Coinbase Card: what it is really worth, and who should not bother
The Coinbase Card is a Visa prepaid debit card that spends cash or crypto straight out of your Coinbase balance, converting whatever you hold into US dollars at the moment of payment. On the surface it is unusually cheap: Coinbase advertises zero spending fees, no annual fee, no monthly fee and zero Coinbase transaction fees, and it takes $0 out of Coinbase-branded ATMs. Underneath, the card is limited to one country — the United States, all states except Hawaii — and the real cost is the spread Coinbase charges when it converts your crypto, not a line item on any fee schedule. I scored it 6.4 out of 10 overall: excellent for daily spending mechanics inside the US, thin on top-up choice, and heavily dependent on a single platform whose customer reviews are sharply split.

The conditions described here are current as of 21 October 2026.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | Available in all US states except Hawaii; no other countries |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Zero spending fees and no annual fees, $0 at Coinbase ATMs, 0% international fee from the issuer, but a conversion spread applies when crypto funds the purchase |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Linked bank account or part of a paycheck free of charge; crypto balance converts to USD at payment; coins and networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issuer Pathward, N.A., Member FDIC, on the Marqeta platform; Coinbase itself is 4.0/5 on Trustpilot from 23,282 reviews, with complaints about account blocks and slow support |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual or physical Visa prepaid card, works at ATMs; Apple Pay and Google Pay support reported by third parties, not confirmed on the card’s own pages |
| Total | 6.4 / 10 | Strong daily spending, narrow geography, spread-based pricing |
Who will they give you the card?
They will give it to you if you live in the United States, in any state except Hawaii, and you can pass ordinary identity verification. Account opening follows the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules: name, address, date of birth and identification. An older version of the cardholder agreement also frames eligibility as being 18 or older and a US citizen or permanent resident, and warns that use may be restricted until your identity has been verified. No other country is served — this is not a “card for Americans abroad” product, and it is not a workaround for anyone who cannot open an ordinary US bank account.
That last point deserves a slow read, because it is where a lot of people arrive with the wrong expectation. This card exists inside a US banking and compliance system. It is issued by a US bank, it settles in US dollars, and it depends on a US address, a US identity check and, in practice, a US bank account to fund it. If you are a Russian speaker living in Russia, in another CIS country, or a Russian citizen living somewhere else in the world, this card is not available to you, and no change of address will change that. The card’s own terms say something that settles the question for anyone who moves: if the cardholder’s address changes to a non-US address, the card may be cancelled and funds returned. There is also nothing on the public pages about accepting a foreign-issued card number, so the honest answer to “can I use the Coinbase Card in my country” is simply no unless that country is the United States.
What that means in practice, for the situations readers actually ask about:
- Living in Russia: not eligible. There is no application path, no waiting list, and nothing to try later.
- Living in another CIS country — Kazakhstan, Georgia, Belarus, Armenia, and so on: not eligible for this card. It is worth noting that some other crypto cards do operate in parts of this region, and I compare them further down, but that is a different card from a different company.
- A Russian citizen living elsewhere, including inside the US with valid residency: citizenship is not what the card checks, residence is. If you genuinely live in the United States and can verify your address and identity there, the PATRIOT Act check is about who you are and where you are, not what your passport says. If you live abroad, there is no route in.
I’d rather say that plainly than pretend there is flexibility, because the people most likely to try to bend these rules are the ones who end up with a frozen account and a support queue. Coinbase applies identity rules as a regulated business has to, and the pattern of account closures I saw in reviews is not a bug you can talk your way around.
How to get it
Getting the card is short. You sign up for Coinbase, then either create a virtual card or order a physical one, both inside the app. There is no credit check and no staking requirement — you do not need to lock coins anywhere to get a card.
What the verification step actually involves: opening the card account requires your name, address, date of birth and other identifying information, and Coinbase “may also ask to see your driver’s license or other identifying documents”. Beyond that, the card’s public pages do not say what else might be asked, and the older agreement is thin here too, so do not read this as a fixed list. It is enough to know that it is a standard identity check and that the card can be limited until it completes.
The card itself is a Visa prepaid debit card, available virtual or physical. It spends cash or crypto, and all crypto is converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals — that conversion is not optional and it happens per purchase, which is where the cost lives (covered in the next section). An older cardholder agreement notes that replacement cards sent because the old one expired carry no fee. Delivery timing for a physical card is not stated on the current pages, so if you need a card in the mail quickly, plan on the virtual card instead.
Two practical notes before you start. First, get the virtual card working and use it for a few weeks before you bother with plastic; it costs nothing to test and it tells you immediately whether your usual shops accept it. Second, set up the funding link first — the card is only useful once there is something behind it.
What it really costs: the Fees
The headline is genuinely good, and it is worth saying clearly, because most cards in this category are not like this. Coinbase states “zero spending fees and no annual fees” on the card page, and the older cardholder fee schedule also lists funding from the Coinbase USD Wallet at $0 and a monthly fee of $0. Coinbase-branded ATM withdrawals cost $0 from Coinbase’s side, and the older schedule lists ATM withdrawal at $0 and balance inquiry at $0 as well. International transactions carry a 0% fee from the issuer.

| Fee or limit | What it is |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Virtual or physical Visa prepaid card; an older agreement says no fee for replacement cards sent due to expiry |
| Annual fee | None — “no annual fees” |
| Monthly fee | $0 |
| Spending fee | None — “zero spending fees” |
| Coinbase transaction fee | None |
| Crypto conversion | No named fee; a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades crypto, and conversion happens at payment |
| International transactions | 0% from the issuer, but Coinbase may separately charge a fee, and the network converts foreign-currency purchases |
| Card currency | USD only; crypto is converted to US dollars |
| ATM withdrawal | $0 from Coinbase; the ATM operator may charge; ATM fees count toward the daily limit |
| Balance inquiry | $0 |
| Paid tiers | None — a single tier; the only variation is the rotating crypto reward you pick |
| Spending and ATM limits | Vary by customer, and risk checks may lower them; check in the app under Card > Support > “View spending and ATM limits” |
There is one line that can actually hurt you: the spread. When your crypto pays for a purchase, Coinbase buys, sells or trades crypto, and that trade carries a spread rather than a fixed percentage printed on a fee schedule. So “zero spending fees” is true and also incomplete. You are not paying a fee at the till; you are paying a little more per coin than the mid-market rate, and the size of that difference is not published as a number.
Limits are the other place you can be surprised, and here the honest answer is that the current pages do not give numbers. Limits vary per customer and risk checks may lower them. An older Combined Terms document from 2021 put a ceiling of no more than $1,000 per 24 hours in ATM or over-the-counter cash withdrawals, with a maximum of six cash withdrawals a day. Treat that as history, not as a promise about your account — check the live figure in the app before you plan a large cash withdrawal.
Three everyday payments, so the fees land in context:
- Coffee in New York, paid from USD in your Coinbase balance. This is the cheapest case and it stays that way: no spending fee, no Coinbase transaction fee, no spread, because no conversion happens. This is the card at its best.
- The same coffee paid from BTC or ETH. No spending fee and no transaction fee, but Coinbase converts at payment and the spread applies. You pay a fraction above the mid-market rate on top of whatever the crypto market did that morning. Both halves of that sentence matter — a flat fee would be predictable; a spread is not.
- A purchase abroad, in euros or pounds. The issuer charges 0%, and you may still be charged a fee by Coinbase; the network converts the foreign-currency purchase. Add the conversion of crypto to dollars first, and you have stacked a spread, a conversion and a network rate on one transaction. The card’s older terms note that funds do not expire after the card’s “Valid Thru” date.
How to Top up the card
There are three routes, and they are all free, which is the surprising part of a card whose top-up score is only 4 out of 10.

- Link a bank account. Free of charge, and it becomes the default way money reaches the card.
- Deposit part of a paycheck into Coinbase. Also zero fees, and useful if your employer can split a direct deposit.
- Spend the crypto balance you already hold. Whatever crypto sits on Coinbase can be spent directly and is converted to USD at the moment of payment.
What you will not find stated anywhere: the minimum top-up, and network fees. If you plan to fund the card by transferring USDT or USDC from another wallet, nobody publishes the network fee or even which networks the card accepts, and that gap matters more than it sounds — sending on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
Because the card currency is USD only, a multi-currency balance is not stated as a feature. There is no euro balance to hold and no second currency to convert into. If your income is in another currency, you convert it before it becomes card balance, and that conversion is your problem to price, not Coinbase’s.
Taking money back out is where the public pages go quiet again. Withdrawal conditions are not stated on the current pages. The older agreement tells you two useful things: funds on the card do not expire after the “Valid Thru” date, and if your address changes to a non-US address the card may be cancelled with funds returned. Plan on this being a spending card, not a place to park savings.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day use is the strongest part of this card, and it earns 9 out of 10 for a reason: it behaves like an ordinary prepaid Visa with crypto behind it. You can hold a virtual card for online purchases immediately, order a physical card for everything else, and take cash out at ATMs. A virtual card is the right tool for subscriptions and online shops; the physical card is what you want in a shop where contactless is faster than chip.
Rewards are optional and available to US card users only. You pick from rotating crypto rewards, and the rate is variable — it is shown in the app rather than published as a fixed percentage. Treat the reward as a small bonus, not a reason to choose the card; if the coin you are rewarded in drops, so does the value of what you earned.
Apple Pay and Google Pay support is reported by third parties rather than confirmed on Coinbase’s own card pages, so treat it as unofficial until you see it in your own app. The same goes for blocked merchant categories: I found no list. What the wider industry explains is why such lists exist at all. A card number starts with a six- or eight-digit issuer identifier that any merchant can look up, which reveals the card type and the issuing country, and some shops decline prepaid or foreign BINs on that basis. It is also why an address-verification check, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address against the issuer’s records, is mainly a US, Canadian and UK service and generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — a common cause of declines that has nothing to do with you.
The app itself is the strongest part of the operation: iPhone on iOS 16.4 or later, plus Mac and Vision, 18 interface languages including Russian and Turkish, and an App Store rating of 4.7 from 1.8M ratings. The Google Play listing returned no data when I read it, so I cannot tell you what Android users see.
Two things to keep in mind. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven, which looks like a spending problem but is a timing one. And if a payment goes through tokenisation, Apple Pay stores a device-specific number rather than your card number, and your issuer can restrict that token — for example blocking it on magnetic-stripe, phone or website use. Useful to know if a card suddenly stops working in one channel and not others.
What can go wrong
The card’s own risk profile is decent. It is issued by Pathward, N.A., Member FDIC, under a licence from Visa U.S.A. Inc., and it runs on the Marqeta platform. Custodial, meaning the funds sit with Coinbase and the issuing bank rather than in a wallet you hold the keys to, and the older agreement states that funds transferred from the Coinbase USD Wallet are eligible for FDIC insurance up to $250,000 if deposit-insurance requirements are met. Visa Zero Liability applies, and the liability caps are concrete: up to $50 if a lost or stolen card is reported within two business days, up to $500 after. Card freeze in the app and spending controls are not stated on the current pages.
The real risk is not the card. It is the company behind it, and one detail deserves attention: the agreement in Coinbase’s own static documents folder names MetaBank, N.A. as issuer, with Marqeta as programme manager, while the current card page names Pathward, N.A. Both cannot be the present state, and I could not find a dated announcement explaining the switch. For a custodial product, knowing which bank actually holds your money is not a detail — that bank is the one that answers to the FDIC insurance. Confirm it in your own app before you put meaningful balance on the card.
Now the complaint picture, honestly. Coinbase as a company — not the card — sits at 4.0 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 23,282 reviews, and the distribution is bimodal: 45% five-star, 43% one-star. Readings of the same platform elsewhere conflict badly, with one analysis showing 1.9 out of 5 from 9,411 reviews in 2024. Recurring themes across those reviews: slow or absent support in fraud cases, account lockouts and heavy verification, multi-day holds on larger deposits, and complaints about fees on conversions and debit-card transfers. A US consumer study ranked Coinbase third among digital wallets by CFPB complaints, with difficulty retrieving money; another outlet reported Coinbase confirming it had mistakenly overcharged users’ bank accounts. Third-party reviews disagree on the FX fee and on regional behaviour and are unverified — I would weight them as anecdotes, not findings.
Disputes are handled, with a clock. Under the older agreement you report unauthorised transactions and the issuer decides within 10 business days, though that can take up to 45 days, with the account credited within 10 business days meanwhile. Losses after 60 days from the statement may not be recovered. Merchant refunds are the merchant’s business and may post with delay. Chargeback via Visa is not stated. Visa Zero Liability plus Regulation E-style protections do most of the work for you, but prepaid coverage varies and should not be assumed, and the 60-day reporting window is the one hard deadline in all of this.
Support: phone 1-888-908-7930, email [email protected], postal address 100 Pine Street, San Francisco, CA 94111, a help centre, and in-app Card > Support. Russian-language support and working hours are not stated. Given that the number sits in a San Francisco address, if you are not in the US, plan on the in-app and email routes.
And a general warning about this category, since you are trusting a company with your money. Custodial platforms have a real history: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Visa and Mastercard do not issue these cards themselves; they license issuers and can shut a programme down — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its programmes. Programme closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what’s left. On taxes, one last thing worth knowing rather than advice: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so spending crypto is generally a taxable disposal measured in dollars on the transaction date. Ask someone qualified about your own situation.
What to take instead
If the Coinbase Card is out — because you are outside the US, or because you want a wider choice of networks and coins, or you simply want more than two top-up routes — these are the alternatives I looked at, with the same questions applied.
| Card | Score | Where it works | Card type | Main fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coinbase | 6.4 / 10 | All US states except Hawaii | Visa prepaid, virtual or physical | No spending or annual fee; conversion spread; 0% international from issuer |
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific | Mastercard and Visa, virtual and physical | Crypto conversion 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina; FX 2% on top of the network rate in several regions, 7% Argentina, 1.5% Brazil, 1% Peru; physical issuance 29.99 USD Australia, 5 USD/USDT Argentina, 29.99 USDT Georgia and Kazakhstan (AIFC), 5 USDT Asia Pacific, none Brazil and Mexico |
| OKX | 6.2 / 10 | EU plus Norway from 28 January 2026; Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded | Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay | No card fee as of May 2026; no transaction or OKX FX fee; conversion spread reported as 0.1% in the explainer versus 0.4% in the launch release |
| BingX | 5.8 / 10 | Europe (EEA), APAC, LATAM and other selected regions, no country list published | Visa debit, virtual instant and metal card mailed in 15–30 business days | Not stated; card spends USDT from the Fund Account converted at the real-time rate |
Three differences stand out if you are weighing them.
Eligibility. Bybit serves nine named regions including Kazakhstan and Georgia, and its application asks for your country of residence; unsupported countries get your interest registered instead. OKX covers the EU plus Norway. BingX names regions rather than countries and says to contact support. For anyone in the CIS, Bybit is the only one of these four whose published region list includes the area — but note its own restricted-country list for fiat services includes Belarus and the Russian Federation, and it states that “Russian users can only make RUB transaction in Fiat”. That is about fiat services, not the card as such, and there is no card-specific rule on Russian or Belarusian citizens, but read it as a warning rather than an opening.
Flexibility of funding. Bybit’s card has no balance of its own: it draws on the Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn, fiat first, and sells crypto only if fiat runs out, at the One-Click Sell rate plus a card conversion fee. Supported coins are BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM. OKX is narrower still — USDC or USDG in OKX Pay, with other coins converted first, no auto top-up, and the payment declined if the balance is short. BingX is narrowest: USDT only, from the BingX Fund Account.
Rewards. Bybit runs a real tier system, but note the rule change from 5 October 2026 at 10:00 UTC: only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback, fiat-funded spending does not. That closes the door on the most natural use of a card linked to a bank account. Tiers run from Base at 2.00% with a 5 USD monthly cap up to Infinite at 10% with 600 USD. OKX pays cashback on USDG purchases only, not USDC, with monthly caps in euros from Regular at 2% capped at 10 up to VIP4+ at 10% capped at 1,000. BingX mentions no cashback at all.
| Coinbase | Bybit | OKX | BingX | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Top-up routes | Bank account, paycheck, crypto balance | Funding Account, Flexible Easy Earn, fiat first | USDC or USDG in OKX Pay only | USDT from Fund Account only |
| Multi-coin spending | Any crypto on Coinbase, coins not named | BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC, GRAM | USDC, USDG | USDT |
| Rewards | Rotating crypto, variable rate, US users only | 2.00%–10% tiers, crypto-funded spending only | Cashback on USDG only | None mentioned |
| Physical card | Yes | Yes, not in Peru | Not mentioned | Metal card, 15–30 business days |
| Card currency | USD only | USD, ARS, MXN, BRL, PEN depending on region | EUR | USD |
My own read, having gone through all four: if you are in the US and just want to spend what is already on Coinbase, the Coinbase Card’s zero spending fee is hard to argue with. If you are outside the US, the decision is about eligibility first and fees second, and Bybit’s conversion fee of 0.9% on top of the sell rate is the most explicit number on the table. If you want a card whose issuer story is settled and whose support you can actually reach, none of them is simpler than Coinbase, which is one of the better-known names — but as the Trustpilot split shows, that is a separate question from quality.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Coinbase Card to a US resident who already keeps a balance on Coinbase, earns part of their income there, and wants to spend it without thinking about fees at the till. The combination of no spending fee, no annual fee, no monthly fee, zero-fee ATM withdrawals at Coinbase machines and USD-only simplicity is genuinely the best everyday mechanics in this comparison. The variable crypto reward is a pleasant extra, not a reason to switch.
I would not recommend it to anyone outside the United States, full stop — the card is not available there and the address rule closes the door behind you. I would not recommend it to someone whose main concern is the conversion rate, because the spread is real, unnamed in advance and the single largest cost in the product. And I would be cautious about parking a large balance on it: it is custodial, the issuer named in the older documents differs from the issuer on the current page, and the company’s own review profile is sharply divided.
The short version: this is a good spending card inside a system it was built for. If that system is the one you live in, it is cheap and unobtrusive. If it is not, no amount of persistence will move the boundary.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Coinbase Card?
The Coinbase Card is a Visa prepaid debit card, available virtual or physical, that spends either cash or crypto held in your Coinbase balance. Crypto is converted into US dollars at the moment of payment, and the card works at ATMs as well as in shops and online. It is issued by Pathward, N.A., Member FDIC, under a licence from Visa U.S.A. Inc., and it runs on the Marqeta platform.
How does the Coinbase Card work in practice?
You link a bank account, deposit part of your paycheck, or simply hold crypto on Coinbase and spend it. When you pay with crypto, Coinbase converts it to dollars at the moment of purchase and applies a spread rather than a fixed fee. When you pay with a dollar balance already in your account, no conversion happens at all, which makes it the cheapest way to use the card.
Does Coinbase Card require KYC?
Yes. Opening the card account requires your name, address, date of birth and other identifying information, and Coinbase “may also ask to see your driver’s license or other identifying documents”. There is no credit check and no staking requirement. The card’s public pages do not list anything else that might be requested, and an older agreement notes that use may be limited until your identity has been verified.
Can I get the Coinbase Card outside the United States?
No. The card is available in all US states except Hawaii, and no other countries are served. Under the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules it requires a US address and identity documents. An older cardholder agreement adds that if your address changes to a non-US address, the card may be cancelled and funds returned — so moving abroad ends the card, not just the eligibility.
What are the fees for spending and for cash withdrawals?
Coinbase advertises “zero spending fees and no annual fees”, with no Coinbase transaction fees, a 0% international transaction fee from the issuer, $0 ATM withdrawals from Coinbase and $0 balance inquiries. The cost sits in the spread applied when Coinbase converts crypto at payment. The ATM operator may charge separately, and those ATM fees count toward your daily limit.
How do I top up the card?
The card page lists two free routes — linking a bank account, and depositing part of a paycheck into Coinbase at zero fees — plus spending the crypto balance you already hold, which converts to USD at payment. The minimum top-up amount and network fees are not stated on the public pages. Because the card is USD only, there is no multi-currency balance to top up with.
Does the Coinbase Card work with Apple Pay and Google Pay?
Support for both is reported by third-party outlets rather than confirmed on Coinbase’s own card pages, so treat it as unofficial until you see it in your app. Apple Pay works by storing a device-specific card number on the phone and generating a one-time code per payment, and your issuer can restrict that token for specific channels, which is worth knowing if the card stops working in one place but not another.
What are the spending and withdrawal limits?
The current pages do not publish fixed numbers: limits vary by customer and risk checks may lower them, and the live figure is in the app under Card > Support > “View spending and ATM limits”. An older 2021 Combined Terms document capped ATM and over-the-counter cash withdrawals at no more than $1,000 per 24 hours with a maximum of six cash withdrawals a day. Check your own account rather than relying on the old ceiling.
Is Coinbase a bank, and is my money safe?
Coinbase is not a bank; the card is issued by one — Pathward, N.A., Member FDIC. The arrangement is custodial, so your funds sit with Coinbase and the issuing bank rather than in a wallet you control. The older agreement says funds transferred from the Coinbase USD Wallet are eligible for FDIC insurance up to $250,000 if deposit-insurance requirements are met, and Visa Zero Liability caps your liability on a reported lost card at $50 within two business days, $500 after.
Is the Coinbase Card worth it?
For a US resident already holding crypto or cash on Coinbase, yes: no spending fee, no annual or monthly fee, and simple USD-only spending make it the least frictional card in this comparison. It is worth less if you travel often, if the conversion spread matters to you, or if you want to hold crypto on networks and coins the card never names. Outside the United States it is not an option at all.
Published by the Crypto Card Rating team.
