KuCard card review: a Visa card that spends a crypto balance, inside a narrow EEA frame
KuCard is a Visa debit card attached to a KuCoin EU account. You hold crypto on the exchange, the card converts what you spend to euros, and the money comes off that balance when you pay. That much is straightforward. What makes it a narrower product than the marketing suggests is everything around it: it is issued in the EEA only, Malta is excluded, the details of what currencies and networks you can top up with are not published, and several everyday numbers — spending limits, ATM allowance — are simply not stated anywhere in the public material.

I scored it 6.0 out of 10. It is a competent card with a real licensed issuer behind it and almost no card-specific complaints, which is rarer than you would expect for a crypto card. But it is built for one specific person: someone living in the European Economic Area who already keeps money on KuCoin and is content to spend it there. If you are reading this hoping for a workaround to get a card from outside the EEA, or you are trying to keep crypto away from a platform, this is the wrong card and the wrong reason to be interested in it.
The conditions described here are current as of 21 October 2026.
Who the card suits, and who it does not
Let me put it plainly first: KuCard is for EEA residents. The terms say the card is available only to citizens and residents of the European Economic Area, the permitted jurisdictions are the EU states plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, and you need an identity document issued in the EEA. The help pages add that it is not available in Malta. There is nothing in the rules that mentions Russian citizens specifically, because the test is not citizenship in one country — it is EEA citizenship or residence plus an EEA-issued document.

That single fact does most of the sorting work, so let me do the sorting for you. If you live in the EEA and hold an EEA document, this is a card you can genuinely apply for. If you live in the UK, Switzerland, the US, Canada, or basically anywhere outside that list, the answer is no, and no amount of effort on the application changes that. There is a list of unofficial regions people speculate about; I did not find any official support for it, so I am not going to repeat it as if it were real.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | EEA citizens and residents only, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway; not available in Malta; an EEA-issued ID is required |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | First virtual card free, further ones about €9.90 each; euro payments free, other currencies 2%; €2 per ATM withdrawal in Europe |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Funded from crypto held on the KuCard account, USDT by default; the list of supported coins and networks is not published |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issued by Wallester AS in Estonia under Estonian financial supervision; almost no card complaints, one card review on Trustpilot |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Visa, virtual card available immediately, physical card with chip and PIN; Apple Pay and Google Pay reported to work |
| Total | 6.0 / 10 | A solid EEA card for people already on KuCoin, not a general-purpose banking substitute |
One more thing about who it does not suit. KuCard is not a way to hold crypto outside a platform. The balance sits on the exchange account, which is custodial in practice even though the terms never use that word. If the reason you want a crypto card is to avoid handing custody to somebody else, this misses the point entirely, and you should be looking at a self-custody card instead.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, if you are inside the frame, and the frame is narrower than you might expect. The rule is set out in the terms themselves: the card is available only to citizens and residents of the European Economic Area, the permitted jurisdictions are the EU member states plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, and the help material states that it is not available in Malta. On top of geography you need an EEA-issued identity document. There is no separate statement about Russian citizens or Russian-issued documents, because the rule is not built around nationality — it is built around residence and the document you present.

So the practical answers to the questions people actually ask:
- Living in Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstanistan, Uzbekistan, Georgia, Armenia or Moldova: this card is not for you. None of those places is in the EEA.
- Living in an EU or EEA country, holding an EEA-issued passport or ID: this is the case the card was built for, and you are on the intended path.
- A Russian citizen living in Germany, the Netherlands, Ireland or France, with a local residence document: you are eligible, because the test is EEA citizenship or residence and an EEA-issued ID, not your nationality.
I want to be careful with that last case. The terms talk about EEA-issued identity documents and EEA residence, and I found no published text about citizenship exceptions or additional screening for some nationalities. What I can tell you is that the rule as written does not exclude you, and that screening decisions at the platform level are a separate matter the card documents do not describe. Check the answer to your specific case in the help centre before you assume either way — that is a question for them, not for me.
How to get it
The application is short, and it is really the same KYC you have already done for the exchange. Here is the sequence.
- Open a KuCoin EU account and complete full KYC with a supported EEA-issued identity document. Your address is verified too, and you must be 18 or older.
- Apply for the card from inside the platform — either the virtual card or the physical one.
- If you want the physical card, it is posted to the address you gave, and you activate it in the KuCoin site or app.
That is the whole flow. There is one verification level, not a ladder of tiers: full KYC with an EEA-issued ID or passport, address verified, age 18+. The platform lists the reasons an application gets rejected, and it is a useful list to read before you apply: an invalid phone number, an incorrect name or date of birth, an invalid 3-D Secure password, not enough balance to cover the fee, and risk control. The last two catch people out — if your account balance cannot carry the card fee, the application fails on an administrative technicality, and “risk control” is the phrase you will see when a review decides to look harder. The processing time for an application is not stated, so if you need a card by a particular date, apply well before and expect to wait rather than assume it is instant.
It is worth pausing on why this paperwork exists at all, because it explains the shape of the whole product. Under anti-money-laundering rules, a regulated business has to verify who you are and keep checking that you are who you claimed to be — name, address, date of birth, nationality, documents, a sanctions check. If it cannot complete that work, EU rules tell it to refuse the transaction or end the relationship, which is why accounts get frozen pending papers rather than waved through. That machinery is not aimed at you; it is aimed at everyone on the platform, and it is the reason the eligibility rule is drawn around a verifiable document rather than around your location alone.
The card itself is a Visa debit card in two forms. The virtual card is usable immediately, which is useful for online purchases the day you apply. It expires at the end of the month and you reapply for the next one — a design that is either sensible or irritating depending on how much you rely on it. The physical card is chip-and-pin. You can hold up to five cards. Spending is denominated in USDT by default and converted into euros at the point of sale.
On delivery: the physical card goes to the address on file, and express delivery is €30 per card. Replacing a lost card is €9.90. Standard delivery time and cost are not officially published, so if you need a card this week, do not count on the free option.
What it really costs
Here is the honest shape of it: paying in euros is free, and almost everything that costs you something is either a card issuance fee, a currency conversion, or a cash withdrawal. The published fee schedule looks like this.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| First virtual card | Free |
| Further virtual cards | €9.90 each |
| Physical card | €9.90 (the first) / €19.90 |
| Replacement card | €9.90 |
| Cancelling a card | Free |
| Express card delivery | €30 per card |
| Payment in euros | Free |
| Payment in another currency | 2% of the transaction total |
| ATM withdrawal inside Europe | €2 per withdrawal |
| ATM withdrawal outside Europe | 2% of the transaction total plus €2 |
| Declined payment for insufficient funds | Free |
| Overdraft | Not available |
| Daily and monthly spending limits | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal allowance | Not stated |
Three everyday payments, so the table becomes something you can feel.
- Groceries in Berlin, paid in euros. No card fee, no conversion fee. This is the case the product is built around and it costs you nothing to pay the published price. The only thing to watch is the conversion rate itself, because the crypto-to-euro rate is set by KuCoin and the terms say it is determined solely by them.
- A hotel in Lisbon. Same story — a euro payment inside the euro area, free. The cost here is not the card; it is what happens if a merchant runs a card-present authorisation and then voids it, since a declined or reversed authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days.
- A subscription in dollars on a US platform. Now the 2% applies, so you pay the transaction amount plus 2% in total, plus any local or third-party charges the fee schedule warns about. The schedule also notes that local fees, third-party fees, network fees, a conversion spread and IOF fees may apply on top, so the final number on your statement can exceed the headline.
Two practical notes on the money side. Refunds always come back in euros, valued at the euro amount at the time of the transaction — so if the crypto price moved while you were waiting for a refund, you do not get the difference back in crypto. And there is no overdraft: a declined payment is free to you, which is friendly, but it also means a payment simply fails if the balance is short.
One inconsistency you should know about before you plan around it. The current fee schedule lists a further virtual card at €9.90, while an older support article says €9.99, and the physical card line reads €9.90 for the first and €19.90 as written, which is ambiguous about the second. I am showing you the schedule figures because that is the newer page — it was shown as last updated 29 September 2026 — but treat the exact second-physical-card price as something to confirm.
And the number that is genuinely missing: daily and monthly spending limits are not stated. The terms point to a FAQ rather than publishing figures, and a third-party card directory (unofficial, not confirmed by KuCoin) reports that KuCoin does not publish a universal spending and ATM limit table at all. If a limit matters to you, that is a question to ask in writing before you rely on the card. The terms do allow the issuer to set daily limits, which means the ceiling exists somewhere even if you have not been told what it is.
The fees that are not in the table are worth as much attention as the ones that are. The terms refer to a fee schedule that is not reproduced in the terms themselves, describe foreign-use fees as being whatever “we may reasonably prescribe”, and say the crypto-to-euro rate is set by KuCoin. So there are two categories of cost here that are fixed and published — the issuance fees and the percentage charges — and a third category that floats. If you spend heavily or hold a currency the card converts for you, the floating part is where your money actually goes, and no document I could see quantifies it.
How to top it up
The honest answer is that the top-up is not where this card’s documentation shines. Funding comes from supported cryptocurrency already held in the KuCard account, and USDT is the default spending currency. Beyond that, the details are unpublished: the list of supported coins and networks is not stated, direct euro top-ups are not mentioned, there is no minimum top-up, and who pays the network fee for your deposit is not clarified. The fee schedule has no top-up fee line at all — which suggests there is no platform fee, but it also means a conversion spread may apply on the way in.
Practically, the flow is: transfer crypto into your KuCard account on a network the platform accepts, hold it as your spending currency, and the card draws on that balance. The risk to understand before you do it is that blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be gone or need a manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. Check the supported network against the asset before you press send, and check it twice.
One network detail that catches people: if your USDT sits on Tron and you need to move it, Tron charges fees through its own bandwidth and energy system, and on Ethereum-standard tokens you need ETH in the wallet to pay gas even though the token you are sending is USDT. A wallet holding USDT and nothing else cannot send. That is a property of the chains, not of KuCard, but you will meet it here.
Getting money back out is also worth reading carefully. Moving a card balance back to crypto or to a bank account is not stated in the public terms. Cancelling a card is free. An unactivated card may be closed after three months with no refund of service charges, and a card may be terminated after four consecutive months closed or blocked, or six months of no use at all. What happens to the balance on closure is not stated either. If the card is your only route to that money, keep it active — those dormancy provisions are the practical warning.
Paying with it every day
This is the card’s strongest section, and 8 out of 10 reflects that. It is a Visa debit card, which means it works anywhere Visa is accepted, in physical shops and online. The virtual card is there the moment you apply; the physical chip-and-pin card arrives by post and is activated in the app. Both draw on the same balance, so there is no juggling.
The everyday mechanics that matter:
- It is a euro card in practice. Spending currency is USDT by default and it converts to EUR, so euro payments cost nothing extra.
- Online payments go through the usual online authorisation path, with 3-D Secure as the identity check on the issuer’s side.
- Mobile wallets: the terms do not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay. A third-party card directory (unofficial, and not confirmed by KuCard) reports both are supported. I would treat that as likely but unverified, and check in your own app before you rely on it.
- No merchant category restrictions are published. No gambling block, no category list. The terms only say use is limited to Visa-accepting terminals and to purchases not prohibited by law.
- Cash costs €2 a withdrawal inside Europe, plus whatever the ATM operator adds on top.
Two things you will notice in normal use. First, a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another: the merchant can read the issuing institution and country from the card’s first digits and may apply extra scrutiny, and prepaid cards are declined by some merchants for exactly that reason. Inside the EEA this is a much smaller problem than it is from outside it. Second, address verification in online checkouts is mainly a US, Canada and UK system and generally does not work for foreign-issued cards — so if a subscription insists on a billing address check, a decline is not necessarily a KuCard problem.
There is a third thing, and it is the one that catches most people out. A merchant can put a temporary hold on your balance when you pay, and a declined or reversed authorisation can leave that hold in place for several days. On a card backed by a crypto balance that moves, a hold is not just a bank inconvenience — it is money you cannot spend, converted at whatever rate applies when it finally clears. If you are budgeting tightly for a trip, leave room for holds rather than assuming the balance you see is the balance you have.
A useful piece of background, since it explains why these cards look the way they do. Almost every card in this category behaves like a prepaid card rather than a normal debit card: the crypto is converted and loaded as a balance, and the card spends only that balance, which is why an overdraft is not available and why a declined payment costs you nothing. That design is why crypto cards cannot overdraw — and why they also cannot extend you credit when your balance runs out.
There is also a rewards programme, and this is where I want to flag how thin the official record is. The terms mention only “different benefits or rewards” from time to time, with no rates. A third-party directory (unofficial, not confirmed by KuCoin) describes an EU programme based on monthly eligible spend, with cashback stepping up through tiers from 1% to 8% and points that become available after fifteen days and expire after ninety. The same source reports a €2 monthly inactivity fee on a virtual card after ninety days without a transaction. I cannot confirm any of that from the card’s own pages, so treat the tiers as a rumour with numbers attached and read the current terms in your account. That said, if the €2 inactivity charge is real, it interacts directly with the expiry rules above, and it is worth checking before you let a virtual card sit idle.
What can go wrong
Nothing dramatic has come up, and I would rather tell you that plainly than manufacture worry. I found no complaints about the card itself, no Reddit threads, and no incident report involving KuCard. For a crypto card, that is a genuinely good sign — this category has a long history of programmes being wound down.
The risks that exist are the ordinary ones, in a slightly unfamiliar shape.
- Custody. The card draws on your KuCoin account, which is a platform account. In practice the platform holds the credentials; the terms just do not use the word. That means your balance carries the counterparty and hack risk of any custodial platform, and crypto transfers have no built-in recovery when something goes wrong.
- Where the issuer sits. The card is issued by Wallester AS, an Estonian company (registration 11812882) that is a Visa principal member and supervised by the Estonian financial supervisor. Virtual currency exchange and deposit operations are run by UAB EURLITA in Lithuania. KuCoin runs the platform. No licence loss or fine against the issuer turned up in what I checked.
- Loss or theft. The terms tell you to freeze your account immediately on the platform. Strong authentication with two independent elements is required. Your liability for unauthorised use is capped at €50 unless it was fraud or gross negligence. That cap is a real protection, but read what “gross negligence” could be argued to cover.
- Disputes are on a clock. Unauthorised transactions must be reported within 60 days of the transaction date, or they are treated as correct. That is the single most important line in the terms for anyone who spots a strange charge. Refunds are paid in euros at the value at the time of the transaction, refund processing time is not stated, and fees are non-refundable.
- Platform-level complaints. Here the picture is mixed. On Trustpilot, the kucoin.com profile — the exchange profile, not a card-only one — shows no score displayed, 1,597 reviews and 78% one-star. The recurring themes are withdrawal and account restrictions in August to October 2026, dormancy fees and repeated requests for ID just to log in over the same period, peer-to-peer disputes, and deposits not being credited. Only one review is card-specific, from July 2026, and it is worth reading in full: about $120 stuck after the card on file had expired, KuCoin asking for an old bank PDF statement, slow replies. One review is not a pattern, but it tells you where the friction sits — with the account, not with the card terminal.
- Help. There is a help centre and a ticket form on KuCoin EU, and the help articles exist in Russian, which is more than many of these products manage. Chat and Telegram channels and their hours are not stated.
What to take instead
If KuCard does not fit — you are outside the EEA, you want to hold your own keys, or you want a card with published limits — these are the comparators I looked at. Each scores close to the same or a little higher, and each is wrong for a different reason.
| Card | Score | Who it is for | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific | The cards page states the product is not meant for EEA customers and that all EEA participation is strictly prohibited; the currency depends on your country of verification |
| Coinbase Card | 6.4 / 10 | All US states except Hawaii | US only, no other countries; fees are disclosed in the agreements rather than on a schedule |
| OKX | 6.2 / 10 | EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026 | Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded; virtual euro Mastercard linked to OKX Pay, no physical card mentioned |
Some quick comparisons where they matter. Bybit’s virtual card is free in all its regions, and it pays back in cashback tiers that run from 2% up to 10% with monthly caps; but the FX fee varies wildly by region — 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru — and the card draws on a Funding Account and Easy Earn balance rather than a balance of its own. Coinbase is the plainest of the three: a Visa prepaid debit card, zero spending fees, no annual fees, all crypto converted to US dollars, and optional crypto rewards for US card users. OKX charges no card fee and no transaction fee, with a conversion spread that its own materials state inconsistently, and cashback only on USDG purchases.
The rewards structures differ in a way that matters more than the headline rates suggest. Bybit pays only on crypto-funded transactions since 5 October 2026 — fiat-funded spending earns nothing at all — while OKX pays cashback only on USDG holdings, so USDC earns none. Both are the kind of condition that quietly halves your real return if you misread it, and both reward structures are more specific than anything the KuCard terms publish. Coinbase is simpler again: optional crypto rewards on every purchase for US card users, at a variable rate shown in the app.
Two of the three are unavailable to an EEA resident trying to replace a Russian-issued card, which is precisely why they are worth knowing about: Bybit excludes the EEA outright, Coinbase is US-only, and OKX serves the EU but is itself restricted. If you are inside the EEA, the realistic field is KuCard and OKX, and the honest difference is that OKX is a virtual card linked to a payments balance with no physical card mentioned, while KuCard gives you chip and pin.
Who I would recommend it to
Three kinds of person, in order of how confidently I would say it.
If you already have money on KuCoin EU because that is where you trade, and you live in the EEA with an EEA-issued document, this card does what you want it to do for almost nothing: euro payments are free, the virtual card is instant, the issuer is a supervised Estonian Visa principal member, and there is a real chip-and-pin card when you want one. That is a good deal, and the friction I found is mostly in the documentation rather than in the card.
Second, if you want a card specifically for online spending in euros and you are deliberately keeping your crypto on one exchange — that is a defensible choice, not a recommended one, but it is a real choice with real costs you can now see: €9.90 per additional virtual card, 2% on non-euro payments, €2 per ATM withdrawal in Europe, and the 30-day virtual card expiry.
Third — and this is the group I would push hardest — I would not recommend it to anyone outside the EEA, to anyone hoping it is a route around identity checks or country restrictions, or to anyone who is uneasy about a card that spends a custodial exchange balance. There is no version of this product for those readers, and pretending otherwise would be the worst thing this review could do.
Before you commit, do three things: ask in writing what your daily and monthly limits are, because they are not published; confirm whether Apple Pay and Google Pay work on your account, because the card’s own terms do not say; and confirm the inactivity fee, because if the €2 monthly charge is real it changes the arithmetic of holding a spare virtual card.
Frequently asked questions
What is KuCard?
KuCard is a Visa debit card linked to a KuCoin EU account. You hold supported cryptocurrency there, and when you pay, the amount converts to euros and comes off that balance. It comes as a virtual card usable at once and a physical chip-and-pin card, issued by Wallester AS in Estonia.
How does KuCard card work?
You spend crypto and the card converts it. The default spending currency is USDT, converted to euros at the point of sale, so euro payments are free and other currencies cost 2% of the transaction total. That crypto-to-euro rate is set by KuCoin, which the terms say is determined solely by them.
Is KuCard a bank?
No. KuCard is a card programme rather than a bank account. The issuer is an Estonian company supervised by the Estonian financial supervisor, exchange and deposit operations run through a Lithuanian company, and KuCoin operates the platform. Customer funds on e-money accounts are safeguarded but are not bank deposits and carry no deposit guarantee.
Who can get KuCard?
Only citizens and residents of the European Economic Area, the permitted jurisdictions being the EU states plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, with Malta excluded. You need an EEA-issued identity document, a verified address, and to be 18 or older. No rule turns on citizenship, so a Russian citizen living there falls inside it.
Which countries is KuCard available in?
The EEA plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, minus Malta. That covers all EU member states and the three EEA partners, and nothing outside that. Residents of the UK, Switzerland, the US, Canada and other countries outside the EEA are not eligible, and there is no official support for the idea that it works anywhere else.
How do I get a KuCard card?
Open a KuCoin EU account, complete full KYC with an EEA-issued document, verify your address, then apply for a virtual or physical card in the platform. The virtual card works at once and expires at month end. The physical card arrives by post and is activated in the app. Rejections include a bad phone number.
How do I top up KuCard?
You fund it from supported cryptocurrency in your KuCard account, with USDT as the default spending currency. The supported coins and networks are not published, whether direct euro top-ups are possible is not stated, and there is no minimum. The fee schedule has no top-up line, though a conversion spread may apply.
Can I add KuCard to Apple Wallet?
The card’s terms do not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay at all. A third-party card directory, unofficial and not confirmed by KuCoin, reports that both are supported, and an earlier payment-industry report says the same. That makes it likely rather than certain, so check whether your own app offers the option.
Is KuCard safe?
The profile is normal for a regulated card, but not risk-free. The issuer is a supervised Estonian Visa principal member, unauthorised-use liability is capped at €50 unless fraud or gross negligence is involved, and you can freeze the account at once. Against that, the balance sits on a custodial platform with no transfer recovery.
Is KuCard worth it?
For an EEA resident already holding money on KuCoin EU, yes: euro payments are free, the first virtual card is free, and the issuer is a real supervised partner. Outside the EEA, it is not an option at all. Before relying on it, get your limits in writing and confirm the fee for extra cards.
Written by the editors at Crypto Card Rating.
