volet wallet; crypto (USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH and others) must be deposited first and converted to USD/EUR; networks not named by Volet
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Trustpilot 4.1 / 5 over 965 reviews, mostly positive but recurring complaints on fees and verification; card issuer and licences not publicly named
Everyday use 7 / 10 Mastercard and Visa options, digital and plastic, Apple Pay/Google Pay on at least some cards; ATM fees not officially published
Total 6.0 / 10

Read this review to the end before deciding. The next sections explain who can get the card, what it really costs in three everyday scenarios, how the funding chain works, what the day-to-day behaviour is, where the risks sit, and which alternatives I would weigh against it.

Who will they give you the card

Volet itself says the service runs in 180+ countries, but the cards are more restricted than that headline suggests. There are three card products: a Global digital Mastercard in USD accepted in 150+ countries, regional Asia-Pacific plastic Mastercard cards in USD, and Europe Virtual plus Europe Plastic cards in USD or EUR for Europe, Turkey and Israel (Visa is available for some of these regional programmes). The card you will actually be offered depends on your region, and the regional pages may show a different product mix from what I list here.

A few things follow directly from the card’s public pages:

On restricted countries, Volet’s own card and personal pages do not publish a list. A third-party tracker states that around 51 countries are served and 29 countries are restricted, with the United States, the United Kingdom, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Iran, Syria and North Korea among the restricted entries; this is unofficial and not confirmed by the card. Treat the restricted list as a guide, not a guarantee. If you are in a country that is on or near any sanctions list, or if your country of citizenship differs from your country of residence, you should expect additional checks regardless of what the website implies.

Volet’s own pages do not explicitly state whether residents or citizens of Russia or Belarus can use the service or hold cards; readers should verify their eligibility during the sign-up process. Since major card networks suspended operations in Russia in March 2022, foreign-issued cards have become a common solution for international payments, but they are subject to the card issuer’s own compliance and restricted-country policies.

The card is also not anonymous and is not designed to be. Like every regulated card programme, it sits inside a KYC/AML framework: the regulated business verifies customers, screens against sanctions lists and monitors transactions. The company states it runs “multi-layer security, encryption, access controls and continuous monitoring” with PCI-DSS, GDPR, SSL and ISO badges, but those badges cover security process, not anonymity. Expect identity checks, document uploads, address verification and source-of-funds questions, especially on higher tiers and after large transactions.

How to get it

The sign-up flow happens inside the Volet app and on the web. The pages I read describe a layered account:

  1. Open a basic Volet wallet. This is the e-wallet the card sits on top of and the one crypto gets deposited to. No documents required at this stage.
  2. Verify your identity if you want cards, higher limits, fiat funding methods or full withdrawals. The company says the process usually takes only a few minutes.
  3. Request the card that matches your region. The product you are offered depends on where Volet treats you as resident: Global digital Mastercard USD, Asia-Pacific plastic Mastercard USD, or Europe Virtual / Plastic Visa or Mastercard in USD or EUR.
  4. Top up the card from your Volet fiat balance. The card does not accept crypto or card payments directly; you fund the wallet first, then load the card from the wallet.

Two practical points the official pages leave open:

The iOS app is described as “coming soon” on the cards page; Google Play and App Store badges are present but iOS availability is unclear at the time of writing. If mobile is your only device, check that your platform is actually served before going further.

What it really costs

Issuance is low on most of the range: $5 for the Global digital and the Asia-Pacific plastic, €1 / $1 for the Europe Virtual, and €5 / $5 for the Europe Plastic. A monthly fee is not listed on the fee page; the FAQ says there are no monthly fees. The expensive end is the card-load fee from the Volet wallet onto the card, plus any conversion you pay getting from crypto into that wallet balance.

Fee or limit Digital Global Asia-Pacific Europe (Virtual or Plastic)
Issuance $5 $5 €1 / $1 (Virtual) or €5 / $5 (Plastic)
Monthly fee not listed not listed not listed
Card load from e-wallet 2.5% + $1 1.5% + $1 1% + €1 / $1
POS payment (card-present) no extra fee no extra fee no POS fee
FX (paying in a non-card currency) no extra fee (Mastercard rate) not stated not stated
ATM withdrawal not stated officially not stated officially not stated officially
Per-purchase limit up to $50,000 up to $22,000 not stated
Daily load limit not stated up to $6,500 not stated
Monthly caps not stated not stated not stated

The fees section intentionally separates official numbers from unofficial ones. Everything in the table above comes from Volet’s own fee pages. ATM and monthly figures are not listed there. The figures below come from a third-party catalogue and are unofficial:

Treat the unofficial block as a guide and ask support for confirmation before relying on any of it.

To make those numbers feel less abstract, here are three everyday scenarios and the chain of fees each one triggers.

Coffee and sandwich in a card-currency country. You are in the eurozone, you hold Bitcoin in Volet, the card is in EUR. Crypto-to-wallet conversion: free for BTC/ETH and others, the wallet-side fee page does not show a spread but says “near-market” rates; card load to the Europe card is 1% + €1; POS in EUR has no extra fee. You are paying the conversion spread and the load fee, but not a third layer on top.

Online subscription in USD with a EUR card. The conversion from EUR to USD is run by the network (Mastercard or Visa), and Volet charges no extra FX fee on Global; for Europe the FX fee is not stated. You will still pay the card-load fee you already paid and the spread you took at the crypto-to-fiat step. With an unstablecoin-funded balance (USDT or USDC) the conversion is $1 per top-up, the card load is 1% + €1, and you have paid two flat fees on top of the network FX.

Larger weekly shop in a non-USD country with a Global card. You fund the Volet USD balance from USDT ($1 conversion per top-up), then load the Global card (2.5% + $1), then the network converts USD to the local currency at the Mastercard rate; Volet charges no extra FX fee on Global. The expensive line on the Global card is the load step. If you fund in crypto frequently, the 2.5% + $1 quickly becomes the largest single cost in the chain.

What is missing from the official picture is just as important as what is there. ATM fees, monthly caps, the FX fee on Europe and Asia-Pacific cards, and the network list for crypto deposits are all unstated on Volet’s own pages. If any of those matter to you, the only safe move is to ask support before you fund the card.

How to top up the card

The card is funded only from the fiat Volet e-wallet. There is no “send crypto straight to the card” flow on the official pages. The practical chain is: crypto or fiat into the Volet wallet, then load the card from that wallet balance.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Volet starts with a transfer to the right network

Crypto deposits into the Volet crypto wallet are free. Once they are in, you have two routes:

Fiat routes into the wallet are also available:

Network selection on the crypto side is a gap. Volet’s pages do not list which blockchains the wallet accepts deposits on for USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH. A deposit sent on a network the wallet does not support, or to an address of a different network, can be lost; blockchain transfers are generally irreversible, so this is a place where guessing is expensive. Get the wallet’s network list from the app or support before sending anything, and always send a small test amount first if the size of the transfer matters to you.

A quick map of the options:

Funding path Cost Time Notes
USDT or USDC to wallet, auto-convert to USD/EUR $1 per conversion minutes to hours Free to deposit, flat conversion fee
BTC or ETH to wallet, convert to USD/EUR free conversion minutes to hours Free deposit, no conversion fee
Fiat Visa/Mastercard top-up to wallet 3.5% minutes Cheapest on-ramp from a regular card
SEPA / bank transfer to wallet not stated not stated Ask support
Stablecoin transfer on a wrong network the entire amount irreversible Always check the wallet’s supported networks first

Holding USDT or USDC as your wallet balance lets you skip the $1 conversion fee on every load and the BTC/ETH volatility risk between load and spend, but you still pay the card-load fee on top. Bitrefill and similar wallets that publish the spread can be cheaper for small, frequent loads; Volet is less competitive there for the Global card.

Paying with it every day

In normal use the card behaves like a prepaid Mastercard or Visa: you tap or insert it, the network authorises the transaction, the balance on the card drops in USD or EUR. Volet does not publish blocked merchant category codes. That means you will not see a public list saying “gambling blocked” or “crypto exchanges blocked”, but it also means the rules can vary by card programme and you only find out at the till. If a particular MCC matters to you (gambling MCC 7995 and similar categories are commonly restricted across the industry), ask before you load heavily.

Mobile wallets are supported on at least some cards. A third-party tracker says Apple Pay and Google Pay work on the Digital and Spend Virtual cards, are not advertised for Europe cards and are not supported for Asia-Pacific or Global Plus; this is unofficial. Tokenised payments on Apple Pay work by replacing your card number with a device-specific Device Account Number, so the issuer can restrict where the token is allowed to be used even when the physical card works everywhere.

There is no cashback programme. The cards page mentions a referral programme as “coming soon”: 2 USD/EUR per activated digital card and 5 USD/EUR per activated plastic card, which is a referral bonus rather than ongoing rewards.

Two things routinely catch people out and are worth preparing for:

For users living abroad, a non-Russian card is the practical way to pay for international subscriptions and travel, as cards issued in Russia stopped working abroad after March 2022. The catch is that any card on a non-Russian BIN will often look “foreign” to merchants, so AVS and 3-D Secure friction may apply more frequently than for locally issued cards.

What can go wrong

Volet does not name the issuing bank for the cards on its public pages. The company behind the cards is described as Volet in the footer; agreement pages exist per region (“Agreement Canada”, “Agreement Costa Rica” and so on), which suggests the contracting entity changes by region but is not publicly identified. A third-party source adds that Volet is the former ADVcash brand and that card issuers “are not publicly named”; I treat this as unofficial. Licences and the regulatory standing of the card issuer are not stated. None of this is proof of a problem, but for a regulated product it is unusual and matters when you weigh the risks.

A third-party tracker reports, dated 11 August 2026, that the Global Plus programme was disrupted by “regulatory restrictions affecting the issuing bank” and advises against ordering or funding a Global Plus card until Volet confirms. This is a single source and the date will move; treat it as a yellow flag, not a verdict. The lesson is that programmes of this kind can be paused quickly, and the cards that depend on them can stop loading, stop spending, then ask users to withdraw balances.

User reviews reflect the fee load rather than major outages. On Trustpilot Volet has 4.1 / 5 over 965 reviews (read 2026-10-20), with 72% five-star and 16% one-star. The recurring complaints in the recent reviews are useful to read before you commit:

Operational issues are a known feature of prepaid crypto-funded cards across the industry, not a Volet-specific red flag. The 2018 suspension of WaveCrest shut down crypto Visa programmes across Europe. In November 2022 Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. The pattern is the same in each case: a programme is suspended, cards stop loading, then cards stop spending, and users are asked to withdraw balances. If your entire spending runs through a card like this, a backup card and a clear plan for getting money back out are part of the cost.

A few ordinary issues that bite people who do not expect them:

What to take instead

Volet is one option among many for people who want a payment card spent from a crypto balance. The three alternatives below are the ones I would compare it against. I score each on the same six-criterion framework I used above, and I only repeat the criteria where there is something new to say.

Bitrefill

Score: 6.8 / 10. Bitrefill’s card is a virtual or physical Visa; funds come in as crypto (Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, BASE, Polygon, Li.Finance) or via Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa, Mastercard, and the card balance appears to be in EUR based on the terms. The card page describes it as free through the app, and the terms put an inactivity fee on cards unused for 12 months (amount not stated). Conversion of crypto to euro carries a spread that the page does not state numerically. SEPA pay-ins carry a 1.99% fee. There is 2% total cashback described as “no cap”: 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase. The headline number that matters for this comparison is the cashback: it is real, ongoing and on top of network rewards, and it offsets a chunk of the fees Volet charges for loading the card from a wallet balance.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it not fully stated Country list not stated; eligibility described as “subject to eligibility criteria”
Cost mixed Card described as free; SEPA 1.99%; inactivity fee after 12 months (amount not stated)
Top-up options strong Crypto, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa, Mastercard, SEPA
Reliability and complaints moderate Cashback and SEPA both well documented; country list not published
Everyday use moderate Visa in EUR implied; FX handling not detailed
Total 6.8 / 10

UPay

Score: 6.1 / 10. UPay offers personal and business cards, virtual and physical, with payments converted to USD, EUR, AED and other supported currencies. Wallet top-ups include BTC, ETH and USDT, with USDC also listed; the networks are not stated. Country list is not stated on the pages I read, and the KYC partner is described as accepting only ID documents issued by the same country as the user, which is a meaningful friction for expats. Cashback is not stated on the card page. The absence of a published country list is the largest single unknown here, and you should check eligibility at sign-up before going further.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it not fully stated Country list not stated; “180+ countries” claim on home page
Cost not stated Card fees not published
Top-up options moderate BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC; networks not named
Reliability and complaints uncertain Country list not stated
Everyday use moderate Multi-currency conversion to USD, EUR, AED and others
Total 6.1 / 10

Kemy

Score: 6.0 / 10. Kemy pitches unlimited virtual cards and one physical Mastercard per user, with Visa also shown. The pricing page puts virtual issuance at $15 (valid 3 years) with a $2 / month fee, and physical at $250 with DHL Express included (valid 3 years, one card per user) and a $10 / month fee. Top-up costs differ by amount: $1.5 under $100 or 1.25% from $100 (min $5), with the same percentages on physical. The card-load transaction fee is 3.5% + $1, with $0.80 for a failed transaction. Funding is via USDT and USDC “on the main networks” (specific chains not listed) plus BTC, ETH and SOL via an on/off ramp and fiat via mobile money and virtual bank accounts. Cashback is not mentioned. The expensive item here is the monthly fee, which is much higher than Volet’s, and the 3.5% transaction fee on top of the top-up fee; the cheap item is the physical card when you can actually use it for three years.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it broad “190+ countries”; specific restrictions not listed
Cost weak $15 / $250 issuance plus monthly fees; transaction fee 3.5% + $1
Top-up options strong USDT, USDC on “main networks”; BTC, ETH, SOL; mobile money
Reliability and complaints moderate Country list not stated
Everyday use moderate Unlimited virtual cards useful for online subscriptions
Total 6.0 / 10

A quick comparison of the four on the points most people care about:

Card Crypto-to-card fee Cashback Country coverage Notable friction
Volet 1–2.5% + $1 + spread on conversion none 180+ countries for the service; cards in 150+ Issuer not publicly named; networks not listed
Bitrefill spread on crypto-to-EUR; 1.99% SEPA 2% no cap not stated Inactivity fee after 12 months
UPay not stated not stated not stated KYC partner accepts same-country ID only
Kemy 3.5% + $1 per transaction; 1.25% top-up none 190+ $2 / $10 monthly fee; $250 physical issuance

If your single goal is “turn small amounts of crypto into card spending cheaply”, Bitrefill is the most attractive because of the cashback. If your single goal is “card I can actually get in my country and load with a stablecoin”, Volet’s regional cards cover more geography than UPay’s and Kemy’s published lists, especially across the Asia-Pacific region. If your single goal is “many subscription-virtual cards for testing”, Kemy’s unlimited virtual pool is the differentiator, but the monthly fees kill the savings.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Volet card in three specific cases, and I would not recommend it in three more.

I would recommend it if:

I would not recommend it if:

For Russian speakers, the practical guidance is the same regardless of where you live, but with two layers added. Volet’s pages do not publish a country list, do not name a card issuer and do not say what happens for residents or citizens of Russia or Belarus; for Russian citizens living elsewhere, the question of whether the country you live in is supported and whether your Russian passport will be accepted at KYC are separate, and neither is answered on the card’s pages. The only safe test is to start the sign-up, see which card product you are offered and what documents the verification step actually asks for. Until that point, treat the cards as “available in some countries, possibly yours”.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Volet card?

The Volet card is a Mastercard or Visa payment card issued through Volet, a custodial e-wallet that was previously branded ADVcash. The card draws its balance from the fiat side of your Volet wallet, and that balance is funded by converting crypto (USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH and others) or by topping up with a regular Visa or Mastercard at a 3.5% fee.

How does the Volet card work?

You hold crypto or fiat in the Volet wallet, you convert what you want to spend into the USD or EUR fiat balance ($1 per USDT/USDC conversion, free for BTC/ETH and others), and you load the card from that balance at the card-load fee for your region (1% + €1 / $1 in Europe, 1.5% + $1 in Asia-Pacific, 2.5% + $1 on Global). The card then behaves like a prepaid Mastercard or Visa at the till or online.

Is Volet a bank?

No. Volet is an e-wallet, not a bank; the card pages do not name the issuing bank. In EU regulatory terms an e-wallet is closer to an electronic money institution, which can issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend. Volet’s public pages do not state which licence or licences it operates under, or which entity actually issues the cards in each region.

Who owns Volet?

Volet’s pages do not name the corporate owner on the cards or personal pages. The footer of the site shows Volet only, and there are region-specific agreement pages (“Agreement Canada”, “Agreement Costa Rica” and so on) which suggest the contracting entity differs by region. A third-party source says Volet is the renamed ADVcash; that is unofficial and not confirmed on Volet’s own pages.

Is the Volet card available in my country?

Volet says the service runs in 180+ countries and the Global digital Mastercard is available in 150+ of those, but the cards page does not publish a country list. A third-party tracker says around 51 countries are served and 29 are restricted, with the US, the UK, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Iran, Syria and North Korea among the restricted entries; this is unofficial. The only reliable way to find out is to start the sign-up and see which card product your region is offered.

Does the Volet card require KYC?

Basic Volet wallet functions do not require KYC. Cards, higher limits, full fiat withdrawals and all card features do require verification, which Volet says usually takes only a few minutes. The specific documents the verification step asks for are not listed on Volet’s card pages; a third-party source describes an ID document, a selfie or liveness check, a proof of address and sometimes source-of-funds information depending on the programme, but I treat that as unofficial.

How do I top up the Volet card?

The card loads only from your Volet fiat wallet balance. To get there you either deposit crypto to the Volet crypto wallet (free) and convert it to USD or EUR ($1 for USDT/USDC, free for BTC/ETH and others), or you top up the wallet with a Visa or Mastercard at 3.5%. SEPA and bank transfers to the wallet are also supported but their fees are not stated on the public fee pages.

What does the Volet card cost to use?

The costs that are published are the issuance fee ($1–$5 depending on the card), the card-load fee from the Volet wallet (1% + €1 / $1 in Europe, 1.5% + $1 in Asia-Pacific, 2.5% + $1 on Global), the 3.5% fee for topping up the wallet with a card, the $1 USDT/USDC conversion fee (free for BTC/ETH and others), no POS fee, no extra FX fee on the Global card, and no monthly fee. ATM fees, FX fees on Europe and Asia-Pacific and monthly caps are not stated on Volet’s fee pages.

Is the Volet card safe?

Volet is a custodial e-wallet, so the company holds your funds and your login credentials; the company says it uses “multi-layer security, encryption, access controls and continuous monitoring”, with PCI-DSS, GDPR, SSL and ISO badges on the site. The card issuer is not publicly named and licences are not stated. Treat the wallet like any other custodial account: enable two-factor authentication, keep the recovery contact up to date, and do not keep more on the card than you can afford to have paused if a programme is suspended.

Can I add the Volet card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

The card’s own pages do not state which products support mobile wallets. A third-party tracker says Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on the Digital and Spend Virtual cards, are not advertised for Europe and are not supported for Asia-Pacific or Global Plus; this is unofficial. The reliable test is in the app, after your card is issued.

Created by the ”Crypto Card Rating” editorial team.

Kemy card review: what it costs and who it suits
Kemy card review: what it costs and who it suits

Kemy card review for anyone who struggles to get an ordinary bank card: who issues…

Cryptomus card review: 4.7/10 — useful for one job only
Cryptomus card review: 4.7/10 — useful for one job only

A Cryptomus card review for people who pay online with USDT: fees, limits, KYC, top-ups,…

Bing Card Review: Fees, Limits and Real User Problems
Bing Card Review: Fees, Limits and Real User Problems

Bing card review for anyone who struggles to get a normal bank card: who can…

Bitrefill card review: fees, who can get it, and what to know
Bitrefill card review: fees, who can get it, and what to know

A hands-on review of the Bitrefill Visa card — who can get it, real fees,…

HexaCard Card Review: 4.6/10 for an Unclear Card
HexaCard Card Review: 4.6/10 for an Unclear Card

HexaCard review for readers who need a crypto-spending card fast: who qualifies, what it costs,…